We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We picked well - Planning to return”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We came here June 2011 and was on B&B basis. When we arrived we noted that the top floors were being done but all was perfect when we walked in. We were given a room facing the road on the new floors (The carpet got fitted in the halls whilst we were staying- much to our amazement because we never saw the workers really) and what a view. I can imagine facing the sea is impressive and usually I opt for that but I really cant fault facing the other way. If any bonuses perhaps the quiet of an evening. Ive seen a few people complain about the noise.

The room had obviously just been redone and I could not place one fault to it. Oh perhaps one. The light in the bathroom was very poor. Perhaps more lights or a higher watt. Shaving and doing makeup was challenging.

The staff were ok... didnt really interact with them much. We ate breakfast. It was a simple breakfast. Nothing to shout about.... but nothing to complain about either. Poor staff did seem overwhelmed at times. Maybe more drink stations.
We had a hire car (my biggest recommendation) and got around this great liitle island so quickly we opted to eat out every night.
One night we did go down with the mind to eat in but when we looked at the food we both struggled to find something we wanted. I know this is just one night. But based on that. When I do return ill be opting for the b&b again or the self catering.
The hotel does not have much within walking distance. A little bar and a couple of other hotels. You can catch the ferries to the little islands really easily from here.
There is plenty of sunlounges and the beach is nice. A dip in the sea was lovely.
We didnt see any entertainment staff.
We didnt see a lot of what's on here. But we did keep to ourselves I suppose. My son had gone on a sch trip.... so we had a gettaway. Actually with us two it was suitable. With my son when we return.... ? he is a fussy eater and apart from a pooltable not much for kids. We will have to go b&b or self catering.
The wait at the bar was not a problem. Perhaps 1-2 ppl in front. The eve entertainment was low key. They need something more.
Despite the work being done when we visited last year the hotel was spotless. Credit to the maids. Our maid always had a smile.
Overall I liked this hotel. It is somewhat isolated without a car. But that is what made it for us.

Room Tip: Not a room- but car hire. It really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kasieworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Kaiseworth

Thank you for staying at the Ramla Bay Resort during your visit to our Islands.
We are pleased that you gave enjoyed your holiday and that you plan to return.

May we point out that entertainment stops in time to give our guests a good rest and a good sleep to be able to enjoy the next day to the full. Animation program for children is available during school holidays.

Nearest Bus stop is 5 minutes walk away from the resort, and we offer transport to and from Mellieha daily at a small charge.

We appreciate your comments as through guests’ feedback we are able to better our product and services.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 2,099 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just return from an 11 night stay booked through Thomas Cook on a half board basis. We wanted a get away from it all family holiday and the location definately adheres itself to that.
The pools and pool area are wonderful and there were always sunbeds available....none of your down at the crack of sparrows to claim one with a towel. The hotel is very clean and safe for children.
The reception area is bright but then you walk to the bar and restaurant area and it is dark and uninviting with quite dated furniture.
I wasn't very impressed with our room, it was dated and grubby and not what I had been lead to believe I had booked. As there were four of us in the one room I had to pay a suppliment for the bigger room with balcony and sea view.... I was under the impression that this was to be a panoramic room but this was a fault with how it had been described on the Thomas cook website. We had a basic comfort room with limited view (apart from the restaurant and a palm tree, oh and a bit of sea). I did speak to reception who couldn't understand why I wasn't happy but did show me an alternative room....overlooking the carpark!!!
I offered to pay for another upgrade but was told I was unable to as nothing was available even the though the hotel didn't seem full to capacity.
The food was really lovely, plenty of choice and something for everyone with very friendly chefs. Having to constantly show our key card was a pain though and for those on all inclusive wearing wristbands it must have been annoying as they would have to show their card and sign for everything.
The hotel has a nice little shop with a really friendly and hepful blonde Maltese lady.
We hired a car through Drifters prior to arriving but they do have a desk at the hotel and I would highly recommend the service, they do a good taxi service too.
Entertainment was very, very poor!!! I can only comment on the evening which was an enthusiastic annimation team doing the same thing for the kids night after night...If I hear Chu chu wa one more time I will scream...I think variation is really needed here.
In the bar area they had a singer 4 nights and not that great, but it doesn't help that they are trying to sing over the european football, therefore the layout of TV to evening entertainment needs to be addressed.
The entertainment at the neighbouring Riviera Hotel was much more superior, they have a fab guy called Anthony on a Monday night so worth a visit, drink prices are cheaper too.
Would I visit the Ramla bay again? probably not, it is ideal for thoses that are happy to sit round the pool all day and to stay in the hotel at night, having said that the area is very tranquil and relaxing and a trip further down the road to Armier bay is a must and eat at Rays Lido.

Room Tip: best to check room allocation and upgrade if possible to high floor panoramic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarah1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Sarah1865,

Thank you for staying at the Ramla Bay Resort and for choosing Malta as your destination.

We have different room types starting from the standard country view to the top of the range Junior Suites. All room types enjoy either country or sea-view. In order to avoid disappointment it is very important to check the room description prior to reservation. It is in our interest to upgrade guests who wish to pay for a better room type, therefore if you were informed that none were available it is because we were full. Since the Ramla is built over a large footprint, surrounded by gardens and extensive out-door facilities, when we are running at a full capacity the Resort is not over crowded..

We are glad to note that our food was to your liking. Your other comments have been taken note of.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at our Resort in the future

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just spent a week in may here, lovely hotel. Brilliant bar staff, friendly and will have a laugh. Restaurant staff not a happy! Feel sorry for them at the busiest times tho as they are run of there feet. It was taking 20minutes to order a drink then another 30 minutes for it to arrive and by then you just wanted to get out of the restaurant as at it's busiest times as you can expect it can be chaos! Food very good! Brilliant meat which a chef cut each night, always different types of potatoes. And always lots of fresh veg, and salads. Always lasagnes, pasta bakes, fish etc. and stuff for kids eg chicken nuggets, fish fingers.

Pool areas lovely, all three pools salt water. And very cold! :) could do with new sun beds around pool areas as most very old, plastic broken ones. The little pool at the top has nice sun beds and the rest and old and rickety.

Lovely location to view as overlooking the sea and the islands, but the hotel beach was filthy, full of seaweed and rubbish. Lots of jelly fish in the sea as well! If your all inclusive you get a free boat trip to paradise bay which was brill! And free use of pedalos and canoes each day! The men who run this were very miserable tho! But all good fun on the pedalos.

There is a bus stop 10mnutes away. But nothing locally to the hotel.

Entertainment, well where to start... There is not really much thing!
There is a couple of entertainment reps who walk around, they dont mither you which is great! But they do a couple of activities in the day. But at night the entertainment is just a singer like 4nights a week! Not very good entertainment at all. No where even to dance and not enough seating even for everyone. It's Just in the main bar/ reception area. Children would be extremely bored!!

Rooms lovely, clean and nice. Could do with little refurb as slightly tired. Cleaners lovely!

If your all inclusive you have a wrist band and also a little piece of card with your room number on and you have to show it al meal times and at the bar which is a bit of a pain.

Overall nice hotel, rubbish entertainment, good for an extremely relaxing break more for a older clientele.

Room Tip: Sea view to look over to the islands! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Logo0783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Logo0783

Thank you for staying at the Ramla Bay Resort whilst on holiday in Malta, and thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your meals and found them to be brilliant. Our restaurant timings at the moment are from 1800hrs to last order at 2130hrs for dinner, this gives ample time for all guests to dine at leisure. We are sorry to hear that on one occasion you waited for your drinks.

Our 3 outdoor sea water pools are not heated therefore we don’t exclude that the water was cold if you were at the Resort and the weather had not settled . We do however have an indoor fresh water pool which is heated during winter period. Sunbeds are checked and replaced when necessary.

Our animation team organise activities which include aqua gym, games etc during the day as well as during the evening. On most of the nights we also have live music .

Although our All inclusive guests have a wrist band, we still require the guests’ signature . This, I am afraid is a procedure that needs to be followed since not all our guests are on all inclusive. We offer our guests the choice of booking the board basis which suits them best, starting from Bed & Breakfast.

We hope to be able to welcome you again to our lovely islands and the Ramla Bay Resort in the future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We are just at home from a week in Ramla Bay. We had a very nice holiday. For a small price we could upgrade our room to junior suite. That was better for me cause I need a good night rest for my health.
The hotel is well clean, the people are friendly, also the housemaid. Our bed was very, very good.
I asked for a good cleaning to avoid allergys. In one day I was in my room while the maid was busy. I saw that she even moisten the light and dry it. What a super cleaning-service, never seen that!
The bus is a walk of ten minutes. There are many lines, so a rental car is not necessary. We take just the breakfast, dinnerbuffet we bought in the neighbour hotel Riviera. Was good food en cheaper. The wifi you can receive also from Riviera, no password needed.

Entertainment was nearly every evening but stopped on time for the nightrest.
We had really, a nice, relaxing holiday in the Ramla.

A tip when you going to Rabat. There is a very small restaurant The rising Sun. Lovely food for very little euro's.

Room Tip: We had the junior suite 438. With seaviwe. Seaview has the whole day sun on the balcony/terras!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xanscho59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear xanscho59

Thank you for staying at the Ramla Bay Resort and for taking the time to post this review. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your holiday. Thank you also for your comments about our staff who do their best to assure that our guests have a lovely holiday.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

just spent 2 weeks at the lovely ramla bay hotel. the rooms were spacious and well furnished, and it's worth paying that little extra for a see view. We had a basic, comfort room and it was certainly addequate. The hotel food is really good, and there is plenty of choice.Most of the staff are lovely, a few of the waitresses could do with learning to smile a bit!
There are some major road works going on near the ferry, and the buses are all diverted, so be prepared to walk a ways to the bus stop.
All in all, I would definatley return here and recommend it as a lovely place to relax and soak up the sun.

Room Tip: Choose a seeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Lesley e

Thank you for staying at the Ramla Bay Resort during your recent holiday in Malta, and thank you for taking the time to post this review and your lovely comments.

We are glad to read that you had an excellent holiday, and we look forward to welcoming you again to Malta and to our Resort in the future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Staff all very friendly, food very good wine at meals tasted watered down. Rooms and bathroom clean, matresses cheap and uncomfortable and stained with no matress protectors beds could have been changed more frequently and it would be and idea not to have one sheet to go across two single beds as it is not big enough and keeps coming off. Beautiful sea view over gozo. Its a great shame that maintainence jobs had not been completed before the start of the summer season pools were emptied and painted drilling noise while putting up new pool rails got covered in dust several times while sitting by pool bar as the wood work was all being sanded down.

Room Tip: sea view supplement well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wolverhamptonpumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear wolverhamptonpumph

Thank you for staying at the Ramla Bay Resort and thank you for taking the time to post this review.
We take note of each and every comment we receive, as this would help us to provide a better service and better product to our guest.

We do our best to keep the Resort up to standard, clean and maintenance works round the pools have to be done as the seasons are changing. However, there are 3 outdoor pools from which one can choose, and they were not emptied all at the same time for maintenance work.

We hope you will return to Malta and to our Resort in the future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Nice relaxing hotel. A bit out of the way but beautiful. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vincehart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear vincehart5

Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely comment about our staff.

We are 5 minutes walk away from the nearest bus stop for public transport and the village of Mellieha is 3 kilometers away Although we are in a quiet location, we are still not far from the centre of the closest town.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,242 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3,005 reviews
5.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Address: Triq Ir-Ramla | Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £36 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing