We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We visit this hotel 2 or 3 times a year and have done so for the last 8 years and find this hotel suits our requirements in all areas and it would appear to do so for a lot of people who return year after year.

As with all hotels people do need to do research and make sure the location, facilities and price meets their criteria and if this hotel does I am sure they will have an enjoyable hotel with excellent value for money.

We have stayed in Spring, Autumn, Christmas/New Year and base our information on these periods.

The hotel as always been family run providing easy access to the people in charge who are at the hotel on a daily basis backed by friendly and helpful staff.

The location combines a rural (ideal for walkers) and sea front situation (so near it is like being on a cruise ship in some rooms). All rooms have excellent of either Paradise Bay or of the Gozo and Comino islands.

A large number of rooms have been upgraded to a high standard over recent years and the size of rooms and balconies are of a size rarely found even in hotels of a higher star rating.

We choose the upgraded Bay View rooms at a supplement which provides lovely Bay and Pool views and catches the sun for most of the day. Our daughter has a Sea view room with the same facilities and has views of the islands but receives liitle sun. This room does overlook the road to the Gozo ferry but she has never found any problem from noise at the times of year we visit.

The rooms provide all the expected facilities and are well cleaned on a daily basis with regular linen changes. You do have to pay for the use of the safe facility in the room and also the fridge (this charge can be waived on purchase of items for the mini bar at prices which are are reasonable) Tea and coffee is replaced on a daily basis in the upgraded rooms but shampoo is not provided, unusual for a 4 star hotel.

The hotel has a continual upgrade program over recent years and most areas of the hotel have been done to a high standard whilst still maintaining the character of the hotel.

We like the large outdoor pool (2 smaller ones available) and the sun terraces feet from the sea in Spring and Autumn and the large indoor pool in Winter. There is a man made beach accessed by underpass approx. May to end of October with facilities and views of the islands. The ferry port is not far from the beach but does not create noise or pollution in our opinion and makes interesting viewing. Towels for pool and beach use are available free of charge.

There is a very pleasant dining room serving buffet style meals and overlooks the pool and bay. Breakfast provides a choice of English (choice varies slightly daily ) or Continental style including meats, cheeses, salads. The evening meal (2 sittings) offers a choice of starters, a salad bar and choice of at least 4 main courses always including carvery, fish and vegetarian dishes rotated approx. every 2 to 3 weeks. There is a wide choice of sweets including hot dish during winter months. The food is well presented by the Chefs and are always willing to try and cater for individual dietary needs where possible.

You can eat as much or as little as you want and no one can possibly go hungry. Most peaple complain of weight gain during their holiday. The food is suited to most Englist tastes but if you want Gordon Ramsay style pay for a 5 star.

The location is out of the way but the peace and tranquility suit our criteria. We find the car hire useful (Maltese car hire is amongst the cheapest in Europe) but not essential as because of the proximity of the ferry frequent buses pass the hotel to the rest of the island and due to the size of Malta you can soon be at any part of the island.

This hotel is not for people who want an exiting and choices of nightlife or a wide range of shopping facilities in the area (the hotel does operate a large shop for most basic needs) Entertainment is provided by the hotel daytime and evening not always available in many other hotels. Cyril and Monica the entertainment hosts during the Winter months (November to May) are popular and attract many repeat bookings to the hotel.There is also other live entertainment acts at least twice a week. People enjoy the entertainment provided but don't expect West End or cruise liner performances.

We find this hotel suits ourselves and many other people and provides good value for money. Check your own criteria and if this hotel meets those give it a try and you should surely have an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAGDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,505 - 1,511 of 2,276 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2009

A very nice hotel, very good service with good food. Very comfortable family room with large ensuite bathrooms.
Being locals enjoyed a nice weekend break.
Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 92,962,000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

we realy enjoyed our stay in new years eve.had a great time even the kids had a lot to do and play.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaltaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I have stayed at the Paradise Bay Resort Hotel over the past 12 years with my family and have enjoyed every visit. Value for money it certainly gives, it is a very large family ran hotel and is located with an exceptionally good public bus service from just outside the entrance of the hotel. The hotel facilities are more than one gets from most hotels (look it up on the internet) and it also has a very good dive school to which Malta ranks high in its dive sites.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azdiver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

I enjoyed my stay in the paradise bay hotel. It was one of the best hotels i have stayed in ever. I found the staff to be incredibly helpful and inviting throughout my stay.
All my individual needs were catered for and there is not one thing that i can fault.
I would recomend this hotel to everyone and would come again and again in the coming years.

Amo Mahal

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmoMahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

My family and I have been to the paradise bay hotel for a number of years. Over the years we have seen a constant improvement to the hotel, with the continuous upgrading of the rooms and modernising of the overall hotel including pool areas, restaurants and social areas such as the reception and hall. As the hotel has developed the paradise bay has become more accessible for the disabled, facilitating their needs through specially allocated rooms along with provided lifts and ramps.

In the hotel there is a hall which is used especially for entertainment purposes and is suitable for wedding venues as we have been witnessed to two wedding receptions held in this hall. Catering at these occasions was excellent.

We have visited and stayed at the hotel various times in the year including the Easter, Summer and Christmas holidays. Over Christmas and New Year there are special menus and entertainment. The food is great and so is the atmosphere. You celebrate New Year twice with a disco once for Malta and an hour later for the British. During our visits we have found the staff friendly, welcoming and the food has been good.

The hotel is surrounded with good views of the sea, with Paradise Bay on the one side and Gozo and Commino on the other side. The hotel is at the quiet end of the island but there is a good bus service right outside which you can use to see the rest of Malta and the Gozo ferry is close by.

We have recommended the hotel to family and friends and they have also enjoyed their stays.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruckie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

I can't understand how people complain about this hotel. I have been visiting it for the past thirty years and don't even dream of going anywhere else. It's a family run hotel and the members of the staff are ALWAYS ready to help you to the best of thier ability. It is true that it is cut off from the rest of the island but what does 'cut off' really mean here? The island is only 19 miles by nine so nowhere is really distant. Buses run frequently and you can catch a bus just outside the hotel. The furthest end of the island can be reached within an hour.
I have never known the rooms not to be clean and food is in abundance with a variety of dishes.
People who complain about the entertainment are probably the same people who don't stay in because they couldn't be bothered or because they are simply hard to please. It is true that the entertainers might not be nationally or internationally known but it is the audience that builds up an atmosphere. People don't seem to want to join in nowadays.
The hotel is situated near the sister island of Gozo and trips to this tiny island run on a shuttle service. The nearest village is only a couple of miles away if you wish to get away in the evening for a drink in the numerous bars and entertainment venues or during the day to have a look around and mingle with the locals.
If you opt for a quiet holiday with quality time with your family, spouse or friends this is the ideal place away from the hustle and bustle and the noise of holiday revellers who go to the central part of the island.
What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ustju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.6 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,720 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,462 reviews
3.9 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,378 reviews
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Address: | Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £23 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing