We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sharon” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riviera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Riviera Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sharon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was in Riviera Resort & Spa Located at the Northern end of the island opposite Gozo. This had easy access to the Gozo ferries and a number of local boat trips. My son (10 years old) loved it. The staff were so friendly specially at Bar section . Karan who was working hard at the bar section was so kind and was a good example of a hard worker. The staff worked hard to try and impress everyone . Also they were very cheerful! However, the quality of foods was not impressive. The indoor swimming pool was not very clean and needs some maintenance. Overall, for the price we paid it was fine. We had very nice time over there.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Sharen2014

“G’day.

Thank you for choosing Riviera Resort & Spa for your recent holiday. It is great to learn that you enjoyed, and your son loved the resort. I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and found it convenient to organize boat trips from right outside the main door.
Your mention on the friendly, cheerful staff are greatly appreciated and your feedback will be passed to Karen and all other members of staff that do work hard to make your stay more pleasurable.
Your update on the indoor pool has been looked into and corrective action is being carried out to eliminate the points you have mentioned. I’m glad you had a very nice time and enjoyed your break over all.
I hope you had a pleasant journey back to Australia and we look forward to welcoming you and your son back to the resort in the near future.

Best Regards.

Brian O' Connor

Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    529
    310
    128
    83
See reviews for
404
741
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darvel, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just returned from an enjoyable weeks stay at the Riviera and can agree with all others who found the staff excellent and facilities first class. Food was to a good standard with a great choice and we never heard of any negatives and only positives from other guests we encountered.The animation team are very enthusiastic in their endeavours to encourage guests to participate in aqua aerobics ( which we did ) and boules,but were never pushy. We opted for all inclusive and were impressed by the quality of beverages, allbeit local, and bar staff who were brilliant in keeping everyone satisfied with speed of service and a friendly smile. Our check out time was 11:00 am but not being collected by the shuttle bus until 5:00 pm, but were made very welcome to continue to use all the facilities until that time. Hotel is quite remote in the north but ferries to Gozo, Comino ( Blue Lagoon, careful, as very busy at weekends ) and frequent buses to all parts of Malta are on the doorstep. We have no hesitation in recommending the Riviera for a quiet holiday with quality. We shall return!

Room Tip: Sea view west face for afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank danbrae5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear danbrae5
Thank you for sharing your great stay with fellow TripAdvisor reviewers along with the staff and management of Riviera Resort & Spa. I’m happy to read you had a “great weeks stay” with us on vacation.
It’s also great to read that you found the staff be excellent and all facilities met your expectations. These points will surely be passed on and will be greatly appreciated by all personal concerned.
I would like to thank you for the full marks you have given the resort as we always strive to make all guests experiences as delightful and comfortable as possible. I am happy to see that the All Inclusive package suited you and you were impressed with all that was available from the Food and Beverage Department. Your feedback on the animation team is also appreciated and I see that their daily programme kept you busy.
Our location in the north is appreciated for the peace, quiet and relaxation along with with great sea views of Comino and Gozo. We also get great feedback regarding the panoramic land & country views especially in Spring time from the City dwellers .
Recommending the resort to friends is appreciated and we all look forward to your return and to be given the opportunity welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards.
Brian O’ Connor.
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

If you wnat piece and quiet with all the people friendly aand helpful well this is the place for you .At this time of the year the sun shines brightly the food is fantastic cannot be faulted .Oh lets just say its the best holiday I ever had and ihave been quite a few places but to make people sure this is my first advisor review so lets not get carrried away because on the likes weigh out number and vive versa.There is one last thing to say is that I booked this holiday with Thomsons of Stockport and I left hem to arrange everything !I am sorry to say they did not come with through with the goods .Do not use them !I am very sorry to say(excuse my language THEY ARE HOPELESS )This holiday has cost 1 days of time hangining around the foyer,spending moNEY on car rental and being asked to DRIVE a car to Luqa airport on a empty tank of petro(l if your a driver you should know that do t

hat
in heavy trafffic is a no COMPENSE mensate PERSON WOULD DO ) and guess what they put points of damage on the car just for the sake of keeping 250 euros for 10 days DO NOT USE FIRST CLASS RENTAL SERVICE believe and the name of fisrt ontact is Natalie so if you wnt a good holiday go to the afors mentioned hotel and do not use thompsons or first class class rental .They are no good the pair of them M DCAWLEY

Room Tip: this place is full of Krauts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spky2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear spky2000
It’s great to learn through your review that your vacation at Riviera Resort & Spa was Sunny, Peaceful, Quiet, friendly, helpful and the best you ever had. Your feedback will be passed onto all the staff concerned and they will pleased to learn they played part of the great Holiday you had. . I’m happy to read your experience at the Resort left you totally satisfied and that all your expectations were met.
For future reference should you return to the resort we do have a car hire desk in the reception area which may be of some convenience to you next time round.
Once again it’s great to read your 1st review and for sharing your positive experiences with fellow readers.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distance future.

Best regards.

Brian O’ Connor
Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Located at the Northern end of the island opposite Gozo. This was further from the airport than would appear but this was due to various detours on the transfer bus. The location actually proved to be a bonus with easy access to the Gozo ferries and a number of local boat trips, We also seemed to be at the end of a number of local bus routes which allowed easy transport around the island. Tip, buy a weekly ticket which at about £5.00 is a bargain. Our initial impression of the hotel was good and this was to remain during our stay. We requested a room change on arrival and this was arranged promptly and without question. Throughout our stay , all staff from managers, dining room to cleaners were polite and cheerful and made for a very pleasant experience.
The hotel is well used but is clean and comfortable and despite being relatively large, managers to maintain a quiet homely feel. We stayed on a half board plus basis which allowed for free wine or beer with our evening meal which worked well for us. There are a number of facilities on site such as a spa and open air pool which looked very inviting but we didn't have time to use them so can't comment. We will return to Malta and we will stay at the Riviera again. We have no reservation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view if this is important to you. Some ground floor rooms open onto outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear John r.
Thank you for conveying your satisfaction through your 1st post with trip advisor regarding your stay at Riviera Resort & Spa. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found our location a bonus to commute around the Island and to enjoy the boat excursions available right outside our door.
Due to the fact we are only a couple of hundred meters from the ferry terminal to Gozo we do benefit from a good regular selection of bus routes along with great views of our sister Islands.
I am happy to read that your positive, initial impression remained with you throughout your comfortable stay. Happy friendly staff and managers alike do also make the difference and play a major part in the homily feeling you have experienced whilst you and your partner stayed with us.
Half Board plus is a convenient option and we do have good comments that it works well regarding the quality of beer and Maltese wines available.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta in the near future and more importantly back to Riviera Resort &Spa so you can try out the pools , open air terraces and enjoy the Spa facilities.

Thank you in advance for the reccomendations of the Resort you will be passing on to others.

Best Regards

Brian O’ Connor
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Spent 1 week staying at the hotel - staff were all really friendly and helpful, food and cocktails were lovely, and room comfortable. Used the spa once for a massage which was brilliant value for money. My partner used the gym which was adequate for a quick work out before the day started. Loved the fact the hotel is within walking distance to the Gozo ferry - highly recommend a trip to Gozo!
We did rent out a car from the local agency 'Billys', which we booked through the hotel - the hotel is based in a lovely and quiet location so you do need transport to get to places - there are also plenty of bus links if you didn't want to rent a car. However we found the rental price very competitive.
We hired a speedboat from 'Blue Waves' (again they have an info desk in the reception) - great fun and definitely recommended. You can easily travel the small island of Comino which again is in easy travelling distance to the hotel - especially worth it due to the popular Blue Lagoon.

One quick mention about the rooms - the walls are quite thin! We could hear alot from the neighbors and the corridor noise - however we slept very well so it didn't bother us that much.

A special mention to the dive team based at the hotel - H20 Divers. Simon, Zoe & Alex - really great team and made us feel very welcome when we went out diving for the 2 days. They took us to some beautiful places, including the Azure Window on Gozo. If you like diving or want to give it a go you couldn't have a better group of instructors.

Overall awesome holiday :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GemRVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear GemRVN
Thank you for sharing your 20th review with us on the week you have spent at Riviera Resort &Spa. It’s great to read you enjoyed your stay completely and found your experience “Brilliant” . I’m glad you enjoyed yourself on the sea as well as under it and that the facilities offered by the Resort made your whole experience more complete.
Our Resort is located in a convenient quiet and lovely location as you well know and we receive quite an amount of positive feedback from guests who seek complete relaxation or even a good night’s sleep as you mentioned.
It’s great that the cocktails and food also ticked all the boxes for you to make your experience more “awesome overall”.
I will pass on your kind comments to all staff concerned and they will be pleased they have contributed to making your holiday a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not to distance future.

All the best for now.
Brian O’ Connor
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Check out recent reviews for this hotel as there seems to be a recurring positive theme. Clean, functional rooms, good and quality food choices for the three meal times (and the little add ons that were available) but the real plus are the staff. Every staff member we interacted with was unfailingly polite and helpful. Would return without question.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Paul D.
Thank you for sharing your review and we are pleased to learn that Riviera Resort & Spa has created such a positive impression upon you. It’s great that the rooms, housekeeping and the Food and Beverage departments all played an important role in making your holiday a great all-round trip.
Your kind remarks regarding the Resorts staff towards politeness and helpfulness are very much appreciated and this encouraging note will be relayed to all concerned. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Resort in the near future.


Best Regards.
Brian O’ Connor
Resort Operation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Riviera, found everything at this hotel to be of a good standard, would certainly use it again if we go back to Malta. Our flight home didn`t leave until 9 pm and had to hand in the key at 11 am, we were pleased to find that we had at our disposal a spotless toilet and shower room saving us having to extend the hire of our room. We used local transport to get around although very cheap they were packed, we tried going to Mdina using the buses but wasted an hour waiting for buses which then passed us because they were too crowded, so the best option would be to use the hop on/off bus. The ferry to Gozo is well worth using, Gozo is a lovely island and it only cost 4.60 euros return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cwood26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear cwood26.

I am very pleased to read you and your partner are completely satisfied with your recent stay at Riviera Resort & Spa. Spotless facilities and clean changing rooms are one of the many objectives our housekeeping personal endeavour to provide on all occasions for our guests. It’s great to see you have chosen the best method of transport for your good self and explored all places of interest to you in Malta along with our sister Island Gozo. Thank you once again for your 1st review and for sharing your recommendations with other reviewers as I am more than sure they will receive tripadvisor helpful votes.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort on your next visit and for you to experience once again the standards you were so pleased with.

All the best for now.

Brian O’Connor

Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
4.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Resort & Spa

Property: The Riviera Resort & Spa
Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02 , Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Resort And Spa
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing