We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramla Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
Luna Holiday Complex(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$351
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pergola Hotel & Spa(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Panorama Hotel(Mellieha)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,162)
Filter reviews
2,162 results
Traveller rating
807
795
372
133
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
807
795
372
133
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalang alangblue lagoonhorizon restaurantsea viewthe bussunset loungeprivate beachnew wingfree boat tripindoor poolbuilding workriviera hotelhalf boardrelaxing holidayall inclusive guestshired a carremote location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,105 - 1,110 of 2,162 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We went to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and spent a bit more than we would usually on this holiday, and it was worth every penny. The room was large, huge bed, classy bathroom with stunning views over Comino & Gozo. We had booked A/I but paid to use the a la carte restaurant; twice. This, the Alang -Alang is a straw roofed open sided restaurant on stilts, overlooking the bay - sublime. Whilst the menu wasn't extensive the food was good with far too generous portions. A two course meal, with wine for two for around 55 euros. The hotel has 3 pools, no shortage of sun-loungers. All together, a fab holiday and a resort we would definitely return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay, not the car park!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Rolfies,

Happy belated anniversary from all the Ramla Team. We are glad that we have also contributed positively towards this very important milestone in your married life. Thank you for choosing our Resort and for considering that you will return to our island.

We look forward to host you once again in the near future.

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Overall we felt let down by this hotel. Bad points first, Good second.

Here are the problems we faced:

1) Upon arriving at 11:30pm after a long journey starting at 6:00am, we were "greeted" to the hotel with an unfriendly staff member asking for a voucher. We rolled with it and were very polite the whole time. We said that we didn't have one and booked through Expedia and showed the email. He then went on about us needing to call the emergency number and tell the manager that we don't have a voucher. He also threatened that we wouldn't be able to stay. I politely questioned this procedure and told him that I had been to 19 countries this year and haven't heard of it. To which he responded, "Germany does it, France does it, That is for sure". "If you were in those countries, you wouldn't be able to stay". We spent 10 mins trying to use their lobby wifi to get into our booking email links to figure out how it should work with Expedia. He eventually looked on his computer and figured out that we don't need a voucher and we paid by credit card.. While he did apologise, this was a rude welcome to Malta and we felt threatened that we may not be able to stay after a long trip.

2) The rooms are in need of some attention. As we walked down the corridor to our room, there was blisted plaster all over the floor (the walls need repair). The mattress springs bottomed out when lied on them, the room spelt of mold, bathroom was old, everything felt dated.

3) We kindly asked for a new mattress and explained that one of us has back pain from the dodgy mattress after a bad sleep. After about 5 hours they replaced the dodgy one with one exactly the same and didn't listen to our request. We then had to ask again and then it was resolved with a foam mattress.

4) We had dinner at the evening buffet, there was a good selection of food for us and the 5 feral cats that were dining with us. The waiter who served us for drinks literally walked up and said "What do you want" in a very sour tone. It wasn't a language thing or a one off, she seemed to be that way to everyone.

5) Expectations weren't met by a long shot, amenities that you would expect of a 4 star hotel weren't there or you had to pay for them. Ie 2 star hotels provide free wifi in rooms, there was no fitness, indoor pool closed early and if you wanted anything washed it would cost lots (our bag of washing would cost ~100 EUR).

Now some positives:
Some of the staff were really nice, shame they all aren't like that
The setting is nice with access to lounges and a little privateish beach
Hire of equiptment was too bad in price
The outdoor bar with snack food was good whilst sunbaking.
The organised games would be good for the kids

Overall we wanted a relaxing resort escape but we didn't get it, but we did get charged for it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear James O

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort for your recent trip. We regret to note that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay, however we are pleased to read your positive points also.

We feel that there must have been a misunderstanding upon checkin, we will look into your claim regarding the receptionist. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused.
We are also pleased that the mattress issue was resolved although we strongly believe that this should have never been an issue in the first place, since mattresses which are not up to standard shouldn’t be in the room.

Maintenance work is performed all over the Resort throughout the year. To avoid disturbing guests, some works are postponed until our occupancy level is lower .

Spa du Soleil includes 3 indoor massage rooms (one of which is a couples’ room), 3 outdoor massage gazebos (seasonal), indoor pool, sauna, steam room, ice shower and also a fitness room equipped with keep fit machinery. The SPA opens daily from 0800hrs to 1900hrs 7 days a week. We also have a full size tennis court. We are disappointed to read that you were not aware of all these facilities.

Laundry service is subject to charges, we try to keep the prices as competitive as possible, however the price is obviously related to the quantity and type of clothing that one wants to clean.
Should your issues have been pointed out to one of the management team whilst you were in house I am positive that corrective action would have been taken immediately . We are also pleased that you met some pleasant members of staff.

Guests’ comments whether positive or not, are very important to us, your feedback helps us improve our service and product in order to ensure an enjoyable holiday to all our guests.

Hope you will return to Malta and our Resort in the future.

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have just returned from 2 weeks in Malta staying at the Ramla Bay Resort Marfa. The Ramla is at the end of the island about an hours transfer from the airport. It is remote and is well away from the busy towns that hold the history of Malta. Beautifully tranquil and quiet the average age of residents was probably 40+. There was a good mix of nationalities with equal amount of English, German and French with some Scandinavian and Maltese guests, so was not dominated by any one culture. We opted for a Deluxe Sea view room which was on the 3rd floor and had amazing views over Comino and Gozo. The room was perfect with a 6 foot bed and a single bed. It also had a settee and 2 arm chairs plus a table and 2 chairs, flat screen TV, fridge and T making facilities all of which were of a high standard. The hotel has a Spa which I used and had 2 massages - very nice! Food was buffet style and had a good European range of foods. Outside there are 2 pools and a private beach with plenty of sunbeds for all - may be a few more umbrellas would have been ideal as some people were struggling for shade ion the 30+ temperature. Blue Waves is the resident but independent water sports supplier with canoes, pedal boats, jet skis, wind surfing, hire of dinghies and s[peed boats. They also have cruises over to Comino and on a Friday have a sunset cruise - all are reasonably prosed. The only down side was that the hotel opposite )The Riviera) had the most awful entertainment which was so loud you could hear it from your balcony and on a couple of occasions we could barely hear our own conversation - one of the hotel to deal with I think1

Room Tip: The hotel is quite isolated so all rooms are good and quiet - Deluxe rooms are lovely but may be outside of some budgets so unless you want a little extra I suspect Standard rooms are more than adequate
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Carole A

Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and the tranquil ambience which this Resort proudly offers.
We hope you will return to our beautiful Islands and that we will also have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed for a very pleasant weekend at the Ramla Bay Resort. The hotel areas and room were immaculately clean, in a good state of repair. The resort itself is beautiful and right on the water's edge, with amazing views of the Comino Channel, Comino itself and Gozo and picturesque sunsets.

We had booked a regular room but got a complimentary upgrade to a sea-view panoramic room, on the higher floors of the hotel and with a large terrace commanding amazing views. If I do visit again, I will definitely opt for one of the sea-view rooms. The room itself and the bathroom were a very good size and had ample room for one to move about. Air-conditioning in the room and common areas was very efficient as well.

There are three outdoor pools in the hotel and one indoor one. There were ample sunbeds and umbrellas, although truth be told, you had an army of people who 'booked' the best-placed sunbeds at dawn and left them empty for half the day which was a bit annoying. The indoor pool was lovely as well although the water was not heated. There was also access to the beach and ample sunbeds there as well.

Staff were pleasant and even allowed us to have our room earlier than the stipulated check-in time as it was ready. On departure day we left our luggage in the luggage room upon check-out and were invited to keep using the rest of the facilities till we left, which was nice.

The food on offer was the only thing which put a damper on the holiday. The food served in the main restaurant was bland and not up to four star standard in my opinion. The antipasti were exactly the same for the two consecutive nights we stayed there. Breakfast was on the bland side as well but edible, don't get me wrong. Food by the pool area was nice, but overpriced.

The good thing about it is that you can charge bills for food and beverages to the room and pay everything at the end of the stay, which means you don't have to carry cash around all the time. There was entertainment in the evenings at the main bar and animation during the day. The music by the pool was a bit too loud for my liking and kept blasting pop songs all day.

Despite all this, I would visit again as the good points greatly outweigh the cons and you cannot get views like that anywhere in Malta. All in all a very pleasant and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Definitely a panoramic sea-view room - one would seriously be missing out if not.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear JenCos,
Thank you for choosing our Resort. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and that you will return.
Food is very much a question of personal taste. Many people like buffet meals since it is practical and eat as much as you can feeling. This however does have a few drawbacks since some basic items (like salad table) tend to be repetitive. This does not apply for the main dishes which change daily. As you rightly state we do have other food outlets. Having said that all your comments have been noted and will be discussed.
Thank you and look forward to host you once again

Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from Ramla Bay. We arrived at 1:30 in the morning and the lady on the front desk was fantastic, friendly but very aware at how tired we were. The room (car park side) was lovely. Very spacious with lots of wardrobe space, a great shower, comfortable beds and a balcony where we could see the sea.
We were there on all inclusive and as this was the first time for me (I usually go self catering) I was slightly concerned it would be a mistake. Well the food was delicious. I had a completely different meal each day and tried plenty of new things. I found the secret was not to pile everything on but just choose of few items. Previous reviewers have said there is no free water but there is if you ask for a glass. We had no issues with the time slots for the pool bar and the restaurant and just ate where and when we felt like it. I was also pleased that there was plenty for me to drink (I am quite fussy) and the cocktails were lovely. The staff were all very sweet, and although they didn't make conversation with the guests, they were always polite and helpful.
The layout of the grounds means there are plenty of sunloungers and you never felt crowded. The views over the bay were fantastic especially late afternoon as the sun starts to set. We went in the sea every day, and it was lovely and clear with lots of fishes.
The bus service means you are never far away from somewhere to visit. Valetta was a highlight for me and Mdini. And as everyone has already said, so cheap and so easy to use.
We were disappointed with the evening entertainment, especially as there's nowhere to really walk to in the evening. The singers were all quite poor and the atmosphere quite flat because of it. However we could have caught a bus into Mellieha if we had really wanted to.
All in all, we had a fantastic holiday here and I would recommend it highly. Oh and thank you to the chambermaid who found my husbands earring in our room. We looked and couldn't find it, so just proves how well the rooms were cleaned!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loobylouSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear loobylouSomerset,
We are very glad to read your positive comments and that, as you state, your holiday was ‘fantastic’.
We shall look into your suggestions and hope to host you once again at the Resort in the near future.

Thank you and best regards

Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews