We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ramla Bay Hote;”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Notts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ramla Bay Hote;”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Had a good, relaxing time here, hotel extremely clean, comfortable and well laid out.Food and drink good , sometimes more choice than others at mealtimes. Pool, beach and hotel are extremely clean and well maintained.Staff are helpful and polite. Only 2 matters that we were not so happy with, firstly unlike any other place that we have ever stayed in as all -inclusive we had to sign every time we had a drink or meal- except for breakfast. This was a nuisance, as we had wristbands on the whole holiday to show we were all inclusive. If we and our friends wanted to get a drink for the other couple as well as ourselves a member of each couple had to sign.

The other matter was that one day we were by the pool in the afternoon when a song was played including the line' Don't want a short dicked man' there was a lot of swearing in the song too !We are quite broad minded ,but didn't think it was suitable for playing around the pool , especially as there were children about.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colette_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Madam

Thank you for choosing our Resort for your holiday in Malta.
We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with staff, service, cleanliness and food.

Our system and procedure for all inclusive guests signing for their consumption is for control and security purposes.
Your other comments have been noted.

Hoping you will return to Malta and to our Resort in the future.

Regards
Marica Grech
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    661
    285
    103
    39
See reviews for
516
852
54
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

I have just got back from an 8 day beak at the Ramla Bay Resort, I cannot find fault with the accommodation, food, amenities and staff - all very professional! Understandably the music stops at 23:00 hrs. but I would have liked to dance/party further into the night but that is personal, the animators, Marco and his team did an excellent job, so much energy and fun - first class!
I can reccomend the jeep tours on Gozo, had a lovely and very educational day - will definately do this again and the Malta bus service is an excellent way of seeing this beautiful island... I used to live in Malta as a child and still love all the history and excitement Malta has to offer... Thank you Ramla Bay I will definately be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline1045108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Madam

Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday and all expectations were met.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future during your next visit to Malta

Regards
Marica Grech
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed here 3 years ago and have just spent a most enjoyable holiday here again. Our room on the third floor with panoramic sea view was spacious, well equiped and quiet. At the time of booking we requested a deluxe room but none were available, however room 362 was not lacking. The hotel has expanded since we were here last and just a very small amount of things have suffered. The restaurant service can be a little slow at times and cutlery is not always as clean as one would expect, but that aside there is an excellent choice of food and the all inclusive tarrif is good value. The only down side from our personal point of view ids that as a 4 star hotel gentlemen should be requested to wear long trousers and ladies dress appropriately. Some guests came down to evening meals in beachwear. The staff were very helpful and efficient although at times it seemed they could have done with more on duty mainly in the restaurant. The beach was cleaned daily and the public areas were always to a high standard. This is an excellent hotel if you want a relaxing holiday, a car is essential to get round some other places on this lovey island. Overall a first rate hotel with just a few minor improvements needed to maintain it's 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolrob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Sir

Allow us first to thank you for returning to our Resort and for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Guests' satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us as we are always looking for ways to improve the property and our service.

Hoping we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future
Regards
Marica Grech
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel really is amazing. If you just want to spend some time relaxing and having a good time this is the place to be. Granted, if you do stay there make sure you get a rental car(which are really cheap in Malta btw!) because it's on the opposite site on the island, really far from the airport(well as far as far goes in Malta anyway.) That means that there is pretty much nothing there, which makes it an absolute paradise. If you want to sight-see Malta a lot, this is probably not the best location. However if you are looking to relax with your friends, family, romantic trip, basically anything else, it's ideal. The only real con would be that the price and quality of food in the hotel could be much better. There is another hotel 200 meters away with far better food for less price. It does however have a private beach with numerous activities available(ranging from jet-skiing to fishing) and the facilities in the hotel are just stunning. Make sure you go diving as well, because the sea is absolutely beautiful, crystal clear and whilst the animal life could be better the clarity and beauty of it makes up for it and more.

Oh, and whilst we were 2 young couples, I can't miss pointing out that this is probably one of the child-friendliest hotels I've ever been too. It wasn't too a point that it would bother us, but I can imagine going there when I have kids as the staff and the activities available were amazing.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valencia2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Sir
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ramla Bay Resort while on holiday on the Maltese Islands. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities made your holiday one to remember.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Warm regards to you and your friends
Marica Grech
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljubljana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

On holiday we were really only four days, but I think it was enough that we experienced friendly staff at the hotel. I recommend to all who want a more peaceful holiday.
Regards from Slovenia

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zumbarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for choosing our Resort for your stay in Malta. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review, and we are pleased to notice your positive comment about our staff.
Should you return to Malta, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Regards
Marica Grech
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

This is our third visit to malta but the first time we have stayed at the north of the island. We booked this hotel based on the majority of reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed.
The hotel was in a beautiful location with views over Comino and Gozo and the sunsets were beautiful to see. The hotel was right on the headland and we loved the gardens and the fact that there were lots of small areas to sit and sunbathe rather than just one regimented area.
The beach was only small but never over busy and although we did go to the main Mellieha beach for a full day, the hotel beach was perfect fo a few hours after returning from a morning out.
We found the buffet food to be plentiful and a good choice. I would agree with some previous reviews that the meat was not always cooked well (A few evenings we found it very tough and overcooked), however, I would dispute the reviews stating the food was not up to standard. There was plenty of choice on the salad buffet, the main meal choices were plentiful and the puddings delicious. It was also nice to see that the buffet was constantly replenished.
We had a panoramic country view room and this was spacious and comfortable. The only down side was that although we had paid as 3 adults as our daughter was above the child age, the third bed was a camp bed. We did expect to have 3 proper beds having paid for a higher quality room and having paid 3 adult prices.
The room was very hot in the evenings and the air donditioning was not switched on so only warm air was being recirculated. We did ask at reception if the air conditioning was working and was told that it had not yet been switched on. Although the weather was not boiling hot, the room was very hot at night and the air con really should have been working.
We had car hire for 3 days and found it easy to drive despite what we had been told. As long as you give way to the buses and keep a watchful eye around you, you will not have any problems.
There is so much to see in Malta and the buses are so cheap that it is so easy to get around. The bus stops just up the road from the hotel (about 10 minutes walk for us as our daughter can't walk fast) and the boat across to Comino goes just round from the hotel. We chose to go with the "United" ferry boat as it went every hour and you could stay on Comino as long as you wanted. It cost 10euros pp (!/2 price for children).
We spent a day at the fun splash park which was worth it for us but it is expensive (18 euros pp). The mediterranean animal park is next door but is expensive as there is llittle else there other than a parrot show, sea lion show and doplhin show. It was good for an hour or so but don't expect there to be enough to see for more time than that.
Ramla Bay Resort was in a perfect location for us as we are not bothered about night life. It is not for you if you want to be out and about at night or want to eat anywhere other than the hotel. We loved it, however, and are already planning to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TweeniesSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for staying at our Resort and for posting this review.
We are pleased to notice that you were satisfied with your stay and that you have enjoyed your holiday here.
We look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Regards
Marica Grech
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

I have just come back from a 9 day all inclusive holiday at this hotel. Family of 6 Grandparents, husband, wife and two kids who all thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I have been fortunate to travel widely in my life and felt this hotel was 4 star. The meat was not cooked properly for the first 4 days of our stay. We did not complain, however we believe the issue must have been raised as it was perfect for the rest of our stay. The all inclusive is extremely good value, even throwing in a trip to the island of Comino and free pedlows and canoes (which are great for the kids). I think any all inclusive/buffet style restaurants, become a bit repetitive in their way, but by having late breakfast and the bar menu after 2.30 (with excellent food) it breaks it up. Also a trip to Bouquet Garni a local fish restaurant not to be missed. The rooms were exactly as pictured in the ad with beautiful views of Gozo and Comino. It is a quiet location, but we opted for the hop on/ hop off tour buses North or South Malta, which will pick up and drop off at this hotel for free(brilliant for sightseeing). I have always used trip advisor but never commented, sometimes you have to rate the whole experience, which overall was very good!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Normans486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Sales Executive at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Dear Guest
We thank you for visiting Malta and choosing our Resort for your stay. We appreciate the time taken to post this review and your comments.
Hoping you will return in the future and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again.
Regards
Marica Grech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing