We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Wales UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

I've been back home for less than 24 hours and I wanted to add my review to balance some of the incredibly negative ones. This was our 4th time in Malta and this hotel just summed up why we love Malta so much.

In short, this hotel might not be the most luxurious hotel, but the staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was large and clean with the most spectacular view I've ever seen from ANY hotel. We stayed on a half board basis and couldn't fault the food - it wasn't fancy but it was simple and well done.

If you're travelling with kids, there's a park just around the corner from the hotel (behind the church). There's a plaque which says that the park was built in 1971 - me and my husband (both early 40's) felt like we were in a time warp while our 8 year old absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mum64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    148
    144
    101
    167
See reviews for
106
316
100
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

Don't expect this to be a Hilton Hotel. Great people, Joe and staff, great view and clean rooms. If you want to pay top dollar go to a top dollar hotel. Food was very good also. Don't be a snob unless that is what you are. Very best deal in Mellieha with close transportation near by. VERY HAPPY!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richardmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nth Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

We arrived at 1:30am and were given a temporary room as ours had just been vacated. We found that all our lugage had been taken to our new room whilst we were at breakfast. And what a room. Double the size of most as it was on a corner, with a double balcony. The view is out of this world. Both islands of Comino and Gozo can clearly been seen from all rooms. The room itself was kept clean, beds made up every day and towels changed as and when you required......Meals were good. Breakfast consisted of cold meats, cereals and either egg, bacon and beans or egg sausage and beans with of course toast, tea and coffee and the rolls were exceptional . Lunch was a very good selection from the bar and cooked on demand. Evening meal was always hot and fresh. Soup, salads, choice of main course. Service was excelent from all staff. As far as location goes, you could not fault the view from the hotel. The hotel was a bit dated. The bar was open 12 to 12 every day and the barman appeard to be the same man every day but in fact was 2 people who looked liked twins (Joe and Daniel). Mild entertainment 5 out of 7 nights.Slightly away from the hustle and bustle but only a short walk to the nearest bus stop. Buses are both regular and cheap. Not suitable for those who need help walking. Close to one of the best beaches in Malta, approx 20 minutes walk. Best to catch the bus back though. The hotel swimming pool was just a bit cold for 90% of the guests but this was a bit early in the year. It was both clean and tidy although it could have done with coat of fresh paint around the edge. Sun beds although only a few were not always fully occupied. How this hotel makes a profit, I do not know. Our thanks to Val,Ray,Barbara, Ron, Marie and all those wonderful people who made our stay a fantastic holiday.
Brenda & Brian, Nth Wales.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianNthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk Resident
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

I have just returned from a one week stay at the Hotel Panorama and consider this the best value holiday I have enjoyed for a very long time. OK, the hotel is a little dated but the rooms are comfortable, clean, plenty of hot water and a regular towel change. The staff could not have been more helpful. The food was very acceptable...not pretentious like larger hotels. I stayed on all inclusive and, frankly, wonder how they make a profit. I would most certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.
The majority of people staying in the hotel had read the BAD reports by other guests and I know that I will NOT be the only one writing to disagree with previous statements, as we all considered them most unfair.
Finally WHAT A VIEW. If this was Fawlty Towers..give me this view any day in preference to "Herds of Wilderbeasts" or even (possibly) "The Hanging Gardens of Babylon"!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

The rooms where dirty with mould on the walls, the bed was a mattress on a chipboard base the furniture was all damaged and made of chipboard, and had certainly seen better days, the en-suite again was mouldy, no hot water, the plastic shower curtains where dirty, the toilet didn't flush, and the windows had been screwed up so they couldn't be opened. We had booked and paid extra for 3 seaview room all next to each other, but one of the rooms was right at the other end of the Hotel and looked out over a building site, when we complained about this the Manager was rude to us.
There was even mould on the wallpaper in the dining room, the tables had plastic (oil baize) table clothes, the plates where all chipped. The food was plain and un-appetizing, the desert was the same each night ice cream, or a gateaux and when it had gone they didn't bring out anymore. Everywhere you looked the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. The whole place was tatty and in need of a good clean and refurbishment. We paid to use the internet, but could never get a connection, but we weren't given a refund.
The only good thing was the location, you could see right across to Gozo and Comino, but I would certainly not recommend this Hotel to anyone.
This was my first visit to Malta and I was really looking forward to my holiday, but it was spoilt by booking into this Hotel, so much so that we had to change to another Hotel!
I feel this whole experience was a complete waste of money in these present times.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Having stayed at this hotel 18 years ago, it was a shock on our return to see how it had deteriorated under the new owners. Where it was once a beautiful, elegent place to stay, it is now shabby and not very clean. The reception area would deter any passing trade from booking a room. The wallpaper is tatty and peeling away from the walls and the area behind the reception desk is very messy. The chairs in the bar area are worn and tattered and badly in need of renewal and the seating in the lounge area is uncomfortable.

Although the sheets on the bed were clean, I could not say the same about the beadspread and blankets provided for extra warmth. The beds smelt musty and not very pleasant. The bathroom was not properly cleaned throughout our weeks stay and the walls in the main bedroom had mildew on them around the balcony door.

The only saving grace was the views from the room, which are spectacular.

The food in the restaurant was adequate, but not something to look forward to and the staff were not very friendly.

To summarise, we were very dissapointed with our stay and will not be returning in a hurry.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disgruntled033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

I think this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at.The whole place needs a refurb. The curtains in the public rooms were hanging down and the windows had black mould on them. The reception area was a mess with old cardboard boxes and papers everywhere.Our room was not cleaned to an acceptable standard. The sink was dirty and the shower curtain had mould on. My sister stayed there 18yrs ago and said it was lovely then, but not now.Don't do it is my advice

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnonLeightonBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
2.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Mellieha
Panorama Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Panorama Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing