We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
wakefield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious good value hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We have stayed at this Hotel at least Five times of many Holidays in Malta. The Hotel offers large rooms with all the extras e.g tea and coffee making, fridge and iron whether you upgrade or not. Personally I would recommend to get a superior room,sea view being just as good as Bay view especially if you like to watch the ferries on the Gozo channel. The staff are efficient and friendly, the dining room serves excellent food especially considering the price of the hotel. Facilities like the new entertainment room and the heated indoor pool are excellent. The Bus Stop to Valletta,Buggiba and Sliema is just across the road making it easy to get out and about very cheaply.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    720
    474
    248
    229
See reviews for
576
908
176
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We stayed for two weeks at The Paradise Bay Hotel in Malta in October 2008 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The local buses ran from right outside the hotel which gave us a huge choice of destinations to visit within the island. Having spent some time looking at other areas and accommodation we decided we had chosen the best available in our price range. We had a good choice of food, excellently presented, with very attentive waiting staff. The choice of swimming pools was good and all very clean and well maintained. There were always plenty of free loungers and umbrellas available and always a member of staff available to help should you wish to move to another position around the pools. The gym was small but had adequate equipment and was free of charge. We also found the fact that the ferry to Gozo was just a short walk across the road from the Hotel was a bonus. We visited Gozo several times and found the smaller island more to our taste than the sister island of Malta. If we could have transported the Paradise Bay Hotel to Gozo that would have been an ideal holiday for us. As it was, we were glad to have visited Malta and pleased that our choice of Hotel proved to be excellent. The staff were warm, welcoming, very friendly and most helpful.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Our stay at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel in Mellieha was an excellent and relaxing experience. The staff was very cordial, professional and helpful. The rooms were clean and airy, and had all amenities. The location of the hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday, away from the hustle & bustle of the crowded places. Ideal for fairly long walks in unspoilt countryside, and at the same time very near to the coastline for a good measure of fresh sea-breeze. The tiny sister island of Gozo is only 20 minutes across by a ferry operating every few minutes.
I strongly recommend it to any prospective visitors.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senatorMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st195js
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

we find the staff from management to housekeeping caring friendly and helpful the food good plentiful and varied and winter animation team very entertaining we love to return to paradise yearly sometimes twice and always look forward to our visits as we know we will enjoy our long stay there we have visited since 2002 with a choice of rooms from standard to superior. to suit ones needs we have no hesitation in recommending paradise we have visited other hotels but always go to paradise the best

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m1b1o1i1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We visit this hotel 2 or 3 times a year and have done so for the last 8 years and find this hotel suits our requirements in all areas and it would appear to do so for a lot of people who return year after year.

As with all hotels people do need to do research and make sure the location, facilities and price meets their criteria and if this hotel does I am sure they will have an enjoyable hotel with excellent value for money.

We have stayed in Spring, Autumn, Christmas/New Year and base our information on these periods.

The hotel as always been family run providing easy access to the people in charge who are at the hotel on a daily basis backed by friendly and helpful staff.

The location combines a rural (ideal for walkers) and sea front situation (so near it is like being on a cruise ship in some rooms). All rooms have excellent of either Paradise Bay or of the Gozo and Comino islands.

A large number of rooms have been upgraded to a high standard over recent years and the size of rooms and balconies are of a size rarely found even in hotels of a higher star rating.

We choose the upgraded Bay View rooms at a supplement which provides lovely Bay and Pool views and catches the sun for most of the day. Our daughter has a Sea view room with the same facilities and has views of the islands but receives liitle sun. This room does overlook the road to the Gozo ferry but she has never found any problem from noise at the times of year we visit.

The rooms provide all the expected facilities and are well cleaned on a daily basis with regular linen changes. You do have to pay for the use of the safe facility in the room and also the fridge (this charge can be waived on purchase of items for the mini bar at prices which are are reasonable) Tea and coffee is replaced on a daily basis in the upgraded rooms but shampoo is not provided, unusual for a 4 star hotel.

The hotel has a continual upgrade program over recent years and most areas of the hotel have been done to a high standard whilst still maintaining the character of the hotel.

We like the large outdoor pool (2 smaller ones available) and the sun terraces feet from the sea in Spring and Autumn and the large indoor pool in Winter. There is a man made beach accessed by underpass approx. May to end of October with facilities and views of the islands. The ferry port is not far from the beach but does not create noise or pollution in our opinion and makes interesting viewing. Towels for pool and beach use are available free of charge.

There is a very pleasant dining room serving buffet style meals and overlooks the pool and bay. Breakfast provides a choice of English (choice varies slightly daily ) or Continental style including meats, cheeses, salads. The evening meal (2 sittings) offers a choice of starters, a salad bar and choice of at least 4 main courses always including carvery, fish and vegetarian dishes rotated approx. every 2 to 3 weeks. There is a wide choice of sweets including hot dish during winter months. The food is well presented by the Chefs and are always willing to try and cater for individual dietary needs where possible.

You can eat as much or as little as you want and no one can possibly go hungry. Most peaple complain of weight gain during their holiday. The food is suited to most Englist tastes but if you want Gordon Ramsay style pay for a 5 star.

The location is out of the way but the peace and tranquility suit our criteria. We find the car hire useful (Maltese car hire is amongst the cheapest in Europe) but not essential as because of the proximity of the ferry frequent buses pass the hotel to the rest of the island and due to the size of Malta you can soon be at any part of the island.

This hotel is not for people who want an exiting and choices of nightlife or a wide range of shopping facilities in the area (the hotel does operate a large shop for most basic needs) Entertainment is provided by the hotel daytime and evening not always available in many other hotels. Cyril and Monica the entertainment hosts during the Winter months (November to May) are popular and attract many repeat bookings to the hotel.There is also other live entertainment acts at least twice a week. People enjoy the entertainment provided but don't expect West End or cruise liner performances.

We find this hotel suits ourselves and many other people and provides good value for money. Check your own criteria and if this hotel meets those give it a try and you should surely have an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAGDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2009

A very nice hotel, very good service with good food. Very comfortable family room with large ensuite bathrooms.
Being locals enjoyed a nice weekend break.
Thanks

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92962000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

we realy enjoyed our stay in new years eve.had a great time even the kids had a lot to do and play.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Address: Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing