We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Package”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Traun, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Package”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Nice Hotel situated in a quite calm bay with another 4* hotel on the opposite. Reception friendly. Room was big - not too comfortable but okay. Big choice at the breakfast buffet - except coffee was terrible. Pool Bar has sensational food - cocktails they cant mix in the whole hotel - same same but always different. Dinner in the Alang-Alang restaurant with view over the bay was great - book at 19:00 with sunset!! (August) - service all over not too . Sun beds all over - small sand beach with clear water and sand in the water also, scuba station in the hotel. Make the travel around comino & blue lagoon - we had fun. Also the hotel on the opposite (Riviera) had very good quality in food but better service. Bus trips to Valletta take nearly 80 minutes. All together a very good package.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Degas61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Degas61

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort for your recent holiday. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay which was complimented by a lovely dinner at the Alang Alang, the clear waters and the trip to Comino and the Blue Lagoon.

We hope you will return to our islands, and we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    700
    307
    112
    44
See reviews for
548
902
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June all inclusive and had a wonderful holiday. The only downside was getting our panoramic view rooms which we paid extra for and they tried to give us rooms overlooking the car park but this was soon sorted out. The food and location was excellent! The pools and beach were great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne42103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Anne42103

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort for your recent holiday. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that the issue regarding room type was swiftly sorted out.

Thank you also for placing your review along with a photo which shows a part of our ground and the surroundings.

We hope you will return to our beautiful islands and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Advantages:
-hotel is situated in quite area
-walking distance from Gozo ferry/ cca 20 min
- Blue lagoon is reachable by boat/ 8-12 EUR
-different dinner every day including fishs
- every time you find a free sun bed on the beach/ you can't wake up early morning and make a reservation by towel ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karol_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear karol_v

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort and for your review with photos. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay, the food offered at the Resort and the lovely Maltese weather.

We hope you will return to explore further

Warm Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Be very careful when booking (especially with Thomas Cook) - all inclusive does not mean all inclusive here, we were told as we were checking in that we had a limit for the week and that if we went over it we would be charged! Not happy about it and then when complained Thomas Cook customer service is one of the worst I have ever encountered! Rude and obnoxious would be the most polite way to sum them up - not what we paid for!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Robert W,

Your statement ‘we were told as we were checking in that we had a limit for the week and that if we went over it we would be charged!’ is not the case.
There is no limit on the All Inclusive as long as it is consumed between 10.00 to 23.00 hrs and from the AI entitlement list, this irrelevant from the length of stay. At check-in stage, every guest booked on AI is given a letter explaining the entitlement and conditions. There is no mention of your claim regarding this letter and surely no one from our reception would state something similar.
We just can’t understand how you reached such a conclusion. If you do have any documentation issued by us or your Tour Operator please send it to us on sales@ramlabayresrort.com

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire, england
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Arrived 11am 13/8/13. Mini bus from airport had chewing gum stuck to inside panels, nice start. No welcome or directions to rooms when we arrived and had to wait until 3.15pm for room. My 2 sons got their room on time at 2pm but the air-con leaked and smelt of rotten eggs, door did not lock and shower curtain was coming of the wall. Another couple who arrived at same time as us paid for a sea view room which they did not get and were told they could upgrade to one even though they had already paid. My 2 sons 'do not disturb' sign went missing and when they asked for another one ( needed because the lock did not work) the duty manager accused them of blaming his staff or "other stupid guests" of taking it. Word of advice to any one with a request or problem, don't expect to get it dealt with without some defensive bad attitude from some of the senior staff. Other staff were miserable and very regimental when demanding to see wrist bands, card keys and card key wallets before you could even be allowed to join the long cue to be shown were to sit for dinner. The pool areas are over crowded and when my wife asked for a parasol a very helpful member of staff said he would get one but niether he or the parasol ever appeared. The all inclusive is a joke and it was as embarrassing to me let alone the staff to have to be refused a drink after 11pm or not allowed to eat in the better restaurant (most good 4 star resorts allow one visit per stay to all restaurants on site) and the menu's are fall of drinks and meals you can not order on all inclusive (You can not get bottled water on all inclusive) As for the constant scraping of furniture by the cleaning staff at silly o'clock and the dust sheets, masking tape and painting of magnolia walls every morning, well this made me feel as if I was still at work (do you really need to paint walls during peak season). Also be aware of the expensive Thomas-cook trip to Goso directing you straight to food, souvenir and Jewelry shops and then being asked to pay even more money to go on a 10 min boat trip which just happens to be the best part of the trip. On a positive note the people running the water sports area are fantastic and I would recommend the trip they do to the blue lagoon. Also the Malta by Night open top bus trip was very good value for money. We also found the lady who runs the onsite shop very helpful and the resort WiFi actual does work unlike many other resorts. I have been to many 3, 4 and 5 star resorts and this is the most disappointing of them all. I look forward to the resort managers defense and denial of all I have reported. Regards Kevin Day

Room Tip: If you ask for a room facing the sea, make sure its not one that is a side view of the sea as you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Kevin D

Thank you for choosing our Resort and for posting this review. We have already replied to most of your points which were also in the review posted from another member of your party.
We are not able to reply on your agent’s behalf, however, as previously recommended, we kindly ask you to contact us directly on sales@ramlabayresort.com

On a positive note, we are very pleased to read your lovely comment about our staff at the shop and the water sports office. The trip to Comino is one not to be missed, and we are pleased that we offer this as part of the all inclusive entitlement for the summer months.
Hoping you will return to our beautiful islands.

Warm regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire, england
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

when we arrived at the hotel we were told we couldant enter our room untill " oclock ( we arrived at eleven oclock ) so we went to the snack bar and had a lovely snack and the staff were very freindly. we went back to see if we could get into our rooms but were told they werent ready, we eventually got into them at 3,15, but we were ok once we settled in. my only critisam is that we werent told where abouts our rooms were we had to find them ourselves . In my 2 sons room the telly was really old and they couldant see it from their beds which was abit dissapointing when we couldant drink in the bar after 11 if your all inclusive unless you pay, as there wasant any entertainment to sprake of we had to sit in our rooms. The do not disturb sign was taken from my sons door so my youngest son went to reception to ask for another one and the manager he spoke to was quite rude to him, he said the people who took it were stupid childish and all the kids in the hotel should be in school , if i hadnt been so angrey i would have laughed i thought as a company they would have tried to please there customers not insult them. when i went to see him to explain that my sons didnt lose it he tried to say i had accused his cleaning staff of taking it when i hadnt even mentioned his staff, we just wanted a sign on the door i couldant believe the fuss he was making. The staff in the dining room seemed really down and a couple of them were rude, although most of them were polite but seem very unhappy. one of our door keys wasant working so i asked a manager in reception if he could reset it and he said i had obviously had it by a mobile phone, which as i said was impossible as my mobile was in england . there are more things i could say but havent got the time, i have been in 4 star hotels before and got much better treatment , we loved malta and we will definatly go back but we will stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: me and my husband liked our room but my sons room was falling apart, i dont think it matters where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank days21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear days21

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort for your recent holiday.

We regret to note that you were disappointed with our Resort.
Check-in time is from 1400hrs, if for some reason you checked- in at 3.15 we do apologise for this delay and for not explaining your room’s whereabouts.

Main bar closes at 2400hrs, however last order for drinks on all inclusive entitlement is at 2300hrs. Although checkin time is after 1400hrs, we are pleased to offer our guests on all inclusive, food & drinks from the moment they arrive at the Resort.

Unfortunately some guests find it easier to take a ‘do not disturb’ sign from another door, rather then ask for another one. We obviously find no objection in giving a replacement, we cannot understand why the receptionist would not give you a replacement. In all probability this must have been a genuine misunderstanding .

Our key cards are magnetic, we therefore advise guests not to keep it next to a mobile phone since it would lose its programming thus causing an inconvenience to the guest.

Since we do not have your details, we are not able to check your claims, however should you wish to contact us, please do so by emailing us on sales@ramlabayresort.com

We look forward to welcoming you again to Malta

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

OK so as the title suggests we were disappointed, so rather than write a rambling piece here I will try to separate out the positives and negatives for the ease of other travellers. However, I am intrigued to see what, if any, comment this gets from the hotel as I do not concur with a lot of the 'management' comments made to other negative reviews. We booked this holiday on the basis of the reviews on TA and chose to ignore the few negative comments, but it turns out some of them were valid, AI in particular but more of that later

POSITIVES

~ Location is very good, if a little out of the way, but nice and quiet
~ Weather was good, hot without being too hot mostly (did have a storm one day, but hey!)
~ Hotel itself was pleasant although starting to look 'tired' in places
~ Rooms are spacious
~ Staff were polite and courteous
~ Although not used by us the children's activities seemed very good (Animation team)

NEGATIVES

~ The biggest issue for us was 'All Inclusive', as others have said it was not what I consider to be AI. The main gripes as follows and before the manager says we knew this, yes we did, the hotel makes the AI 'rules' and they are rules, very very clear, but that still doesn't make it a pleasant experience/process and it certainly wasn't as described in the Thomas Cook brochure and not really what you want on holiday, worrying about what you can/cant have and when, so
~ You cant order from the 'snacks' menu when the main restaurant is open
~ When you can order not everything on the menu is available to AI guests, bear in mind this is a snack menu, burgers, pizza, sandwiches etc, not Ala-cart!
~ Not all drinks on the menu are available to AI guests, I expect this for international brands but not other drinks/cocktails
~ The bar closes at midnight but AI stops at 23:00 petty in the extreme, just why!
~ The TV in the room was around 20 years old and was a small portable about 14" with shocking reception/picture quality. I appreciate this is not a primary concern on holiday, but it is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, and anyway what else are you going to do after 23:00 when you cant have a drink! (joke!)
~ The food in the main buffet restaurant is average at best and repetitive with food not eaten the previous sitting/day very obviously re-hashed into something else. There was a lot of stews, fish/meat in sauces and pies, not really what you want somewhere hot, there seemed to be very little traditional Maltese food on offer. The food at lunchtime was especially poor so we took to waiting until after 14:30 (when the restaurant closed) and ordered from the snack menu which was much better quality and generally lighter, although limited in choice (see above)
~ The indoor pool was closed for maintenance!! Now I know stuff needs to be done, but in August at high season, really? And yes I know there are 3 outdoor pools but it did get too hot sometimes outside

Room Tip: I wouldn't waste money on a sea view room personally, we were at the front of the hotel and stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigDad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear BigDad 62,

We thank you for choosing our Resort for your recent holiday to Malta. We answer each and every review regardless if it is positive or negative. Rest assured that we do take note of every comment and take action if need be.


All Tour Operators we deal with, inclusive of Thomas Cook, have details of our AI packages. We do sign a very detailed contract with all the operators, so if your weren’t informed with these details, I am afraid, it is not our wrong doing. If we miss out on what we signed for with the Operators we would be playing with fire and can be held responsible for our actions. It is not our style to change the conditions, it would be a very dangerous game.
Beverages for AI are from 10.00 to 23.00 hrs. The bar closes at 24.00 hrs therefore, yes, you can have a drink however there would be a charge between 23.00 to 24.00 hrs.

We confirm that the indoor pool was closed for 3 days during August for maintenance; again we do inform Operators well in advance that the indoor pool might be closed for maintenance during August.
Our amenities include a private sandy beach, a long stretch of rocky foreshore with direct access to the sea as well as 3 large outdoor pools.

Although we do our best to offer and serve meals which would appeal to different people, food is a question of personal taste. Our buffet Menu changes daily whilst our snack menu (available at the pool bar and main bar) offers a vast selection of salads, pasta, burgers, baguettes and more.


Whilst thanking you for your positive and your lovely comment about the staff, we hope that you will visit our island once again in the future,

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,298 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Onthebeach, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing