We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, awful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Tenbury Wells
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, awful service”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The positives: great location. Close to Gozo and Comino. Lovely beaches. We highly recommend Paradise Driving (www.paradisediving.com) for SCUBA, water skiing and boat trips. They are reached via a tunnel just outside the hotel and were the highlight of our holiday.

The negatives: my iPhone was stolen from our locked hotel room on the first day. It could only have been staff. The hotel won't accept this as I must have left the 'phone at home! I can prove where it was! Dishonest about pricing, particularly if you use the a la carte restaurant. We liked the food, actually, but not the conveyor belt service of the main restaurant. The room refrigerator doesn't work when you leave the room (and leaked). Essentially, everything we expected from a four-star hotel full-board WASN'T included so we spent much more money than we budgeted for. On arrival we weren't given the room type that we booked and were accused of seeking a free upgrade when we raised this. No, we just wanted the room type that we booked and paid for! Even the "upgrade" room wasn't what we would describe as four star and had no sea view. We ordered packed lunch one day but left it behind as the paper bags disintegrated before we even left the hotel! Staff were mostly rude, miserable and ignorant (we accept the language barrier, but a nod of thanks goes a long way when you go out of your way to help the restaurant staff move unhindered). Very variable bar prices.

In short, we'd gladly go to Malta again and indeed to the same area, but never to this hotel.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Sir,

I am disappointed that you didn't mention the above comments when we spoke about your phone. We did meet around the hotel more then a couple of times.
As you are aware the police did investigate the loss of the mobile.

The room you booked through our website was an ECONOMY seaview room which you were given. You asked to be upgared to a standard seaview room which you were show one and accepted. if this didn't meet your standards you shouldn't have taken it. The room in question has an open seaview with views of our sister Island's Gozo and Comino.

The A'La Carte menu is fully displayed prior to entering the restaurant. Bar prices are all the same in all bars of the hotel.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    745
    493
    255
    242
See reviews for
608
936
178
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Have been there yesterday 16-6-2012 for a day by the pool with lunch and it was a horrible day. Why? Let me start:
1. Very uncomfortable deck chairs which are very old and odd looking and not to mention the 100 yr old umbrellas! Pls. Dear manager invest in some new outdoor furniture if you want to keep the standard of the 4star hotel you claim to have!
2. Good selection of outdoor pools BUT the main pool, which we stayed at, had a high dose of chlorine which was burning our eyes and lips, and this was in the late morning. The base of this pool was also very dirty!!
3. Outdoor toilets superbly dirty and the place looks crap!
4. The indoor pool is again very dirty. I wish I had pictures to post of the dirt stuck on the 1st inner tiles that go around the pool. Yuhhhh
5. Lunch was tasty but selection was limited and very mainstream. Not the usual selection of a 4star hotel.
6. Restaurant cashier was very unpolite and the staff working at the restaurant (students) were very unprofessional and not smartly dressed. Please Mr.Manager make sure that your so called head waiter be professional in his work at least in the way he dresses up! And by the way, go round and check the white table since the majority of the endings are torn apart!

This hotel has a very big potential due to its location and views but the management clears shows a lack of motivation to improve it and this is clearly demonstrated in the standards of this hotel. I'm sure that a 3star is far more superior than this hotel and definitely would not recommend it and visit it again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bendermalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Disappointed to raed that your day at the hotel was not up to expectations.

1. In the hotel we do not have deck chairs but sunbeds. We have in access of 500 round the pool areas and umbrellas as well. Should one be damaged this is removed.
2. Chlorine levels are kept as per guidlines issued by the Health Department.
3. The outdoor toilets are cleaned as per schedule and as often as needed.
4. The indoor pool area is covered with a green felt.
5. On a daily basis we have over 300 persons for lunch. Guests are on Full board and All inclusive. Food goes according to taste. We have a selection of pasta dishes, soup, salald counter and main course. Not forgetting the dessert counter and fresh fruit.
6. There is always a manager on duty and any problems and concerns should be pointed out when at the establishment, thus helping us to improve the standards.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

Ampthill, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have just come back from a 6 night half board stay.
Starting with the positives - room very big, clean, lovely bathroom and fantastic views. Food not bad with plenty of choice. There is a nice little beach with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas.
Yes there are major road works outside but this is out of the hotel's control so can't be critisised for this. It didn't bother us just provided us some entertainment watching the workers from our balcony!!
On arrival Reception staff unwelcoming, disorganised and really couldn't be bothered. Apart from being given the restaurant opening times no other information given. We rented what the hotel called a beach towel! 10 euros deposit for a peice of rag I wouldn't have given my dog to sleep on, it was an old beach towel cut in half, you could see where it was stitched!! Evening entertainment was badly organised and advertised in French so it was difficult to work out what it was or where in the hotel! I'm not sure if the entertainments team were only there for French guests. There is little for English guests to stay up for in the evening.
This hotel takes full advantage of it being isolated in the prices it charges for everything. In general staff are not interested and need customer service training.
The hotel is isolated but this didn't bother us as it is so easy to get around on the excellent bus service, it is also a stones throw from the ferry so a trip over to Gozo which is also easy and cheap.
This hotel needs to up it's game, pay more attention to customer service and consider the needs of all nationality guests. Our stay was ok for the price we paid but this hotel is certainly not 4*.

Room Tip: All rooms have great sea views but the ferry side rooms overlook major road works. 4th floor rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your review.
The hotel is open to all nationalites. At the moment we have a French Club which have their own animation programme in one of the halls. Other guests are welcoming to join in but all is done in French.

The comments on the beach towels have been forwarded to Housekeeping which action should be taken on this issue.

We do hope to welcoming you back.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We’ve just come back from a week on the lovely island...
We are in our mid to late thirties .First let’s start with the good points of our holiday:
We had a lovely view from our room overlooking the lovely blue water on the third floor...
The swimming pool is perfect with salty water from the sea...there are more than 3 swimming pools...all great
Last minute holiday booked for 295 each half board with transfers flying from East midlands with Thomas cook.
Henda at reception ...thank you very good service
The average and NO good points
Food is average but fish is always available
but there is hardly any fruit apart from melon...apples and oranges were second class(Tesco value fruits are much better quality)...orange juice is ohhh don’t go there...same with tea ...very bad taste made with Maltese tap water which is very salty...
Morning breakfast seemed like a kettle market queuing up and there are no glasses..Always short of cups for the coffee..and hey hooo no teaspoons..Restaurant manager or to be precise Canteen manager sat by the front desk doing nothing apart from looking at his computer and eyeing up every one ...
Oh ok let alone the French waiters...they are all students on 50 euros a week...no smiles...no customer service awareness we were sat on a table in the third evening to be told we can’t sit there if we were not French and there is no sign to say reserved or..But we had very good evenings when we were serviced by the Maltese waiter and waitress very welcoming (good point) Jovan or Julian Thank U.
Oh there are more...
Hotel is isolated...you can’t walk anywhere
Entertainment is orientated around French people...always...but by the bar we had Elvis singing one night which is good...and we watched the England France game...good
Room was not cleaned...the maid tidied the bed only but no sign of changing our towels at day four so we decided to soak them in the bath to get them changed...

Sorry Mr Stephen French ...No the cups shortage was not sorted because it happened on the day we came back on 13/06/12 and people were using cereal bowls to drink coffee..no Cups...no entertainment...no hygiene in the room...we stayed in lots of 3 stars before and were much better.

Room Tip: first and second floors are very noisy...overlooking the road work is very bad and dusty..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elnoukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

We are disappointed to read that your stay with us wasn't up to your expectations.

The French students are on an internship either to improve their English or from catering College.
We provide a weekly entertainment programme situated in The Cockerel Bar located in front of the main dining room. The French group organize their own entertainment in a hall for their guests and any other guests (all is done in French).
I will speak to the Restaurant manager about the Restaurant and housekeeping about the room cleandiness.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I was quite surprised to read quite a few negative reviews about the hotel.
My wife and I have visited it six times in the last seven years for a long stay,
Winter break, the last being in March this year.
Yes it is a bit isolated but that suits us. There is a frequent bus
service to all parts of Malta from a stop right out side of the Hotel.
The rooms in the main Hotel block have all been updated over the last couple of years
and the bay view rooms have a really spectacular view, especially from the 4th floor.
We found the reception staff (especially Elizabeth and Katherine) extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant was great and we found Iona and another young waitress (who also helped out in reception) were also very friendly and efficient.

We were also pleased with the little extras provided free on our last visit – the fridge
and un-restricted TV channels. What I would have liked included for long stay visitors is a complimentary weekly Wifi allowance.

Yes there is always something to have a gripe about like the over priced milk in the hotel shop. (It’s twice the price found in the Danish Village).

Enough said, except that we have already booked to return next March. We booked through Chevron who have some very good deals at the moment.

Freda & Bob

Room Tip: Bay view is well worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandFreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Freda and Bob,

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed another stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My husband and I arrived home from Malta yesterday after a weeks stay.Having read previous reviews we went with open minds. We expected a double room and were given a three bedded room in what I can only describe as Butlins 1960. The good news was the fact we werent overlooking the roadworks but the "sea view" could only be seen over the top of the indoor swimming pool.We decided to take up the offer of evening meal for sixteen euro per person and booked three nights having only booked breakfasts.As there was nothing else nearby this seemed sensible.
We arrived midday so ate at the bistro, a pleasant meal at good value. The pools overlooked a nice bay and the evening meal was good so we decided we could live with the room, dissapointing as it was.After dinner we had a couple of drinks at the bar where the staff were friendly, so far so good. When we went back to the room afterwards we found it infested with insects, not just one or two but everywhere , including the beds. My husband complained and said he wanted another room, which, to be fair, we were given straight away. But this wasnt what one would expect from a four star establishment. (still three beds tho !)
The breakfasts were not the best TBH, the only fruit was melon, with an occasional apple or orange. The juice was watered down and tea came from a machine. There never seemed to be enough cups/glasses and people usually had to wait for them to be replentished, and , for some unknown reason teaspoons were a rarity.One morning the sausages were virtually raw, I called a waiter over and showed him and he took it away to show the chef but the offending items were still there half an hour later .NOT acceptable ! On Sunday the dining room was extreemly hot and on enquiring why the air con wasnt on was told it was never put on until the evening...why?
Just a note about the room, on five days out of seven we came back after a day out to find the patio door left open by the maids and on one day the door to the room itself was left ajar , this should be addressed with the staff.
If this seems a negative review I am sorry but this is what happened and I am trying to be as accurate as possible. The hotel could be excellant if the rooms were updated (yes, I know this was a standard room but it is not acceptable as a four star , the room lets it down and should be rated as two star)
On the plus side the evening meals were very good indeed, no grumbles there and the staff, especially the bar staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Dont choose standard room , ask for bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiggerwosere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that your holiday wasn't all up to your expectations.
I will inform housekeeping regarding the balcony door and the main bedroom door. The shortages of cups and glasses has been sorted out.

Should you decide to visit Malta in the near future we would look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The good:
Compared to all known hotels on the island it seems we had luck, 'couse other tourist said more terrible things about the other pensions.
The view was really perfect, we enjoyded it every morning a lot, the rooms were clean, furniture OK, and despite previous judgements the beds were quite comfortable.
The breakfast was fine, wide variety of food was served for dinner, but the fact, that the dinners were served without ANY drinks (not even a drop of tap-water) was a bit confusing.
The bad:
The live music EVERY night in the main lobby (for example karaokee), and on some nights in the disco nearby was more than loud, so we could'nt sleep, even with closed windows. By the way there was NO air conditioning (or turned on at all) in the superior room we stayed in, so it was most uncomfortable with the windows closed.
So was the chat in the restaurant just beneath our balcony every night quite disturbing.
Another fact is that there is quite a long time to travel to any other parts of the island from Cirkewwa (Paradise Bay), although the bus traffic is more than expectable, and 4 different lines start from Gozo ferry!
The small and ONLY shop in the hotel (and in the whole area) was more than expensive, but not so much as the prices of the hotel restaurant (€1.80 for small a bottle of water...?!!).
The staff was neutral, i haven't seen a smile of any of their faces, but haven't gone there to see them smile... :)
But all these beautifull places we have visited on the island made us to forget all the iconveniences! Have to say we've quite fallen in love with the island of Malta!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oszitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your review.
Your comments will be forwarded to the heads of department.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment and our Island.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.1 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,344 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,928 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,809 reviews
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Address: | Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing