We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to stay more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It was a short family break after the New Year. We booked the 3 nights offer which thank God we stayed the extra night. The service was excellent from the cleanliness of both our rooms and the surroundings, the abundant delicious food and also for the Oriental restaurant (which you have to book in advance for seating). The animation team all very friendly and well English speaking, occupied my 10 year old son all the time but even for us adults they had some activity going on which was fun. The rifle session was a good laugh. I must add and don’t want to forget the evening shows were amazing. Since the hotel is situated close to the beach and the country side a nice walk in the area is a must. Our only tiny negative comment goes for the indoor pool which we found for the second time at this hotel not so much heated especially when it was raining during the day. Surely there is no need to take the wallet out since it is all inclusive. It was a good break for the family especially for the kids before returning to their scholastic year.
We would like to thank all the staff and the management for our stay and definitely return for another relaxing break.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter with country views and especially the corner suites which are lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dpmagri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,130 - 4,136 of 5,997 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

All comments are correct a little bit from the comments below. The only biggest bad experience that we had. It was at the lunch time at the 10 the day of our stay. Normaly you get an armband upon chewck in when you have the right of all inklusive as we didn't get upon our check in those bands the gay named Alawi question hardly my wife (where's your armband, and why you do not have, around so many people). Afterwards, of course they came appologize the bad situation, but the bad situation was done! What is writen about the animators is quitly correct they make day and night great job. Abour Spa we had massage from Mrs. Lum and it was very professional we recommand her if you need any massage. We do not recommand the barber shop is very primitif no class of this ressort. We was also disappointed, because the 31.12. was the 50th anniversary and a Manager when we came out of the Restaurant he talk to us and my wife told him that it's my anniversary, he ask the room number, when we return after the new year eve, we sow a plat with a small cake filled with nutella! I think is little bit ridiculous if you have a gift from the hotel for a 50th!

Room Tip: We had room 6451 on the 6th floor, for winter time is a correct room i don't know about summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubul34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear bubul34,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent visit to the Seabank. We are glad to note that overall you had a satisfying experience.

We certainly appreciate your comments and apologise for the little mishaps that have affected your holiday negatively. Of course the amenity that we have sent to your room for your 50th anniversary was not the right one for this important occasion. We have checked about what happened and it is evident that there was a misunderstanding.

Thank you for commending our animation team and our spa. Num is thrilled that you have mentioned her.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back should you be willing to return to Malta.

Best regards from all our team.

Hubert Debono

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Seabank over new year and had a wonderful family holiday. Check in was quick and the room was everything and more than we expected, spacious, clean and modern, maid service every day and nothing we could fault.

Food
Having stayed in many all inclusive hotels we would definitely rate the quality and variety of the food as the best we have ever had. The new years eve and new years day banquets were excellently done but all the other days were just as good. We also ate in the chinese and Italian restaurants that are included in the all inclusive package and these not only offered a nice alternative but were also tastefully done with open kitchen and food cooked infront of you. We didn't go into the Brazilan restaurant as the wife is a veggie but other guests commented that this was as good if not better.

Facilities
Plenty for children to do (indoor pool, kids club, crazy golf, beach football/volleybal, indoor play areal etc) but also so much for adults with a full entertainment programme and superb spa facilities (unfortunately we didn't use as we had two kids under 16.)
Entertainment
By far the best entertainment of any holiday resort we have ever been on, this was not you general run of the mill you normally get but a polished performance of dancing and singing every night enjoyed by adults and children alike. This ranged from a Beatles love story musical on one night to a Chicago and Moulin Rouge on another. The dancing was worthy of west end musical standard and the effort and enthusiasm was quite breathtaking.
All the entertainers were not only of the highest standard but their general personalities with kids and adults alike were something that the hotel should be proud of. Thanks to Alex,Alvaro,Dominika, Adela and Boris for making it a special break.

Location
The hotel is in a beautiful sandy bay and is fairly quiet, if your looking for a relaxing break but like polished entertainment then this hotel is for you. Would recommend a trip to Gozo and don't be afraid to use the bus, its cheap and reliable and easy.

Room Tip: Book a family room for more space. the kids room is separated from the adults room with a sliding do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jwilson128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for a week including New Year's Eve, we had booked the hotel having read the reviews posted on trip advisor of which the majority were complementary, you always get few derisory comments suppose there is no pleasing some folks, yes the decor it is a little tired, however the hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean, the staff can't do enough for you and the food is first class, disappointingly the weather wasn't the best but hired a car and saw a lot of the island, on basis of what we saw would certainly consider returning during the warmer months

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank philleeds405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear philleeds405,

Thank you so much for your positive review following your recent visit.

It is very pleasing to note that you have trusted other reviewers' comments and decided to spend a week with us over the new year period. We are thrilled that you have not been disappointed with your decision and that you are willing to return.

Thank you for praising our hard working staff, cleanliness and food offering.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and feel free to get in touch with any requests you may have for your next visit.

Best regards,

Hubert Debono
General Manager
hdebono@seabankhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I spent Christmas week in the resort with my partner. We were really looking forward to our holiday after having read so many so positive reviews. However, we were slightly disappointed...

The resort itself is pretty large and well kept, as well as its grounds. However, more greenery would surely do no harm to the outdoor pool area and surrounding gardens. Check-in was quite fast, but we were let down by the room we were assigned. Despite we had paid for a sea view, we ended up in a corner room with a tiny window leading to an itsy-bitsy balcony. Yes, we had a sea view - very limited, over a large part of kitchen roof. We immediately went to the reception and asked for another room. We were given much better one - on 6 floor, with a balcony of double size we had previously. However - the need of room change was not a nice start to our holiday.

The room was large and spotlessly clean, but bedly equipped - no extra duvets/blankets, no toiletries in the bathroom (except for 2-in-one shampoo/shower gel). There were 3 bottles of water in our fridge, but once we had finished them, there was no replenishment.

The food was OK. We have experienced much better buffets, but we never were hungry and mostly we really enjoyed the meals. We only lacked more fresh fruits.

The biggest unpleasant experience was the number of locals, staying at the resort over the holidays. Their large families were incredibly loud, their children running and screaming everywhere. Any meal time was a nightmare for us. Undoubtedly, we were not the target guests of this resosrt. If you're looking for peace and tranquility, this is not the right place for you to go to.

Concerning the surroundings - nice walks can be done atop cliffs close to the resort. We also went to Valletta, using the local buses - cheap and relatively fast, can recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Jackub,

Thank you for taking some time to write a review about your recent visit to the Seabank.

Your feedback has been duly noted and discussed with our team. We are sorry to note that we have not been able to provide you with a fully satisfying experience as expected after reading so many positive reviews.

I am sure you understand that we have many sea view rooms and the viewing angle and balcony size vary slightly depending on the floor level and location within the building. I am glad to note that the reception staff where quick to find an alternative room that you were happy with once you expressed your discontent with the first one allocated.

We do have extra duvets in the wardrobes normally, so in this case I apologise if there were not any in your room. Extra toiletries are available on request but more will be added as standard in the coming months. Bottles of water in the frigo bar are made available on arrival with a note to have them refilled at your convenience from dispensers located in the public areas. This system is designed to reduce the use of plastics for environmental reasons. We will be also upgrading the dispensers and bottles shortly.

The resort is undoubtedly geared to attract families, however, it can be equally enjoyable for couples. If one is looking for a peaceful and tranquil environment, it is always better to avoid peak school holiday periods.

Once again I would like to thank you for your comments and I do hope that you will still consider booking with us again. Should this be the case, please feel free to contact me so I will personally ensure that next time round your experience will be a totally positive one as we are renowned to provide.

Best regards,

Hubert Debono
General Manager
hdebono@seabankhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Well where do we start ? At check in we were booked in by the very helpful & friendly Marianne, my wife Christine had emailed & requested certain things & we were granted all our requests very professionally. From the lovely Alina & Sandjra serving drinks in the ground floor bar to the lively lads Shaun & Edmund serving in the dome bar every member of staff were a great help & great fun. The restaurant staff were fantastic as was the head chef Steve who I thanked personally for the best cooked mince pies I have ever eaten in my life. The food throughout our stay was excellent. The Christmas eve gala meal was a gastronomic feast, well done. Darren inn the dinning room was most helpful & carried out his duties with a beaming smile.
Now for the best bit ! the first class animation team led by the excellent charismatic Boris, this man is 100% destined for bigger things his motivation of his team is an inspiration, Boris is backed up by his no 2 who is the team choreographer the fantastic dancing Queen the beautiful Dominika. Superb entertainment every night. Our chambermaid Bessie was always punctual our room was kept immaculate by her hard working efforts. We were fortunate to meet a lot of lovely people on this trip from the lovely mum of 3 Cecilia to Dennis the Kennington Mennis ( A great guy) to Ian & Jane the Spurs fans & to a lovely couple Peter & Trudy from Southampton way A QPR fan. I myself being a Millwall devotee could not convince any of themto change clubs !! Boris the entertainment supremo was an Arsenal fan as was the great singing guitar player Phillip and the guy who runs the shop downstairs , all gooners. We intend to return in June to this gem of a hotel whom the owner & management team should be very proud of !! Keep up the good standard. regards to all from Dennis the Millwall mennis here in Essex. Happy New Year to all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have stayed at SeaBank Melileha for Xmas 2013 hoping for a great Spa retreat with quality food as advertised and confirmed by opinions on this website too.

The dream did not quite come true. Overall, there are good points such as extremelly friendly staff, nice surroundings (except for the noisy road in front of the sea view rooms), and big , reasonably equiped and cleaned rooms.

Bad things start with dirty and smally corridors, poor ventilation system (mould here and there) and the food quality.

Great choice of foods is there, what is lacking is quality and more healthy options.
Althought grilled foods were prepared freshly, the taste was not there (too much oil or old oil used could be the case?).

Pool and sauna area are a joke. The pool was small, surrounded by a strong smell of chlorine even outside, and watter not exactly cristal clear. It was also full of kids. Hard to blame the hotel but some SPA resorts have no kids in the pool policy. There was just one wet and one dry sauna and the quality was very average, luckily not too many people went there, so it was not crawded. We only went once and somehow were not attracted.

In brief, it would be a good place to stay at the seaside but not a four star SPA resort. I have seen better quality in *** or even non rated pensions.

Room Tip: Go for pool (south) side not the seaview to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wojty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Wojty,

Firstly allow us to thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that your experience was not at par with your expectations. All your comments have been noted and discussed with our team. Please rest assured of our commitment to improve wherever possible.

Thank you for commending our friendly staff, rooms and resort surroundings. Regarding the food, as you said, the choice is vast and there is easily something to suit all tastes. Meats are cooked in different styles and whenever possible sauces are kept separate to be added according to clients' taste and dietary requirements.

Christmas is a busy time for Seabank as plenty of families spend the holidays with us, particularly on the festive days. We can understand that on these peak days, the indoor pool may seem small. The spa is already very popular but we are currently considering different options to make it even more prominent and attractive. Please do keep in touch through our facebook page and website for any updates.

Once again, thank you for your review and best wishes for the new year.

Hubert Debono

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,001 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,821 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £84 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing