We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramla Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pergola Hotel & Spa(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$355
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna Holiday Complex(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Panorama Hotel(Mellieha)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,160)
Filter reviews
2,160 results
Traveller rating
807
795
370
133
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
807
795
370
133
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalang alangblue lagoonhorizon restaurantsea viewthe bussunset loungeprivate beachnew wingfree boat tripindoor poolbuilding workriviera hotelhalf boardrelaxing holidayall inclusive guestshired a carremote location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,129 - 1,134 of 2,160 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed with family during August 2013.

The first thing to note is that Malta is a really nice Island, and the weather is fantastic. Valetta is a must to visit. Lots to see.

The all inclusive at the hotel is not really what All Inclusive appears to eb at other hotels. You can only pick from certain things on the menu's, you cannot use the A la Cart resturant without paying even more money and it is only during certain times that the AI actually applies! When you pay for All Inclusive you have the impression you then no longer need any extra money for food and drink; but at Ramla Bay Resort you do! All Inclusive ends in the evening when some people like to sit in the bar and drink. Basically, the day ends at 11PM. No real entertainment, and you can't sit in the bar and drink/have a discussion as it costs you more money!

As for the room... The air-con leaked and had a horrible egg like odour. The door did not lock, the poor cleaner twice entered out room when we we're asleep (more to come on the reason for that later!), the fittings (lights etc) were coming off the wall and the shower curtain was also falling off.

As for the staff... mostly rude. Staff are more interested in seeing your room cards than actually helping or assisting you. Service in the restaurant (apart from Saturdays) is painfully slow and disorganised. We has our "do not disturb" sign taken off our door (not really a big problem) and went to reception to ask for another. Instead of giving us another, they went on to say it was our fault it was gone and we had lost it. We just stole someone else's, it was easier than trying to get another one!

The water sports, however, are very good. The independent team that run the boats/jet-skis etc... are very helpful and friendly. They explain everything very well and run some very good trips to the blue lagoon/caves at Comino.

Would stay in Malta again, but not at this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Kai D

Thank you for choosing Malta for your recent holiday.

We regret to read that you were not at all satisfied with our Service . We do apologize for the maintenance & housekeeping issues, if this was the case it shouldn’t have happened . We are afraid that we don’t have your details ( date of stay, full name). This information is very important, since we can take it further, investigate and take action if need be.

Upon check-in, guests on all inclusive basis are given a printed list of the AI entitlement & conditions . These are also agreed with all the Tour Operators we have business with and in all fairness, they should have passed on this information to yourself upon booking.

The AI entitlement consists of, Buffet breakfast, lunch & dinner as well as snacks in between meals , drinks from 1100hrs till 2300hrs, a trip to Comino, use of pedaloes & canoes, shuttle service to Mellieha daily (except Sundays & public holidays), 10% discount on SPA treatments, and mini bar stocked once upon arrival.

A duty manager is available at all times, had you discussed your claims with us whilst in-house i am confident that these problems would have been seen too on the spot. We kindly ask you to contact us directly on sales@ramlabayresort.com should you require any clarifications.

Glad you will return to our beautiful islands.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

... but not for us.
Every night there was a lot of noise. 3 outdoors discos in the neighborhood. All playing extremely loud.
Service at Alang Alang restaurant was not customer oriented.

Possitive was the follow up from the management after my complains.

I like also to compliment Tatiana, the lady who cleaned our room.

Room Tip: Take the panoramic suites. Although it could be that heavily smokers disturbs you since there is no wall between the balconys
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Dirk L

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort.
For correctness sake we do not have any discos close to the Resort, being in the peak of the holiday season we don’t exclude that during your stay there might have been a function or private open air party on the nearby hotel’s beach. Music is allowed till 23.00 hrs after that the volume is lowered.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and will gladly forward your comment to Tatiana.

Hope you will return to Malta and to our Resort in the future

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I was two times in Malta that's why I can compare this hotel with my previous hotel. So, I can tell you this hotel is somewhere between 3 and 4 stars but closer for 3 stars. Only the restaurant, wide range of foods, view and the staff reaches the 4 stars. The enviroment so beatiful but the sand beach was very dirty every day evening. But the cleaning is not too hard job as I saw that's why I don't understand why wasn't clean it over and over. Only one shower place has next to swimming pool (with 3 pcs showers) little bit far from sand beach and not too comfortable to walk from sand beach to showers 3-5 minutes long. And honestly on the sand beach you could find some rocks as well in the water.
I wanted to use my snorkel to see a few fishes but this area of sea is very poor for diving. In my view the beach is only 3 stars where we spent many hours ever day.
You could hired motorboat with you can driven by yourself as well and some other watercraft too.
Generally this hotel is not too bad but if the management looked out from their offices to check the development areas of the hotel, they would find it asap.

And finally thx for a staff jobs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fimo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear fimo66

Thank you for returning to Malta, this time choosing our Resort for your stay. Thank you also for your review.

Although we are pleased to read that you had a pleasant holiday and that you enjoyed the meals served at our Resort, we are quite concerned about your less positive comments.

The Resort is set on a peninsula at the northernmost tip of Malta, the sea is very clean and crystal clear, making snorkelling, especially around the rocky part of our foreshore a very nice and popular activity.

For health and safety reasons, water samples are taken and tested regularly by local health authorities. If any beach in Malta is found to be unfit for swimming, a total ban and closure would be imposed. This is a very serious matter. Sea weed is brought in by the waves on our beach, for this reason the shore is cleaned on a daily basis, and sand is raked regularly.

For correctness sake, our showers are approx 100meters away from the sandy beach , however we have taken note of this comment.

We hope you will revisit our beautiful islands, and maybe choose our Resort once again in the future.

Warm regards

Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Ramla bay resort in July-August 2013, and were hugely disappointed with most aspects of this so called "4* hotel". On arrival, we were given all appropriate paperwork from the MISERABLE staff at reception, including our "All Inclusive" entitlements, which i must say was more like part inclusive. We were supplied with our wristbands, keys and a room card .. We had to provide our roomcard whenever we were using the benefits of "All Inclusive", Why ? surely the wrist bands should be enough ? This proved to be a pain, especially when we wanted to use the watersporting facilities.
Once we had found our rooms, we took another trip to reception as we had been given a small room instead of a family size, and another part of our party was made to pay for a junior suite which they had already paid for, (this was resolved and money refunded a few days later thanks to the Thomas cook rep), also the disrepair that the rooms were in was disgusting for example; ripped curtains, dirty beds, dirty toilet, scale around the shower.
Another thing noticed was the Air conditioning, Was it faulty or does it only get turned on, on a sunday when paying guests are at the hotel ? hmm.
As the days went by, all the staff were still miserable, except the maids and the boys down at the water sports centre. The buffet at the hotels main restraunt would suit very few people, it was more or less the same food every day, unless of course it is a sunday when there are paying guests in the hotel ... coincidence ? If this doesnt bother you, then maybe battering the flies away while you are eating your food might, as this was a big issue.
The beach and pool areas had a nice view of the surrounding islands, Comino and Gozo, and of the rubbish that was being washed up on the beach. Inside the main lobbys/WIFI hotspot area, it was what you would expect from a 4*, clean and tidy, whereas the hallways to the rooms needed some decorating, ie; paintwork, clean carpets.
The elevators which took us to different levels of the hotel werent the most comforting of journeys we made, it felt like they would fail at any second. Also in one of the elevators it didnt even have a phone for you to call for help if you did get stuck.
The hotels main bar, was okay .. personally our party preffered to eat here as the food was much fresher than the buffet, and the "All Inclusive" had slightly more variation than the buffet. Although the drinks werent presented as plush as what you would expect from a 4* hotel.
The "Entertainment"... i suppose it depends on the person. Most nights there would be a man singing and using a keyboard in the main bar, after a couple of nights of this i resorted to drinking at the cocktail bar just beyond Ramla's beach, here the staff were very friendly and i thoroughly enjoyed every moment spent there. Ramla's animation team were consistantly in our faces asking us to join in with their games and asking us to go to a mini disco, i didnt think this was a bad thing .. until a attended the "mini disco", it consisted of high pitched music and dancing aimed at kids.
The spa was a nice place in the hotel, the inside swimming pool was very nice also, no complaints here, it was purely somewhere to relax.
Back to the food and menu's, there wasnt much on offer for children, unless your child lives off of chicken nuggets and chips. if you wanted ice cream out of the buffet area you needed to pay, a bit backward seeing as this ties in with "All Inclusive" while in the buffet area.
The best part of my holiday was spending time in Mellieha town centre, day or night the people were friendly, and there was much better entertainment, my favourite was the 120 bar.
In summary, i will not ever return to the Ramla Bay Resort, and i would not recommend this hotel to anyone .. unless you are a paying guest on a sunday of course :). I have documented my stay with photographs of all aspects of my holiday and i have followed complaints procedures, therefore i can back up everything i have said in this review.

Room Tip: For a good room, a Junior suite with a sea view is must.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Micheal L

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort for your recent holiday. We are disappointed to read such comments about our staff. It would have been much wiser to discuss any issues directly with us when you were in-house. Calling people names is unacceptable.

We would like to confirm that you were allocated the rooms as stated on your reservation. As for the other member of your party, we were wrongly informed by your travel agent in fact they were compensated by the travel agent and not ourselves. For some reason you made it seem that it was our doing. We do have documentation to support this.

It is our policy that all guests have to show their key card at all bars & restaurants. This is done for control and security reasons. Upon check-in this is clearly explained and it is also written down on the key-card itself. The Key Card is an internal identification document indicating name, room number and board basis. It is important to note that our Resort is not all on ‘all inclusive’, some guests choose to be on BB or Half Board.

During your stay, the air-condition was on 24/7. Air temperature (over that period) time was recorded at minimum 33 Degrees Celsius during the day.

Our beach and foreshore are cleaned on a daily basis. Sand is raked regularly. Having said that we don’t exclude that owing rough seas or windy conditions some seaweeds could have come ashore, this would have been removed the next morning.

All elevators have an emergency alarm bell installed, they are serviced and certified in accordance with local safely regulations. We have no records of any of the lifts malfunctioning during your stay.

Our Sunday lunches are very popular with the locals and day trippers. It is enhanced since it is more expensive than the rest of the week.

Live music is available 5 evenings a week, with different performing artists.
Our Animation staff invite all guests to participate, it is up to the guest to join or not to do so. The ‘Mini Disco’ is a very popular with the kids.

Our buffet does not restrict children to choose nuggets & chips or the Kid’s Menu of the day. All the other items on the buffet can be consumed. Ice-cream is available on the desserts counter during lunch and dinner.

A Duty manager is available at all times, we regret to note that you did not bring up any of your comments during your stay.

We still appreciate your post, and should you wish to contact us directly in order to clarify or discuss with us your disappointment, please do not hesitate to do so. My e-mail address is sales@ramlabayresort.com

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed Malta and hope you will return to our lovely islands.
Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have been to Malta many times and like it a lot.This time a friend let us have his time share for a week in June at the Ramla bay resort. The complex has everything you need for a chilled out holiday, The food is good and plenty of choice, the evening entertainment is good. 3 good size pools to use no problem getting sunbeds.On the downside the complex is a bite remote from the rest of Malta, you need a car to see more of the island. We found the staff were friendly and helpful apart from a couple of bar staff who seemed very friendly towards guests that they knew but ignorant to us and some guests who had not been there before, keeping us waiting and stern faced. Well i suppose you get that type anywhere. All in all a good resort and would go again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TONY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear TONY A

Thank you for choosing Malta once again and for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay especially the outdoor area and the food served at our restaurants.

The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northest point of Malta, giving our guests the perfect location for a relaxing holiday , away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
The closest bus stop is within 5 minutes walk, and the nearest village Mellieha is a just a short trip away by bus or car ( 3 kilometers )

We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful islands and our Resort in the future,

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews