We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning sea views”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stunning sea views”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I want to start this review by stating that this hotel is really good value. From the reviews we read before booking, it seems as other reveiwers might have had expected a five star luxury resort, which it isn't. It did, however, rank as one of our favourite hotels during a multiple stop tour of Malta and Gozo. The location is superb, right next to the cliffs with a beach right of the hotel grounds. It's roughly a 3 km hike to Mellieha, but you have a couple of different options if you want to stay close to the hotel but still eat out. The little hotel convenience store seemed to have pretty good prices too, and we found everything we were looking.

As for the rooms, we paid a little extra to get a sea view room. It was definitely worth it. We had a huge balcony overlooking Gozo, Comino and the sea. There were some details to the rooms that could have been fixed pretty easily, which would have made it feel even better. As an example, the bathroom door in our room was locked with a litte hatch, rather than a regular lock. Still, it was very spacious, very clean and we slept really well in the beds.

The service was really good, we were greated with smiles and the hotel staff helped us alot with directions etc. We were also amazed to hear that it had a 94% occupancy rate whilst we were visiting, we never once had to wait for food and we had no problems finding chairs around the pool or cliff area.

All in all, both my girlfriend and I would definitely recommend this place if your either travelling as a familly (especially with children) or if you want to just want to get away for a bit.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room. They were really big, had a huge balcony and offered amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Alex Galfvensjo,
Thank you for finding time to post your very descriptive review and for granting us 5/5.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you once again in the near fture.

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    701
    307
    112
    44
See reviews for
549
902
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very friendly hotel. Good helpful staff. Easy to access swimming pool if you are disabled - ramps and easy to negotiate paths and ramps.
Food was well presented and selection extensive tho fish was a bit overlooked for my liking.
Great to have boats for hire right on the hotel beach. Ferry to Gozo about a mile walk away. Good mobile shop just outside the Riviera hotel about five minutes walk away. Overall, great place to stay so long as you don't want to go into Valetta every day which takes around an hour to an hour and a half. Might be a good idea to hire a car! I'm told there are around 1,000 crashes a month...

Room Tip: I think rooms look out to sea on both sides of the hotel. We had a great view of the setting sun ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Tommcgowran,
We appreciate your very positive feedback. Your comments help us maintain and improve our service.
Thank you and look forward to host you once again
Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselager, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was staying in this hotel for one week in the end of May. And I had only good experience there. The room was very spacious, cleaning was perfect, staff is always very helpful, wonderful pools and a lot of sun chairs outside, delicious breakfast. Moreover, I liked the area very much, there I could actually feel that I am on holidays - perfect view, far away from the main street, so very silent and relaxing. I also didn't need to think what to visit in Malta, because every day there were many companies, offering their trips, so it was very easy and cheap to go anywhere we wanted. The only small minuses would be too tough pillows and outdated entertainment in the evenings, since we are young people, we didn't really like the old style music there and so on. But all in all, if I ever come back to Malta - Ramla Bay will definitely be my 1st choice to stay again! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear gintaremo,
How flattering to describe your stay with us as ‘Best Experience’. We try our best to offer an experience and not just a stay.
Thank you for your comments and have noted your suggestions also.

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

very clean property away from husle and buscle of cars and people, clear skies
and over looking gozo, ramla part for me is just far from city life, but very close to
the nicest beach ever malhia bay beach, as for ramla bay hotel excellent place
to stay in. buses run all the time up to 11pm. main thing about this hotel is the
position its in., but it is very beatiful place to be.

AE

Room Tip: i stayed in a studio apartment planty of room , which had a sea view, in a great position with abal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear AabEIguerbouzi,
Thank you for finding time to post your very positive note. I must agree with you the view is excellent.
Look forward to host you once again.

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed from 13th May for a week , usually do villas so was concerned But had no need to . Location was remote but I knew that that's why I booked it , hotel was clean , staff friendly and helpful , food great plenty of choice whether vegan , veggie or meat eaters , bus bout 5 mins walk away , 1.50 euro return anywhere on island fantastic service . Room brilliant would definately go back , my one word of device take plenty of sun cream it may sometimes have a slight wind but you can still get burnt and if you you want action and night clubs don't book here because it's what it says in the brochure , chilled out and remote . Would recommend and can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear JackieC,
We are pleased that we didn’t disappoint you and a very big thank you for grant us full marks and choosing Malta and the Resort.
Hope to meet you during your next visit

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First I want to explain my rating (4 of5). My problem was the poor soundprofing of the walls, so I heard my neighbours . During my stay I have to say that food was delicious, hi class cuisine, superior to many restaurants from Valetta or Medina.Rooms are confortable, clean, they respect the 4stars classification. Entertainment was made on bar area by few singers (live music) ,very talented. Staff was friendly, usefull, and they mafe our stay very pleasant. This resort is a good choice for people who want to travel around and to relax at sea side.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Noxyus,

Thank you for your brief yet to the point review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you rated us 4/5
We sincerely hope to host you once again in MALTA and the Resort.

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This 4 star hotel offers 5 star food in my opinion. I find it ideal for a day by the pool during summer period. Nevertheless, during winter, it is also nice to visit. One can take a nice walk or jog to Armier Bay or else continue to Ahrax. One can also easily take a trip to Comino, or hire some water sports equipment during summer. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. However, there are two downsides; there is no gym and the restaurant was packed with guests, that we had to wait for quite some time both during breakfast and dinner before being seated. It was also very noisy.

Room Tip: If you do not like crowded restaurants, do not book during seasonal offers. However, these offers wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Kenneth F,

Glad you enjoyed our food and your stay. For correctness sake we do have a fitness room it is situated in the SPA area. Sorry you missed it I am positive that being an athletic person you would have use it frequently.
A word of advice our main restaurant opens at 18.30 last orders being at 21.30. The ‘rush hour’ is between 18.30 to around 20.00 after that there is hardly any waiting time.
Looking forward to host you once again

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,304 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Onthebeach, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing