We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointing day by the pool”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Zurrieq, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Disappointing day by the pool”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Unfortunately my husband and I, were misled by the good comments that we read about the resort. We decided to spend a day by the pool to relax and enjoy some time together but ended up invaded by mosquitoes which made it impossible for us to relax. Furthermore, we were told that we were going to be provided with beach towels but once there we were charged money for the towels even though we returned them back. We ended up very disappointed by the service that we were provided especially by the receptionists and this resort became one of those resorts that we will never return to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Franica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear FranicaC,
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the day by the pool. We do understand that mosquitoes are a nuisance however we fail to understand why we should be blamed for these pests.
I would like to confirm and clarify that we don’t supply free beach towels to day members. I am afraid that this must have been a case of sheer misunderstanding.
Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    721
    319
    116
    46
See reviews for
577
921
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bahar ic-Caghaq, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went for a day by the pool as a family, 2 adults + 2 kids.....there are 3 pools plus you can swim in the sea as well.....relaxing at its best with animation activities ongoing thanks to a friendly animation team. The fee to stay the whole day there includes a buffet lunch which was quite good as regards choice and taste.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear CilB,

Thank you for your review and for spending a day at the Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed our out- door pools, beach facilities and our cuisine.
Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a little remote but has stunning views over to Gozo. The sunsets are gorgeous. The food was a great surprise, as it was excellent and lots of variety each night. The staff were all helpful and kind. Our room was clean and basic but very large. The air conditioning great and was needed. However, the downside was the mattress and pillows, I can honestly say it was the most uncomfortable experience I have had in any hotel, including budget hotels in the UK. If the mattress were upgraded we would return here again as this is a lovely hotel but you do need to hire a car. We used Drifter cars and their service was excellent. They meet you off the plane holding a sign in their hand with your name on it. The guy drove us to our hired car in the airport complex and we were off in a few minutes. Do make sure you get AC as it is a must. We returned the car in the same spot and dropped the key into a box in arrivals. All so easy. Driving in Malta is fine not a problem. We will come again as the people are lovely and no mosquito's were seen, therefore, none of us had any bites...Yippee

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne88823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Suzanne88823,

Thank you for finding time to write your favourable review and choosing our Resort.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. I would be grateful if you could send me an email on sales@ramlabayresort.com indicting the room number in order to check the mattress and take action if need be. Had you reported this to reception we would have changed the mattress.
We sincerely hope that you will choose our Resort again should you visit Malta once more.

Warm regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michalovce, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I spent our holiday there in July 2014. When we first arrived we were not very impressed because the hotel was situated almost in "the middle of nowhere" and there is not much green vegetation in the entire Malta. If you are looking for busy holiday destinations with lots of discos, bars and shops this is definitely not a place for you. It looks to be an older hotel but the rooms are comfortable there. If you want to bring some more electrical appliances also make sure to bring a multi socket adaptor because there is only one free socket. The rooms are equiped with safes but those are charged. We had an ultra all-inclusive boarding but anyway some drinks and meals were not for free but there was still enough to choose from. The hotel is well equiped with some pools (with salty water), gym, sauna, there are also some animations for kids and for adults. The personnel of the hotel especially waiters or bartenders were really fantastic, very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Batal71,

Thank you for your feedback relating to your recent stay. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to host you once again.

Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you want a quieter, relaxing holiday, this is the place for you ! These are exactly the criteria i wanted in a holiday and i wasn't disappointed. I have just returned from two weeks staying at the Ramla Bay Resort in Malta. The hotel is situated in a quiet resort, of just two hotels, it has it's own bay and beach and overlooks the smaller islands of La Comina and Gozo. The ferries/boats to these islands are just a stones throw away and run every 30 minutes, for explorers.
The Ramla Bay Resort is 4 star and the best rooms are sea view rooms, so it is probably worth paying that little bit extra as the views are beautiful. The service at the hotel was excellent, including daily room cleaning. I was on bed and breakfast basis as i like going to different restaurants every night, there are three meal options within the complex or you can upgrade to half board or all inclusive if you want to. he on site restaurants 'Alang Alang' and 'The Seaview Bar' serve delicious food, the chocolate fondant is to die for !! The local bus service is approx 200 metres away and is 1 euro 50 cents for an all day ticket, meaning you can travel the whole island very cheaply. The nearest larger resort and the biggest beach is a few bus stops away in Mellieha.
The best things about the hotel is the ADULT ONLY swimming pool, although some parents still allow their children to go to this pool and the hotel needs to observe this more often.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view room, the views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear JulieS,
Thank you for your positive review and for choosing our Resort.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and made full use of our facilities.
We look forward to host you once again in the not so far future.
Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I have travelled to Malta our whole life as I am half maltese myself. We generally stay somewhere new each time we visit to experience all the parts of the island which is why we decided to stay here at ramla bay. It's not the normal sort of location we would choose simply because of its derelict location but we thought it would be nice and peaceful. The website definitely makes this resort look better than what it actually is. We stay in an adjoining room so my husband and I along with our 1 year old daughter had one room and my parents had the room next door. This was fine however the rooms themselves we're very simple. Not very attractive decor, no mini bar stock, no kettle or drink facilities. All the basic things you would expect from a hotel seemed to be missing. The food in the hotel was good with a large variety to choose from at breakfast. We only stayed as B&B. We did however book to go to the alang alang restaurant on site on evening which was a huge disappointment. The waitress took ages to take our order then once ordered she forgot an entire meal! So whilst the rest of my family were eating I had to wait for the chef to cook mine. By the time it arrived everyone was finished eating and had to wait for me. Very bad service. Actually the waitress service in general seemed pretty chaotic throughout the hotel. Even at the seabreeze restaurant where you can have snacks during the day by the pool lacked any proper service. You have to wait 20mins to get noticed then wait longer for the food to arrive then the waitresses wander around trying to figure out which order belongs to which table. It was very disorganised and seemed as if all the staff had just come over from some other country on a work visa and didn't know what they were doing.
The pools we're very nice as was the small beach area. They also have a photo team on site to take your pictures throughout your stay but they are very expensive. We paid over 100 euros for around 25 pics on a disk to take home which is alot. When I was in fuerteventura I also bought a disk with over 80 pics on for around 60 euros which was more worth the money. Anyway overall its a nice place to stay but I don't think I'll be returning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola090912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Nicola090912,
We thank you for choosing our Resort this time round.
We have taken note of your comments and will look into them.
Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Before the trip, I was fairly excited about this hotel, mostly because its website made both the facilities and service look appealing. Nevetheless, once I got to the Ramla Bay Resort, I instantly felt a bit cheated, to be honest.
Some things here are definitely worth the stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful, as they answered all of my questions without hesitation. The animation team here is very much active, and the little games and/or sporting events keep running all throughout the day. The hotel itself has more than enough pools to choose from, one of them meant for adults who don't want to be disturbed by little children running and splashing around (even though the wired fence around the aforementioned pool lessened its appeal, I'm afraid, as it made me feel like a jail prisoner on a let's-take-a-walk-outside break). For those who want the real thing, there's both a small sand covered beach and a place where you can jump straight into the sea via ladder drilled into a cliff. The nature and lanscape altogether is beautiful and nice to look at, as is the hotel's outside territory. They also have free wifi in the lobby, which is especially convenient for those with smartphones, laptops or other electronical devices. The hotel is clean and even has a couple of shops inside.
Nevertheless, there are more than plenty cons that this resort seems to have. My family and I stayed in a comfort room, which would have been okay, if not for the location - the room was in a corner near the staff room. The mini fridge was not stocked at our arrival and we had to request for the mini fridge items at the reception. Even though we paid the price for three adults, one of the beds was so bad it didn't deserve the name of a bed. It was more like a cut-off frame of an actual bed with a mattress on it, which, by the way, was springy and uncomfortable to sleep on, as it was a bit hollow in the middle. The balcony was very narrow, so with the chairs and the table already there, two people could barely fit in. The bathroom was so so, mostly due to the badly engineered bathtub - it was impossible to turn on the shower head without it dripping water all over the floor. What is more, the faucets were also pretty hard to use because they were a bit splashy. Last but not least, the A/C was pretty loud and disturbed proper sleep.
The variety of foods was okay, but most food here lacked proper seasonings (maybe it's just the local tradition?). Of course, we were able to add salt or pepper to the meals that didn't have enough taste, but the salt holders were almost impossible to use - they should either change the salt or use holders with bigger holes in them. The restaurant, for some reason called the "Horizon Restaurant", had some disappointments as well. First of all, during lunch or dinner hours, if arrived a bit later, most clientele had to stand in line waiting for the staff to lead them to the tables, even though many of them remained vacant with the "reserved" cards put on them. Also, when entering, everyone had to tell the number of their rooms to a staff member waiting at a table, which basically meant that you couldn't leave and return freely. Too add, we also had to continuously tell our room number and put signatures on checks while ordering things (and we had the all-inclusive program). I, for once, found this particular thing very irritating.
The hotel seemed to be full of kids aged maybe from 12 to 17, which made us wonder if we paid a little bit too much for this hotel. These youngsters crowded most places, and it looked like they were on a camp of sorts. If you're a teacher, looking for an escape from children, this is definitely not the place to go.
All in all, Ramla Bay Resort is pretty ordinary by hotel standards. It would've been okay if not for the deceptive descriptions on the website and the 4* plate. It deserves no more than 3*, and if you're looking for a luxury hotel, this is not the place to stay at. However, if you're planning to stay in Malta just for the nature, it'll suit you perfectly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ieva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear LavaB,
We thank you for finding time to post your review. Needless to say we regret that ‘you found the Resort not quite what you expected’.
We have to point out, that although we respect your opinion; we find it most unfair that you state that we have deceptive descriptions on our website. This is a very serious accusation. Furthermore the 4* plate you are referring to is given by the Malta Tourism Authority after rigid criteria in line with EU standards are reached and maintained. We are a fully fledged 4 star property.
Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,344 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,808 reviews
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing