We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weddings do not get better than this” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riviera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Riviera Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Stockholm
1 review
“Weddings do not get better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

Have just arrived home to Sweden after getting married in Malta last weekend. Me and my wife could not have dreamt of a better wedding.
As a foreigner it is always difficult to arrange a wedding in different country. But everything was organized professionally and the service level was so high that I thought we were in a luxury hotel in USA. The food that they serve was "out of this world" good and all guests ate like there was no tomorrow.
I can strongly recommend Riviera as a wedding venue, no matter if you are local or foreigner.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank King_of_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    529
    310
    128
    83
See reviews for
404
741
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

the answer was 'no' and they never even asked us what our question was..
it was a near impossibllity to get a drink from one of the bars. In the other bar they had no idea how to make cocktails.. what ever we ordered tasted the same in different glasses..
they dont know how to clean a room.. they do something ever day.. but this just seems to move the dirt around.. the hotl needs a good deep clean.
reception had no idea of customer service, we travel alot and have never been treated like this...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarxien
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

We are a Maltese family. We already visited this hotel last year. This year so was our second visit and as pleasurable as last year's. The food was excellent and the cleanliness is superb.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

We booked late and paid standard 4 star prices for a very 3 star standard. Sea view was lovely over the little harbour but couldn't sit on the balcony in the evening as the "live music" belted out 1970s easy-listening to 5 people in the bar... and everyone else in Malta until 11.30.
Food was standard 3 star - perfectly OK buffet but the budget is clearly tight with cheap food and filthy soft drinks. Surely a country in this climate can get something that resembles orange juice. Good quality evening food choices though.
Service was pretty good - reception was professional rather than friendly, bar and restaurant staff were efficient and friendly, especially Karen in the poolside bar. Very slow in the a la carte / pizza restaurant.
Colin and Mario were the star staff - great barbecue and wife and teenage children loved the regular water volleyball. Good fitness activity.
Rooms were just OK. adequate size but sweaty sheets, broken toilet seat, useless shower. Only one cockroach came to terrify the young teens one night. "Trouble is they fly and come up through the sewerage - not much we can do" was receptionists response. Helpful!
Don't believe the marketing photos. They are taken from a very clever angle and have been carefully, er, adjusted. Good old Photoshop! But if you get a good deal it's possibly worth it - use the saving to hire a car, cos you'll need one. Buses stop early."

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AE1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

I enjoyed my stay at Riviera resort and spa last week, it was a fantastic place to stay with great views and warm atmosphere. On arriving in the early hours of the morning, we were welcomed at reception and then shown to our rooms. It was self service at breakfast which i thought was nice as you could choose what you want. throughout the hotel, the service was excellent, ecery waiter/waitress serving us with a smile and having a small conversation with us. The food was delicious and very well presented aswell. The location of the hotel was not the best place as there were no shops around but there were two bus stops near the hotel and the bus fare was cheap. there were many amenities at the hotle ancluding wireless internet, fridges in our rooms, and computers which i made use of a lot. Generally, the hotel was excellent and i would go there again soon, i would definitely reccomend it to a friend :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaWatters3690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

I booked the hotel through Expedia and therefore got a good rate, but what a disappointment when we arrived. Our room was dirty, especially the floor and we were always out and only resided to our room for sleep! Although there are cleaners every day i really was shocked as to how much dust, stains were with us from the beginning of our stay up to the end!

The staff are friendly to an extent. The minute you complain about something they become very defensive and rude, no customer service at all.

Food is good but not a lot of variation. The bars are only open until midnight and even then the drinks are very expensive. We went to the hotel which is across the way from the Riviera and the drinks were 2 Euros cheaper and the hotel was much nicer.

The 'Private beach' is not private, and you have to pay for those lovely beds with mattresses and pillows, they are 6 Euros each!! Also there are blue sunbeds which are free but they are dirty, have holes in them and are very uncomfortable. Hola beach is not a beach, unless you call a bit of pavement and sand as a beach?!! There is a beach a stone throw down but again not amazing. I was very disappointed as we saw the wonderful pictures of the beach and the reality was not the same!

The Pools are nice, but very dirty, not heated and are overloaded with chlorine which is very painful. The Gym and Spa are adequate although they close early during the week and earlier on weekends!

Overall I loved Malta and I will definitely go back to Malta but not to the Riviera.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stellabella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puglia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We really enjoyed staying at Riviera....the reception was very nice and they gave us a sea view room with asking more money. The hotel has every amenities you ask for...they also a shoe shine machine,and it is very very clean!!!! Everything is excellent..the only little problem is the fact that gym&pool close @6PM.The position is very strategic if u have a car..is close to the best bay in the island (Paradise Bay) and just in front of the boats harbour to reach Gozo & Comino. If u want to have the young fun crowd you have to drive for half on hour to reach St.Julian

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gianromolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
4.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Resort & Spa

Property: The Riviera Resort & Spa
Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02 , Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your The Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Resort And Spa
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing