We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Ramla Bay Resort”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have just returned from 2 weeks in Malta staying at the Ramla Bay Resort Marfa. The Ramla is at the end of the island about an hours transfer from the airport. It is remote and is well away from the busy towns that hold the history of Malta. Beautifully tranquil and quiet the average age of residents was probably 40+. There was a good mix of nationalities with equal amount of English, German and French with some Scandinavian and Maltese guests, so was not dominated by any one culture. We opted for a Deluxe Sea view room which was on the 3rd floor and had amazing views over Comino and Gozo. The room was perfect with a 6 foot bed and a single bed. It also had a settee and 2 arm chairs plus a table and 2 chairs, flat screen TV, fridge and T making facilities all of which were of a high standard. The hotel has a Spa which I used and had 2 massages - very nice! Food was buffet style and had a good European range of foods. Outside there are 2 pools and a private beach with plenty of sunbeds for all - may be a few more umbrellas would have been ideal as some people were struggling for shade ion the 30+ temperature. Blue Waves is the resident but independent water sports supplier with canoes, pedal boats, jet skis, wind surfing, hire of dinghies and s[peed boats. They also have cruises over to Comino and on a Friday have a sunset cruise - all are reasonably prosed. The only down side was that the hotel opposite )The Riviera) had the most awful entertainment which was so loud you could hear it from your balcony and on a couple of occasions we could barely hear our own conversation - one of the hotel to deal with I think1

Room Tip: The hotel is quite isolated so all rooms are good and quiet - Deluxe rooms are lovely but may be out...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Carole A

Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and the tranquil ambience which this Resort proudly offers.
We hope you will return to our beautiful Islands and that we will also have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,966)
There are newer reviews for Ramla Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,967 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed for a very pleasant weekend at the Ramla Bay Resort. The hotel areas and room were immaculately clean, in a good state of repair. The resort itself is beautiful and right on the water's edge, with amazing views of the Comino Channel, Comino itself and Gozo and picturesque sunsets.

We had booked a regular room but got a complimentary upgrade to a sea-view panoramic room, on the higher floors of the hotel and with a large terrace commanding amazing views. If I do visit again, I will definitely opt for one of the sea-view rooms. The room itself and the bathroom were a very good size and had ample room for one to move about. Air-conditioning in the room and common areas was very efficient as well.

There are three outdoor pools in the hotel and one indoor one. There were ample sunbeds and umbrellas, although truth be told, you had an army of people who 'booked' the best-placed sunbeds at dawn and left them empty for half the day which was a bit annoying. The indoor pool was lovely as well although the water was not heated. There was also access to the beach and ample sunbeds there as well.

Staff were pleasant and even allowed us to have our room earlier than the stipulated check-in time as it was ready. On departure day we left our luggage in the luggage room upon check-out and were invited to keep using the rest of the facilities till we left, which was nice.

The food on offer was the only thing which put a damper on the holiday. The food served in the main restaurant was bland and not up to four star standard in my opinion. The antipasti were exactly the same for the two consecutive nights we stayed there. Breakfast was on the bland side as well but edible, don't get me wrong. Food by the pool area was nice, but overpriced.

The good thing about it is that you can charge bills for food and beverages to the room and pay everything at the end of the stay, which means you don't have to carry cash around all the time. There was entertainment in the evenings at the main bar and animation during the day. The music by the pool was a bit too loud for my liking and kept blasting pop songs all day.

Despite all this, I would visit again as the good points greatly outweigh the cons and you cannot get views like that anywhere in Malta. All in all a very pleasant and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Definitely a panoramic sea-view room - one would seriously be missing out if not.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear JenCos,
Thank you for choosing our Resort. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and that you will return.
Food is very much a question of personal taste. Many people like buffet meals since it is practical and eat as much as you can feeling. This however does have a few drawbacks since some basic items (like salad table) tend to be repetitive. This does not apply for the main dishes which change daily. As you rightly state we do have other food outlets. Having said that all your comments have been noted and will be discussed.
Thank you and look forward to host you once again

Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from Ramla Bay. We arrived at 1:30 in the morning and the lady on the front desk was fantastic, friendly but very aware at how tired we were. The room (car park side) was lovely. Very spacious with lots of wardrobe space, a great shower, comfortable beds and a balcony where we could see the sea.
We were there on all inclusive and as this was the first time for me (I usually go self catering) I was slightly concerned it would be a mistake. Well the food was delicious. I had a completely different meal each day and tried plenty of new things. I found the secret was not to pile everything on but just choose of few items. Previous reviewers have said there is no free water but there is if you ask for a glass. We had no issues with the time slots for the pool bar and the restaurant and just ate where and when we felt like it. I was also pleased that there was plenty for me to drink (I am quite fussy) and the cocktails were lovely. The staff were all very sweet, and although they didn't make conversation with the guests, they were always polite and helpful.
The layout of the grounds means there are plenty of sunloungers and you never felt crowded. The views over the bay were fantastic especially late afternoon as the sun starts to set. We went in the sea every day, and it was lovely and clear with lots of fishes.
The bus service means you are never far away from somewhere to visit. Valetta was a highlight for me and Mdini. And as everyone has already said, so cheap and so easy to use.
We were disappointed with the evening entertainment, especially as there's nowhere to really walk to in the evening. The singers were all quite poor and the atmosphere quite flat because of it. However we could have caught a bus into Mellieha if we had really wanted to.
All in all, we had a fantastic holiday here and I would recommend it highly. Oh and thank you to the chambermaid who found my husbands earring in our room. We looked and couldn't find it, so just proves how well the rooms were cleaned!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loobylouSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear loobylouSomerset,
We are very glad to read your positive comments and that, as you state, your holiday was ‘fantastic’.
We shall look into your suggestions and hope to host you once again at the Resort in the near future.

Thank you and best regards

Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I, just came back from one week all inclusive holiday 15.09-22.09. 2013 in Ramla Bay Resort. We are 30 years old. I must say that from the first step we felt welcome. Nice, patient and helpful reception staff. They are very professional and well prepared for tourists. Huge lounge area with free wi-fi. Well-equipped mini market
BAr AND RESTAURANT
There are two bars available. Most of bar staff nice and kind, but there were few grumpy guys, but it wasn't a big issue. They are serving very nice food in bar area. Wide choice of dishes. No so big choice of alcohol but for us was enough (we were tipsy every night ;))
I wasn't very pleased with restaurant buffets, not too many choices for me - almost every meat in sauces, no too big choice of salads or fruit. Very poor quality of desserts. But we had bar food as the back up so at the end we were happy. Staff very nice.
Area outside is stunning, very clean and tidy. I was impressed with all these space outside.
Spa facilities - we were using gym every day - not too big but enough for basic traning.
Spa staff very friendly. Nice indoor swimming pool, sauna and steam room - all for free on all-inclusive option
Animation - very nice, friendly and helpful animator Ricardo. We have been with him on Comino. Nice day out. Thank you Ricardo :)
Evening animation - very poor but as the average age is 60-70 I can imagine that it was more those residents.
Rooms and tideness. Room was very nice, it has everything what you need including minibar.
Housekeeping very good. It's clean everywhere.
Very silent, relaxing atmosphere everywhere in the building and outside. We felt very safe and relaxed.
I would recommend this hotel for sure, if you are looking for relax.
It was very nice holiday.
Many thanks to Ramla Bay Team

Room Tip: We had room on the second floor, parking side. Nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Joasia S,

Thank you for your very descriptive post and for choosing our Resort.
We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and we are also very grateful that you will be recommending our Resort.
All your comments have been noted and shall thrive to strengthen any weakness and consolidate our pluses.

Best regards and look forward to host you and your recommended friend at the Resort in the near future.

Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Third time here. Ideal for peace and quiet. Not for those seeking night life. Pools and beach lovely with plenty of sun beds. Clean rooms. Very much enjoyed the food. Traditional rabbit stew and local lampuki on the menu. Walked to the ferry and popped over to gozo. Ferry port right by the bus station, got the bus to Victoria (Rabat), really easy. Trips to Comino and the Blue Lagoon run from the hotel several times a day. Ramla is now looking a little tired. Main oval pool has decoration missing. Bathrooms have been patched up. Stains on curtains etc. Still love it here and will return, but this old friend is in need of some tlc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejhcjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Ejhcjh,
What a pleasure hosting a repeat guest. Third time and thinking of returning is an honour for us. Thank you also for the constructive comments. All has been noted.
This winter we shall be doing some work on ‘this old friend’ may I add a faithful one also. One thing we can’t work on and improve is our location and outstanding views, these come free of charge as a God gift to this lovely island of ours.

Looking forward to your next stay

Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is in a nice quiet location with bus links a 5 minute walk away. My overall impression of the hotel being good with the house keeping staff getting a five star rating. The bar staff and some of the restaurant staff were poor at best. Whenever we went to the bar the staff were usually pre occupied by the football that was being shown or demonstrating a couldn't care less attitude. Good hotel let down by its staff will not be returning which is a shame as the location was ideal.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurenceClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Mr. CLARK,
Thank you for finding time to post your review. We are glad to note that you found our location and the Resort in general to your liking.
We very much regret your disappointment relating to some of our staff not giving you the service which is, at the end of day, expected. A word of advice, it would be a great help to report such shortages whilst in-house since corrective action can be taken at once on the spot.
We sincerely hope that this will not hinder you from returning to our Resort in the near future. Should you change your mind please do contact me on sales@ramlabayresort.com prior to your arrival
Best regards

Mar Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Me and my girlfriend are just back from staying for 7 days at Ramla Bay. We booked the hotel independently through Travel Republic via Trivago. Had no problems dealing with Travel Republic and we received a reply from the hotel within 24 hours of me emailing them just to confirm our booking.

We arrived at 8.30pm having got a taxi from the airport which was a standard 35 Euro fare. Staff were welcoming upon checking in and we were impressed with the hotels surroundings and location. The hotel is a bit secluded in the north of the country, however we loved the location being next to the sea looking out onto Comino and Gozo. The hotel is also adjacent to the Riviera hotel and a lovely beach side bar which makes for a lovely village type feel.

Our room was spacious, very clean, excellent water pressure in our shower, ample room on the balcony, lots of storage space and air conditioning. The room also had a T.V and a fridge. There is also a safe available in the room. We were on the first floor so the balcony was level with the roof of the hotels food hall. We didn't mind as the view was still great for what we paid, but if you want a clear view, go for floor 2 and above.

We were bed and breakfast. The continental breakfast was brilliant with lots of choice and as much as you can eat. We also ate one night in the Alang Alang restaurant which was beautiful, next to the picturesque swimming pool and one floor up, providing great views across to Gozo.

Getting around Malta was no problem from the hotel. The hotel provided us with a simple bus time table. The bus stop is a 5 minute walk past the Riviera Hotel next to a very well lit roundabout. You can see the bus stop from the room. Buses that stop there will take you to all the main places of interest in Malta. Valletta is the furthest away and will take roughly an hour to get to by bus. St Julian's is about 40 minutes by bus. Previous reviews say that the hotel is too secluded and that there is not much to do in the evening. The hotel is a bit out of the way, but this makes it more appealing for the relaxing, beautiful and tranquil location. Then in the evening the bus will take you into any town, where there is plenty to do as we explored and dined in different towns every night. The bus service runs into the early hours so if you want to party or have a few drinks there is a way back and these buses are less busy so take less time too.

The hotel has three pools, with the top pool being quieter and more geared towards the adults and gentle swimming. There are lots of sun beds, and the hotel has incorporated pathways and landings into the actual rock of the bay where sunbeds are also located making it a unique experience to sunbathe and then take a dip into the sea. The resort also has a private sandy beach with plenty sun beds there.

There is a shop in the hotel stocked with any necessities you may have forgotten. There is entertainment every night in the bar which has a friendly, lively environment. We also booked two excursions with the "Blue Waves" water sports centre based next to the beach of the hotel. I recommend the speed boat trip around the caves of Comino, it was excellent fun.

Only downsides were, the toilet didn't flush on arrival. This was fixed within 10 minutes. The T.V was quite old but not really an issue. Although we booked a double bed, it was two singles pushed together. There is no free wi fi, you have to pay at a paypoint, also there is no cash machine, so you will have to pop into Mellieha to take cash out. All these minor issues did not in any way spoil our visit.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I were to go back to Malta, and will be highly recommending this hotel again to any family or friends who plan to visit Malta.

Room Tip: Get a room facing out towards the actual bay itself for the best views and go for the 2nd floor and...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Stuart B,

Thank you for your very positive review and for choosing Malta and our Resort for your recent stay.
We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay to the max and by the looks of it you have been around the island quite a bit.
We very much regret, in case this was not pointed out to you during your stay, that we do have a Free WIFI Hot Spot next to the lobby bar. All your other comments have been noted.
Your recommendation is very much appreciated since we sincerely believe that first hand experience is by far the best kind of advertising.

Thank you once again and look forward to host you again in the near Future

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,369 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,867 reviews
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £27 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing