We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, with much room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average, with much room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our first trip to Malta and thus Paradise Bay Resort, which was chosen in part due to other reviews (some from Tripadvisor), which were mixed. Here's a brutally honest rundown of our 6-day experience:

Pros: Spectacular view, friendly "activity" crew, effective housekeeping, helpful restaurant manager (when my wife needed to treat a nasty jellyfish sting), on-site tourist info, 3 pool areas (one indoor), friendly guests.

Cons: Outdated exterior and interior, decor from the 70's, unfriendly (and slightly too old) bartenders, slow drinks service during dinner (finished eating before drinks arrived), undersized buffet area (chaotic and cramped during all 3 meals), over-salted pools with an unbearable amount of chlorine, very limited selection for all-inclusive (no ice-cream for our kids was harsh), killer jellyfish in the adjacent jetty (otherwise a great reprieve from the oversalted pools), poor gym (can't believe they even call it a gym) and dirty toilets around pool area (feces was found on the floor one day and wasn't cleaned up for more than 4 hours).

Biggest takeaway: While a scenic view and a few friendly employees add to the allure, the hotel is grossly outdated, a majority of the staff needs more training in good service, and "all-inclusive" should be considered a privilege and not, as we experienced, a penalty. There is little chance that we'll ever re-visit this hotel and unless much is done to improve the quality of the service and infrastructure, it's difficult to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
I thank you for your response towards your stay with us and I am sorry that you consider the hotel to be stuck in the 70’s and outdated. Every year we update areas of the hotel for the benefit our guests as our clients expectations continue to grow. The outdoor pool toilets and showers are scheduled for cleaning twice daily and should there be a spillage that is not reported to us we are unaware of such. In the restaurant the waiters take orders from clients via a computerized handset which automatically informs the bar of the order and the bar staff dispense the order before the waiter arrives at the bar. The staff rangefrom18 years of age up to their late 50’s as the age of retirement in Malta is 62 years.

The pools are electronically / automatically monitored and dosed to a correct level of chlorine, over salted they are not, sea water they are.

All guests are served by the staff be it a guest on bed and breakfast or a guest who is on an all-inclusive package.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    710
    469
    243
    226
See reviews for
571
900
172
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I went on holiday with my daughter and my best friend and her daughter for the first time without our husbands. We were a little nervous to say the least but my goodness it was all worth it! paradise bay was outstanding! Lovely and quiet, beautiful views and could not fault the hotel at all. My room was number 136 it was huge, cleaned daily and a perfect location for me and my daughter. I was so sad to leave my new paradise but I will be returning next year and hope to get the very same room for all my family next year! The hotel was Perfection for me, surrounded by sea and lots of pools spaced out to choose the best location to catch the rays. You could choose the family end with the fish shaped pool or at the top end where the pool bar is if you prefer the sea views and a quieter spot. Food was great could not fault it catered for all. My first trip to this beautiful island will remain in my heart and will look forward to booking up next year to show my husband and son what they missed out on. Thank you to all members of staff for looking after us so we'll see you next year xxxx

Room Tip: I stayed in room 136 a short walk from the bar and pool perfect for me xxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suewillis42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
I thank you for informing us that you enjoyed your break with us and intend to have a repeat visit to the hotel next year, to which we look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel for one week end of july. It's all together a great hotel, perfect situated if you wish to travel around a lot.

I was aible to check in earlier, althrough i have say i dont really understand why there are earlier trips offered if check in is officialy at 3pm.

Rooms are nice and big,old style furnished but comfortable. The view is great if you're beeing lucky and get a room on the upper floors. I was lucky to beeing aible to change rooms and got one on the upper floor with pool view.

Unfortunatelly the fan and air condition are extremly laut and there is no chance to use them durring the night.

As there isn't any other restaurant closed by would be really great if the food would be a bit more taisty or actualy have a tadte. I had booked just bed and breakfast, breakfast was quite nice but dinner wasnt good at all. I gave it a try twice and once on lunch time (all a la carte) but it's all made withouth any 'love' or taste. Also the staff in the restaurant has no clue of what they are offering.

But all the other staff, icluding reception, tourist information, bar and breakfast are really friendly and helpfull. Also the animation staff are really great, althrough i didn't spend that much time in the hotel so i can not say much about that.

The pool or better said the pools because there are many of them are great and it was never that over fulled. Just in the weekends gehts a bit busy because of the locals.

Also you can directly swimm into the see, of course if the weather allows.

Directly in front of the hotel is a bus station so that you can easily travel around by bus, it's also really cheap. But of course in high season a bit over crowed sometimes. Mellieha is around 10 min.

Gozo Ferry is 5 min walk and a boat drive to Comino Blue Lagune is offered directly next to the hotel. Typ: go there as early as posible (9 pm) because it gets really crowded at around 11.

All together is this a nice hotel where you can really relax. Maybe not 4 but 3.5 stars. I would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank andreea a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
I thank you for your comprehensive response in relation to our hotel and staff and for saying that you enjoyed your break even though some matters were not as you had expected. More importantly that after consideration we have met your overall satisfaction as you say that you intend to return to us for another relaxing holiday.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel 2 years ago so we need what to expect, first time we went it was out of season so we could not use outside pools as too cold but this time we swam in all pools & the main fish pool was amazing only bad point which was a big one was the amount of chlorine or salt they used was really bad for your eyes and mouth, kids had to wear goggles all the time so they could enjoy it the best they could, it was so salty that you could just float without trying too, this is only bad thing we can comment on as the pool is a HUGE thing for us, we swam in a few beaches their and the sea which you would expect it to be salty but in fact it was refreshing, I want to comment on this so maybe management could look into it as we will be back if the pool is better.
We want to thank the animation staff for making out holiday amazing & unforgettfull, big thanks to sandra zuzzana, alvaro, these 3 wonderful people (even in the heat) were fantastic at their job, we met another girl and man but cannot remember their names sorry but they were so friendly too, their job is so hard and very demanding but they always had a smile on their faces no matter what! They are a credit to paradise bay & we wish them the best as alot of people complain about trivial things when they are there but they smile threw it and tell customers how wonderful it is and even go out of their way to seek them out next day to include them more, customer service is top class! If u r going here please introduce yourself u will not regret it, I personally loved the aqua aerobics with alvaro, he knows how to entertain & work hard with a bounce in his step.
People have complained on here about bar staff but the bar staff we met were corado, anthony, alfie these 3 amazing bar staff were so friendly, asked us everyday how we were, they remembered our names after first time & were always willing to help with anything, management are very lucky to have caring staff that look after you so well, anthony has been there I think 30 years or so & he is still smiling every day.
Rooms were cleaned every day, yes im sure they dont clean it to high standards in a daily but they do when people leave the rooms we seen them & they were very thorough.
We went all inclusive this time for kids and the food we cannot complain at all there was lots and lots of selection at breakfast lunch and dinner, main dinner 6.30 to 9.30 which is great as we like to stay in pool for as long as we can. The head chef smiled & said hello every time we seen him very nice to see.
Wifi was great & free in certain parts of hotel, fb worked all the time which my husband loved.
The main pool has toilets at it with shower facilities which are a great asset when u feel to salty from the pool, I would of liked a shower outside with cold water to rinse yourself getting in & out like most places have.
Hotel do offer day trips to hotel to spend day at pool & get breakfast & lunch I think as they get different wrist bands from anyone else plus I have seen reception giving them out and giving money off cards to locals, which I feel is a great thing for the hotel as I love the maltese people, but unfortunately I think maltese work so hard and when they get one day to relax they definitely relax! You nearly feel u r invading there pool or area, which is sad, when we came the first time it wasnt as bad as this but we did go in July.
Price for staying in your room for extra couple of hours is to high, if your flight is in afternoon or night I would ask as soon as u get there so your room is not booked out if u did consider this.
All inclusive beer was a german beer and after a few days I stopped drinking it as it became not enjoyable plus fridges not making them cold, so warmish beer at a pool on a hot day was not good at all, only 1 selection of beer very poor, I love cisk & would of liked this as I was in malta? But every other drink was fine and no complaints.
Poolbar at nights where highlight of the evening with children's disco and karaoke & alvaro doing fire breathing, quizzes etc excellent nights while watching the sun go down beside you with sea right beside you, bliss as the views from this hotel are outstanding.
Night staff on reception are alot more accommodating than daytime, but thats only my opinion.
I do feel the hotel has let itself go a bit if they r able to tweak the small things then this hotel would be booked out everyday! Carpets in our hallway were steamcleaned 3 days before we left & it made a huge difference to smell with heat in july.
Entertainment in bar outside reception is boring sometimes, a man using an electric piano and not singing was very boring, if it was livier people will forget the small things and remember how they danced and lived the band, as thats what we are their for to enjoy, with exception of band finishing at a certain time as it would be noisey for people above.
Thank you to paradise bay & animation staff & bar staff you made our holiday special, especially as our son has autism they were out of this world understanding him and working with him.
Sorry this is so long but I wanted to tell in detail how good this hotel is.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I thank you for your repeat visit to our establishment and appreciate you informing us that you and your family enjoyed your break with us, as well as highlighting so many topics in your response. The chlorine levels in the pools are governed by the local authorities and conform accordingly and I am sorry to hear that you considered them to be a little high and furthermore the water in the pool is pumped in directly from the sea. The beer at the pool I admit did on occasion prove to be as stated but this has since been rectified as it is now a draught beer through the chillers.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I love malta as a place but paradise bay as by no means a four star hotel. I stayed here 5 times before it was great but now it has hit rock bottom. Food was terrible hardly any selection ( bacon was rock solid) we ended up eatting out all the time. Room was so dirty i had to end up cleaning it myself when I cleaned the floor the sponge was black, toilet seat was horrible pee on under side of seat and the bath had hair in it. Beds were terrible to sleep on you could feel the base of the bed. When I wiped round room it was dirty like the bathroom was not happy as I came away on holiday to get away from housework and work. Wifi was the worst always losing signal was not happy about that after all the money that was payed out on wifi. Some of the staff at the bar were rude but there was 2 lovely lady's on reception desk they were very helpful. As we were on first floor the noise was terrible we asked for a change of room to be told there was no rooms left but went online and check and there was rooms left. Sorry to say we will never be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment and more so that your first five visits to our establishment were met with your satisfaction, so much so that we were ‘Great’ and on your sixth visit there were many issues that you were greatly disappointed with and yet I have no record of such whilst you were in house.

The same standards apply today as they did previously and the bacon has not been a problem as many guests ask for it to be cooked more to a crispy stage, the lack of cleanliness as stated is not acceptable and I would have expected it to be brought to the attention of management who are readily available at the hotel.

Having rooms available on line may be so but were they in the same category of room that you had booked as there were many dates that certain room types were fully booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This was our third year in Malta and our second in the Paradise bay resort. The hotel itself is lovely and clean and all the staff were helpful and polite. The room we had was on the 4th floor we was also allowed to check in at 12pm which was great. The only downside was the evening meal. We went half board and loved the breakfast but the evening meals were boring and bland with little or no choice for the children even though they advertised this. We were very disappointed as we was there for 10 days so we often dreaded going to dinner. The one evening they offered chicken skewers :) by 8pm all was finished even thou dinner does not start till 6.45 and continues till 10pm. The beach is lovely with plenty of sun beds even the pools were un crowded with plenty of space for everyone. As for the children they really enjoyed the mini disco at the pool bar in the evening and wanted to go every night. If you wish to travel catch the local buses they take you everywhere and the stop is just outside the hotel and the buses are so cheap.
If you don't mind a short 15 min walk mostly up hill Paradise bay behind the hotel is really beautiful and offers lovely meals it's well worth a visit. Also the ferry is close by very very close you can walk there and take a trip to Gozo which has lovely restaurants on the harbour and great sandy beaches ( Ramala bay ). So in all a lovely hotel and great location just disappointed with the evening meal. Next year we are going to Italy as we have traveled Malta for 3 years and found it to be a lovely and welcoming island.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Thefourbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I thank you for your positive responses to Tripadvisor towards our staff and services. The comment in relation to the evening meal being found to be bland I am sorry to hear this and I shall bring it to the attention of our Chef who should be slightly seasoning all elements of foods. The children’s choice of food should be done in consultation with restaurant staff to which the kitchen can and does cater for.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have recently organised a workshop at the Paradise Bay Hotel for a group of 32 persons , and I can only praise the managment and the staff for their sterling service . It was an excellent location, with stunning views, and the pool area was superb for our team building event .My special thanks goes to Caterina, who made this workshop one to remember. Caroline C

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0line1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I thank you for organizing your workshop at our establishment and for posting your positive review together with the praise for our the management and the staff and for especially mentioning one person by name. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Address: Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Onthebeach, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing