We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas at the sea bank”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Came to the Seabank with the family, there were six of us and there was something for everyone to do. All of us had an amazing time, all the staff at Seabank were very friendly and made our Christmas very special. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting.
Thank you to all the team at Seabank :-)

Room Tip: We had three rooms and all very good. We didn't select rooms yet they were all next to each othe...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikkinkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,900)
There are newer reviews for db Seabank Resort + Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,066 - 4,072 of 5,900 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

I have just returned from a weekend break with my wife at the Seabank Resort & Spa. We are Maltese but needed to get away for some time from the traffic of the city in SIiema and St Julians where we live, and found it to be very relaxing and enjoyable. We were given a very large room overlooking Ghadira Bay. There are frequent buses taking passengers to Valletta (around 1 hour away by bus, or 25 minutes by car). The spa is well organised and enjoyable. We had a choice of restaurants in the evening, including an Asiatic and a Brazilian one. We opted for the Brazilian...and didn't regret it. The food was simply marvellous. Breakfast included a continental buffet, as well as English breakfast with eggs, sausages, bacon, etc. There was a variety of fruits, cakes and croissants. We went just after Christmas, so it was too cold to swim, but the hotel is literally overlooking the beach. The staff was friendly and willing to help. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_aelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just got back from a week at the Seabank. Fantastic food, very helpful staff (especially Joseph), good facilities and overall a very nice place to stay. The hotels has four restaurants, indoor and outdoor pool (although it was too cold to use the outdoor one) and a very enthusiastic animation team. We will be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikeconnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Pros:
- good hotel for it's price
- large rooms, big balcony
- very good location, near the beach and very close to a bus station; nice surroundings, between a hill with gardens and the sea
- large variety of food
- friendly and helpful staff
- we were given a 'double' junior room, so there was plenty of space for 2 people
- no noise issues during the night, even if we has a 'land view' room, at the 3'rd floor, facing the main road (this in November, maybe during summer there is another story)

Cons:
- Maybe I was just unlucky - especially in the first day, but also after that, a distinct smell of poo (?) came from the bathroom - probably caused by the badly designed ventilation system. Ventilating the bathroom through the room with the open balcony door alleviated the problem a bit, but the smell persisted

- very stained carpet in the hallways - I think just cleaning it won't be enough, it has to be totally replaced. Having such a dirty carpet in a "4-star" hotel is not acceptable
- the beds make a lot of noises when you sit on them or turn from one side to another
- very soft mattress in some of the beds - a more firm one would be preferable
- during the cold season (November) a proper soft, winter blanket (quilt) would be useful, in addition to the provided sheets - we asked at the reception, but all they gave us were an identical 'cover blanket' that was unsuitable for covering your body
- only the TV from the other room worked, the one in the bedroom was defective
- very 'spartan' rooms - for a 4-start hotel I would expect more
- the indoor pool is very small for such a large hotel
- the main 'swivel' door at the hotel's entrance was defective, and the guests had to use 2 much smaller doors on the side
- the oriental restaurant can get very crowded - we were given a table very close to the door, were people were staying in a queue waiting to enter and arguing with the waiter, even if there were other tables available

Overall, most European travelers wouldn't perceive this as a 4-star hotel, even if probably it meets the 'technical' requirements in Malta to be classified as such.
I wouldn't recommend the hotel for a 'romantic' and quiet holiday, but indeed it might be ideal for families with kids searching for an all-inclusive destination.
I will return there only if the main issues described above will be fixed (especially the bathroom smell).

Room Tip: If possible ask for a junior suite - more space. Be aware that, because the hotel is build on a hil...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tudor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Just returned from a 4 day break at Seabank with my husband and our 4 year old son. We had an amazing time. All staff were very friendly especially Antonella on reception and a special thanks to the animation time especially Adelea and Dominique who were fantastic. I had a sad little boy on the last day not wanting to go home. Rooms were clean, spacious and well maintained. Fridge in room was topped up daily with bottled water. Beds were so comfy. Breakfast, lunch and dinner had plenty of choice and we loved the choice of the different restaurants. We ate in the main restaurant, Asian which we loved, Brazilian but I must say you would need to be very hungry going in to as the meat just keeps on coming to the table on big skewers. We also ate in the Italian restaurant which we also enjoyed. The Italian was beside the "jungle" soft ball area so my little boy spent a lot of time in there during the holiday. The beach is just across the road and we done a few walks. Melleiha is about a 10-15 walk away and has a steep climb. We also walked to the Red Tower which had breathtaking views. We visited the Popeye Village. It was good to see but not worth the money as it was 10.50 euro for adults and 8.50euro for children. The best part was Santas Village. You can buy a bus ticket for 12 euros and that lasts for 1 week so you can use the bus as often as you like to anywhere on the island. Daily bus ticket is 2.60 euro and 50 cent for children aged 3-10. Overall I would definitely recommend Seabank and the staff work exceptionally hard. Well done Seabank and "we will be back"

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisagarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We booked two weeks at this all inclusive resort in September. The hotel was modern and well appointed. Our room had a huge balcony overlooking the swimming pool. There are a lot of comments about whether you should go for a sea or pool view. I would recommend the pool view. The sea view overlooks a really busy road with traffic passing by all night.

This hotel like many all inclusive resort has quite a few themed restaurants but unlike otherl inclusives I have been to this one does not put a limit on the number of times you can visit each restaurant. Our favourite was the Italian restaurant. The food was superb, it has waiter service and the staff were so friendly. Our two waiters Milan and Dunston could not have been more charming. I would recommend this restaurant for lunch. This is included in the package so you don't have to go to the buffet for lunch.

There are plenty of sunbeds and parasols, no need to get up at the crack of dawn to book a sunbed. You can enjoy a leisurely breakfast then go out to pick up a few rays. The hotel is really busy at the weekends as a lot of Maltese visit the hotel for the day. this is probably a good sign. The hotel is opposite the only beach in Malta.

If you want to see a bit of the island get a bus. It costs just over 2 euro for an all day pass. They are very frequent and stop right outside of the hotel.

Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel and will return soon.

Room Tip: Go for a pool view in the newer part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Very nice hotel and staff, food was ok but at times not very warm. Had good points like breakfast could be had until midday if you wanted a lie in. Room were really nice and also.clean. Specialty
Restaurants were good which gave you a change from the buffet. Except for the Italian. All the food tasted reheated and the staff acted like they couldn't be bothered.
Entertainment very poor. Certainly could have done with some music in the front bar.The hotel was quite isolated and if you wanted to go into Mellieha you needed to to have climbing gear.the hill was so steep. Sightseeing.Take a local bus allday tickets just a couple of Euro against the the 30 to 50 Euros charged by the companies and you can also stay were you choose for as long as you like

Room Tip: Try to get a room as near to the food hall
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geoffrey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,964 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,747 reviews
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £80 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing