We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have just returned from a week at The Riviera and can't fault it. The reception staff were helpful, polite and friendly. The animation team were great fun and tried their best to get everyone involved, without being pushy. The food was fine - always plenty of choice and good quality, and the hotel was spotlessly clean! The weekly BBQ party is a must! The views from the pool deck were stunning - I could (and did) spend hours just looking out to sea and watching the boats come and go, and the sunset was spectacular. Great place to snorkel. A quiet location with just 2 other hotels nearby but that suited us perfectly. 15 minute walk to the Gozo ferry terminal and 2 minute walk to the bus stop so you didn't have to feel isolated. Had a wonderful relaxing week and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms by the lift can be quite noisy from the lift itself and people returning to their rooms bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karaokestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Karaokestars
Thank you for sharing your delightful stay with fellow Trip Advisor reviewers along with the staff and management of Riviera Resort & Spa and you had a wonderful time staying with us on vacation. It’s great to read you found the food to be your liking and the staff friendly attentive and welcoming and we ticked all the circles for you..
These points will surely be passed on and will be greatly appreciated by all staff concerned. I would like to thank you for the full marks you have given the resort as we always strive to make all guests experiences as delightful as possible.
I am happy to see that you returned home completely satisfied with all the services we had to offer. Our location in the north is appreciated for the peace, quiet and more importantly the relaxation. The wonderful views of the cliffs of Comino and Gozo are regularly commented upon favourably whilst guests are having a drink, more so during sunset in the lobby bar, pool deck and also Hola beach.
Once again I am happy to read you had a happy relaxing week and we look forward also to welcoming you back once again in the not to distance future.

Best Regards.

Brian O’ Connor.

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    531
    310
    129
    91
See reviews for
407
748
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day stay in the Riviera resort.Before arriving we requested two sea view rooms next to each other one for myself husband & little boy & the other for my two daughters to share aged 12 & 16 which was confirmed by the Riviera that this would be possible however upon arriving we was told this is just not possible and we could have a sea view but my daughters room would be on a different level over the other side of the hotel wasn't what I had in mind.

Some days there was a terrible stench around the whole hotel probably not the Hotels fault but never the less it stunk phew!
We choose the option of hiring a car which I would highly recommended due to location of the hotel & we get to see beautiful Malta so we choose half board stay.We choose breakfast & dinner when we first booked & as we hired a car we asked to change this to breakfast & lunch what a nightmare this was.We was never sure what was was what at one time myself and daughter was chased up the stairs with a rude member of staff shouting you haven't paid for your drinks! Basically every time we went for lunch we was stared at by the staff on the door we all felt very uncomfortable with this.
There are some very helpful staff and we found Malta really lovely and people were really friendly if we come back to Malta again I would probably choose the hotel next door.

Room Tip: 2nd floor seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Simone c

Thank you for sharing your 1st review and marks even though we did not score them all. From your comments I can see that you had a good holiday all round and nearly all departments facilities and services were to your satisfaction except for the opinion you have shared upon the allocation of the room . As the resort is running with full occupancy it can difficult to satisfy everybody’s small extra requests and we always do our best subject to availability as two rooms next to each other may not be departing on the same day. Sorry we did not manage on this occasion for your good self.
The terrible stench that we all had to put up with for a couple of days was not any fault of the Resort. The smell was coming from organic fertilizer that the farmers put on the neighbouring fields as they are preparing for the next yield of crops.
I am pleased to read that we were able to accommodate you and your family and you changed all your evening entitlements to Lunch so you could see Malta by night.. Sorry for the inconvenience that was caused by the Restaurant Supervisors but the beverages during Lunch time are at an extra charge and people do have the tendency to think that they are included in the price therefore payment will be requested.
Your kind comments and feedback will be relayed to all staff concerned.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

All the best for now .

Brian O’ Connor .

Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel isn't a 4 star in any way shape or form! Do not be fooled by the pictures on the website as these are dated. The all inclusive package was abysmal afternoon snacks consisted of the same pieces of cake offered at breakfast, kids had no ice cream and you could only drink from certain bars at any given time... Ie Hola beach was out of bounds after 5 pm!! There was no sandy beach and avoid the scaffolding poles and old railings on your attempt to enter he sea. A real stench of sewage at certain times of the day, the staff are uninterested in any issues you may have and have a real knack at shrugging there shoulders. Lack of information if your English , the animation team where the only people with a smile , entertainment was limited , however there is a real 4 star hotel across the bay that's got it right !!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Kelly11111111
Thank you for sharing your review and this is not the type of feedback that we like or expect at all costs. From your comments I can see that you were not satisfied at all with the facilities we have to offer.
I can assure we are not here to fool anybody and our website site photos are photos of Riviera Resort and Spa. Some have been updated in July 2014 like the pool deck for instance.
I can assure that the cake we serve during afternoon tea are not the same as the ones we serve at breakfast , they are the same type of cake . The ones at breakfast are very popular even though they are sweet we still go through about 200 portions each Morning. If these were not to your liking you should have brought this to our attention then and not now and we would have been more than happy to have got you something else.
Regarding Impulse Ice creams we do not state/ advertise or specify anywhere that they are part of the All Inclusive package . Ice-cream is available in the main restaurant during Lunch time and dinner.
Some outlets do have different opening and closing times but with a choice of 6 beverage outlets to choose from its quite understandable that they cannot all be open all day long operating at the same time. Certain outlets open during the day also need a period of time for clearing, replenishing along with freshening up and Hola Beach is one of those outlets. As the area is so popular, bar hours have now been extended in the evening to all board basis therefore it is open all day long.
Thank you for pointing out the metal poles that are lying on the sea bed close to our pontoon as we have taken action for them to be removed and they are now gone.
Regarding the stench you have pointed out I can assure you it is not from the resort. During this time of the year the farmers in the area would have taken out the main summer crops from the surrounding fields , Pumpkins, sweet Melon and Water melon. The bad smell you would have noticed would have been organic fertilizer that the local farmers use to enhance the soil for the next yield of crop which would be potatoes I believe.
An Information sheet is passed to all guests on arrival maybe on the next occasion you could take the time to read it along with the information pack in the room.
Regarding our rating as a four star I can assure you that we do not make the ratings ourselves but a local authority have that responsibility.
Brian O’ Connor .
Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Great place! Lovely food! Every day fresh and healthy meals! Friendly staff! My friend has lost her jacket by the pool, they sent it to her (to London) without any charges! Very sweet! We had amazing time! Love the spa. Perfect for a nice and quiet break. Great Will be back for sure!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Martyna B
Thank you for sharing your review and full marks that you have given to Riviera Resort and Spa in your review. From your comments I can see that you and your friend had great holiday all round and we scored full marks for all the services and facilities we have to offer.
Your kind comments and feedback will be relayed to all staff concerned and they will be pleased to learn that you have left Riviera Resort & Spa totally satisfied and cannot wait to return.
It’s great to read that our location in the north of the island also played an important role and you found it to be a great place and the location was exactly what you wanted. It reads left you with fond memories of the Maltese Islands and with your great stay at Riviera Resort and Spa.
I did receive an email to say thanks for an item that was forwarded from the resorts lost and found department it could very well have been from your friend.
Friendly and helpful staff do make the difference and I am happy to read that this is the experience you have received.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

All the best for now .

Brian O’ Connor .

Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just returned on 19th July had a lovely holiday hotel in general very good but found it to be quite boring in the evenings only a keyboard player 3 times a week lobby bar needed some fun music Charlie noble bar was dead except for the German World Cup game music round the pool area was too slow and quiet on holiday people like to have fun music playing st the pool area it makes it a good atmosphere . Food very good always a choice for everyone hotel quite a bit from the airport be prepared for a bumpy ride the roads are in need of serious upgrading don't want to sound as if we didn't enjoy only telling the absolute truth . In all we enjoyed our holiday would we return ........ No .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Football09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Football09
Thank you for sharing your positive review and for taking the time to inform other readers about the positive points you found to your liking at Riviera Resort &Spa. . It’s great to read you found Riviera Resort & Spa to be a “ very good hotel” and we were able to meet all your wishes through our facilities along with our location and with one more mark and we would have received full marks , maybe next time round ?.

I have read that the area, night life and daily entertainment was a little on the quiet side for you. As I am sure you will understand we have to try and find a balance to suit all ages , walks of life and personalities..

Friendly and obliging staff do make a difference to enhance our guests overall experiences whilst on vacation and all departments seem to have pleased you thoroughly.

With regards to the roads they have all most, all been upgraded over the last few years but there are a couple here and there waiting their turn . These may well have been the ones you experienced.
I am happy to see that you returned home completely satisfied , you have shared a honest positive review and we thank you for that. We look forward to welcoming you once again on your return to Riviera Resort and Spa for your next holiday.
All the best for now..

Brian O’ Connor

Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Did not evnjoy my stay at all, staff were unhelpful, food was disgusting, (i will add a picture if possible to show what was on offer for dinner), the animation team were the only staff who actually had a smile on their face, im glad this was only a 3 day stay before we moved hotel

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank amie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your review of Riviera Resort and Spa. It’s very clear the Resort was not to your liking along with Malta as I cannot pick up any positive points apart from the fact you only stayed 3 days. I believe you have given us to many points.
Thank you for making your short point.

Best Regards
Brian O’ Connor.

Resort operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

good hotel because of people. Bar, waiters, animators, reception- half half. blond lady kept usfor 3 hours without room, couse we arrived at 11, and atfer that she gave us sh** room, with view like on Texas, but Ryan from reception sort this up inless then 5 min, and gave us another room. So i dont understand why she kept us so long especially when i spoke with her that we're tried ather journey. And the one guy from reception, jhn,but i dont think is his real name, acting like at least menager of all hotels in malta, very rude, unhelpful. first time in my life i want slept somebody so much... Believe me- avoid him...
No wifi on hotel, spa very poor.
But food was ok, is a bufet we can not expect miracles.

Room Tip: with pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iza6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear iza6767

Thank you for sharing your 1st review and marks even though we did not score them all. From your comments I can see that you had a good holiday all round and nearly all departments facilities and services were to your satisfaction except for the opinion you have shared upon check in at the reception desk..
As I am sure you will understand we have standard operating procedures throughout the resort and one of them is the check in and check out times. Check in time is at 14.00 hrs and check out time 11.00hrs.
This period of time (3 hours) is required to clean and prepare the rooms for the next arrivals. Should rooms be ready earlier it will be our pleasure to hand over the room key earlier than the official time of 14.00 hrs.
I am more than sure the blonde lady at reception was doing her best and made a few calls to the house keeping to give your room priority as you had arrived a couple of hours earlier. Ryan seeing how tired you were would then have swapped your room type with the same room type of other arrivals if the other room was registered as clean. Fortunately we do have the arrival times of some guests therefore we were in a position to help you out. I would like to add that this procedure cannot be done all the time as it depends on a lot of restrictions.
Your kind comments and feedback will be relayed to all staff concerned and they will be pleased to learn that you have left Riviera Resort & Spa satisfied.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

All the best for now .

Brian O’ Connor .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,756 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,593 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa

Property: LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa
Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort And Spa
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing