We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent yet again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

Just returned from a weeks break at Ramla Bay.Stayed here last year at similar time.
Service very good and food even better-lots of choice and all v good.
All inclusive is a must as drinks are expensive.
Hire a car as you are a long way from anywhere but car hire is v cheap at £65 for a week.
Would go again and again.

  • Liked — v comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    647
    277
    100
    35
See reviews for
500
836
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Ramla Bay Resort, having been before several years ago. We found it much improved, with new layouts to reception, bar, restaurant and pools. Night life is quiet so suits us, but no good for clubbers. Quiet and secluded away from roads and town noise, with super views of Gozo and Comino, overlooking the Gozo Ferry terminal (a mile away). Private beach is small but sufficent and good for sheltered swimming, with rented pedalos and boats. Rooms are simple, comfortable and clean, with large en suite bathroom. Food was great with super choice for Breakfast, including full English or fruits. Lunch was a varied hot and cold buffet with child options. Evening meals was even better with large choice of hot and cold, and super selections for desert. Local wine is a good price, about half UK restaurants charge. The hotel shop is good for essentials, but I suggest trip to the supermarket at the top of Melleha town to bulk shop for water and fizzies.
Reading other people suggesting staff are unfriendly or unhelpful seems a travesty - I reckon you get as good as as you give. We found reception staff very friendly and helpful, even in the small hours when we arrived. The staff are a mixture of origins, mainly locals with some Brits and Poles. All speak excellent English. The cleaners were friendly and helpful, providing extra pillows and towels with no trouble. Cut down on taking beech towels as the hotel hire for €2.50 for the week - far cheaper than buying or risking excess baggage weight. We enjoyed the outside pools, although chilly in October. Inside pool was warm and nice, with good range of gym gear (if you like it). Massage and treatments available during the day to early evening (although not our thing). We arranged a car for day trips, essential as the hotel's a fair way from anywhere, and saves relying on local buses which stop a mile from the hotel. Organised day trips are available around Malta, or on sea, or to Scicily to see Etna. Nearby marine park (20 minutes by car) is well worth entrance fee. My girls swam with dolphins, which seems expensive, but is a once in a lifetime thing and a real buzz to see their faces. In summary, if your a Porche driver and hang out at Stringfellows, Ramla Bay Resort is not for you - but I reckon you won't like Malta either - go to Tenneriffe or somewhere loud instead. Ramla Bay Resort is for people who want to swim, lounge and eat, and for us to get some rest and feel relaxed, without having any grief or run-ins. It's more like the secclusion of Isle of Wight or Jersey with a more exotic feeling, without having to struggle to be understood and still be able to drive on the left. We had a great time and would love to go back.

  • Liked — Food & quiet
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnFEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

There is no way that this hotel can justify it's four star rating.The staff are in the main, surly and indifferent and the service is poor.
Guests often appear in the dining room in swimsuits and towel wraps. Vests, shorts and scruffy jeans seem the norm although the hotel 'blurb' states trousers and shirts for men. There are always people walking through the reception and bar area in wet swimwear. The dining room tables are plastic topped which makes it look like a canteen and are without table-cloths, even at dinner. The hotel courtesy bus is only free if you are all inclusive otherwise it will cost you 1.20 euros to the nearest village.
The hotel has a wonderful setting right by the bay and close to Gozo and Comino. However the nearest place, Mellieha Bay is 4km away. The buses do run but are not reliable at night and taxis are very expensive. Bus trip to Mellieha 47 cents, taxi charged at 11 euros. We were aware of the remote location and had a hire car for some days but other visitors might not be and t hose wanting a bit of nightlife might wish to reconsider because there isn't any!
During the day, the ancient buses are a real delight and you can get all the way to Valetta for 58 cents, the journey takes about one and a half hours. The bus stop is not far from the rear of the hotel but unfortunately, you have to walk through a wet and smelly pathway to get to it.
We had a fantastic room - 378 - absolutely huge with a large bathroom and bigger than average balcony giving a wonderful seaview. Our regular maid was pleasant, cheerful and very efficient, the service took a real dive on her days off however, one of the irritations being no refills for the courtesy tray (courtesy trays only on the third floor I was told by other guests). We did have one problem with the air-conditioning which overflowed into large puddles on the floor on two occasions but it only took a couple of hours to fix each time so very efficient there.
The first four days were the worst of the stay. Every day there were lines of complainants at the reception desk with problems like: broken hair dryers, air-con not working, trays not filled, beds not made, paid for seaview and haven't got one etc. etc. We became friends with several other couples and at least three had paid for seaview rooms which they didn't get.
The food was poor, not very good quality and very little choice apart from salads. The soup was piping hot and everything else was barely lukewarm. On the fourth day all guests were issued with a questionnaire asking we they thought of the place. Obviously the answers caused concern as suddenly, the hotel manager appeared, the restaurant manager was visible, more chefs were in evidence, more staff on duty in the restaurant and elsewhere and the quality of the food served was much improved although unfortunately, still only lukewarm.
Having recently stayed in a four-star hotel in Majorca with superb food and where all was done to make our stay happy, I found this hotel extremely poor. I most certainly would not recommend it to anyone as I consider that I paid four-star price for an hotel which struggles to reach three.

  • Liked — The setting close to the bay
  • Disliked — Poor quality food and surly staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

I have booked for a weekend in this hotel through telephone. I booked for 2 adults and an infant. May I point out that they knew about the infant. The first problem we encountered was regarding the credit card. They insisted I give them the credit card number by phone cause that was their policy.
The day after we arrived we decided to go to the indoor pool, but just after a quarter of an hour a lady came and very politley told us that it's time up for the infant. She explained that pool is only open for children from 10-11.30 and 3-4.30. We were very disappointed cause they told us nothing when we booked. Otherwise we would have planned our day accordingly. So we had to go out from the pool and wait till 3 to go again. I am not against this policy, however I pretend to be informed when I book. Furthermore, food was nearly always the same, with the difference that I found a small stone in the plate!!!!! Would never go there again

  • Liked — View and facilities
  • Disliked — Staff, food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

We have just come back from the Ramla Bay and we have had a great holiday very relaxing and peaceful, just what we needed as we both have busy stressful lives.You can use the hotel as a base as getting around the island is easy on the local buses which are frequent and cheap We had a lovely room which had both sea and countryside views the cleaning staff were very good and our sheets were changed as and when we requested.Those who moan about the room facilities should be mindful that when on holiday how much time do you really stay in your room, kettles and safes were available to hire at a reasonable rate. Yes the shop was shut from 12 until 4pm but that's Malta and the mediterranian way of life. I do agree that both Bartos and Eric had a rough deal trying to run the bar and serve meals but chill your on holiday.The food was varied and plentiful (we went all inclusive) but found the snacks from the bar fresher and well presented. Our only complaint was in the restaurant that as soon as one of you put your knife and fork down they would wip your plateaway even if others in your party were still eating! The hotel facilities were lovely and there was plenty of places to sit indoors and out, the views overlooking Gozo and Comino were breathtaking especially at sunset. Would we go again? ... yes, we have already booked to go next year

  • Liked — The spacious room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddiesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

Very pleasant hotel at the north of the Island.

Staff friendly, large bedroom which was cleaned each day.

Was staying on B&B basis so I can only comment on breakfast, there was a large choice from the buffet, quality was good (coffee wasn't the best I have ever had - but that's the only complaint).

Pools were good (though a sea temperature - not heated), pool area very nice, closest beach rather small but sandy.

You would probably need your own car if wishing to see the rest of Malta, as Ramla Bay Hotel is a long way from anywhere else. though for me this was ideal as being out of the way there was no noise at night, and you didn't fee like you were staying in a resort.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 2InfrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

I am very studious when it comes to my holidays I like to know everything really before i go... This was a first ever holiday abroad for my boyfriend so i wanted it to be special so planned everything as best I could.

I booked the Ramla Bay through a website it was quite expensive direct - It was a 4* hotel and the photos looked amazing I had never been to Malta before but knew we wanted to be somewhere quiet & away from the busy holiday towns & the Ramla Bay was definately this - Its a 40 minute journey from the airport which flies by as your taking in the sights and cringing at the awful and dangerous driving out there! (**DO NOT HIRE A CAR IF YOU CAN LIVE WITHOUT ONE**!) Malta has the highest car accident rate in the whole of europe and boyo boy can you see why!

The hotel is on the very edge of the Northern part of Malta lieterally 20 minutes walk to the ferry terminal for Gozo - 5 minutes walk from the hotel is a bus stop and they run very regulary for all over the island!

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with about 6 huge pagodas dotted about which is great to drink a cocktail or ten and watch the sunset - they do have about 12 - 15 cats which must be resident as they are constantly taking up the chairs and milling about.

I agree with another reviewer here that the hotel in definately understaffed - the bar especially! The bar food was good quality better than the buffet restaurant to be honest and there was lots of it!!! and resonably priced.

We stayed bed and breakfast and the buffet does set you up for the day but I did get bored of the same thing after about 4 days!

As the hotel is 10 minutes by bus from the mearest town Mellieha then it was often easier to stay in for the buffet restaurant as the buses dont run as regular at night. The food was never the same in the week we were there but there were some pretty random combinations and some of it did look like it could do with refreshing. It was 33 euros for 2 of us and that doesnt inc drinks so it was quite expensive for what it was! The bar food stopped at 6pm so you were kinda stuck with the restaurant.

I requested a seaview room which we were told we hadnt managed to get and that we had a countryview - well this also ment we had a side view of the sea which i was happy about but the countryview is merely scrubland to be honest.

One thing we did experience was 3 weddings in one week at the hotel - 1 irish,2 english. and to be honest when there is a wedding on you may as well go to the other hotel 5 minutes walk away for drinks or food as you just cant get near any staff!

The room was huge but a little tired and garish yellow & blue curtains and matching quilt covers didnt help. - We didnt really want our roomn cleaned on a couple of the days so left the Do Not Disturb Sign on the door and went out only to return and find they had gone in and done it anyway! The bed sheets were never changed and didnt seem very crisp and white when we first got into them to be honest.

I dont go on holiday to watch tv but the tv was tiny compared to the room and there was only one english channel anyway BBC Prime of and new channel.

The private hotel beach that they do go on about on their site is very disappointing they have crammed about 30 sunbeds on a tiny piece of sand - the sea is amazing but thick with seaweed on the entry from the beach and there isnt much swimming space because of the amount of moored boats.

One thing the hotel is crying our for is some TLC the small beach area and the rocky bit either side was full of waste bottles and packets and paper it really did need a good clear out & did put me off going into the sea. But much of the rocky coast of Malta is unfortunately spoilt by this problem.

Anyway the hotel was good I would really say that to our british standards it was more like a 3* we stayed at the Sofitel Gatwick the night before our flight and that was a 4* and that was simply stunning and should have been a 5* so this certainly wasnt a 4* by british standards im afraid.

Staff were friendly - mini market was shut betweek 12 and 5pm! so couldnt get snacks for lunch. It was however a great quiet location if you go not expecting the world then you wont be disappointed but please dont go thinking 4* luxury cos you will feel a little disappointed.

  • Liked — its location ... Quiet and away from the hussle and bussle
  • Disliked — understaffed & the buffet restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blubunny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
4.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Onthebeach so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing