We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A curate's egg of a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A curate's egg of a visit”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Our short stay at this hotel was a real curate's egg experience. Booking was smooth, via last minutes.com, its a bit of a drive from the airport and we did arrive late. The hotel is a bit dated, very 1970's, soiled carpets and poor paintwork and it would clearly benefit from a revamp. The location is weird, the pool side looks out over Paradise Bay and is wonderful even with all the boats that arrive at the weekend. The other side has a sea view and looks directly towards Comino and Gozo but with the ferry port in between. The varied pools themselves are excellent and there is plenty of space around the 5 pools.

We only had breakfast but it was great despite the queues. The food was good quality and plenty of it.

What really lets the place down is the staff at least those in reception and the restaurant. Requests made on booking were ignored and the males reception staff had never heard of politeness let alone customer service. They meet your requests if they can but if not you just get a grimace and a shrug. They promise to come back to you and then they don't. It even took 6.5 hours to get a message to us and our room was only 50 yards from the desk. They were so disorganised that we had been there for 2 days before they realised we had not been charged.

We always had to ask for the table to be wiped and for cutlery in the restaurant and sometimes the food was cooling before we had the implements to eat it with. Again the waiters had missed out on charm school and smiling was certainly not on their menu.

Overall I would recommend the food and the location is good for swimming. Its good if you want to see Gozo and Comino but it is over an hour on the bus to Valetta. Its good value for money but don't go with high service expectations.

Room Tip: For a good view chose the Paradise Bay side of the hotel not the ferry terminal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elchimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your review. The comments mentioned will be forwarded to the head of departments to help us improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    720
    473
    248
    229
See reviews for
575
908
176
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DERBY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I have just come back from a week at the hotel. I would like to say the hotel is good, nice pools, I liked the food, I thought the staff were fine and our rooms were cleaned every other day with new towels. To address some previous reviews: patio doors were often left open by the cleaners, but nothing was ever taken so its not really an issue for me. Probably one day I had to wait 15 seconds for a new set of coffee mugs... if that is honestly the kind of thing that ruins your holiday, then all i can say is wow, you have serious caffeine dependency issues.

Contrary to what other people have said I didn't think the location was great, you are pretty much alone. You can't go out for a walk at night and visit others bars and restaurants which is something I normally enjoy. However the bus and ferry terminal is across the road so you are not stranded. I hate public transport and it is a pain to visit towns far away, Valletta took about 2 hours. In their defence tho, the drivers spoke english and it was incredibly cheap to travel all over the island. We hired a car for three days and found that much better for us.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that is further away from the entertainment and not on the ground floor - people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZOE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to read that your stay at our establishment was up to your satisfaction.
When the promenade works are done we should have one of the best promenades on the Island.

Should you decide to visit our Island in the near future we look forward to welcomg you back.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

4 day all inclusive break last weekend (Thursday 14th pm to Monday 18th v.early am).
Room 139 Shabby but clean, no a/c (not working), and decor very tired.
Food - excellent, well prepared and varied, all inclusive generous, wine with lunch & dinner, as much beer, tea, coffee as you could wish for, the only addition on my bill was for two ice-creams for the children of two local residents who came to visit us (6.40 euro!!).
Friendly helpful staff, and the reported 700 lunches served on Fathers' Day caused no problems to the staff, and with little/no disruiption for the resident guests!
All in all good value for money, but don't expect 5* accommodation for 2* prices!

Room Tip: Don't have Room 139! Rooms on higher floors may be better decor wise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our establishment.
The hotel offers four types of rooms starting from Economy seaview, standard seaview, standard bayview and Junior Suite.

Should you decide to return to our Island we would look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

was ok for what price we paid spent four nights room was ok fridge didnt open bathroom was nice had problem with light reported it and they sorted it out straight away the bar staff were friendly food was not bad only never enough cups at breakfast was not any thing on in evenings for english people overall good for the m oney we paid

Room Tip: dont go first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our establishment in the near future.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The positives: great location. Close to Gozo and Comino. Lovely beaches. We highly recommend Paradise Driving (www.paradisediving.com) for SCUBA, water skiing and boat trips. They are reached via a tunnel just outside the hotel and were the highlight of our holiday.

The negatives: my iPhone was stolen from our locked hotel room on the first day. It could only have been staff. The hotel won't accept this as I must have left the 'phone at home! I can prove where it was! Dishonest about pricing, particularly if you use the a la carte restaurant. We liked the food, actually, but not the conveyor belt service of the main restaurant. The room refrigerator doesn't work when you leave the room (and leaked). Essentially, everything we expected from a four-star hotel full-board WASN'T included so we spent much more money than we budgeted for. On arrival we weren't given the room type that we booked and were accused of seeking a free upgrade when we raised this. No, we just wanted the room type that we booked and paid for! Even the "upgrade" room wasn't what we would describe as four star and had no sea view. We ordered packed lunch one day but left it behind as the paper bags disintegrated before we even left the hotel! Staff were mostly rude, miserable and ignorant (we accept the language barrier, but a nod of thanks goes a long way when you go out of your way to help the restaurant staff move unhindered). Very variable bar prices.

In short, we'd gladly go to Malta again and indeed to the same area, but never to this hotel.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Sir,

I am disappointed that you didn't mention the above comments when we spoke about your phone. We did meet around the hotel more then a couple of times.
As you are aware the police did investigate the loss of the mobile.

The room you booked through our website was an ECONOMY seaview room which you were given. You asked to be upgared to a standard seaview room which you were show one and accepted. if this didn't meet your standards you shouldn't have taken it. The room in question has an open seaview with views of our sister Island's Gozo and Comino.

The A'La Carte menu is fully displayed prior to entering the restaurant. Bar prices are all the same in all bars of the hotel.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

Malta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Have been there yesterday 16-6-2012 for a day by the pool with lunch and it was a horrible day. Why? Let me start:
1. Very uncomfortable deck chairs which are very old and odd looking and not to mention the 100 yr old umbrellas! Pls. Dear manager invest in some new outdoor furniture if you want to keep the standard of the 4star hotel you claim to have!
2. Good selection of outdoor pools BUT the main pool, which we stayed at, had a high dose of chlorine which was burning our eyes and lips, and this was in the late morning. The base of this pool was also very dirty!!
3. Outdoor toilets superbly dirty and the place looks crap!
4. The indoor pool is again very dirty. I wish I had pictures to post of the dirt stuck on the 1st inner tiles that go around the pool. Yuhhhh
5. Lunch was tasty but selection was limited and very mainstream. Not the usual selection of a 4star hotel.
6. Restaurant cashier was very unpolite and the staff working at the restaurant (students) were very unprofessional and not smartly dressed. Please Mr.Manager make sure that your so called head waiter be professional in his work at least in the way he dresses up! And by the way, go round and check the white table since the majority of the endings are torn apart!

This hotel has a very big potential due to its location and views but the management clears shows a lack of motivation to improve it and this is clearly demonstrated in the standards of this hotel. I'm sure that a 3star is far more superior than this hotel and definitely would not recommend it and visit it again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bendermalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Disappointed to raed that your day at the hotel was not up to expectations.

1. In the hotel we do not have deck chairs but sunbeds. We have in access of 500 round the pool areas and umbrellas as well. Should one be damaged this is removed.
2. Chlorine levels are kept as per guidlines issued by the Health Department.
3. The outdoor toilets are cleaned as per schedule and as often as needed.
4. The indoor pool area is covered with a green felt.
5. On a daily basis we have over 300 persons for lunch. Guests are on Full board and All inclusive. Food goes according to taste. We have a selection of pasta dishes, soup, salald counter and main course. Not forgetting the dessert counter and fresh fruit.
6. There is always a manager on duty and any problems and concerns should be pointed out when at the establishment, thus helping us to improve the standards.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have just come back from a 6 night half board stay.
Starting with the positives - room very big, clean, lovely bathroom and fantastic views. Food not bad with plenty of choice. There is a nice little beach with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas.
Yes there are major road works outside but this is out of the hotel's control so can't be critisised for this. It didn't bother us just provided us some entertainment watching the workers from our balcony!!
On arrival Reception staff unwelcoming, disorganised and really couldn't be bothered. Apart from being given the restaurant opening times no other information given. We rented what the hotel called a beach towel! 10 euros deposit for a peice of rag I wouldn't have given my dog to sleep on, it was an old beach towel cut in half, you could see where it was stitched!! Evening entertainment was badly organised and advertised in French so it was difficult to work out what it was or where in the hotel! I'm not sure if the entertainments team were only there for French guests. There is little for English guests to stay up for in the evening.
This hotel takes full advantage of it being isolated in the prices it charges for everything. In general staff are not interested and need customer service training.
The hotel is isolated but this didn't bother us as it is so easy to get around on the excellent bus service, it is also a stones throw from the ferry so a trip over to Gozo which is also easy and cheap.
This hotel needs to up it's game, pay more attention to customer service and consider the needs of all nationality guests. Our stay was ok for the price we paid but this hotel is certainly not 4*.

Room Tip: All rooms have great sea views but the ferry side rooms overlook major road works. 4th floor rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your review.
The hotel is open to all nationalites. At the moment we have a French Club which have their own animation programme in one of the halls. Other guests are welcoming to join in but all is done in French.

The comments on the beach towels have been forwarded to Housekeeping which action should be taken on this issue.

We do hope to welcoming you back.

Regards
Stefan Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Address: Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing