We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebrating Father's day at a 'day by the pool'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Celebrating Father's day at a 'day by the pool'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

All family agreed to meet and celebrate the special day by a pool. the choice fell on Paradise Bay Hotel as it offered the lunch as part of the day. Arrived there at 09.30 and found deckchairs by the pool. (deckchairs need a refurb as the canvas is worn out). Pool was clean and fresh and heavily chlorinated that one could not open his eyes in the water. Spent the rest of the morning swimming.
At 12.30 moved into the main restaurant for lunch. Setting was excellent with ample space to move around. The buffet table offered all kinds of food / tastes. It was the best buffet lunch i've had this year. However foreign waiters need some training as one was very rude when we requested another drink (which he had missed out in the first order). The food was well prepared, well presented and best of all tasted excellent.
Afternoon was spent again by the pool. it was evident the the water was now not clean and circulating pumps were off as no water was overflowing to the surrounding pool gutters The pool water was leaving evidence that it had become stagnant as bubbles with surrounding white foam were collecting at one end of the pool. It was a real pity that the pool became a stagnant water bath where we had to cut the day short due to none of us wanted to get some form of infection due to visible stagnant water.
Showers and toilets were recently refurbished, but already need some maintenance.
Maybe we will visit again due to that the food was excellent but if the pool pumps are noted to be off in the afternoon, it would be our last visit. I hope this is not an energy saving measure to the detriment of the users. It would be a real pity !

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel have excellent sea views, but if you want to see the rising sun / sunset and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
I thank you for your response and shall address the remarks in relation to the pools first. The chlorine dosage level is automatically controlled by computer and manually checked and recorded as per guidelines, the possibility of the water being clear and correct in the morning and not being so after lunch cannot be so and the bubbles could be caused with the top up of water levels but I am sorry as the foam I cannot relate too. Again with some 800 guest at the hotel this day and with a maintenance team who check the pool twice daily not to notice or be informed that the pool was not operating correctly? As stated the newly refurbished showers and toilets in need of maintenance is so as the stainless steel fittings are rusty and this is being dealt with by the supplier. I do further assure you that the pumps were not switched off in an energy saving measure and that all should have been correct.

I do thank you for your very positive comments towards the standard of our food and for our sea views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    710
    469
    243
    226
See reviews for
571
900
172
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just got back from 10 days at Paradise Bay and had a great time. I cant fault the hotel, the rooms were clean and quite large, food was good, bar prices were good and the staff helpful. My only gripe was the location which was a good hours bus ride from anywhere bar Gozo, and a 20 minute bus ride to the nearest bar or restaurant, having said that the cost of a bus on Malta was €1.50 per day to anywhere on the island.

We went on a bed and breakfast basis and because of the lack of nearby eateries were struggling to find somewhere to go for an evening meal, however we were able to purchase vouchers (discounted from reception) for evening meals at the Hotel buffet, as the other restaurant in the hotel had quite a limited menu. Breakfast was superb with a wide variety of items.
The pools were great, clean and well maintained, and the range of pools were ideal for adults and children.

The air conditioning in the room worked well (although it only works once the patio door to the balcony has been closed)

The management enforce a dress code for dinner, no shorts, beachwear or sleeveless vests, which I thought was appropriate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
I thank you for your positive comments and yes we are some distance from the cities but we do as stated have an excellent public bus service.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent one week in this hotel and visited around the islands. The food was very good, room clean, magnificent views and friendly staff. Especially the entertainment team(Alvaro, Sandra and Lucian) were very helpful, friendly and dedicated to their schedule. Unfortunately, at the time of our visit(10-17.05.2014) they were short on equipment and the guests were not very cooperative, which was very frustrating for them.
Everything was prefect until the last day, when we tried to keep the room(at an extra cost) up until later, but we were told we have to vacate it at 11:00, because the hotel is fully booked. There were only a few guests in that period, so I can't believe that this was the real reason. And, as soon as we checked out of the room, the all-inclusive was gone, even if we had lost the first day, because of a late arrival.
But, again, overall a very good holiday place to be!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Gozo and Comino will provide nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florin Lucian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
I thank you for your positive remarks and I am sorry to hear that unfortunately there was not the availability of a keeping room on your last day and yes I must confirm that once checked out of the hotel your day of departure the entitlement ceases unless you missed your first meal of entitlement, then the hotel would honour this lost meal and you would have a lunch in lieu of that meal complete with the drink entitlement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Having just spent a week in this hotel I cannot praise the reception, housekeeping and waiting staff highly enough, the managers however were another matter, customer service was not in their vocabulary, they seemed totally unable to make a decision about anything. Shorts and teeshirts are not allowed in the dining room except in the height of the season and 90% of the customers respected that but when a rowdy crowd of east Europeans turn up dressed in this sloppy gear and making more noise than the entire restaurant customers put together the maître d and his cohorts disappear! Their children were no better and were constantly screaming and shouting and running round other diners tables, when a complaint was made the manager just shrugged his shoulders and said "what can I do about it". Absolutely useless!
To open an "Account" in order to put your drinks and extras on a tab requires you to deposit €200 from your credit/debit card. At the end of your stay you go to settle the account but the amount is not taken from the deposited €200 and the balance returned to you, oh no, You have to pay the bill and then the hotel repay your original €200 back to your card company over one week later!
One travel hint.......expensive transfers are unnecessary to this hotel, the X1 express bus goes from the airport and stops directly outside the hotel just before the ferry terminal and costs just €1.50 for a 1 day bus pass (buy ticket on the bus).
Don't miss a trip to Gozo, the ferry terminal is just 5 mins from the hotel and a return trip costs just €4.50 per person. Again a one day bus pass on Gozo costs just €1.50 so no expensive taxis or tour busses needed!

Room Tip: South wing with a bay view will keep you away from the pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xockered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
I thank you for the praise towards our staff. The concept of shorts and t’ shirts not being allowed is incorrect as this applies to sports shorts and sleeveless vests at dinner time only and should any guest not apply a correct manner in the restaurant then this I agree should be corrected immediately, I am sorry this this was not do so on this occasion.

To open an account with the hotel enables the guest to sign in the various outlets and the sum taken by the cashier is not a cash sum but a block on the card to cover the anticipated expenditure and our procedure is that the sum spent is taken against the sum blocked and then the bank should release the balance from the card
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

the rooms are kept clean, but to use the fridge in the room you have to pay for each day you use it, UNLESS you order over 20 euros worth of drinks from the hotel, due to the heat it is actually worth ordering lots of bottled water.
The food was average, and usually there was never a full set of cutlery on each table, according to the staff the restaurant can hold more people than they have sets of cutlery.

On the plus side you are so close to the gozo ferry you can take a trip over for a evening drink.
Also the hotel is the first stop for buses after leaving the ferry terminal so easily get a seat. At night also feasible to get a bus into a nearby town for drinks or a walk on the shore.
More of a hotel for couples or familys than party goers, certainly wouldn't appear on Sun ,Sex and Suspicous Parents. The evening view from the dining room as the sun sets into the med is stunning

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brainl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
I am sorry to hear that you have misunderstood our policy towards the discounted room orders for drinks. There is an empty mini bar fridge in every room for the guests use and should a guest wish they may purchase drinks for their room to which they would receive a discount on the drinks prices if the spend in excess of Euro 12.

The cutlery in the restaurant is correctly laid out and there is no shortage, there may be tables that can cater for 4 persons that are laid for 2 person but this done intentionally.

Yes it is true that our establishment is not for the party goer but for family and for those who wish to unwind, having said this we are accessible to all parts of Malta and Gozo with a very good public bus service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a lovely 7 day visit for our family (11 plus us 2) with my wife and I staying for a further week at the Paradise Bay Hotel. The food was excellent, the Staff so friendly. Rooms cleaned every day. My only complaint that we arrived early morning to find that our rooms wouldn't be ready until the afternoon. However, after realising their error we were allocated temporary rooms until our allocated rooms were vacated and cleaned . We also had problems with Johns garage (who have an alliance and arrangement with the hotel to supply transportation) who failed to collect our family to take them to the airport - this was sorted out a few days later by the hotels director who was most efficient and fair in his conclusions (thank you - it made a difference to have someone really care about sorting out a problem instead of trying to defend it)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
I thank you for enjoying your family holiday with us (such a large family) and for your positive comments towards our establishment. Rooms are allocated as from arrival at 15.00 hours but should the room be ready for occupation then we would allocate as from lunch time. I am pleased to hear that arrangements were made for an alternate room to be allocated to you pending the availability of the room that you had requested. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having just returned from a 7 night stay, I'd rate this hotel as very good, elements of the hotel are a little jaed, carpetting in the corridors have seen better days, but the ground floor facilities, staff and food, were, in general, excellent. Mass produced meals will never be to everyones satisfaction but on the whole we had good meals everyday. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and added value. The hotel is slightly isolated being at the end of the island, but then the benefits are you are close to the Gozo crossing and adjacent to Comino. Being at the beginning of the bus routes is also of benefit and at 6.50 euro for an entire weeks travel, superb value. In fact Malta as a whole was very reasonable and we never felt like paupers even at upmarket restaurants. We would definately visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
I thank you for your reflection towards our establishment and for enjoying your break in Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Address: Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Onthebeach, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing