We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this hotel at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel at all costs”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel isn't a 4 star in any way shape or form! Do not be fooled by the pictures on the website as these are dated. The all inclusive package was abysmal afternoon snacks consisted of the same pieces of cake offered at breakfast, kids had no ice cream and you could only drink from certain bars at any given time... Ie Hola beach was out of bounds after 5 pm!! There was no sandy beach and avoid the scaffolding poles and old railings on your attempt to enter he sea. A real stench of sewage at certain times of the day, the staff are uninterested in any issues you may have and have a real knack at shrugging there shoulders. Lack of information if your English , the animation team where the only people with a smile , entertainment was limited , however there is a real 4 star hotel across the bay that's got it right !!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Kelly11111111
Thank you for sharing your review and this is not the type of feedback that we like or expect at all costs. From your comments I can see that you were not satisfied at all with the facilities we have to offer.
I can assure we are not here to fool anybody and our website site photos are photos of Riviera Resort and Spa. Some have been updated in July 2014 like the pool deck for instance.
I can assure that the cake we serve during afternoon tea are not the same as the ones we serve at breakfast , they are the same type of cake . The ones at breakfast are very popular even though they are sweet we still go through about 200 portions each Morning. If these were not to your liking you should have brought this to our attention then and not now and we would have been more than happy to have got you something else.
Regarding Impulse Ice creams we do not state/ advertise or specify anywhere that they are part of the All Inclusive package . Ice-cream is available in the main restaurant during Lunch time and dinner.
Some outlets do have different opening and closing times but with a choice of 6 beverage outlets to choose from its quite understandable that they cannot all be open all day long operating at the same time. Certain outlets open during the day also need a period of time for clearing, replenishing along with freshening up and Hola Beach is one of those outlets. As the area is so popular, bar hours have now been extended in the evening to all board basis therefore it is open all day long.
Thank you for pointing out the metal poles that are lying on the sea bed close to our pontoon as we have taken action for them to be removed and they are now gone.
Regarding the stench you have pointed out I can assure you it is not from the resort. During this time of the year the farmers in the area would have taken out the main summer crops from the surrounding fields , Pumpkins, sweet Melon and Water melon. The bad smell you would have noticed would have been organic fertilizer that the local farmers use to enhance the soil for the next yield of crop which would be potatoes I believe.
An Information sheet is passed to all guests on arrival maybe on the next occasion you could take the time to read it along with the information pack in the room.
Regarding our rating as a four star I can assure you that we do not make the ratings ourselves but a local authority have that responsibility.
Brian O’ Connor .
Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    530
    310
    129
    83
See reviews for
404
741
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Great place! Lovely food! Every day fresh and healthy meals! Friendly staff! My friend has lost her jacket by the pool, they sent it to her (to London) without any charges! Very sweet! We had amazing time! Love the spa. Perfect for a nice and quiet break. Great Will be back for sure!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Martyna B
Thank you for sharing your review and full marks that you have given to Riviera Resort and Spa in your review. From your comments I can see that you and your friend had great holiday all round and we scored full marks for all the services and facilities we have to offer.
Your kind comments and feedback will be relayed to all staff concerned and they will be pleased to learn that you have left Riviera Resort & Spa totally satisfied and cannot wait to return.
It’s great to read that our location in the north of the island also played an important role and you found it to be a great place and the location was exactly what you wanted. It reads left you with fond memories of the Maltese Islands and with your great stay at Riviera Resort and Spa.
I did receive an email to say thanks for an item that was forwarded from the resorts lost and found department it could very well have been from your friend.
Friendly and helpful staff do make the difference and I am happy to read that this is the experience you have received.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

All the best for now .

Brian O’ Connor .

Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just returned on 19th July had a lovely holiday hotel in general very good but found it to be quite boring in the evenings only a keyboard player 3 times a week lobby bar needed some fun music Charlie noble bar was dead except for the German World Cup game music round the pool area was too slow and quiet on holiday people like to have fun music playing st the pool area it makes it a good atmosphere . Food very good always a choice for everyone hotel quite a bit from the airport be prepared for a bumpy ride the roads are in need of serious upgrading don't want to sound as if we didn't enjoy only telling the absolute truth . In all we enjoyed our holiday would we return ........ No .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Football09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Football09
Thank you for sharing your positive review and for taking the time to inform other readers about the positive points you found to your liking at Riviera Resort &Spa. . It’s great to read you found Riviera Resort & Spa to be a “ very good hotel” and we were able to meet all your wishes through our facilities along with our location and with one more mark and we would have received full marks , maybe next time round ?.

I have read that the area, night life and daily entertainment was a little on the quiet side for you. As I am sure you will understand we have to try and find a balance to suit all ages , walks of life and personalities..

Friendly and obliging staff do make a difference to enhance our guests overall experiences whilst on vacation and all departments seem to have pleased you thoroughly.

With regards to the roads they have all most, all been upgraded over the last few years but there are a couple here and there waiting their turn . These may well have been the ones you experienced.
I am happy to see that you returned home completely satisfied , you have shared a honest positive review and we thank you for that. We look forward to welcoming you once again on your return to Riviera Resort and Spa for your next holiday.
All the best for now..

Brian O’ Connor

Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Did not evnjoy my stay at all, staff were unhelpful, food was disgusting, (i will add a picture if possible to show what was on offer for dinner), the animation team were the only staff who actually had a smile on their face, im glad this was only a 3 day stay before we moved hotel

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank amie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your review of Riviera Resort and Spa. It’s very clear the Resort was not to your liking along with Malta as I cannot pick up any positive points apart from the fact you only stayed 3 days. I believe you have given us to many points.
Thank you for making your short point.

Best Regards
Brian O’ Connor.

Resort operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

good hotel because of people. Bar, waiters, animators, reception- half half. blond lady kept usfor 3 hours without room, couse we arrived at 11, and atfer that she gave us sh** room, with view like on Texas, but Ryan from reception sort this up inless then 5 min, and gave us another room. So i dont understand why she kept us so long especially when i spoke with her that we're tried ather journey. And the one guy from reception, jhn,but i dont think is his real name, acting like at least menager of all hotels in malta, very rude, unhelpful. first time in my life i want slept somebody so much... Believe me- avoid him...
No wifi on hotel, spa very poor.
But food was ok, is a bufet we can not expect miracles.

Room Tip: with pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iza6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear iza6767

Thank you for sharing your 1st review and marks even though we did not score them all. From your comments I can see that you had a good holiday all round and nearly all departments facilities and services were to your satisfaction except for the opinion you have shared upon check in at the reception desk..
As I am sure you will understand we have standard operating procedures throughout the resort and one of them is the check in and check out times. Check in time is at 14.00 hrs and check out time 11.00hrs.
This period of time (3 hours) is required to clean and prepare the rooms for the next arrivals. Should rooms be ready earlier it will be our pleasure to hand over the room key earlier than the official time of 14.00 hrs.
I am more than sure the blonde lady at reception was doing her best and made a few calls to the house keeping to give your room priority as you had arrived a couple of hours earlier. Ryan seeing how tired you were would then have swapped your room type with the same room type of other arrivals if the other room was registered as clean. Fortunately we do have the arrival times of some guests therefore we were in a position to help you out. I would like to add that this procedure cannot be done all the time as it depends on a lot of restrictions.
Your kind comments and feedback will be relayed to all staff concerned and they will be pleased to learn that you have left Riviera Resort & Spa satisfied.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

All the best for now .

Brian O’ Connor .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is on the most north western tip of Malta facing the islands of Comino & Gozo. It is a quiet place but had enough going on to keep us happy for 10 days. If one wanted more evening entertainment than what was on offer one could catch a local bus a few paces away which took one to the town of Mellieha or further. The staff are all very friendly & helpful. We took the all-inclusive option which meant we ate in the buffet restaurant with discounts if we wanted to eat in either of the two other restaurants at the hotel or beach restaurant next door. We were very happy with the variety & quality of food on offer in the buffet so only used the a la carte restaurant once for a change. The decor at the hotel is a bit tired & could do with a refurb - chairs in the lobby lounge are a bit tatty & the hall carpets on the 2nd floor are mismatched & threadbare in places but we couldn't fault the cleanliness of our room. The pillows & mattress could have been a little softer but we had no problem sleeping. We did have a problem with cockroaches on a couple of occasions but after reporting it our room was sprayed & we didn't see any more. There were plenty of loungers & umbrellas round the two swimming pools so we never felt that it was crowded or that we had to hurry to bag one. Malta does not have a great many sandy beaches & the one closest to this hotel is very small but adequate. All in all we had a most relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jill s
Thank you for sharing your delightful 38th review and for almost giving us full marks with fellow Trip Advisor followers. The staff and management of Riviera Resort & Spa are always pleased when our guests have a wonderful time staying with us on vacation and its good you were kept busy for your 10 days.. It’s great to read you found the food and drinks to be great and to your liking and the staff friendly attentive and welcoming. These points will surely be passed on and will be greatly appreciated by all staff concerned.
This time of the year the weather warms up and we have a lot of warm winds blowing in from Africa which is only a 40 minute flight away. Other creatures flights are a lot longer as insects have much smaller wings . We always inform guests to keep the windows closed as most of these insects fly and like to visit guests room for a rest mostly in the evening as they are attracted to light.. As you have said yourself you could not fault the cleanliness of your room so thank you for the opportunity you have given me to pass on information to others re insects..
I would like to thank you for the points you have given the resort as we always strive to make all guests experiences as delightful as possible. I am happy to see that you returned home completely satisfied with all the services we had to offer.

Recommending the resort to friends is appreciated and we all look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

P.s all in all its good you had a great time.

Best Regards.

Brian O’ Connor.

Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

A good hotel with staff who are keen to please, in an unspoilt quiet location - just what we wanted.

Hotel is very clean and bedrooms of a good size - and most importantly the bed was comfortable. We had no problem with bathroom or air conditioning. You do have to pay a returnable deposit on TV remote control. You can use the room bar fridge for your own use.

Location is great if you like unspoilt quiet locations. Step across a quiet road to beachfront and jetty. Good fishing spots from waterfront. Did not miss sandy beach as rocky coastline has lots of interesting rock pools and shallow water to step into or steps down into deeper water from various points.

We went on AI board. No problem with bar service or drinks access. Food is self service buffet. Always plentiful and of good standard. No complaints. Staff helpful and friendly and speak good English.

Local buses are frequent, cheap and good. Think UK Government should learn a lesson here!

Trip to Gozo recommended although not with Supreme Travel. Realised we could have done the trip better and much cheaper ourselves!

Would recommend a speedboat trip with Blue Waves from jetty outside hotel across to and around opposite island of Commino. The driver, from Kent, takes you right into waterside caves you would not otherwise see. Fantastic trip around this unspoilt island and to the Blue Lagoon. Blue Lagoon is beautiful but it is spoilt by hundreds of day trippers. We choose not to get off boat!

Malta has strong historical links with UK and felt like home! All road signs in English, drive on correct side of road etc, locals friendly and speak English etc but without the spoilt commercialism and awful all day English breakfast bars and kiss me quick hats you get in some overseas holiday resorts!

All in we had a wonderful quiet holiday on a beautiful island - just what we wanted!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheddarisgorgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Cheddarisgorgeous ( I AGREE)
Thank you for sharing your very positive review and for taking the time to inform other readers about the positive points you found to your liking . It’s great to read you found Riviera Resort & Spa to be “Just as you wanted” and is exactly what you had. I am HAPPY we were able to meet all your wishes through our facilities along with our location and with one more mark we would have received full marks , maybe next time round ?.
I can read that you enjoyed the seashore to the full and it is a wonderful place for those who enjoy exploring enjoy marine life and hope to find those different little things when abroad.
The Maltese Islands are composed of carbonate rock, mainly limestone’s, and are tilted towards the NE, producing a submerged and generally lowland northern coastline and an emerged and almost exclusively cliff‐dominated southern coastline. Rocky shores are the most widespread coastal habitat in the Maltese Islands constituting ca. 90.5% of the 263 km coastline of the islands. On the micro tidal Maltese shores (maximum tidal range = 0.25 m), differences between
the diversity and abundance of the biota of gently sloping rocky shores is determined primarily by the exposure to wave action, the substratum geology and topography and by biological interactions.
The shallow waters off the lowland north eastern coastlines of the islands support extensive benthic biotic assemblages on hard substrata, mainly bedrock, that occurs as a band just below the shore and which can vary in width between a few metres and several hundred metres. Environmental factors such as exposure to water movement (wave action and currents), water quality, the nature of the substratum, availability of light, and biological interactions, influence the occurrence and distribution of such assemblages.

Friendly and obliging staff do make a difference to enhance our guests overall experiences whilst on vacation and all departments seem to have pleased you thoroughly.
It’s great to see you have done the research on our “quiet and unspoilt” location and you got exactly what you were looking for.
I am happy to see that you returned home completely satisfied , you have shared a very positive and honest review and we look forward to welcoming you once again on your return to Riviera Resort and Spa for your next holiday.
All the best for now..

Brian O’ Connor .

Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
4.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa

Property: LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa
Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02 , Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort And Spa
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing