We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true two star experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A true two star experience!”
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and I can safely say we won't be returning. On the plus side the Hotel is in a lovely position overlooking the sea, the pool and sun terraces are fantastic and the rooms were large and clean. However the food was awful, more like school dinners than a four star hotel! The staff were bored and uninterseted, barely making eye contact. (except reception - who were quite pleasant) The position of the hotel is very remote and there are no evening strolls to be had or local bars to pop into! You are quite literally stuck at the hotel for the night and this wouldnt even be so bad if there was any entertainment - the gaggle of entertainment staff (at least eight of them) could only come up with bingo and disco! One night we were treated to a cringe worthy Kareoke and another night a local guitar player for a couple of hours. overall i would say try another hotel in the area - there were a couple.

  • Liked — Pools and sun terraces
  • Disliked — Dark corridors, dated decor.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucilleDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    720
    473
    248
    228
See reviews for
574
908
176
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We arrived in the early hours of Wednesday 14th May 2008. We had a Bay View Room, on opening the curtains later the view was fantastic. The room was clean when we arrived, but as the days went on we found it wasn't cleaned to our satisfaction. The towels were changed most days but the other couple with us had to ask for their bedding to be changed after a week.
The food was adequate, but it would have been better if we could have had fruit juice - not watered down squash - at breakfast, and also fresh fruit. Some meat and fish at dinner was processed ie something described as Gammon tasted more like Spam, also some fish was the same.
The entertainment left a lot to be desired. Two local artists were very enjoyable, but the entertainment provide by the "Animators" at night was directed more at children until 10.30pm.
I was recommended this hotel but talking to patrons who had gone there for many years the standards had deteriorated. I would not return and would only give it 2 stars.

  • Liked — The view from or room
  • Disliked — Too far from anywhere
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

Newport, Shropshire
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2008

I have stayed at the Paradise bay hotel near to mellieha, it is situated by the ferry port...but don't let that put you off as you don't hear the ferries coming in and out and at night you can watch them, as they are all lit up and every hotel room has a sea view! the food at this hotel was excellent and they have two bars indoor and outdoor swimming pools, the hotel is situated more or less on the beach aswell! there is a bus outside every 10 minutes to mellieha and other parts of malta. I have been so impressed by this hotel that i am going back for my fourth visit... (my future in-laws have been going to this hotel now for 17 years and each year they say they have loved it! It can be a romantic setting too as my future-sister-in-law got married at the hotel and my fiance and I got engaged there too!

Helpful?
Thank nicole2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

We've just returned from a week at Paradise Bay hotel ( 30 May 08). We wanted an early break in the sun and to visit a friend who works in Malta so didn't want to pay alot, shopped around and got a deal for £860 for two adults & one child aged 11, this included our flights from Manchester, 7 days half board at the Paradise Bay hotel and a hire car for the week, so we weren't expecting a top class hotel at this price. We had read the trip advisor reviews before we left and most of the comments were correct. The room was old and tired but clean enough, the price of an upgrade was 210 euro and although the furnishings on the upgraded room looked better the beds were pretty much the same style as we had in the first room so we decided not to take the upgrade and unpacked, we're used to going camping so decided that for the price we had paid it wasn't that bad, the main facilities in the hotel were great, the pool was large and had plenty of sunbeds and the views across the bay were lovely, we spent most of our time by the pool, not too busy but I imagine in the height of the season it would be a bit noisy and crowded. The entertainment staff were good fun and friendly, which was great for us as they entertained our son when he wasn't in the pool, they played table tennis, games, tennis and archery etc, with him. The function room had recently been upgraded and it was lovely, the entertainment staff were good fun in the evening and tried to get everyone involved, although it was very amatuerish their enthusiam was great and they tried to involve everyone, there was nationalities from all over, Norwegians, Swedish, Germans, English, Irish, Italians, Spanish etc it was really nice to meet different nationalities and everyone looked like they were enjoying themselves even the twenty somethings. Food was okay but a week was enough. The salad bar could have been better, not enough fish for us but otherwise okay. Would we go back... ..Yes - but if I'd paid £1,200 or more for a week for three I would have wanted better accomodation, like everything in life you get what you pay for. Hope this helps.

  • Liked — Main hotel public areas, pool.
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ManxiesIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2008

You will either love the Paradise Bay Hotel or wonder why other people rate it so highly. It all depends on what you want to do if you choose to stay there.
Nearby, just 50m down the road is a watersports and diving school. 200m further up the coast is a frequent cheap ferry to Gozo and just outside the hotel entrance is a bus stop with regular, cheap rides to the other parts of the Island.
Inside, the hotel was clean and tidy with helpful signs showing the routes to the various facilities. We found all the staff, bar one, to be by courteous and helpful.
Our bedroom was large, had an equally large bathroom and a huge balcony overlooking the sea. The bed and bathrooms had definitely seen better days and reminded us of the digs we shared as students.
The hotel is obviously geared up to cater for middle aged and above people and there were plenty of these about. The evening entertainment definitely suiting the older generations.
There was a bonus to the generation gap as the lack of screaming kids and drunken yobs was really welcome and made our stay all the better. It also meant that the 3 pools and surroundings always had plenty of space and empty sunbeds.
The really good news about this hotel was the meals. If you like good British food in huge amounts then this is the place to stay. Every night there was a Chef''s special roast carvery with superbly cooked vegetables. If you didn't fancy this then a 4 or 5 meal selection buffet was at hand with alternatives to suit all tastes. For those fancying a cold meal then the salad bar was huge, containing a vast choice which varied daily. I haven't come across a better salad bar anywhere else in the world.
There was also a kiddies food bar, soup of the day and a range of sweets to finish.
Breakfast was continental or English. Again the quality of the food was first class, the choice and quantities vast and would generally shame most British B&Bs.
A grill bar/restaurant was open during the day for lunch or snacks. Again the food choice was good and very cheap.
In my view, apart from the bedroom, this hotel suited our needs superbly and easily gets a 4 star rating.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank PNH750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2008

I stayed here with 3 other friends the first week in May. We initally thought we were getting a great price for a 4 star hotel but once we arrived realised that the hotel was worthy of what we were paying. We were booked into standard rooms which were awful. They were carpeted which seems crazy in a beach resort and the beds were like kids beds, really small and narrow and so old that they creaked noisily every time you moved. The bathrooms were clean but really old and distastfully decorated. The corridors in the hotel were really dark with a hideous red carpet and there were no redeeming features anywhere in the hotel. There was no poolside restaurant and the only snack bar was inside in an area that looked like it was decorated in the 60s and not touched since. The pool area was fine and there was no shortage of sun loungers. There was no life or atmosphere to this hotel so we looked in the area and found about 4 other hotels which were far superior, and 4 star, for not alot more in cost. We moved after our third night to the Ramala Hotel down the road and this was worlds apart from the Paradise Bay Hotel, with fantastic pool area, private beach, great bar and restaurant and a beautiful spa. It cost us to move but was worth it! I understand that the level of star ratings is different in some countries but this hotel is really not of a 4 star standard and just leaves you feeling dissapointed if thats what you were expecting. Many better options in the locality that really are worthy of 4 star.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The rooms and the interior of the hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AOS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2008

We arrived during the evening on the Monday and was greeted by a very polite and helpful English gent. We were given our key card and went up to the room. We walked into the room and the first impressions were not too bad, bearing in mind i had read these reviews before. We read the hotel pack they gave us and it said 'upgrade to a superior bay view room to overlook the swimming pool and bay'. Bearing in mind i had upgraded and already paid 90 euros to get a superior room, i then opened the curtains to the balcony to find the only view we had was off the dining room roof and in the distance, the sea. I went down to the desk to confirm that it was a superior bay view room and the english gent agreed that it didn't sound like it, but said i would need to speak to the manager. I spoke to the manager eventually and he assured me that i had the right room, but i found him to be slightly arrogant and he couldn't look me in the eyes.

You do have to pay extra for the safe and tv in your room.
The room itself had 4 beds in as we had two kids with us, but all beds look like they have been knocked up by the hotel staff and the mattresses were very thin. The towels, tea and coffee and the bins got done everyday. The bathroom was pretty clean apart from the limescale on the shower head.

The food was not too bad if you are willing to try things you would not normally eat. The kids struggled a bit with the food. With breakfast, you do get free drinks, but the juice is not juice, it is more like squash. The yogurt was a bit tasteless, but they do supply toast, cerials etc. For dinner, there were a few options and chips were put on a few times, but you do have to buy the drinks if you want them. The staff in the dining hall are all very polite and helpful.

Entertainment: We found this to be on a whole, very good. We had a couple of local singers, which did a very good job. Cyril and Monica are the hotels entertainment organisers and they do a very good job. The only night we didn't enjoy it was the night we had a magician which was staying at the hotel, we found him to be very rude, telling us to stop our kids walking around during his show' and although he thought he was good, to be honest i could have done better.,

All the hotel staff, apart from the manager, seemed to be very polite and willing to help in anyway.

The hotel seems more for the older people, however, there is a games room for the kids to play in and the pools. We were made to feels very welcome by some of the frequent guests and they didn't seem to mind the kids. Don't be put off by the fact the older generation stay there as we had a brilliant laugh with them.

The Gozo and Comino ferries are very close to the hotel and there are frequent buses, but it does take an hour to Valetta where you can then catch a bus to other places. If you don't have a car and you don't want to spend all your time on buses, i would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Address: Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Onthebeach, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing