We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Went there a few years ago. Lovely hotel plenty of sun loungers and space. Food was
lovely and the rooms were very clean. The hotel is out of the way a little so not much to do
in the evening if you like a stroll. Not far from the ferry terminal that takes ferries to the
island of Gozo.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Lorna M

Thank you for posting this review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and that even though you were here a few years ago, you still have nice things to say about the Ramla Bay Resort.
We hope that you will be returning to Malta and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    661
    285
    103
    39
See reviews for
516
852
54
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I booked a single superior room (not to be confused with a Deluxe room as stated on the hotels website, don't know why there is a difference in description when booking through an agent?) with panoramic sea view but was given a large twin bed room with good sized balcony on the third floor overlooking the beach, with great views to Gozo and Comino. As it turned out all the rooms have either a balcony or terrace but some have land views and are smaller. Either way the views are good as the area is not as built up as other areas such as Bugibba, St Paul's bay, St Julian's etc.
ACCOMMODATION: The room was large with a table and chairs inside as well as on the balcony. It was cleaned and tidied daily and the tea and coffee was replenished daily too. The shower water pressure was great too. Storage was good with a large built in wardrobe and drawers. Facilities were sufficient with a hair dryer, fridge (minibar stocked once for free which included a fair amount of drinks, too be specific - 2 x cans of coke, 1 x can of Sprite, a small bottle of red and white wine, a large can of lager, a large bottle of water and 2 further bottles of water, half litre size and 2 x small cartons of orange juice) and Safe, charged at 2.50 euros per day.
Although there was satellite tv it only had one english channel with old episodes of Dads Army, Eastenders etc, so download some films if you want more choice. Don't try downloading films via their free wifi as it was beyond slow, 100mb took 20 minutes on a good day!
On a downside, there were signs of wear and tear in as much as the curtain lining was torn in places and the carpet in the spacious halls was a bit grubby/tired. The communal halls were a bit utilitarian, no pictures or decoration but overall ok as its not that important but could be made to look a lot better with just a little change.
One criticism would be the pillows, which were a bit flimsy and foam filled and could do with a wash as they smelt rather stale. On a plus, the linen and mattress were clean and the mattress was quite firm which suited me well.
STAFF: The female reception staff were friendly and helpful, even at 1am when I asked for a Safe key. They were very efficient at organising trips and tickets and giving all the information you could ask for. The same could not be said of the male night receptionist on 5th/6th September 2013 on duty when I checked out, who was surly and monosyllabic, with all the personality of a breeze block.
FOOD: Breakfast was fine with all the usuals; bacon, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, fruit, cereal and cheese and meats etc. I didn't have any other meals at the hotel, as I ate when out and about, so can't comment on the restaurants on offer, but I heard that they were good from other guests.
TRANSPORT: The area is great for trips to Gozo (which is beautiful and worth a visit) as the ferry is only a 20 minute walk from the hotel and bus transfers to the open top tour bus (for Malta & Gozo) can be arranged with a quick phone call from reception, as I found out on my first day. The number 41 bus takes about an hour to Valletta (a 5 minute walk from the hotel) and the tour bus about 2 + hours as it stops so much en route, but you get more information and see more on the tour. If you can't stand the bus, a taxi is anything from 30-35 euros each way to Valletta and takes about 40 minutes. There is always car hire as the driving is no worse than Bristol at rush hour (in my opinion) and at least driving is the same side as in the UK. Oh yes, and electric sockets are 3 pin so don't pack an adaptor.
SUMMARY: If you are looking for a grown up chill out resort with private beach and a rugged coastline, you have chosen the right one. If you want a bit more life, laughter and personality, choose one of the aforementioned resorts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Sue B,

Thank you for your very descriptive write-up, and most of all thank you for choosing our Resort.
We have taken note of all your positive constructive comments as well as items that need more attention from our end.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you once again in the near future,

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one week in August 2013 having decided to stay bed and breakfast. Prior to booking we researched the hotel thoroughly on this website amongst others and were not put off by some of the more negative reviews. We arrived at the hotel around 11am, my initial view was of the front of the hotel which looks pleasant enough, however the immediate location around the site is in need of some major TLC and does not really reflect the standing of a four star hotel.

I understand that while this may be beyond their control (they may not own it), it should be understood that first impressions really do count. On checking in we were informed that our room would not be available until 2pm and that should we like to leave our bags "in the designated area we could collect them later." Perish the thought they could be taken up to the room while we waited. The Maltese receptionist casually informed us, with the inflection of a person well versed in the soft-sell, that should we not be pleased with our room an upgrade could be arranged at ten Euro's a night surcharge. I immediately thought "strange, we paid extra for a sea view; why would we need an upgrade?" I started to get a funny feeling we were about to get a shock.

Three hours later, having begun our holiday without the offer of complimentary drinks while we waited (granted we were not all inclusive but this is "four star" we're talking about!) and a very uncertain feeling about the quality of our room in the pit of my stomach I collected the card from reception............. and stood in the lobby. No one showed us to the room through the labyrinthine corridors or offered to help with our luggage. Twenty minutes later, having navigated one way then the next up what can only be described as a lacklustre elevator we arrived at our room. On the left of the corridor were even number rooms, to the right, the odds. I opened the door and was confronted with nothing short of my grandmothers living room straight from 1986, complete with miniscule cathode ray television. The view was breathtakingly spectacular; a stunning vista of the staff car park. To say I spat the dummy was an understatement in the extreme. I trudged back down to the reception and spoke to the same receptionist who had checked us in who asked with a somewhat knowing smile if I had "come to upgrade my room?". I informed her that no, I had not, however I would very much like it if I could be moved to a room more befitting the much lauded "sea view" we had paid for. She then launched into a very well rehearsed lecture on how I was very much mistaken and I could in fact see the sea from my room. I found this disgusting and informed her pleasantly that it was a view of the staff car park and as such I required the manager to move us to a room with an even number at the earliest opportunity. She promptly went to the back of the reception area, mere feet from where are discussion was taking place and apparently spoke to the manager who was out of sight in an alcove. She returned to deliver the wonderful news that no rooms of that description were available; I again told her this was unacceptable and she shuttled back to the manager to inform him of this. This dance was performed four times in total before the still invisible manager condescended to move us the following day.

I would have expected that after a customer complaint being handled that rudely and indifferently, the easiest and most common sense thing they could have done was to move us to one of the rooms on a floor above free of charge (remember the ones they told us about on check-in? Before we'd even seen our room? It would have cost the hotel 70 EUR to make amends and prevent any further reputational damage). After a restless and apprehensive night we went town to reception and were given our new key card by a very friendly and easy going Maltese girl and to our relief the room was beautiful.

The rest of the holiday passed without further problems although I have to admit (and it has been raised in numerous reviews on here) that they need to stop interrogating their guests whenever they dare to venture to the beach area; guys, if someone has gone to the most northern point of Malta to use your tiny beach, Christ, they deserve a medal. It is very unlikely they are not staying with you. Be under no illusion; the hotel was very clean and the facilities very nice while the location is breath taking, secluded and well connected to the other islands and the rest of Malta to the south and as such cannot be faulted. While we did not eat any other meals than breakfast (which offered the full range, although this full range of breakfasts remained depressingly samey through the week), the food served for lunch and dinner appeared fairly uninspiring and I would advise making use of Malta's myriad fantastic restaurants in which we did not have a single bad meal!

Overall I expected far more than was delivered by this hotel and the service was at a level far more suited to a three star for the price. Look elsewhere to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Insist on an even numbered room for a sea view worthy of the name!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Rich L,

Thank you for choosing our Island and the Ramla Bay Resort for your recent stay.

Check-in is at 14.00 hrs, for security reasons unless we are instructed by the guests, we do not deliver luggages in a room which technically is still unoccupied.

We have several room types starting from the standard room type to our flag-ship Junior Suites. At check-in stage we advise guests of any in-house room upgrade offers going on at the time.
We apologise if this information was transmitted in such a way that made it feel as there is a catch since it is not our scope to mislead our valued guests who have chosen us as their Resort.

Since the Resort’s footprint is of 28000 sq. meters and has several entrances, for security reasons, we do check that anybody using our facilities are in fact Resort residents and are authorised to roam on our property. Rest assured that if we should take your advice of ’giving a medal to anybody who ventures ...’ we would hand out quite a number of them, you would be surprised.

We are glad to note that your enjoyed your stay and our island and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you once again.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traun, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Nice Hotel situated in a quite calm bay with another 4* hotel on the opposite. Reception friendly. Room was big - not too comfortable but okay. Big choice at the breakfast buffet - except coffee was terrible. Pool Bar has sensational food - cocktails they cant mix in the whole hotel - same same but always different. Dinner in the Alang-Alang restaurant with view over the bay was great - book at 19:00 with sunset!! (August) - service all over not too . Sun beds all over - small sand beach with clear water and sand in the water also, scuba station in the hotel. Make the travel around comino & blue lagoon - we had fun. Also the hotel on the opposite (Riviera) had very good quality in food but better service. Bus trips to Valletta take nearly 80 minutes. All together a very good package.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Degas61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Degas61

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort for your recent holiday. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay which was complimented by a lovely dinner at the Alang Alang, the clear waters and the trip to Comino and the Blue Lagoon.

We hope you will return to our islands, and we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June all inclusive and had a wonderful holiday. The only downside was getting our panoramic view rooms which we paid extra for and they tried to give us rooms overlooking the car park but this was soon sorted out. The food and location was excellent! The pools and beach were great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne42103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Anne42103

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort for your recent holiday. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that the issue regarding room type was swiftly sorted out.

Thank you also for placing your review along with a photo which shows a part of our ground and the surroundings.

We hope you will return to our beautiful islands and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Advantages:
-hotel is situated in quite area
-walking distance from Gozo ferry/ cca 20 min
- Blue lagoon is reachable by boat/ 8-12 EUR
-different dinner every day including fishs
- every time you find a free sun bed on the beach/ you can't wake up early morning and make a reservation by towel ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karol_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear karol_v

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort and for your review with photos. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay, the food offered at the Resort and the lovely Maltese weather.

We hope you will return to explore further

Warm Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Be very careful when booking (especially with Thomas Cook) - all inclusive does not mean all inclusive here, we were told as we were checking in that we had a limit for the week and that if we went over it we would be charged! Not happy about it and then when complained Thomas Cook customer service is one of the worst I have ever encountered! Rude and obnoxious would be the most polite way to sum them up - not what we paid for!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Robert W,

Your statement ‘we were told as we were checking in that we had a limit for the week and that if we went over it we would be charged!’ is not the case.
There is no limit on the All Inclusive as long as it is consumed between 10.00 to 23.00 hrs and from the AI entitlement list, this irrelevant from the length of stay. At check-in stage, every guest booked on AI is given a letter explaining the entitlement and conditions. There is no mention of your claim regarding this letter and surely no one from our reception would state something similar.
We just can’t understand how you reached such a conclusion. If you do have any documentation issued by us or your Tour Operator please send it to us on sales@ramlabayresrort.com

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing