We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I loved the hotel. The service was very good and the cleanliness was fine. In my opinion, you should think a little better your decoration.
Moreover, the food were amazing and the beach has a great landscape.
The hotel is an amazing place to chill out, a truly

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank InesQueiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

I thank you for your positive remarks. We are a large family hotel and our décor does tend to be neutral in many ways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 2,276 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice hotel but very isolated. The rooms were exceptionally large and comfortable. Its worth paying for a bay view room before you travel as sea view rooms are very close to a road and noisy. Costs 10 euro,s a day at hotel , could have paid £23 for all of my stay if i had paid in uk .
Reception staff were very helpful and friendly . Bar staff a bit grumpy . was very difficult to get drinks with meals as staff were too busy was often on desert before could get anything Queuing for dinner was bad and you had to sign each day at the door to say you had had your meal. Felt like a child. Food was ok although think the chef loved pepper a little too much for my taste .
Entertainment poor .
Pools lovely and on the whole clean and tidy
Nice hotel , lovely holiday

Room Tip: Definitely ask and pay for bay view room when booking , much quieter . Rooms are lovely and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ledragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

I thank you for enjoying your break with us and for your overall positive remarks, yes it is true that during the peak periods the meal times are very busy and you may have to wait 3 to 5 minutes in the summer. The bay view rooms as stated are superior in many ways even though the room standard is exactly the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Beautiful resort in a wonderful place. Good and clean rooms, great balcony, bathroom with shower and the other necessary items. Cleanup service every day with change of towels. If you are driving, is better because it is quite far from the center of Valletta, and is parking available. To visit the Island of Gozo and the Blue Lagoon, boats and ferries are within 1/2 mile. The only problem we had was with the air conditioner that worked poorly. Complained to the administration, but the maintenance staff said that the operation was weak and should we turn on the ceiling fan. (what?!) With the normal temperature of Malta, is unbearable to be in the room, or sleep. Look for a room with a balcony to the morning sun.

Room Tip: Since the air conditioning works poorly, choose a room facing the morning sun and get a second key t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I thank you for your positive response and can confirm that the air conditioning is a central system which operates throughout the hotel and is normally very efficient, I am sorry to hear that it was not so on this occasion and also to hear of the wrong response that you have received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Paradise Bay hotel is not one of the new hotels on Malta, so you cannot expect everything to be perfect as it has been serving guests for over 25 years, however on my recent visit I saw well presented rooms refurbished since my previous visit, I have to say I miss the leather chesterfield sofas previously around the reception area which although the leather was worn were very comfortable and easy to get up from, and was nice to sit on late at night with a drink, the new fabric sofas are more light weight and not in the same location and tend to move more when trying to get up - but everyone is different.

Paradise Bay has disabled friendly rooms suitable for many disabled guests - I knew from the information provided by Accessible Malta staff everyhthing I needed in regard to rooms pro's and Cons - including height of bed, door widths etc, I was asked if I needed to hire a hoist as the hotel has some beds where a hoist can fit under, I felt that the information from Michael and Stefan received through Accessible Malta enabled me to enjoy my few days at the Paradise Bay Hotel.

The staff are friendly offered help with carring plates, also kept wanting to please in anyway possible, rooms clean and well presented usual little bits like small step about 1 - 2" deep going onto balcony but this was fine in wheelchair and I knew about this before.

Paradise Bay is not in the centre of a town but near the Gozo Ferry terminal so is ideal for visiting Gozo and Malta - I feel if like me you have a disability a car is essential or if you are able a weekly bus pass is worth its weight in Gold.

Daily charge 2.60 Euro or 12.50 euros weekly and if I remember right 4.50 euros foot passenger to Gozo - Car 10 euros.

Reading some of the other reviews may give you a feeling of do I or don't I book, me personal feeling is what are you looking for ?

If you are looking for fancy boutique show room style rooms with lots of frilly bedding and scatter cushions similar to London top 5* hotels then you are looking at the wrong property and the wrong country, if you are looking for a friendly hotel offering genuine value for money in comfortable rooms may be 3 or 4 years since being decorated (standard rooms) < Many being redecorated Winter 2013/14> which are clean and useable then you cannot go wrong. The food is fine again the choice is adequate - I am not knocking the hotel here but you get what you pay for - you cannot expect top notch food as sold in restaurants at 30-40 euros a head excluding drinks when you are paying the prices Paradise Bay asks for its half board supplement. A Big Mac meal in Malta is about 7 - 8 Euros, and that is not unlimited like the buffet is.

Entertainment is provided and changes nightly.

This is a 4* Property - i.e. its facilities offered gives it 4* - the star rating is Malta's star rating and is not for service or quality which many people forget.

I am more than happy with the service and quality of the rooms for the price charged. For me the disabled facilities are good - the usual draw backs I have found in all hotels is due to not being able to hang my clothes up in wardrobe - I have not found one in Malta where I can reach rail.

Well done to Michael , Stefan and Team for a good stay and thank-you for the team at Accessible Malta for all the help with my stay even making you organise 5 hotels for us in 14 days with transfers.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth supplement as more recently upgraded with more luxurious furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caravanmysteryvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

I thank you for your positive responses to Trip Advisor which I hope many future clients may accept your comments in relation to Access for All.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice, big comfortable bedrooms with big bathroom, all clean and tidy and nice balcony. The pool areas are great. The area needing improvement was the dining room. The queuing to get in was embarrassing, the checking of guests room cards was excessive creating an atmosphere of distrust. Also, ordering a glass if wine took ages - I was at dessert before the wine arrived. The buffet format of course creates an atmosphere of feeding frenzy at the zoo - am sure there must be ways to reduce this. All in all nice but the dining area needs attention badly

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Donald093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I thank you for your comments especially relating to our restaurant. Yes the restaurant is a large restaurant that can seat over 500 guests and during thesummer when the house count is nearing 700 residents it is very busy at certain times. Should a guest prefer a quieter period then this would normally be best to come eary or late during the meal times and not at the peak time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Some reception staff need sorting! i had to wait to book in for 40 min. with 4 years old kid! This old woman wasnt even bothered to serve me, she was making calls, chatting on the phone, at the end choosing people who she wanted to serve first. After 40 min she gave me a card to fill in, and again i had to wait another 15 min JOke? not! It happend few times, she was ignoring other guests too, while they were talking to her she jumped in to conversation with others! Other staff was a bit more polite! Anyway rooms are big and good! Cleaned daily! Maid service was the best of all at this hotel, food ok but nwt special really! wifi didnt work! been told that too many people loged in and dont log out thats why i wont be able to use it haha! outside pools were ok, kids club STUNK! and need updating! Not so healthy for kids to be there and breath this in. Shop is so expensive 2 euro for 1 liter milk? Hotel is far away from anythin and everythin so nothing to do! Close to Gozo ferry terminal - 5euro return. Im not sure what beach they are talking about, coz there is no beach to me and the only looking like a beach was paradise beach like 50minutes walk up and down the hill. So Im not gonna come back to this HOTEL! but
defo coming back to MALTA! next year

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I am sorry to hear that you found a member of our staff not efficient and impolite, this is not normally the case and had this matter have been brought to the attention of management at that time we could have addressed the issue to ascertain the circumstances. The Free Wi Fi is advertised as a limited service to which clients may obtain a voucher for a more efficient service at a reasonable price. I am sorry to hear of your refection towards the Kids Club to which we do not have at this establishment and our beach is the only hotel beach in Malta to achieve the BlueFlag status. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hotel rooms are very large and comfortable. Ample food choice and quantity at every sitting.
Clean and with friendly staff. Easy access to public transport. 5 minute walking distance to the ferry boat which takes you to the sister island of Gozo.

Room Tip: I recommend asking for a room over the pool side with a nice view of Paradise Bay and the open sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I thank you for your very positive comments in apreciating our establishment and services.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.6 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,720 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,462 reviews
3.9 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,377 reviews
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Address: | Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £23 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing