We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Our whole family loves this hotel. We first visited in 1993 and got hooked to this amazing place which keeps getting better. Special family occasions are nearly always celebrated at Seabank and when we try new places we regret it. The food (especially the food :), the ambience, the staff, the spa, the bowling alley, the price - unbeatable. You don't feel like you're being stripped of your hard-earned money. We actually like it better than home.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan B, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor visitors. We are delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our resort.

When you say “Better than home,” we know that we have met all your expectations. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff, the spa, the ambiance, the bowling alley and the price.

We hope we get to see you again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Ivan Borg Ferrando
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,299
    1,526
    427
    105
    50
See reviews for
2,140
2,167
139
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,823)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Really nice hotel, staff very friendly, but building work and noise everywhere, inside and outside the hotel.
outdoor pool was empty and being refurbished, dusty foot prints thruout the corridors, unfinished areas all over the hotel.
Moving on, the rooms were very nice and clean and light, we had a junior suite which had a seperate seating area which we didnt use because it only had single seats (no sofa) and the tvs were only in the bedroom areas (bit of a pointless area really) The rooms come with a hairdrier, tea coffee making facilities, ceiling fans and aircon/heating, (no dressing table or chair for the ladies).plenty of mirrors and plenty of English film channels for when the weather isnt so great. The minibar is a fridge with some bottles of water in it which you have to refill yourself in the lobby. (thats what i would call a fridge not a minibar)
The main restuarant serves plenty of food which should suit everybodies taste and there is a choice of 3 other restuarants that you have to book the day before, the Jungle, La Vista and L'orient, these restuarants are very nice and give you some variety throughout your stay. The Jungle and La Vista are open to the general public and can get quite full (presume thats why you have to book) same goes for the bowling (only 2 lanes working while we were here) pool, internet cafe and indoor childs play area.
Overall we had a nice stay, but I would not rate this as a 4*, shame about the building work/noise

Room Tip: ask first choice when the building work will be finished before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aahz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan B, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community on you recent stay at Seabank.

We are glad to hear your overall stay was pleasant. It is also great to hear you enjoyed our clean and light rooms and the food. Also thank you for praising our staff.

In regard to the outdoor pool, the pool deck has been repaired and it is ready for use. During your stay we were finalizing the building work which is why sometime dusty foot prints were visible. However, we made sure our floors were kept as clean as possible during that time.

Once again thank you for kind feedback. We hope to see you again.

Best wishes,
Ivan Borg Ferrando
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Arrive today hotel upgraded us to a lovely room and also a nice surprise as we are here for my birthday a plate with Happy Birthday in chocolate and donuts and strawberries would stay here again thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank valpye p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan B, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your Birthday surprise.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,
Ivan Borg Ferrando
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bognor regis
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

We are staying at this hotel until next week. Our experience has been very good. The room is spacious, plenty of storage and the bathroom lovely. The spa and pool area is very nice however the indoor pool is slightly small for swimming. The sauna and steam rooms are very nicely appointed. There is a deposit for towels refundable on returning them and you can change them when needed.
The dining room is light, spacious and very well appointed. The food choices, huge. Hot food is hot and cold food is cold.
The vegetables are cooked fresh are are delicious. Breakfast choices are excellent but several days they have not had butter portions and there was bulk butter which I am not sure was. Fruit is ample and delicious. The only niggle i would have is sweets which are nice but too many mousse like things and ice cream flavours are difficult to identify. Better quality ice cream would be a big plus. The only dining downside was there were a few extremely rude germans who removed our food from oir table and sat there, we chose not to complain and it did not take away from our very pleasant stay at this hotel.
The bar area is very pleasant and the animation team work very hard.
Reception staff friendly, efficient and helpful when asked.
I was disappointed in so e of the excursions but this was nothing to do with the hotel.
I felt so e were misrepresented especially popeye village which we were told was a good day out. Admission was ten euro and there was nothing there, it was ill kept and dirty,avoid!
I feel this hotel deserves its four star rating and it was marketed very accurately by first choice.
After the refurbishment is complete i suspect it would deserve five stars.
This hotel is excellent value for money.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank happychaput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan B, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay at our resort and you consider our hotel to be excellent value for money.

We appreciate all of your comments about the rooms, the spa, the pool, the steam room, the food, the animation team and our staff and hope to see you again in the near future. Our Chefs will be pleased to hear about your suggestions when it comes to desserts.

It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback.

Best wishes,
Ivan Borg Ferrando
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

My wife and I have spent two wonderful days at the Seabank Resort + Spa between the 30th And the 31st January 2013.On our arrival we were greeted by Ms Marion Spiteri the Front Office Manager a very gentle and caring lady.The Hotel is very clean and the Staff is very helpful and makes you feel at home.The food is fantastic and we also met Chef Gordon Ciantan aprofessional and friendly person. The entertianment is provided by an energetic Animation Team.
We will sure visit this Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan B, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, it is appreciated. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our hotel very clean, our food excellent and our staff friendly.

Special thanks for praising Ms Marion Spiteri, the Front Office Manager and our Chef Gordon Ciantan, they will be thrilled to know our guests appreciated their services.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Best wishes,
Ivan Borg Ferrando
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Upon arrival were given a key to a room which was already occupied! Second key given to a room which was overlooking the bay and main road, which we had not requested. When we booked our holiday we could see the seaview rooms were overlooking the road so requested a room overlooking the pool area. We moved to a poolside room, unfortunately we were not told that building works were taking place around the pool area and that a new bypass was also being built at the back of the hotel, we could not therefore use our balcony because of the noise which was a shame because it was in a sunny position. The room was very well appointed, bright and clean. In our opinion the cooked food was overcooked. Evening entertainment was very limited. We only managed six days here of our 14day holiday before we moved hotel, which was less luxurious but quiet and with a chief that knew how to cook. Not a RIU hotel as advertised by Thompson/First Choice in fact and quality.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel when works completed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan B, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry to hear you had to wait for your room to be available. Unfortunately, guests that were suppose to leave, kept the room longer without informing us. I assure you that these are not the common problems and that we have discussed internally as soon as possible so in the future our guests will not encounter a similar problem.

When it comes to the work held outside the pool area, we were finalizing the pool deck work as well as the new bypass. The work is done and the outdoor pool is filled with water. In regard to the food, I am sorry to hear your opinion because our food is fresh, it is cooked daily and most often praised by our guests for its quality.

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your opinion is valued and I very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Ivan Borg Ferrando
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

we stayed here for a week commencing 24 jan, very friendly and accomodating staff,minor problems fixed quickly,very good selection on the buffet,we wanted to take a picnic out during the day and were advised by the restaurant manager to simply help yourself from the buffet the night before, easily kept in the fridge in our room we toured the whole island during the day,saving a fortune on excursion prices. all you need is good map, car hire is cheap and of course you drive on the left and everyone speaks english which makes those hard to find beaches a cinch.free wifi throughout the hotel enhanced our trip researching where to go the next day. can highly recommend charlotte in the beauty spa for her immaculate attention to detail and very friendly and professional service.very good value for hard to find waxing treatments compared to the uk,.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kairron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan B, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at our resort.

It is always a great pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Thank you for praising our staff, especially saying kind words about Charlotte from the Spa.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Ivan Borg Ferrando
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Property: db Seabank Resort + Spa
Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing