We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ramla Bay Resort - July 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Crosby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ramla Bay Resort - July 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We travelled as a couple and booked a 4 night HB stay at the hotel commencing 29th July, we wanted a quiet beach location to de-stress and enjoy the sun. We pre-booked a superior room with panoramic view, on arrival we were given a free upgrade to a deluxe suite (sea view) on the 3rd floor. As this was a short stay we had no intention to venture out or hire a car.

The hotel met all our expectations, it was busy with a diverse mixture of tourists, it is a big resort yet easy to find suitable places for either couples or children, we chose the sunbeds on the rocks in between the pools and the beach.

We found the staff to be extremely polite and helpful, the hotel was very clean and the rooms tidied promptly each day. We selected half board and had no complaints regarding the breakfast or evening dinner. There was a varied choice of hot and cold meat and fish dishes, we expected a good standard and were not disappointed.

The only negative comment relates to the choice of white wine, we really wanted to sample more of the local Marsovin Sauvignon but it was not always available either by the bottle or glass. The house wine was very palatable but not always cold enough. Just a little more attention to detail when serving white wine.

We never go back to the same place twice as there are so many different places to see, this is an exception and we would certainly return to the Ramla Bay Resort

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Ken C

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort for your recent short trip. We are delighted to read that we have met your expectations and we delivered the relaxing holiday you were looking for.

Thank you also for your lovely comments about the Team at the Resort and the standard of service.
We have taken note of your comment regarding the wine, we will forward this to the food & beverage department, they will check this issue and improve the service as well as the choice where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    662
    286
    103
    39
See reviews for
516
853
54
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

As we enjoyed our stay so much in October last year we decided to take a one week package holiday from 2nd July to 9th July.

Not a lot to add to last year’s review. We found the hotel to be keeping up the very high standards with friendly and helpful staff the same as we experienced last year which influenced us to re-visit again this year. Although the hotel may be considered by some to be located in an isolated part of the island we decided this year not to hire a car but to make use of the local buses to travel around the island giving us the flexibility to travel where we wanted and when we wanted without needing to drive on the local roads so maybe not quite so isolated as some reviews may have been suggested in previous reviews I have read. The bus stop is within easy walking distance from the hotel with a fairly frequent bus service to most parts of the island. This year the long term road works on one of the major roads in the area have now been completed and I was pleased to see that there is now free Wi-Fi available in the bar area of the hotel although found it to be running rather slow on the couple of nights I used it but tried it in the daytime on our last day and was running very fast so not sure whether it was down to the number of guests using it.

It might be worth considering extending the free Wi-Fi to the entire hotel in the future and maybe checking out the reason for the slow running I experienced on the couple of evenings I made use of it if you are not already aware.

Room Tip: Both last year and this year we stopped in rooms advertised as "Comfort Country View Room - Bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear David W,

We thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort once again for your recent holiday.
We are also very pleased to note that, although you have already visited the island before, you still ventured around and enjoyed it.
Yes, we do have a free wifi hot spot next to the Sunset lounge main bar. We shall investigate why it was running slow on a couple of nights however we don’t exclude the load since we were running at a full house during your stay.

Hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in the near future

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Good average hotel , though All Inc is misleading . There are snacks and drinks that are only available at an added cost.
Found all the non Maltese staff very pleasant, and the Maltese staff a little unhelpfull,
Poor evening entertainment.
Would we go back , no

Room Tip: Sea view room a must, or you'll get the car park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnniebuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Johnnybuoy

Thank you for staying at our Resort and for the time taken to post this review.

Upon check in, guests who are booked on all inclusive basis, are given a sheet listing their entitlement. This list, apart from Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and snacks in between, as well as alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks from 10.00 hrs to 23.00 hrs , includes also a boat trip to our sister island Comino, use of pedaloes and canoes and a shuttle service to Mellieha (daily except Sundays & public holidays).

All items on 'all inclusive' are clearly marked on the menus. It is a fact that a selection of drinks are available at a charge. It is up to the guest to choose.

Animation and evening entertainment program to reach all ages is available both during the day and most evenings. We hope you will return to our beautiful islands.

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have recently returned home from another lovely holiday in Malta staying at the Ramla Bay Resort Hotel. This was our third consecutive holiday at the hotel but this is the first time that I have written a review.
The hotel is in a lovely quiet location on the north coast of Malta. The panoramic sea-view bedrooms (recommend an upgrade) are spacious and provide superb views of the islands of Comino and Gozo. Sitting on the balcony the sunsets are stunning.
The staff are polite – the animations staff are very enthusiastic and do a great job. I was even persuaded to take part in the Boccia competition (and won!).
There is a small private beach, three swimming pools and more than enough sunbeds. The hotel shop is well stocked and the prices are very reasonable.
Breakfast offers a good variety of food and the evening meals provide a very varied menu which caters for all tastes. The cost of drinks is also very reasonable – I tried a number of Maltese red wines which were very pleasant. We sat outside on the terrace for all our breakfasts and evening meals and it was delightful - something you can't do very often back home.
It is an easy walk to the Gozo ferry port (or you can catch a bus). The open top bus tour of Gozo is highly recommended - we have done this 3 times and it’s still fun.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Chris O

Thank you for choosing our Resort once again and for your lovely comments posted here on tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your holiday again and found the staff to be polite and animation team enthusiastic. Congratulations for winning the Boccia competition.

All in all, we are delighted to have delivered the holiday you were after and look forward to welcoming you again to our lovely islands and to The Ramla Bay Resort, hopefully in the near future.

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I arrived at the adjacent Boat Hire centre with the intention of booking into the Hotel for the following night. Upon taking a wrong turn on the site I was confronted by security staff who were beyond crude. Their rudeness was epitomised by one of them calling me a dog.......fancy that!! Needless to say I did not book into the hotel. Avoid avoid avoid, the most ignorant staff, actually the most ignorant people I have ever met.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wegian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Wellpark_Bill

We fully object your very damaging post which you have reported to tripadvisor. You were not accommodated at the Resort therefore we have no way of confirming or checking out your claim. We have reasons to believe that this post is not genuine since this incident was never reported. Your review is quite conflicting, to say the least, since you claim that you stayed July 2013 in the same time you claim that you did not book the hotel. Rest assured that had we been informed by such behaviour we would have acted immediately. Should you want to contact us with details please do so be emailing sales@ramlabayresort.com

Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fauldhouse
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had an excellent all inclusive break at this hotel. If your looking for hustle and bustle then go elsewhere. Low key is the order of the day. Excellent value as the food could not be faulted. Would be happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FauldhouseCompo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear FaulhouseCompo

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort for your recent holiday. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent break and also found our food to be excellent. We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Spent three nights in Ramla Bay. Beautiful location. Great room on 4th floor with balcony view. Staff were generally very friendly. Lots of water sports activities with Bluewave Tours nearby. We just did it on a B&B basis. Breakfast was fine but lack of proper coffee was very disappointing for a 4*. Ate in Horizon restaurant (the package tourist & breakfast restaurant) which was an average, buffet affair. Ate in 'Alang Alang' twice (second restaurant) which was nice but not spectacular. Hotel is a bit isolated so I think more focused on families and pool bums rather than those who wish a bit of a more varied holiday experience.

Room Tip: 4th Floor sea view was excellent - 404 0r 440 I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear tbergio

Thank you for choosing the Ramla Bay Resort and for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your short stay. Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff.

We regret that our coffee was not to your liking and comments have been noted.

Our Resort is situated on the northest point of Malta, giving our guests the perfect location for a relaxing holiday , away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
Every guest is important to us, and facilities offered are thought and designed to cater for all types of travellers, be it for guests who are after the beach, fitness enthusiasts, spa holidays, families as well as for those who just want a relaxing stay enjoying the breathtaking views. The closest bus stop is within 5 minutes walk, and the nearest village Mellieha is a just a short trip away by bus or car ( 3 kilometers )

Hoping you will revisit our beautiful islands and our Resort in the future,
Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Southall Travel, Onthebeach, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing