We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights en route to Gozo, the hotel was great and offered everything we needed for such a short stay. The staff were friendly and helpful despite some of the other comments made about this hotel. They couldnt do enough for us or the kids.

Our family room overlooked the sea and ferry terminal and yes there were roadworks but they didnt bother us at all as we spent most of our time by the pool or on the beach, even when we were in our room there was very little noise or disruption. The food was good and the choice catered for both adults and kids.

The outdoor pool area was clean and tidy with a choice of several sunbeds and umbrellas offering adequate shade from the sun and overlooked the bay which was beautiful.

We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljclark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to read that your stay with us was up to your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back at our resort in the near future.

Regards
Stefan Fenech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotels claims to be a 4 star hotel, but it is not a 4 star hotel by a country mile. All of things from really big ticket items to small things were really not good:

Big tickets items:
- No one mentioned the road works right all along the front of the hotel and that they are still building the external parts of the hotel e.g. patio near the supposedly private beach
- They claim to have a private hotel beach which is actually smaller than my backyard
- Even when you sit at the beach the noise from the road ( transport and road works) does not let you relax
- The food is atrocious and the variety of dishes is very limited
- I know I asked for a room for one person but I was given a cupboard to stay in

Smaller items:
- Blankets have cigarette burns
- They dispense tea out of a machine
- Waiters when serving drinks hold glasses from the rim of the glass as appose to bringing them in a tray
- Like any other decent hotel would they don’t replenish the supply of soaps and shampoos during you r stay. They just give you 2 hotel sized soaps and shampoos when you check in and that is it for your whole stay

Worst of all when you raise this with the hotel staff you just get a blank look and more so I was been called in my room the day before I was meant to check out hassling me to settle the bill in the evening instead of the following morning, which I found very disrespectful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rishichauhan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

I am disappointed to read that your stay at our establishment wasn't up to your expectations.

The road works is a goverment project which we have no control on. Works are on schedule and should be finished by the end of this month. The baech patio was given a new coat of paint and lighting. These works had to be done at this time of the year due to bad weather and also due to the works going on the road.
The baech caters for a maximum of 260 sunbeds that is quite a large back yard.
Food is to one's liking so i cannot comment on it.
The hotel offers a variety of rooms from economy to Junior suites since I do not know which one you booked I cannot comment on it.
The other comments on the procedures of the staff should have been brought up whilst at the establishemnt so remedies would be taken.
We do thank you for pointing them out and I will inform the head of the departments on these issues.

Regards
Stefan Fenech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Firstly, I don't understand the negative reviews for this hotel.
I didn't feel it was run down or in need of a huge renovation at all (especially when we visited some of the other hotels during transfers!)

The hotel staff across the board were very friendly and the room we stayed in was lovely and kept very clean.

Yes, there is building work outside the hotel but is this really the hotels fault?
Throughout Malta in general there seems to be a major overhaul of the roads, whilst I agree it did look a little unsightly at first but once passed it, the views are spectacular.

The view from our room was beautiful which over looked the pool area and the rugged coastline or Paradise Bay and Paradise Bay lido.

Over all, I enjoyed the food at Paradise bay.. a few dishes were hit and miss but isn't this generally the case?
Special mention to the paprika potatoes of all things; they were delicious.

The hotel has 4 pools, which were never over crowed at any one time and also has a nice little private beach just across the road with some excellent rock pools if you like that sort of thing.

It's a perfect location for travel with the bus terminus and ferry ports just a mere 5 minute walk away.

All in all, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bcfcdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment and especially in Malta and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Stefan Fenech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We had a short break at the Paradise Bay Hotel at the end of May 2012, and having read the indifferent reviews on Trip Advisor, we were somewhat anxious as to what we would find. We are pleased to say that our experience was one of a very good hotel, in a beautiful location! We are regular and if anything critical travellers, on this occasion the negative Trip Advisor comments simply did not ring true.
The Paradise Bay Hotel is close to the Gozo ferry and there is occasional traffic, but nothing of any consequence. The road works we had picked up on are all but complete and there is no noise or distruption. We had a room overlooking the sea, and later in our stay we asked for a bay view room to have the experience of both outlooks from the hotel. The management obliged without question. The rooms are spacious and well equipped, with balconies - all with stunning views. we were always able to leave the balcony door open at night, and it was lovely to wake up to such beautiful views! The swimming pools indoor and outdoor plus adjacent areas were clean, well maintained and the staff were attentive, sunbeds and umbrellas all new.
The dining room, although large was well laid out with good space between tables and we were able to choose where we wanted to sit. Again, some wonderful views as the sun went down.
Although fully inclusive, we only took breakfast and dinner as we were always out at lunch time. The menu was extensive and varied, and the quality was high, It was difficult not to over indulge! It was great to be in the company of so many nationalities, and the menus enjoyably reflected this diversity. There was a number of bars, all well staffed, and again the choice of drinks was excellent. The in house travel advisors were extremely helpful and arraged daily trips for us - and were well informed about the places to visit. A trip to Gozo is a must with the ferry just a few steps away. We found the reception staff, day and night unfailingly helpful and kind. Everthing with a smile and nothing too much trouble.
In summary, we would unreservedly recommend this hotel and we shall certainly be returning.
Mike & Anne Corbridge

Room Tip: Bay side rooms at the upper level give the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that your stay with us was up to your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Regards
Stefan Fenech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Excellent service. Extra assistance given when necessary as travelling without husband. Good food, Friendly atmosphere. Family run and not part of corporate chain. Good single room. Price for mini bar and hotel supermarket very reasonable. Entertainment good, also option of invading French Club 3000 entertainment. Four pools and main pool salt water. Private beach. Buses to rest of island run regularly from outside hotel. Gozo ferry nearby. I will return with husband in tow next time!

Room Tip: Rooms with bay view are quiter but single rooms are very good with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneMinchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Madame,

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Stefan Fenech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We could not really stay there, had to find another place. Hotel is clearly mismanaged and in severe need for renovation and basic cleaning. Plus it is on a building site at that moment. Please do not get into same trap we did. Sea view at no extra cost is in fact a view on the building site, never mind never ending traffic to ferry stack in the road work next to the hotel's kids play ground at your sea view side. The pool view is better if only rooms were not that horrible. Unless you love feeling every metal bit of an old mattresses and watching 1960th hand painted furniture, not updated since then bathroom, dirty mirror, dirty windows, dirty tea making stuff, etc. Spent 10 min in the room and had to run away. Paid for same holiday twice, wasted 2 days, out of 7 arguing with the agency, including the actual wedding anniversary we came to celebrate, and still yet to recover the money. Please see the pictures - made last week of May 2012.

Room Tip: see above. Just do not stay at Paridise. Stay at Ramla or Rivera, less than a mile away. Real 4 star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

We are disappointed to read that your stay with us wasn't up to your expectations.

The hotel offers a varirty of rooms ranging from economy (apparently the one you booked) to seaview, bayview and junior suites. From the room you were booked you couldn,t see the road works as you were allocated an economy room facing the pool.

The road works in front of the hotel we cannot do nothing about but all considerations are being taken to our guests so as works start as late in the morning as possible. We have been adviced that the works in front of the hotel should finish by the end of June.

Regards
Stefan Fenech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We only spent four days at this hotel which as it transpired was plenty long enough. First impressions were of an absolutely vast empty foyer/reception leading up steps to the dark bar area which had the feel of an airport transit lounge. This leads into the huge dining room which has windows overlooking the pools and the sea or out of another door onto a very narrow sitting area and down steps to the poolside loungers. The hotel is enormous, the guests at times must number in their hundreds but anyone wanting a drink sitting at a table outside is unlikely to be successful - where is the pleasant terrace to be found in most seaside hotel where you can sip pre-dinner drinks and watch the sun set over the sea? As for the bedroom, ours was perfectly adequate, though at times felt like a day's march away, BUT the aircon didn't work..the room on arrival was scorching hot, although the fan blew strongly, the temperature remained the same however low we turned it. Until the evening there wasn't a lot of point in opening the balcony doors to let in some air as the sun was streaming in and the heat ricocheting up from the concrete terracing below. A previous reviewer has mentioned poorly made beds - the top bedding was simply pulled up over the corrugated sheet on which one has tossed and turned trying to cool down in the night. We were staying such a short time it really didn't seem worth complaining about. Food and drink: I would echo the views of a previous reviewer (jackie M) who mentioned the food being of mixed quality but plentiful. We met people who raved about it but, although we're truly not difficult to please, we thought it unremarkable. Our two previous all inclusive holidays were last year in Crete and Portugal and the food in these was infinitely more varied and interesting, (and the chips were not greasy!) half empty dishes being replaced much sooner than in this dining room, and the free drinks, particularly the wine, were of much better quality in these other hotels - the wine at the Paradise Bay, even though included in the price, was pretty poor. The staff were efficient but lacking warmth, often looked overworked and harried, we didn't see many smiles, and this was still low season, what will it be like at the height of the season? The location was good for visiting Gozo and the bus services to anywhere on the islands excellent. We met people who come back to this hotel year upon year which we find quite bewildering. We will not be doing so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shaded balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaptagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

We are disappointed to read that your stay with us wasn't up to your expectations.

The hotel has 276 rooms with an average occupancy of 570 guests in the high season. The vast areas are needed for this amount of guests.
As you exit the main bar to the pool there is a small terrace that guests can sit down and enjoy the sunset, also the pool bat located nera the indoor pool is open daily till 22:30 offereing aselection of beverages.

Any issues with the room service and airconditioning should have been brought up during your stay so as to be rectified.

Food is to one's taste, the all inclusive package states that drinks served are local drinks.

Regards
Stefan Fenech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,076 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,201 reviews
3.9 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,398 reviews
5.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Address: | Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £20 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing