We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday from hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Holiday from hell”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Total lies. This hotel a 2star not a 4. Not finished, health and safety hazard. Lovely staff but totally incomptanant and don't have a clue. No bar after 11pm. No drinks not even tea or coffee. All lights out at 11pm. First choice holidays totally lied in there broucher. No shop, no room service,no facilities whats so ever. The hotel totally self service, cashless resort. Wires hanging from ceiling, plug sockets hanging of wall, air con didn't work, Jcb diggers on site ...full of building dust. Food average and competitive and def no worth the money.If you have a blue band on you are treated like a leper in the additional resturants in the hotel. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL IF YOU WANT A 4 STAR EXPERIENCE.........

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MICHELLE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,378
    1,578
    456
    110
    53
See reviews for
2,211
2,243
142
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,882)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Hotel - The hotel is lovely, clean and looks very new, how long this will remain i don not know as most of the decor is white and likey to look grubb quickly. Pool area is good but floor of pool is rough, there is a hand rail leading doen into the pool which goes under water which could be dangerous if any one doesnt realise it is ther and jumps in. Pleant of sunbeds and umberellas. Pool rstaurant food is good pizza is yummy, but didnt like the area the floor was or looked grubby. Restaurant on the whole was excellent as a fussy eater I usulaly live of pasta on A/I, but there was plenty of choice and some lovely salads to choose from. The ambience in the restaurant is lacking and is canteen like. Would be nice to have drinks served at the table and this would help bring it up to 4 star, also at lunch the tables are not laid which is silly. Rooms - we were very lucky with our room 4218, we booked a seaview room and it was just lovely to look out over it, we havd a terrace with sunbeds another treat. Air con worked well didnt like the look of the fan! the bathroom was large and clean well equiped also. Some of the finishings need attention again for 4 start i expected it to be spot on

The resot is lacking in my opinion, no where really to wander in the evenings, a bus to the top of the hill to a bar called the Commando was our usual night out, being so far north makes for some long bus trips anywhere, we did explore Mdina, Gozo, Sliema, St julians, but Valletta was by far the nicest place, 1 hr on the bus. If you like history you will love Malta. The prices are also very good 5 euros for beer and large vino! 12 euros buys you a bus ticket that lasts a week and unlimited travel, beware the roads are bumpy.

As a beach lover i was disappointed at the beach, the sea was gorgeous and clear, but there are so many sunbeds crammed onto the sand it wasnt my idea of relaxation.

I thoroughly ejoyed my time in Mlat and at the Seabank but dont think we will return because we have seen what we wanted to see and if we did go back to Malta we would stay nearer Valletta.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vicky141272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

To start I d just like to say we had 5 hour delay outgoing with air Malta, and 1 1/2 hours delay returning, I would choose different airline as there was about 5 diff delays on the 28 August,
Back to hotel... checked in straight away, Room spacious, free safe, flat screen tv, Internet ( free in rooms, by pool, just about everywhere ) fridge stocked with water, lots of draw/ cupboard space, nice bathroom, hot water etc..beds was really comfy .
The food was ok, lots of choice, didn't t really eat in pool restaurant as its mainly burgers, chips n pizza. We would go to main restaurant even on lunch time. Jungle restaurant was great itch big portions, was nt keen on Chinese, and did n t try Mexican due to bad reports off other s round the pool.
The complex I would say was only half full, this was great, plenty sun loungers n pool space, I would nt want to be there if it was full though , which I imagine would be next August.
Whilst there we was told we couldn't t use inflatables in pool, and signs was put up. Everyone carried on using them so so did we.
There is no life guard, So there is no one to correct anyone messing about throwing each other all over the pool.! Also saw a baby with no nappy on In the pool which could of been left with a disaster ,
Was very hot for whole 2 weeks , hardly a cloud in the sky, great!
The pool also dyes any white swimwear yellow so be warned, my husband and daughter have both got ear infections too which docs said could be down to chlorine.
Mini disco was great , my daughter loved, special mention to Andrea ,roxy says hi !
Entertainment after disco was boring, apart from the singer Ian on a Friday night. The only thing I'd say would be to alternate his songs, we was there 2 Fridays and it was exactly same songs. If he gets through on the voice ,we will be voting!
Shops was a twenty minute walk up hill, or bus stop right outside hotel,.. Or a little shop by mex co restaurant,... Some building work ongoing , but hardly noticeable.
Overall had a great relaxing time, would return but maybe not in main months

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, few people complaining they could here chairs been dragged across floor upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shreko123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I cant understand the issue behind the minimum 5 night stay ! As a maltese citizen a weekend is quite good to enjoy a short break away from work but this hotel have no other option than a minimum of 5 night stay . Anyway if you want to relax its a good hotel but its far away from shopping malls , nightlife and historical places , at night its dead .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baksy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your comments. We undersand your concern about the minimum 5 night stay presented on some booking channels that will have to be updated. In actual fact there is no real minimum duration but a supplement normally applies on stays shorter than 5 nights. Having said this, special offers for weekend breaks and short stays are also being introduced for winter and beyond. When in doubt, please feel free to visit our website or give us a call for latest offers.
We agree with you that the location of the hotel is ideal for relaxing as it is blessed with beautiful coutryside and beaches. On the other hand, we may add that it is very close to our sister island of Gozo and quaint village of Mellieha. All that Malta and Gozo have to offer are only a bus tour or short drive (1 hour maximum) away.
Whilst looking forward to welcoming you again for a relaxing break, we remain at your disposal for any questions or concerns.
Best regards,
Hubert Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The staff are friendly and helpful, but we did not feel that this was a 4 star hotel. The hotel is still not fully finished and as teething problems that still need sorting.
The main restaurant is very stark and loud and rather like a school cafeteria. the chefs work very hard and the food was good. You are not allowed tea or coffee with lunch or dinner the machines are covered up, this is a fully self service hotel. And all bars close at 11pm after this time you can not get a drink of any kind even if you want to pay everything is shut. The rooms are cleaned everyday and are of a decent standard we did have problems with things not working like plugs and air con. The hotel is a
40 minute walk to the nearest village. There is a shop and a couple of bars 5 minutes away other than that quite out the way. There is a nice beach across the road. But this is very packed and busy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Riverside30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We arrived on the 17th of August for 8 days. We were checked in swiftly and were given our directions to our sea view room. The room was spacious and had a great view of the sea. We were on the third floor. My wife, myself and our 2 year old daughter had enough space and also two bathrooms. The room was spotless and the air conditioning worked very well, perhaps the best I have ever used considering the weather outside was around 38 degrees.

Being vegetarian we were a little apprehensive about the food but overall it was ok for the stay we had. Any longer and we would have struggled as the food can get repetitive. We struggled a couple of days with choice however spoke to Steve the chef who soon put this right - very accommodating.
Drinks are plenty but not fresh, the juices taste terrible and the fizzy drinks and cocktails are very watered down, however not something that should put you off.
Desserts, too many to mention and they were always fresh and being replenished.

We spent most of our time by the poolside and did not really venture out too much from the hotel. There were ample beach loungers and we never struggled to get three together.
Entertainment by the pool side included wate polo, volleyball and water aerobics. A special mention to Andrea who was a great member of the animation team as well as michala.

Entertainment in the evening we could not have survived without, it gave our daughter something to look forward too and kept her occupied. As for the adults, if you are expecting some broadway type show, this is not what you will get. However the animation team do a very good job entertaining the guests.

There are a lot of flies and wasps but this is really brought on by people leaving the food and drinks by the poolside after they have finished and not returning back to the restaurant.

Wifi is amazing, almost better than what I have in the uk and it was great for my phone and iPad.
Tv channels not that great.

No egg station, so don't expect omelettes of your choice - perhaps an improvement to come soon.

We ate the the jungle/la vista three times in our stay. The food is good however the portions are massive. You can also order from their main menus and get 50% of the bill for being hotel guests.

Overall for our first visit to seabank and Malta we were satisfied and would come back again.
We had no problems whilst we were there and I can be a fussy customer.

If you are hesitating, don't, the location is great, the food is plenty, fresh but repetitive (may not be for a meat eater), entertainment is great for a young family, there are plenty of pools and the place is always kept clean.
Take a chance, you will really not regret it.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room, more space . Also the sea view room is worth it,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fussytraveller21O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

The Seabank All Inclusive Resort offers families excellent value for money. We have just returned from a two week holiday at this hotel. The hotel was very clean and modern. We ate mainly in the Coral Resturant finding the food varied fresh and of really good quality. The chefs were very friendly and happy to explain ingredients used. Our room was large and had 2 bathrooms, very handy for a family of 4. The room was cleaned every day, clean towels provided as well as 4 bottles of water per day. There was no need to buy water as bottles could be refilled from water stations in reception. The hotel staff went above and beyond expectations ensuring that our stay was as comfortable as possible. The pool was very large, and the same depth throughout (1.2 m). Yes, the pool floor is non slip, but this did not cause any problems to our feet. Sunbeds and parasols were plentiful, there is no need to reserve beds. All in all a very relaxing holiday with beautiful weather and ideal for families of all ages.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nijul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,836 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,574 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Property: db Seabank Resort + Spa
Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing