We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at good as the advertising material suggests”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not at good as the advertising material suggests”
Reviewed 17 October 2007

Just returned from Ramla Bay with mixed feelings about the place. There was no room for us the first night due to overbooking by the hotel (not the tour operators) but we were eventually put into one of their appartments for one night. We'd booked a superior room (£20 per night) but the first room we were given was awful - shower didn't work, air con didn't work, water wouldn't drain from bath because it was clogged with old hair - yuk. Afer 3 days we got moved to another room (number 3) and this was OK except air con could only be used on full blast. For £20 a day you get to see the sea and have a mini bar that is filled on arrival but not again - about £10 worth of drinks.
Our tour rep was excellent and negotiated a £100 refund for us - repaid in cash before we left.

Having said all this the facilities were excellent and the staff were brilliant . It's in a remote location and you really need a car unless you want to rely on the local bus service and you couldn't see the whole island using that.

The food was mixed . We stopped half board so not sure about lunch. Breakfast was good - plenty of choices of continental or full cooked, but the evening meals were a bit repetitive. A good salad bar plus a choice of a roast and fish plus food for kids, but the vegetables were the same every day and the roasts were overcooked and bland.

This was advertised as a 4 star hotel, but it wasn't up to the quality we normally get for that rating. All in all a bit disappointing, but not enough to spoil our vacation. I wouldn't use the place again though.

  • Liked — Remoteness - but need a car
  • Disliked — Quality of room and food
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tepid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    721
    319
    116
    46
See reviews for
577
922
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2007

No room at the Inn on arrival at the hotel and we had to move to the Riviera Hotel across the bay (1 night only), why, we have no idea but it happened to more than us. The hotel has a fantastic setting but very isolated, thank god we had a hire car. The food was only very average and we felt the hotel had staff problems as at breakfast it was common to have run out of cereal dishes, cups, glasses etc Keeping the food hot was a problem for the hotel, and breakfast never varied, no omlettes, pancakes etc.
The barstaff are good but come midnight everything shuts.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jackbita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford,England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

The resort was very friendly, clean and well kept. Though a little out of the way, there was easy access to buses to explore the island. Our room was plenty big enough and cleaned daily. Although a large resort, we found there was always loads of room to relax.
Food was good, there was lots of choice but we found it became a bit repetitive towards the end of the week.
We stayed all inclusive but we felt a little mislead by what this meant. There was a very small selection of drinks in the minibar and this was only stocked on arrival. Similarly we could only have local alcohol which wasn't of the quality as some of the other brands. Also all inclusive serving stopped at 11pm even though the bar was open til 12.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and had a very relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — No where to walk beyond the reost
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Welshy821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2007

We have just returned from a one week stay at this lovely hotel. We got we got what expected from reading the favourable reviews and cannot understand the reason for the few bad overall comments which have appeared in some instances.
It is impossible to achieve 100% satisfaction and we have come to understand that everything is a compromise.
True, there are some things we found to be inferior to 4* hotels in other countries but having stayed in Malta several times we would consider this hotel to be slightly superior to the other similarly graded competition.
The rooms were of a very good size and kept spotlessly clean by the chambermaids. The reception staff were always polite and helpful and whilst it could be said that the meals were somewhat same(ish) we have found this to be the case on most similar graded hotels Europe wide. The bar staff were also very pleasant, efficient and helpful.
There was always a good choice of food so need to got hungry and the range catered well for a picky 8 year old and a 12 year old who will basically eat anything.
On the plus side, the free use of pedalo’s, canoes and the trip to Comino were an added bonus on what similar hotels generally offer.
On the minus side the animation team were very amateurish and gave the impression that they could not work in isolation. Why did it take four people to run the morning and afternoon water aerobics? Other hotels we have stayed at only have one or maximum two people for this whilst the other team members do alternative activities.
The entertainment they put on together with an outside brass ensemble made you feel embarrassed for the musicians because of their amateurish attempts at comedy. In fact the animation team became the subject of comment and derision among many of the guests we talked to. I cannot comment on the staff looking after the teenies.
The professional acts, mostly singers, brought in on 3 nights of the week were of a very good standard.
On the whole this was a good experience and with the few reservations mentioned we would recommend this hotel for a good family holiday.
Through our visits to Malta and friends and acquaintances we have discussed the Island with, we know that it is a place that you either like or hate. There seldom appears to be a middle ground.

  • Liked — Large Room (especially bathroom) Nice Bay/Sea View
  • Disliked — Rooms at front of hotel have smaller balconies and no sea view
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Retired Former Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Just come back from Malta and can highly recommend the resort.

From the staff who are extremely helpful and friendly to the room, everything was excellent.

The food was very varied and you could choose everything from chicken nuggets for the kids to a 3 course meal to even salad if you are watching your waistline.

The childrens activites are brilliant. They have a padded room which is very safe and the staff running it are great with the kids.

You can really do as much or as little as you want to.

There is sports and everything from table tennis to aqua aerobics. You can even take dance lessons

There is also a water centre offering diving, boat trips, banana boats etc and if you are all inclusive the trip to Comino is great as you get two hours at the famous Blue Lagoon.

There are three pools, a childrens one and two larger ones.

There is no problem getting a sun bed but if you want one in the sun all day, it is best to put your towel out at breakfast time.

The private beach is great too as you know that the kids are safe.

The only thing to watch is the jelly fish in the sea.

At night you also get the chance to see all the crabs which the kids loved.

The entertainment staff are brill and I can recommend the performance where they do songs from the musicals.

One the whole, I would definitely go back.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — The cleanliness was not always up to scratch
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank muppet610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

Just got back from 10 days at the Ramla Bay Resort, where we had a fab time.
Hotel rooms are large, plenty of room for 4 and kept clean with fresh towels every day.
Food was of a good standard and well presented, there was always something that we liked, only moan would be about the lack of cups and juice glasses at breakfast.
Kids had a great time in the pool, once their eyes had got used to the saltwater - something not mentioned in the brochure! The beach is small and there is a narrow line of stone and shingle where you enter the water but other than that good once in. But if the wind is blowing the sea up then watch out for the Jelly fish! nasty sting - ask my daughter!! Free canoes and padloes are brill for keeping the kids entertained.
Only other thing to watch out for apart from the Jellyfish is the locals that arrive on mass from Thursday onwards and take over the pool, and they are also much in evidence in the restaurant for Sunday lunch! - (locals not Jellyfish)
We would go again and had a good relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — good sized family rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank alilaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

Overall we has a pleasant stay, it is a small friendly resort, there are 2 outdoor pools - both saltwater which we didn't really like, it stung our eyes like hell! We only discovered the indoor pool on the last day which was bliss, it was almost like a freshwater pool & very cool & lovely. Only downside was our 1 year old son was not allowed in the indoor pool, they dont allow kids under a certain age. The beach was a bit smaller than i expected but then the beaches were all quite small in malta. The pools and beach get mobbed out at weekends as the resort is open to the pubic so get your sunbeds early!The room was nice & had a massive bathroom with 2 showers & a balcony with sea view. It had a tv with a couple of english channels and mini bar which was stocked on arrival but not refilled. The grounds of the hotel were nice and well maintained, with a small play area with swings that my son loved. We stayed all inclusive, the selection at mealtimes got a little repetative but the food was overall good. Breakfast was the same everyday, lunch pretty much same as dinner more or less with a few dishes alternated. The salad selection was pretty good. There seemed to be a lot of space wasted and the whole grill area was only used at luch to do burgers and chicken and i thought they could have made more use of it than they did and had a wider selection. That being said we always found something that we liked. Sunday seems to be the best day for food as a lot of the locals come in for sunday lunch, they had a massive selection that day, wish it was the same everyday! On AI you can have all local drinks & some snacks at pool bar. There was a choice of a few pasta dishes, some salads, 2 sandwhiches, cakes & fries included in AI but if you wanted a burger or pizza or anything else from the rest of the menu you had to pay & you were only allowed these when food wasnt being served in the main restaurant and only until 3.30pm after which you only had the choice of a pre packed sandwich. If your going out for the day they will provide you with a packed lunch which was nice. All the staff in the restaurant and bars were really friendly and helpful. The hotel is quite remote so I'd recommend hiring a car & it only takes a couple of hours to get around the island. Rabat is a must see as is Valetta. Paradise Beach was our favourite & was just around the corner.

  • Liked — the views of gozo, quiet resort & nice clean rooms
  • Disliked — salt water pool
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank nooshmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,344 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,809 reviews
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing