We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip at the Ramla Bay”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
triptropa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trip at the Ramla Bay”
Reviewed 29 November 2008

We had a wonderful vacation at the Ramla Bay resort. It is a lovely Hotel. It is very well decorated, the loby is fun and trendy. The setting is gorgeous, I loved the gazebos overlooking the bay.

We took our 3 year old daughter.
The amenities were great, in particular we loved the childrens babysitting in the afternoon, out daughter loved as we did. The boating was great. I personally enjoyed the massage, Miriam was great and so nice, the gym was very well equiped and a nice envoronment to work out in.

The food was great, I am a picky eater but was really particularly happy with the selection and very good quality, the service was very good.

It was a great holiday and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a luxurious break with good food.

  • Liked — quality
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank triptropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    699
    307
    112
    44
See reviews for
547
902
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2008

Well impressed with this hotel - we were there for 10 days with our 3 kids - aged 4, 2.5 and 6 months. Our primary goal was to find a place we didnt need to leave.

We thought the accommodations were excellent (We stayed in one of their standalone villas in front of the pool). The food was top notch and the kids loved the entertainment (pool dancing, lots of kids activities including a play room and very enthusiastic "Camp-counsellers" who led such activities. Our kids loved it. There was a also 2 great pools including one with a waterfal l from the top pool. The beach is man made and small. Lots of activities for more active vacationers. Managed to get away to rent a kayak for an hour or so but lots of other stuff to do - dive shop basically on site plus trips to gozo etc.

SO overall great stay.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — room a little outdated decor wise
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fragilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2008

We have just returned from a trip at the Ramla Bay. It was the most relaxing holiday we ever had. We have two young children and the all inclusive deal was perfect for our family. The food was fantastic and even pleased our children who are fussy eaters! The Ramla Bay met all our needs. The service was great, the staff couldn't do more for us. We will be returning to the Ramla Bay!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank heti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Just returned from a weeks break at Ramla Bay.Stayed here last year at similar time.
Service very good and food even better-lots of choice and all v good.
All inclusive is a must as drinks are expensive.
Hire a car as you are a long way from anywhere but car hire is v cheap at £65 for a week.
Would go again and again.

  • Liked — v comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Ramla Bay Resort, having been before several years ago. We found it much improved, with new layouts to reception, bar, restaurant and pools. Night life is quiet so suits us, but no good for clubbers. Quiet and secluded away from roads and town noise, with super views of Gozo and Comino, overlooking the Gozo Ferry terminal (a mile away). Private beach is small but sufficent and good for sheltered swimming, with rented pedalos and boats. Rooms are simple, comfortable and clean, with large en suite bathroom. Food was great with super choice for Breakfast, including full English or fruits. Lunch was a varied hot and cold buffet with child options. Evening meals was even better with large choice of hot and cold, and super selections for desert. Local wine is a good price, about half UK restaurants charge. The hotel shop is good for essentials, but I suggest trip to the supermarket at the top of Melleha town to bulk shop for water and fizzies.
Reading other people suggesting staff are unfriendly or unhelpful seems a travesty - I reckon you get as good as as you give. We found reception staff very friendly and helpful, even in the small hours when we arrived. The staff are a mixture of origins, mainly locals with some Brits and Poles. All speak excellent English. The cleaners were friendly and helpful, providing extra pillows and towels with no trouble. Cut down on taking beech towels as the hotel hire for €2.50 for the week - far cheaper than buying or risking excess baggage weight. We enjoyed the outside pools, although chilly in October. Inside pool was warm and nice, with good range of gym gear (if you like it). Massage and treatments available during the day to early evening (although not our thing). We arranged a car for day trips, essential as the hotel's a fair way from anywhere, and saves relying on local buses which stop a mile from the hotel. Organised day trips are available around Malta, or on sea, or to Scicily to see Etna. Nearby marine park (20 minutes by car) is well worth entrance fee. My girls swam with dolphins, which seems expensive, but is a once in a lifetime thing and a real buzz to see their faces. In summary, if your a Porche driver and hang out at Stringfellows, Ramla Bay Resort is not for you - but I reckon you won't like Malta either - go to Tenneriffe or somewhere loud instead. Ramla Bay Resort is for people who want to swim, lounge and eat, and for us to get some rest and feel relaxed, without having any grief or run-ins. It's more like the secclusion of Isle of Wight or Jersey with a more exotic feeling, without having to struggle to be understood and still be able to drive on the left. We had a great time and would love to go back.

  • Liked — Food & quiet
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnFEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

There is no way that this hotel can justify it's four star rating.The staff are in the main, surly and indifferent and the service is poor.
Guests often appear in the dining room in swimsuits and towel wraps. Vests, shorts and scruffy jeans seem the norm although the hotel 'blurb' states trousers and shirts for men. There are always people walking through the reception and bar area in wet swimwear. The dining room tables are plastic topped which makes it look like a canteen and are without table-cloths, even at dinner. The hotel courtesy bus is only free if you are all inclusive otherwise it will cost you 1.20 euros to the nearest village.
The hotel has a wonderful setting right by the bay and close to Gozo and Comino. However the nearest place, Mellieha Bay is 4km away. The buses do run but are not reliable at night and taxis are very expensive. Bus trip to Mellieha 47 cents, taxi charged at 11 euros. We were aware of the remote location and had a hire car for some days but other visitors might not be and t hose wanting a bit of nightlife might wish to reconsider because there isn't any!
During the day, the ancient buses are a real delight and you can get all the way to Valetta for 58 cents, the journey takes about one and a half hours. The bus stop is not far from the rear of the hotel but unfortunately, you have to walk through a wet and smelly pathway to get to it.
We had a fantastic room - 378 - absolutely huge with a large bathroom and bigger than average balcony giving a wonderful seaview. Our regular maid was pleasant, cheerful and very efficient, the service took a real dive on her days off however, one of the irritations being no refills for the courtesy tray (courtesy trays only on the third floor I was told by other guests). We did have one problem with the air-conditioning which overflowed into large puddles on the floor on two occasions but it only took a couple of hours to fix each time so very efficient there.
The first four days were the worst of the stay. Every day there were lines of complainants at the reception desk with problems like: broken hair dryers, air-con not working, trays not filled, beds not made, paid for seaview and haven't got one etc. etc. We became friends with several other couples and at least three had paid for seaview rooms which they didn't get.
The food was poor, not very good quality and very little choice apart from salads. The soup was piping hot and everything else was barely lukewarm. On the fourth day all guests were issued with a questionnaire asking we they thought of the place. Obviously the answers caused concern as suddenly, the hotel manager appeared, the restaurant manager was visible, more chefs were in evidence, more staff on duty in the restaurant and elsewhere and the quality of the food served was much improved although unfortunately, still only lukewarm.
Having recently stayed in a four-star hotel in Majorca with superb food and where all was done to make our stay happy, I found this hotel extremely poor. I most certainly would not recommend it to anyone as I consider that I paid four-star price for an hotel which struggles to reach three.

  • Liked — The setting close to the bay
  • Disliked — Poor quality food and surly staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

I have booked for a weekend in this hotel through telephone. I booked for 2 adults and an infant. May I point out that they knew about the infant. The first problem we encountered was regarding the credit card. They insisted I give them the credit card number by phone cause that was their policy.
The day after we arrived we decided to go to the indoor pool, but just after a quarter of an hour a lady came and very politley told us that it's time up for the infant. She explained that pool is only open for children from 10-11.30 and 3-4.30. We were very disappointed cause they told us nothing when we booked. Otherwise we would have planned our day accordingly. So we had to go out from the pool and wait till 3 to go again. I am not against this policy, however I pretend to be informed when I book. Furthermore, food was nearly always the same, with the difference that I found a small stone in the plate!!!!! Would never go there again

  • Liked — View and facilities
  • Disliked — Staff, food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,298 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Onthebeach, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing