We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst vacation spot I have ever been!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel rooms are spacious and it has wonderful views (these are the only good things going for it). The bathroom walls had mould on some parts, the bedroom floor is not swept under the bed - when I moved the position of my bed closer to the wall socket to plug my ipad, the mound of dirt that met my eyes shocked me! There was even a receipt dated 14/10/2013!
The fridge is raggedy, the sheets the first night I arrived looked brown.

Here, they charge for everything! You get charged if you put your own drinks in the fridge, you pay for Internet if you want access in your room, but it cuts our ever 30-40 minutes!
When I complained at least half a dozen times, I was offered 1 extra day. I called to order food, the phone was answered with someone saying "What!", I was taken aback and then asked to place an order for food, the phone was pit down on me. I called back, and complained and them placed my order. When I went down to pick my order, I made the complaint.

The person who I had seen earlier in the day (who said he is one of the directors) came to me, so I proceeded to tell him my experience and he shouted at me that I kept the waiter on the phone for 15 minutes! This was a further shock to my system. I pointed out to him, he must be mistaken, and asked for phone records, to which he said they are not kept??? I told him he was a liar, and he threatened me with the Police!
An elderly couple were in the restaurant complaining about their meal taking over 45 minutes and didn't want it anymore.

What I can categorically, is this is NOT by any means a 4 star hotel, it is more in the scrapping through to be 3 star hotel.

They don't have any food afte 9pm! They cannot even do the courtesy of confirming transfers for guest! The director is a liar and very uncouth! Not a nice place to stay.

On the way back to airport, I found out just the day before, a lady refused to stay there and had to be moved elsewhere.

This was a nightmare hotel, I went to unwind, but came back more wound p that ever! I HAVE PICTURES TO UPLOAD TO BACK UP MY STATEMENTS TOO. NEED TO FIND LINK TO UPLOAD THEM.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

I am sorry to read your review as stated and for being informed that there was no resolve for you whilst you were in house. The drinks in the fridge we do not charged for as the fridge is open for all guest to use as they wish, be it in house drinks or their own items. The bed linen and toweling are outsourced to a local laundry and I am also sorry to hear that the standard was as stated and this must have been an isolated incident because fortunately I do not have this as a problem. You encounter with the duty director and calling him a liar I will not expand on except to say that the records are not available as you wished to have them..
I am sorry that your stay was not as it should have been and that you consider us to be a nightmare hotel, fortunately most clients consider our establishment to offer value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 2,254 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have stayed in the hotel for the last 18 years sometimes in the summer and for the last 9 years at Christmas and New Year.
As usual my room was a Bay view room this time it was number 439, it was ready when I arrived. The maid service was daily but not always at a convenient time. (14.55)
We were half board. Breakfast, Juices, coffee/tea, cold meats, yogurts, toast,rolls, croissants, bacon, sausages, tomatoes, beans, eggs, (either fried, scrambled, poached, hard boiled,) jams, marmalade's, cereals etc.
Evening meal. Soup, pasta, salad, hot plate, puddings, cheese and biscuits etc
The food as usual was brilliant.
The service from all staff was pleasant and mostly cheerful.
The waiters and waitresses over the Christmas and New Year in the restaurant were a bit slow and lapse though they let down the regulars who worked their.
The overall holiday was good though and we will go back there.
Well down staff and management.

Room Tip: Choose a Bay view room top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charmed1-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

I thank you for enjoying so many holidays over the last 18 years with us and for informing all concerned of your satisfaction. Trusting that you shall enjoy many more holidays to come.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have been visiting this hotels for the past 26 years when we had our son a toddler. It had suitable swimming pools for our son to have fun and enjoy the delicious food they served. We never looked back and used to visit this hotel very frequently. Our last stay was on new year's eve when we attended the new year's eve dinner dance. We have been attending this for the past 4 years and from our experience it is the best place to celebrate this occassion. Well done to all staff.

Room Tip: all rooms are sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Connieg214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

26 years is a long time and since then we have gone through many changes. I thank you for your continuing support to our establish and for enjoying your breaks with us.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family and I came to Paradise Bay Hotel for the first time.We couldn't find a better place to celebrate the end of 2013.Everything was at its best.Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was too. Although it was raining and couldn't go out in the big balcony, from inside we could enjoy the sea, watching the Gozo ship coming in and out of the port.
Then in the evening we joined in for the new year's eve dinner. There was a nice atmosphere and fantastic, large variety of different kind of food. Everything as it was planned on the menu provided including the bottle of champagne as the clock struck 12. We had a good nice sleep ,enjoyed a good bath and down for breakfast.For the price of 226 euro for a family of 4 is more than excellent value for money.We couldn't ask for more to start the year in a better way. This is not going to be our last visit being Maltese but we encourage others to do the same. See you soon in the near future. Thanks and well done.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rosette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Welcome to our establishment and thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. It is so nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your break with us and intend to return.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Rooms were clean, service was excellent. A wide variety choice regarding food and drinks. The location is perfect for a trip to Gozo and to visit Paradise Bay by walk. We will book this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mariadalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your positive response and we look forward to your repeat custom. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was in the month of November 2013 there at this hotel. The tour guide gave a reception, the stay was very pleasant. The population speaks good English, the shop that I liked in Valetta.
The service was good.
The Wellness appliances are very outdated - not to be compared with the club in Germany.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

I thank you for your response in saying that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Vey good service, a good value for money, food is really good and there is a good choice. The hotel is very clean all over the place. We where 4 people and the room was spacious enough. The location is perfect for a trip to Gozo and enjoy the sea. The kids really enjoyed the indoor pool and kids area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aja_193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for appreciating good value for money and for saying how much you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.6 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,688 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,012 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,902 reviews
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Address: | Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £23 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing