We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ramla bay resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ramla bay resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 weeks in October 2013 on b+b bassis, the hotel is set a little out of the way but the bus service from Marfa bay is excellent and almost on the hotel doorstep, 12 euro buy's a bus ticket for a whole week and allows travel across the entire Island. The hotel is kept clean by a small army of cleaners who work hard to keep all areas spotless, the air conditioned rooms are well laid out with a large bathroom and a huge double bed or two singles, rooms are cleaned daily and towels changed at your request, (leave them in the bath and clean will be left). Food at breakfast was well cooked, well presented and plentful. There are 3 pools and a small sandy beach all with ample free sunbeds. Malta is a beautiful island so travel around is a must, there is plenty to do and see, try the classic car museum in Qawara 2 mins walk from Bugibba bus station, Bugibba itself and Valletta and Gozo are a must. Overall a great hotel, a great Island full of history and a great holiday.

Room Tip: A room at the rear has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Peter S,
Thank you for choosing our Resort and Malta for your recent longish stay.
You comments and feedback are very encouraging. Guest comments are always welcomed since they help us maintain our standard and to take any corrective action when needed.

We look forward to host you once again in the future

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    647
    277
    100
    35
See reviews for
500
836
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just returned from Ramla Bay Resort after a 10 day break and we have enjoyed the whole time there .From arriving at reception to booking out the staff were always friendly and helpful .We found the room to be of a good standard and very clean and well kept and the whole resort was well looked after. The resort is fairly large but always seemed quite peaceful
The bus service on the island is excellent with a bus stop 5 mins walk away and all day travel any where on the island 2.60 euros each so you can hop of have a look round and jump back on any bus . The ferry to Gozo is in sight of the resort and the island is worth a visit .

Room Tip: If you book a balcony with a sea view you may get a room at the back of the hotel which has a sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Tim M,
Thank you for finding time to post a favourable review re you resent 10 day stay at the Resort.
We gladly note that you have enjoyed your stay and was complimented with a visit to our sister island of Gozo.
We look forward to host you once again in the future

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

just returned from Ramla Bay Resort -- we both enjoyed it so much, our room was first class and we had a lovely inland view. The food was fine we always had a nice meal in the evening, the staff were very friendly and helpful, although the hotel is isolated the bus service is good, taking you all over the island for a few euros. We hope to return to this hotel again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear fb121,

‘Great Holiday’ will ‘Return’ and full marks. We just can’t ask for more, how very flattering.
Thank you, so very much, for the very positive comments and thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort for your recent stay.
We look forward to host once again at the Resort.
Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing week at this hotel. The weather was excellent for October.
We went on an all inclusive package and were initially allocated a ground floor room which was fine except there was an overwhelming smell of glue in the room so we went back to reception and informed them. We were then given the key to a second room which overlooked a roof. We really did want a view when we had come this far so saw a third room which was 10 euro extra per night but overlooking the carpark and countryside. The 4th room was a seaview at 25 euro extra per night but the view did it for me. On the 3rd floor looking out over the bay we could see the sun rising or setting and the constant flow of ferries, motor boats, eager early morning swimmers and snorklers etc. The room was also very modern with a very large double bed. The fridge is initially stocked with a mixture of wine, beer and spirits complimentary.
All inclusive entitled us to drinks from 11am and food basically all day but do look carefully at the menus to see which food and drink items are included in AI. The cocktails and spirits are good strong measures and the pure juices available are lovely. Wine and water are not all inclusive!! AI also entitles you to a free boat trip to Comino - well worth it and free use of the canoes and pedalos at the beach. There is also a free shuttle bus once per day into Mellieha village.
There are three swimming pools outside and load of sunbeds on the rock areas around the hotel which also has its own beach area. The pools are also seawater.
Food - was some of the best we have had anywhere. Always a good selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Reception - We found the female reception staff much more helpful than the males.
All in all this hotel was excellent. The grounds were lovely with lots of quiet spots to sit. Although we were told the hotel was full and at the weekend the restaurant was a little manic, we still found it not overcrowded.
We went for a chill out holiday and it did the job. It is isolated. There are three hotels in the bay which leads round to the ferry terminal to Gozo - worth a trip. Comino is lovely for walking and total peace. There is also another beach called Paradise bay about 20-30 minute walk and then down around 200 steps - but it is paradise!!

Room Tip: ask to see the room before you decide but if you want a view over the bay it seems you have to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judithleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear judithleslie,

Thank you for posting a positive review and we are glad that your stay proved to be a ‘Relaxing Break’.
You description of the surrounding our area is accurate and as you very correctly pointed out it is very accessible.
We look forward to host once again at the Resort.
Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
Level Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked a week's time share here, and were allocated a unit nice and close to the pools, and on the grtound floor, the view from the patio was not great, but it was very conviniently located. (Unit 301). On our arrival the unit was a little oven, and so we switched on the AC units, and when for diner, but only to return to a still warm room. We reported this to the front desk and they sent a maintenance guy to the unit, he expalined that the hotel has control of the AC units, and these only work from 6PM to 6AM. I must say I found that the cooling was not sufficient. Luckely the weather cooled down, and the staff at the Ocean club were great and sent us two standing fans to help circulate the air. This was a great help.
The resort is very nice, but I can imagine that during peak season it must be very crowded, so glad we came at this stage of the season, and were lucky to only have 2 days of wind, and generally warm weather.
The onsite recreational things such as water sports, boat rental, trips to the blue lagoon etc. were also very nice to have so close and all the equipment is in really good condition.
The unit was a bit 'tired' and only a small fridge with ice box, so not much space if you were a larger family. The free WiFi in the reception area was very popular, and we found many families or 'young ones' catching up with friends, news, emails etc in the evenings.
We enjoyed the Sunday Buffet, worth a visit, but can think that if you were on a meal package the buffet can become very boring quickly.,
Overall we had a great stay, this is a quite part of the island, so suited us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Tampere,
Glad you enjoyed your Autumn Break. Yes, Autumn is a beautiful period on the island and generally speaking, the weather if just right. During your stay the Resort was running at full occupancy, since we are built over a very large footprint having several facilities we are never really crowded. That is one of our big pluses.
I will pass on your message to our Time Share 'Ocean Club' colleagues.
Thank you for choosing Malta and look forward to host you once again in the near future.
Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and i booked a weeks break at The Ramla Bay Resort Hotel having viewed trip advisor. We are so glad we went. The hotel is quite large but really really nice and you don't feel rushed or crowded. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble, which we found about all the Maltese people - nothing was a problem or an issue. The food was good - my husband liked it alot more than me, but there was to be honest nothing wrong with it - just personal taste. The room was very nice, balcony and sea view with air conditioning and the weather was spot on 25c every day. We are glad we chose this location in the far North of the island as it was less commercial than any where else, not built up but tranquil and the bus service was easy with a 5 minute journey to Mallieha Bay where there were a few restaurants, a beautiful beach and the odd shop. The bus was regular and you could access all parts of the island with just one day bus ticket for 2.60 euros - great. There are tours to be had if you wanted and we did visit most of the island but also relaxed at the hotel beach or just by the pool and the pool bar food was excellent. The bar and the grounds were well kept and it was just a very enjoyable holiday and we will definitely go back again. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher level with a sea view over the bay and towards Gozo recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Karen H,
By the looks of it you have managed to do and see a lot during your short break in Malta. We are grateful that you have chosen our Resort and glad to note that all went well.
Most of all thank you for recommending the Ramla Bay and look forward to host you once again in the near future.

Best regards

Martin Farrugia randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Malta , and loved it , hotel needs a bit of an update , but the staff and food was lovely , the hotel was clean and the pools were clean , bus service excellent and every where is very easy to navigate , the ferry across the water to gozo is very close and a lovely day out.
They also have an a la carte restaurant, which is gorgeous I had fillet steak which was so big I couldn't eat , the menu had plenty of choice , the main restaurant was changed every night , was never dissatisfied , you would never go hungry ,
The evening entertainment well was ok, could be a bit better , but I've had worse.
The bar sfaff were lovely very friendly , and were always keeping the bar and tables clean , would definitely recommend this resort , and go back again .

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jacqui v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Jacqui v,
Thank you for your nice words and most of all for choosing our Island and the Ramla Bay Resort. We are glad that you tried both our Restaurants, Horizon buffet and the Alang Alang A La Carte and found the service and food to your liking.
We also note that you shall return and this is great, please do contact me when you are next at the Resort, will find time for a chat over a drink.

Best regards

Martin Farrugia randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing