We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new year break. mick from manc”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“new year break. mick from manc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

after spending the last few years staying in mellieha village i thought about the ramla bay for a complete change. wasnt dissapointed. got there on dec 27th to the 3rd of jan. i was given room 66 which to a point overlooked the sea and the riveria hotel. nice spacious room which was cleaned each day. i booked half board with the breakfast and evening meal buffet style. couldnt fault the food. the staff were very polite and helpfull even leading up to new year when the hotel became very full with locals celebrating 2014. it is quite a chilled out place because of the location but car hire is pretty reasonable so my advice is hire one especially in winter times so you arnt confined to the hotel 24/7. i have friends up in the village that i have known for 37 years and they had told me to try this hotel a few times so im glad i did. my advice is try the ramla bay hotel its a clean pleasantly run hotel, very pleasant staff who make you feel very welcome. summer is probably different with families staying up later than when i was there, but it was nice and quiet when you did retire to your bed at night.

Room Tip: probably in winter a country view might get more of the sun. after midday it starts coming round to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owengreenhalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Owengreenhalgh,
It is always a pleasure to host repeat guests to our island. Although, by now, you should know Malta pretty well your enthusiasm is still riding high. We are glad that you took your friend’s suggestion and most of all that we didn’t let them down.
We are aware that you will return and look forward to host you once again.
Best regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    662
    286
    103
    39
See reviews for
516
853
54
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great hotel, room was excellent with sea view, even though we hadn't paid for the view. Good sized room for the 4 of us. Meals were very good with wide choice and good service. On site supermarket and gift shop was excellent and competitively priced compared with other local shops. Need to be aware that you have to 'rent' a towel for the indoor pool, but can keep it for the duration of your stay. Would definitely visit again. Loved to watch the Gozo ferries. Quiet location, most guests were considerate and quiet but restaurant got very busy later during breakfast. Excellent service from reception and housekeeping staff - quick to help and clean/provide new bedding when daughter was sick on new years eve - even though they must have been very busy with the party going on etc. If renting a car on site, be careful to check lights work and car is okay, we got through 2 hire cars neither of which were particularly special.

Room Tip: Most rooms have some sort of sea view. Comfort rooms are bigger than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Lorna F,
Thank you for posting your positive review and for granting us full marks. We also thank you for choosing our Resort and our islands for your recent holiday.
We are pleased to learn that you intend visiting us again in the future.
Look forward to meet you over a drink next time round.
Best regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

When we arrived we were greeted by the front of house staff with big smiles and a good welcome. A good first impression which was indicative of our stay as a whole. The hotel is large and the rooms are very large and comfortable with a large bathroom - the bed was very comfortable. The only problem we noted was that the housekeeping was not up to the standard of the rest of the staff, consumables were not properly replenished (a problem fixed by reception) and dust bunnies were not cleaned as part of the housekeeping. The hotel has a very nice indoor pool (important in December) and a good spa. I looked for the gym but didn't find it, but we went out every day so it was not important and I am sure it is there, I have seen the pictures. There was plenty to eat at breakfast and a good selection. Dinner was a buffet style which is not my favourite so we went out a lot. However, the buffet was extensive and varied and some people saw it as a challenge to have some (or most) of everything! We dined in on Christmas day lunch but it was impossible to get to the salad table as it was continually crowded. In any case, I had enough to eat but I know the salads are good.....
One small criticism, the lighting in the bathroom is inadequate but there was always plenty of hot water available
We knew it was not close to many places so we rented a car , which was good, and were pleasantly surprised to find we could easily walk to the Gozo ferry. We even tried the bus one day, which was cheap enough but Sardine Express would be a better description.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view and, if you have a comfort room, ask to have tea and coffee making facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna17a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Edna17a,
Thank you for posting your positive review and most of all for choosing our Resort & Malta for your recent stay. We have taken note of your comments and will look into them. You were very close to the Gym since it is located in the SPA area just behind the treatment rooms.
We are also pleased that you have found our facilities, especially the meals, to your liking.
In addition to your tip we would like to clarify that tea and coffee making facilities are standard in our superior Panoramic Room types located on the 3rd and 4th floor whilst can be supplied at a minimal charge in the other room types.
Look forward to host you once again in the future.
Best regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsa Scala, null, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We came to spend new year's eve at this amazing hotel to do something different than the usual heavy partying as far as possible from home as this island permits surrounded by sea and countryside. This hotel is perfectly located offering amazing views, clean air and tranquility. We were given a very nice and spacious room with country and seaviews. The room was impeccably clean with all necessary facilities available. The spa is a little gem of relaxation where we spent a good part of our stay in. only thing at times it got noisy with ill behaved children but thats not the hotel s fault but of the parents :) During new year s eve night there was a party in the lobby jam packed with people not our style of partying but entertaining. The breakfast selection is good and so is the quality. We had such a great time that we extended our stay with 1 more night. so much we fell in love with this hotel! also forgot to mention the nice quiet area and hotel private beach though too cold to use at this time of year its nice to go for a nice walk

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvetteGrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear YvetteGrima,

Thank you for spending a few days with us during the festive season. We are very glad that you described your brief stay as “Totally amazing relaxing stay”.
We look forward to host you once again in the near future and assure you, yet another, enjoyable stay.

Best regards and wish you a healthy and successful 2014.

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at the Ramla Bay Resort at the end of Oct 13, initially the room was not ready but we had arrived a little early so it wasn't a problem. When normal check in time came and went we were getting a little 'miffed' as we were tired, hot and a bit sweaty.

The room was finally ready 15 mins later and although I was offered a very good price on an upgrade the allocated room was lovely so no need to upgrade.

We stayed B&B basis and the buffet breakfast was very good with a wide selection of choices. The Hotel itself was very nice the only 2 faults I had was the pathetic WiFi, don't get me wrong the signal was very good in the lobby but the bandwidth could not cope with the amount of devices connected, I scanned the network and discovered 137 devices connected concurrently - way too many for the 5Mbit line.

The other problem was one of the bar staff (the older gentleman), on 4 of our 7 nights he totally ignored me while I was waiting at the bar, at one point I had to look in the mirror to make sure I hadn't turned invisible, people would arrive after me and be served in front of me. Apart from this all the other staff were very polite and courteous.

The Hotel was perfect for our stay, as we had a hire car we travelled the whole island and loved every minute, when we didn't want to drive we chilled out on the sunbeds each on their own little rocky outcrop and snorkelled - brilliant place for water sports!

If we ever return to Malta we will definitely stay at the Ramla Bay again.

oh and we had some great thunder storms and managed to capture some great photos.

Room Tip: Upgrades are available for cheaper than the web price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninja2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Ninja2111,
Thank you for finding time to post your review and for choosing our Resort. We are very glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay and will choose our Resort, once again, should you return to our island.
We have taken note of your comments and shall check what can be done to improve the WIFI reception.
Best regards and look forward to host you once again for your next stay

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Thank heavens that some reviews I take them with a pinch of salt!
Just returned from the most relaxing stay we had for a long time. We stayed at Ramla bay hotel in the north of Malta. The room was great with the most incredible views of the blue sea and of the island of Gozo. We were told that our room has just been refurbished which was great.
Food in restaurant was varied with lots of choices from antipasto starters, pasta, different mains and very good desserts. Wine was very reasonably priced too. Where else in europe can you sit outside for lunch in the terraces in the warmth of the sun in the middle of December ??
We also availed ourselves of sunbeds that are scattered around the rocky beach and lazed in the winter sun a few meters away from the sea. My wife had a wonderful full body massage at the hotel's spa as well.
One suggestion: if you would like to explore the Island there are different excursions you can get or just hire a car. There is also public transport or the hopon hopoff bus that takes you anywhere. This is just what we wanted.
Ramla will definitely see us again.

Room Tip: I would definitely go for a full panoramic seaview upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Peter A,
Thank you for choosing our Resort and for posting a positive review.
We do host quite a few ‘long stay guests’ during the shoulder and winter period. Our mild winters, many a time blessed with clear blue sky, make our beautiful islands an oasis of culture and history, all to discover.
We hope that you will choose our Resort should you visit our Island once again.

Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Ideally located for a relaxing beach and swimming holiday using the hotels own beach and bay for snorkling and boat facilities. As we were there for 3 weeks end of Oct - Nov ,we upgraded from a panoramic seaview room which was small to a junior suite in room 426.The different room opptions are a bit complicated but the junior suite won't dissappoint. This was very spacious with both bath & shower facilites. The 6 foot bed was very comfortable. Being the top floor it had a large balcony and stunning views over the bay and the Islands of Como and Gozo. Ideal for 3 weeks.
Reception were very friendly and John most helpful to meet our needs with a room change.
The bar and restaurant staff were very helful and made our stay very enjoyable. The food was excellent and varied throughout tthe 3 weeks.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room overlooking the outdoor pools they have the best seaviews too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Peter A,
Glad you enjoyed your long stay on the island and at the Resort. It seems that although you stayed for 3 weeks you found time to enjoy your holiday to the max.
Thank you for choosing us as your base and look forward to host you once again.

Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing