We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I went to look at the reviews and cannot believe what has been written! I went just before Easter last year. The weather wasn't hot, didn't expect it to be, so the indoor pool was a bonus. There was always something we liked from the choice available. Drinks were reasonably priced and food at the bar delicious. We had a lovely big room overlooking the entrance, didn't bother us it wasn't a sea view as we were out and about. We got a bus ticket and really enjoyed exploring. Malta is beautiful and everyone was friendly. this is a lovely hotel for a nice chilling break.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank lesleyannj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear lesleyannj56,

Thank you for finding time to post your favourable review. We are delighted that although you stayed at the Resort during Easter last year you still have good and positive memories of the Resort.

We look forward to host you once again in the near future.

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    662
    286
    103
    39
See reviews for
516
853
54
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We went for break there from saturday to Monday. The room was very spacious and we really liked it. Dinner on Saturday was excellent, with food in abundance. Breakfast on Sunday morning was nothing less.

The same cannot be said for Sunday dinner and Monday breakfast as it was much on a smaller scale. I can understand the fact since there are less visitors, this is done so there will not be many wastes.

On the bad side, what i have to complain about is that I paid the same amount of Money for nights, so I would excpect the same level of service (food). If there will be less of a choice when it comes to food on weekdays then price should be less.

Another complaint is that even though we were guests of the hotel, we borrowed a towel to use the indoor pool and we were charged extra money for this.

On the whole it was a positive experience and will recommend it to people.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven_Cortis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Steven_Cortis,

Thank you for choosing our Resort for your short stay and most of all for recommending us. Your comments have been noted. When we quote a weekend rate we average out the price per day otherwise we would risk complicating our price structure. Our pool towels are against a nominal charge, this charge applies also per towel change. Although we are aware that some guests would want this service for free, we apply this charge in order to minimize the towel changes as much as possible. By so doing we have managed to also minimize the amount of harmful detergent down the drain.
We look forward to host you once again

Best regards


Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ville-la-Grand, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I usually always stay in 5 stars property of International brands cause i know in Malta the standards are lower but this time i wanted to give a try to a "local" hotel: never again.
Positive things:
- Very cheap (but i found out why)
- The room was clean
-Marco the waiter was nice at Horizon restaurant (the only one who was professional and smiling in ALL the hotel)
Negative things:
- Very misleading rooms description on the website, i thought i book a panoramic and could choose the view, when i sent a email to reservation, I found out that I had to pay a supplement to enjoy the sea view (I book this hotel to have this view when i wake up) so i had a country side view (please see the picture of the "country side vew") The person who answered my emails was unhelpful, and answered half of my question. At this point I didnt want to go anymore however i couldnt cancel the booking with my agency so i still went.
-We arrived at the hotel, so find a sad receptionist (no smile) who gave us half of the information upon check in.
-You have to pay 8 euros for 24 hrs wifi, and cant use 2 devices in the same time: thats a joke. And the signal was rubbish, we couldnt even watch a movie.
-We arrive at the room: view was horrible, on the other side of the hotel. The worst thing was that the room had nothing to do with the picture i saw on their website: no decoration at all! it looked like a hospital bedroom, very sad.
-It took us 10 minutes to find out where was the spa. No staff told us that we have to bring towels. We arrived at the spa: pool very cold. No staff, we didnt know where to change, etc, after 5 minutes we find a lady who tell us that we have to pick up towels at the reception. My boyfriend go all the way to reception, and we find out that we have to pay 2.50euro per towel: hahah that's a joke! Seriously? And why no one inform us before??
-The dinner at Horizon restaurant: food is not home made, desserts are awful. Well anyway i eat the same food a the staff canteen. It was not good. Ah and the atmosphere is very depressing: only English retired people, and music from the 2000's (example: Bailamos from Enrique Eglisias... seriously???)
-In the morning someone decided to make refurbishment next my room, and i had someone speakinkg with a talkie walkie in front of my door at 9am.
-I didnt want to try the beakfast after my bad experience for dinner however since someone woke me up at 9am, i still went: everything for English guests... No croissant, no pastries, no pancake... No fresh orange juice... only one fresh fruit.... So i ended up eating cereals
I am so glad it was just for one night, I came back depressed! To young couple : Never go to this hotel. Even if someone give me a voucher to stay at this hotel for free, i wouldnt!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GaleaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear GaleaM,
We are very concerned that you describe your 1 night stay as ‘Worst hotel experience ever’. More so that you describe the’ Malta standards are lower’. May i point out that we are a 4 star property and if you were after 5 star services at 4 star rates I can understand your disappointment.
As for your reservation, you have booked a Panoramic Country View Room type via a 3rd party website, not our own. You wrote to us prior to arrival and we informed you that your reservation was for a country view room we also advised you that you could upgrade to a Sea view for just € 12.00. Your reply was ‘in Malta hotels are empty in January especially during the week, i won't pay 12 euros supplement to have the kind of room that wanted to book’. Our website clearly states that we have different views and different room types at different rate levels. It’s evident that the rate for a sea view is more expensive than a country view. We have never claimed that our food is ‘home made’ but can assure you that all our food is cooked daily in-house in our kitchen. We are proud to state that we have a multinational client base coming from all across Europe. We make it a point to offer a vast selection of food suitable for our client mix. I am afraid that your description of our food being ‘staff canteen & everything for the English guests’ is not correct. The reviews on TripAdvisor are a good testimony to this.
Needless to say, we do our utmost to give the best service available to all our guests, sometimes not to some clients' expectations.
Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsaskala, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent 4 days at this hotel this January. Impressed by the facilities and decor, and the cleanliness. Stayed on a half board basis and the room was spacious and comfortable, overlooking the sea towards Gozo. Cleaning was carried out every day with fresh towels daily and complimentary tissues and toiletries. The food was buffet style for all meals and provided a huge choice to cover every palate - and included local dishes. The restaurant staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel pools and outside facilities were not all open at this time of year but nonetheless you could tell how nice it would be here in the summer. The fact that we local people use this hotel is an endorsement in itself. Valetta is a wonderful town to explore at any time and the Blue Grotto is worth a visit. A trip worth booking is to the Sunday market at the fishing village of Marsaxlokk - a pretty little fishing harbour with an abundance of colourful stalls and equally colourful fishing boats. Local buses are frequent, cheap and easy to use - the drivers all speak English and are helpful. No transport problems at all; simply ask at reception.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riosammut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Riosammut,

Thank you for finding time to post your very descriptive positive review. Your comments and rating is very much appreciated. We are also very glad that you have enjoyed the various villages and towns dotted around Malta and our sister island Gozo.
It would be our pleasure to host you once again in the future,

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Meant to write this ages ago but now looking to go back again in Aug 2014 reminded me!
Having visited Malta many times with my own parents years ago I was worried my own family wouldn't enjoy it as much as I had then. No need to worry as everything lived upto expections!
Booking was easy through Travel Republic with a transfer taxi waiting for us with signboard. A lovely driver who gave us some great tips about the island on the journey.
Arriving at the hotel we were offered a room upgrade for €10 per night but we actually didn't need it as we'd been given a perfectly adequate large family room with a sea view. As a migraine sufferer I am fussy about pillows and on request immediately was provided with a lovely soft one. Beds we're comfy and air conditioning worked. Room was cleaned every day and new towels provided regularly. Decor is a little dated but we hardly spent time in the room so didn't bother us.
Saltwater pools took a little getting used to at first but soon didn't notice. Snorkelling in the sea in a safe cordoned off area was great for all of us.
Kids couldn't wait to get to the buffet breakfast every morning -loads of choice and we all loved the Alang Alang restaurant (booking essential in high season) with its most amazing sunsets!
We hired pedallos and a speed boat on site. Both great fun. Went to the Blue Lagoon and dropped anchor in the clearest of waters and swam and snorkelled - even saw an octopuss. Decided it was a great idea to loop around the headland of Comino to come back - scary! Really blowy and white horses with quite large waves - my son and husband loved it!
Popeyes Village was a fun day out and the kids spent hours on the inflatables in the sea there whilst we snorkelled again.
We took the ferry to Gozo late afternoon, toured around -went to Ramla Bay beach and had dinner in the capital. Probably wouldn't need to visit there again as you feel like you've done it in an afternoon.
We stayed for 11 nights and hired a car for the middle 5 days from Hertz. This was ideal for us and meant we could just relax around the hotel for the beginning and end of our stay.
Tips: don't pack beach towels as you can hire them from reception

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Berkshire,
A big thank you, from all, at the Ramla Bay Resort.
We are please that you have enjoyed your at the Resort and most of all that you have been around our island.
We look forward to host you in the near future and assure you yet another good experience.

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Spent a week at this hotel from December 27th - January 3rd. Impressed by the facilities and decor, and the cleanliness. Stayed on a half board basis and the room was spacious and comfortable, overlooking the sea towards Gozo. Cleaning was carried out every day with fresh towels daily and complimentary tissues and toiletries. The food was buffet style for all meals and provided huge choice to cover every palate - and included local dishes. The detail and choice laid out on New Years Eve was amazing and the restaurant staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel pools and outside facilities were not all open at this time of year but nonetheless you could tell how nice it would be here in the summer. My only concern would be that if you had a seaview room in the summer it may be a little noisy as the outside terraces and bars are directly under your balcony. The only thing I didnt like was that I found the bar staff a bit unfriendly - several times I was stood at the bar and was ignored in favour of men, until my husband stepped in. The fact that local people use this hotel, including a lot of people for New Years Eve, is an endorsement in itself. Valetta is a wonderful town to explore at any time and the Blue Grotto is worth a visit. A trip worth booking is to the Sunday market at the fishing village of Marsaxlokk - a pretty little fishing harbour with an abundance of colourful stalls and equally colourful fishing boats. One point I would make is dont bother booking the 'Hop On Hop Off' bus - a waste of time and money. For instance taking this bus to Valetta took 2 1/4 hours whereas the local bus takes just under an hour. Also the advertised stop at the Tarxien Temples is a waste of time - limited people are allowed in to see the temples and you have to book a ticket in advance, which can sometimes be as much as 6 weeks in advance and you are not told this when you buy the ticket. Likewise the ticket for the 'Hop On Hop Off' bus for Gozo - we were told this included the ferry and bus but in fact the ferry is free to Gozo, you only have to pay to return and this is not included in the ticket which again we were not told about until we had bought the ticket. Local buses are frequent, cheap and easy to use - the drivers all speak English and are helpful.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms in summer may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JulieH798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear JulieH798

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort for your recent holiday. We appreciate the time taken to post this positive feedback and we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and the food offered at our Resort.
We are pleased to learn that you intend visiting us again in the future, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Have always enjoyed my various Weekend breaks at this hotel. For us, this is an opportunity to break away and just relax without having to travel. Great management team especially Mr Debattista who was always happy to see us back. Loved the entertainment as well. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: The panoramic view is great, however, all the rooms we have been in have some sort of view and are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Jvel2014,
We thank you for choosing our Resort for your recent weekend break and most of all for granting full marks on your post.
Will pass on your comments to all concerned and look forward to host you once again in the near future.

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing