We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was an A1 holiday. Best ever value for money.”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We arrived at 1:30am and were given a temporary room as ours had just been vacated. We found that all our lugage had been taken to our new room whilst we were at breakfast. And what a room. Double the size of most as it was on a corner, with a double balcony. The view is out of this world. Both islands of Comino and Gozo can clearly been seen from all rooms. The room itself was kept clean, beds made up every day and towels changed as and when you required......Meals were good. Breakfast consisted of cold meats, cereals and either egg, bacon and beans or egg sausage and beans with of course toast, tea and coffee and the rolls were exceptional . Lunch was a very good selection from the bar and cooked on demand. Evening meal was always hot and fresh. Soup, salads, choice of main course. Service was excelent from all staff. As far as location goes, you could not fault the view from the hotel. The hotel was a bit dated. The bar was open 12 to 12 every day and the barman appeard to be the same man every day but in fact was 2 people who looked liked twins (Joe and Daniel). Mild entertainment 5 out of 7 nights.Slightly away from the hustle and bustle but only a short walk to the nearest bus stop. Buses are both regular and cheap. Not suitable for those who need help walking. Close to one of the best beaches in Malta, approx 20 minutes walk. Best to catch the bus back though. The hotel swimming pool was just a bit cold for 90% of the guests but this was a bit early in the year. It was both clean and tidy although it could have done with coat of fresh paint around the edge. Sun beds although only a few were not always fully occupied. How this hotel makes a profit, I do not know. Our thanks to Val,Ray,Barbara, Ron, Marie and all those wonderful people who made our stay a fantastic holiday.
Brenda & Brian, Nth Wales.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianNthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for Panorama Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2009

I have just returned from a one week stay at the Hotel Panorama and consider this the best value holiday I have enjoyed for a very long time. OK, the hotel is a little dated but the rooms are comfortable, clean, plenty of hot water and a regular towel change. The staff could not have been more helpful. The food was very acceptable...not pretentious like larger hotels. I stayed on all inclusive and, frankly, wonder how they make a profit. I would most certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.
The majority of people staying in the hotel had read the BAD reports by other guests and I know that I will NOT be the only one writing to disagree with previous statements, as we all considered them most unfair.
Finally WHAT A VIEW. If this was Fawlty Towers..give me this view any day in preference to "Herds of Wilderbeasts" or even (possibly) "The Hanging Gardens of Babylon"!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The rooms where dirty with mould on the walls, the bed was a mattress on a chipboard base the furniture was all damaged and made of chipboard, and had certainly seen better days, the en-suite again was mouldy, no hot water, the plastic shower curtains where dirty, the toilet didn't flush, and the windows had been screwed up so they couldn't be opened. We had booked and paid extra for 3 seaview room all next to each other, but one of the rooms was right at the other end of the Hotel and looked out over a building site, when we complained about this the Manager was rude to us.
There was even mould on the wallpaper in the dining room, the tables had plastic (oil baize) table clothes, the plates where all chipped. The food was plain and un-appetizing, the desert was the same each night ice cream, or a gateaux and when it had gone they didn't bring out anymore. Everywhere you looked the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. The whole place was tatty and in need of a good clean and refurbishment. We paid to use the internet, but could never get a connection, but we weren't given a refund.
The only good thing was the location, you could see right across to Gozo and Comino, but I would certainly not recommend this Hotel to anyone.
This was my first visit to Malta and I was really looking forward to my holiday, but it was spoilt by booking into this Hotel, so much so that we had to change to another Hotel!
I feel this whole experience was a complete waste of money in these present times.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Having stayed at this hotel 18 years ago, it was a shock on our return to see how it had deteriorated under the new owners. Where it was once a beautiful, elegent place to stay, it is now shabby and not very clean. The reception area would deter any passing trade from booking a room. The wallpaper is tatty and peeling away from the walls and the area behind the reception desk is very messy. The chairs in the bar area are worn and tattered and badly in need of renewal and the seating in the lounge area is uncomfortable.

Although the sheets on the bed were clean, I could not say the same about the beadspread and blankets provided for extra warmth. The beds smelt musty and not very pleasant. The bathroom was not properly cleaned throughout our weeks stay and the walls in the main bedroom had mildew on them around the balcony door.

The only saving grace was the views from the room, which are spectacular.

The food in the restaurant was adequate, but not something to look forward to and the staff were not very friendly.

To summarise, we were very dissapointed with our stay and will not be returning in a hurry.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disgruntled033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I think this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at.The whole place needs a refurb. The curtains in the public rooms were hanging down and the windows had black mould on them. The reception area was a mess with old cardboard boxes and papers everywhere.Our room was not cleaned to an acceptable standard. The sink was dirty and the shower curtain had mould on. My sister stayed there 18yrs ago and said it was lovely then, but not now.Don't do it is my advice

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnonLeightonBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

had visited malta before and found the people lovely. not only was this hotel dirty, food disgusting but the staff the rudest i have ever met, from the management/owners - down. e.g. i had the audacity to ask for a freshly boiled egg (the eggs had been sitting from 8am and it was 9.14 and weren't hot enough to melt butter, i had to argue with the waiter (Bulgarian) and the receptionist (who didnt understand the difference between fresh and freshly boiled) and still didnt get a breakfast in the hotel. would recommend the nearest bar/pub who made everything fresh.
we made our own bed, they never cleaned the bathroom properly, the mould on the bedroom wall was quite a concern and to top it all, when we left i had lost my mobile phone and my husband emailed them and they ignored the email. we have not had any response but if they wish to respond to this, they are very welcome. there were people who have used this hotel year after year, all i can say is, even the fawlty.s had loyal customers. would you?
please dont be put off malta.........it is beautiful, with lovely people.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waiting4God
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

This moderately appointed hotel succeeded majorly in four areas; 1) Stunning views across Mellieha Bay and beyond including Comino and Gozo for good measure. With the hotel being north facing the Sun is on the view not in your eyes....all very therapeutic. 2) Quietness. Its proximity away from main traffic flows provided a very relaxing location. There was some building in progress at an adjacent property but it was seldom apparent during our time there. 3) The cheerfulness and politeness of staff. On our arrival a lovely lady beamed a big smile at us across the bright, clean, airy foyer and called 'Welcome to the Panorama'. First impressions count ! 4) Value for money. This hotel takes some beating.

The hotel is only a five to ten minute walk to the town past the beautiful Church where there are frequent buses down to the beach and elsewhere. The food was fine for us. We booked bed and breakfast so paid 15 euro extra for the evening meals that we took. They were presented buffet style and were to a good standard. Had we booked half board the extra cost would have been just 10 euro. Not bad for 3-4 courses. We had clean towels every day and although, looking around, we could see where some money could be spent it was irrelevent to the enjoyment of our stay.

We spent a fortnight in Malta split between three locations (Mellieha/Sliema/Marsaxlokk). The Panorama gave us a great start.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GeorgeElvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,367 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Address: New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Price Range: £29 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Mellieha
Panorama Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Panorama Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing