We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
north wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“well worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Yes it's remote. But then that is stated. Because of this it's very peacefully. Buses are very cheap and regular and pick up and drop of right outside the door. All the staff (apart from a waitress who was quite miserable) were lovely, and attentive. Our room (bay view ) was excellent. well equipped. Fridge ,tea and coffee making facilities, tv air con . Good bathroom, very clean (cleaned every day) and the view was stunning. Plenty of Sun beds , three pools ,indoor pool, shop, . Play areas., although not sure I would recommend this hotel for families , but couples and adults defiantly. Really enjoyed our stay made special by the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Defiantly bay view. I would imagine all rooms have a good view, but there is a main road running alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    694
    460
    238
    219
See reviews for
555
883
165
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The hotel is in an exultant position to enjoy sea and country views we found that it was value for money sort of place, food is good and plentiful.Crossing to Gozo from the paradise bay resort is so easy you cross the road and you get to the ferry terminal it is ideal for family and if you are looking for a quite place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BETTY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
I thank you for appreciating that we are located in a secluded area which to which you as a couple found to be beautiful and value for money. I also thank you for saying that we are suitable for families and I hope that we shall see you again soon in our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We travelled as a couple with 3 children (7,4 & 1). The hotel we found to be average. The food good and varied, No children's option but that wasn't a problem for us. Our room was beautiful with amazing views of both the bay and the sea, although it was not cleaned well and I had to ask for clean bedding. The staff were helpful and even opened the children's play room which stayed locked for us. The shop on site is hugely overpriced but the bus into town is cheap and there you will find some little news agent type shops and even a 99c store which sells armbands etc. which we had been charged 8e for on site. The hotel is remote but in that most beautiful part of Malta. Holidays are what you make of them Always go with an open mind. We had a wonderful time although if returning to Malta we would choose somewhere more child friendly. I would certainly recommend this hotel to couples.
Tip- Do hire a car,
Go to the Market in Marksaxlokk on Sunday,
Take the ferry to Gozo
Dont be conned into the 'all three' buses. Arriva do the same at a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
I thank you for responding on Trip Advisor to which I am sorry that you had to ask for the housekeeping service which should not have been necessary. I further thank you for appreciating that we arelocated in a secluded area which to which you found to be beautiful and that the public bus service to be suitable. I also thank you for stating that in your opinion were were suitable for couples and that our food was more than adequate in both quality and selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We've stayed at this hotel Nine times (staying for a month each time). There is nothing wrong with either the hotel, staff, food or location. I must admit some rooms are not as good as others but you get what you pay for - (you will not get a cheaper holiday than this). This has got to be the best place on the Island, its near to the ferry for Gozo and Comino (both worth a visit). Buses stop outside the hotel and for €2.60 a day and a bit of leg work (WALKING) you will see most of the Island. It beats me why people are surprised to find it's in a remote place when all reviews point this out. Personally we find the remoteness charming and the sea views breath taking. Older people tend to holiday in winter months when its cooler if you want hot young and lively holiday in high season. Read other reviews and go with an open mind.

Room Tip: As stated by others Bay view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickyscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We arrived at the Gozo ferry that crosses from Malta to the smaller island of Gozo, we were told that due to the exceptionally high wind, the boat was cancelled until 3.30am next morning! The nearest hotel was the Paradise. We went to reception and were told to wait in a seating area until rooms available!! Bear in mind this was now 10pm. After waiting 20 mins or so we approached the counter again to be told by the same person that he was not the manager! So who is we asked? Another man was standing on opposite side of counter looking somewhat distracted so we asked him. Told to sit down again! It's not as if there were hundreds of people waiting to be seen to, but we did meet some other couples who were in same predicament. We finally got a room just before midnight! Frankly for such a big hotel, out of season (end of Easter) the reception service was appalling! The room was clean and spacious with a very nice view of sea and cliffs. Next morning a typical buffet breakfast in a huge dining room which I cannot fault. But there were no more than say 50-60 people. The hotel was half empty! The hotel is somewhat dated with limited facilities although it does have its own private small beach and pool. You would need a car as there are no shopping areas, bars or restaurants nearby. But as we were only charged £E53 for a double room, we can't really complain.

Room Tip: The hotel is curved in shape so the inner ones at either end get more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjames47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
I thank you for staying within our establishment and I am sorry to hear that our night reception staff did not correctly inform you as towards why there was such a delay in allocating a room for you. The hotel at this time very busy as there were some 264 rooms sold leaving only 12 rooms available and some of these were single rooms and the other were not available to allocate so they needed the assistance of the night manger to release a room for them to be able to allocate one to you.

The hotel pool mentioned is one of five pools and the hotel beach was unfortunately not in use as it is closed for the winter period. I do thank you for appreciating the rate paid being a satisfactory rate and value for the money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Well, when they say this is remote, it is ! Passing you by to get to the Gozo Ferry is about it and Paradise Bay is only for the fit and healthy with a trek up and over the hill down many steps to a small dirty piece of imported sand, thank goodness we hired a car and were able to drive a few K's to a proper bay, lovely. Anyway , the hotel , we had a 'Superior' room and half board, in fairness the hotel gave us what we asked for and no complaints with the room, it's position or cleanliness.
Swimming pools in abundance and nice terraces if that's what you like however, their beach is not open until June and we never found it !! Staff were very interesting , ranging from rude to exceptionally helpful , dinner was not a pleasurable experience and reminded me of everything that was bad about self service cafeterias , including the food quality.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool, not the bay which is NNW facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jr_walker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Yes I confirm that we are located some 5 km from the nearest town but there is a regular public bus service available. The Paradise Bay beach is located on the far side of the bay some 20 minutes’ walk, and the lovely bay of Ghardira which is one of Malta's nicest beaches is 5 minutes by bus.

I thank you for your positive remarks towards our rooms and cleanliness but I am sorry to hear that our main buffet did not meet with your approval. Should there have been anything wrong you should have brought it to the attention of the restaurant manager for him to rectify the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed at Paradise Bay from 22nd February to 29 March and what a fantastic time I had! My room was on the south wing very much criticized by many but let's face, do you really mind if the furniture is a bit tatty and old fashioned when on opening the courtains in the morning you're faced by such a stunning view? I'l count myself very lucky if on my next visit I'm given the same room with the same tatty furniture and the same splendid view. The room was cleaned daily, staff friendly and helpful, food good and plentiful, what more can one ask for? Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DcedricB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
We thank you for your kind words in reflection against our economy room and look forward to your repeat visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Address: Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Onthebeach so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing