We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Spent a week at the Seabank in February. We had a lovely seaview room. Really large and very clean. All the staff in the hotel very friendly and helpful. Loved the idea of eating in the other restaurants apart from the main dining area. The Italian and Brazilian were excellent. We didn't try the Asian but heard it was good. Will definitely return to the Seabank.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Ellsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,501
    1,647
    481
    121
    53
See reviews for
2,360
2,303
142
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,938)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a wonderful hotel, rooms clean, food brilliant, location brilliant, entertainment brilliant, staff brillant, beach accross the road, which was clean, we had a brilliant time could not ask for more! :)

Room Tip: We have a family room and it was quiet, we all slept soundly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I can only agree with most other reviewers, the food is varied and well cooked and usually served hot. The staff are all helpful and friendly. I enjoyed using the gym. I would recommend booking the themed restaurants the day you arrive. Make sure you use the buses to get around the island, but also visit the local town and The Red Tower. Also walk along to Popeye Village, if you enjoy walking there are some lovely country walks if you turn off this road. All in all a lovely hotel for a relaxing holiday but a little far out to use as a base fir touring the Island.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just returned from 7 day package at Seabank Resort & Spa, advertised as a refurbished 4 star hotel. There are three things you expect to have in a hotel, good hot food, good room & good service, this failed on two, which is unfortunate as the staff where excellent. We had a Delux sea view room, the wardrobe doors did'nt fit & some hinges were Broken, drawers didn't close properly & the sink plug didn't work. We had a rain storm 2 days and the roof in the main bar leaked in 3 places, so did some windows & doors. The food was plentifull, but unless you had it within 30 minutes of the dining room opening, you were left with only warm offerings and although the hotel has a dress code for evening dining, 90% of guests didn't bother. We have stayed in many 4 star hotels arround the world and I would only give this one a 3 star.

Room Tip: Sea veiw rooms have very large balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

First impressions were excellent. However, first impressions can often be wrong, and ours were no exception.

We had booked a room with a sea view, for which we paid extra. Yes, we did have a nice sea view, but also included was a magnificent view of the dual carriageway main road, with heavy traffic to and from the Gozo ferry roaring past from early morning until late at night. Again at no extra cost, we could sit on our balcony and inhale the fumes from many vehicles with defective exhaust systems. Not one of the tour operators from all over Europe, or the hotel itself, mention these facts in their advertising agency descriptions. I wonder why?

The quality of food served in the so-called Coral restaurant, which is the main dining room was generally good. The main exception was the quality of the bread and rolls which can only be compared to the cheap supermarket 'value' brands, and frequently stale. At weekends, when the hotel is swarming with locals and Italians, fresh French batons are available, but you have to be early. One Saturday morning, these were all cleared by 0915. I asked the duty manager if he had any more, but the response was negative. Nearly 5 hours later, at lunch, there were still no batons. This kind of thing is not what you expect from a so-called 4 star hotel. Sending somebody to go and collect more from the local bakery had not entered into the equation. Even Basil Fawlty would not have allowed this!

Some days, the quality of fruit offered was simply diabolical, particularly apples and pears which were well past their best before date. Initially, moro blood oranges, bananas and grapes were available, but soon vanished. They were only reinstated when the locals and Italians arrived.

It's a bit rich describing the Coral restaurant as a restaurant. Being entirely self service, it not a restaurant. It is a canteen. Queueing for the hot, or rather warm food is reminiscent of school dinners! Food can vary in temperature, for example bacon. Because individual rashers are not segregated, but fried in what can only be described as a bundle, the end result is a mixture of well done, partially done, and virtually raw rashers.

At weekends, locals and Italians take advantage of cheap rates offered by the hotel, and become the target, or paramount, customers.To say that they are noisy is an understatement , and ear protectors should be included in your luggage. Otherwise, eating becomes an endurance test. You initially sit down feeling hungry, but leave with a thumping headache.These visitors are allowed to reserve tables for up to 20 people.This means that at peak times, other guests have problems finding a table. The Coral canteen is open for dinner between 1800 and 2130. We watched a party of 20 make their grand entrance at 2110. These tables could have been used by other guests until then. No doubt about it, the locals and Italians are the priority guests at weekends.Although it may not be intentional, this management policy makes others feel like inferior 2nd class guests. Either way, it is strongly resented.. For us, the cherry on the cake was at Sunday lunch. Whilst carrying my main course back to our table, I was asked if we would mind moving to another tablein order to allow a part of 12 locals to sit together. I said that we would mind. The end result was 2 extra chairs being placed at the end of the table, making it a very tight squeeze to get out. Fawlty Towers is better organised.

In addition to this problem, tour operators should clarify the fact that whilst there is Sat TV in rooms, the receiver is not programmed to receive Eastenders or Corrie.

On the positive side of things, the Brazilian restaurant, with waiter / waitress service is excellent. Evening entertainment, by the 'Animation' team is absolutely brilliant. Management can be proud of its friendly staff, especially the cleaners.

To summarise, a lot of what I have stated is identical to the concerns raised by other guests long before mine. Responses to these concerns by management confirm that they have long been aware of them.But what has been done to rectify things? Based on my experience, absolutely nothing!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shadowsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Never been to Malta before, chose this all-inclusive following Trip adviser research. It was absolutely fine, but not as fantastic as described. Room was spacious- we book a juinor suite but got a family room so had two extra beds rather than seating area, but spacious, clean, bright and in reasonable decorative order. Bathroom fine, good hot shower which is always a bonus. Bar was fine, good selection of cocktails, but only had lager. I cannot drink lager so was hoping they served cider, but unfortunately not so had to drink vodka and tonic. Buffet was ok had a large selection, none of which was outstanding, but was all edible. I think a week of buffet only food would drive you mad though, as lunch and dinner options seem suspiciously similar. Breakfast was fine but any hotel should be able to lay on breakfast. We managed to book the oriental buffet one night, which was ok, but basic. We thought we had been very lucky to book the Vista Italian buffet/restaurant on another night as it seemed permanently fully booked when we inquired, but only 12 out of about 30 tables were occupied on the night we ate there?? Limited food choice for all-inclusive guests in the Vista Restaurant - from the link on the hotel's own website it looks like there is a huge selection of main course dishes on offer, in reality there are only four
A few comments about Malta - all the drivers are crazy, suicidal or ignorant. No-one stops, their sole aim in life seems to be to get ahead of the car in front which is done by driving as fast as possible, tail gate the driver in front then overtake them no matter the road conditions or other traffic on the road all whilst using a mobile phone, and that's just the transfer service to/from the airport (William's Garage) or the shuttle service to/from the hotel to get to the start of the hop-on/hop-off bus sightseeing tour. Now the bus drivers on hop-on/hop-off bus tours are very good, how they manouvere a double decker bus through some of the areas they did without hitting anything is amazing. One criticism though is although they are all friendly and helpful they all give a different answer to the same question??
I had considered hiring a car, but no way after being a passenger, and witnessing other road users
Never to to Malta before, probably never will again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s_short237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treharris, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

First impressions were encouraging with friendly check-in staff.Having done our usual research beforehand, we had great expectations for this stay. Unfortunately, all was not as good as anticipated. We booked a sea view and requested the highest available room. We got a medium height and a partial view, seeing some of the sea shore but all of the dual carriageway that runs directly in front of the hotel. Consequently there was road noise. At first glance the room looked modern and well presented. However, closer inspection revealed wardrobe doors that had dropped and failed to close properly and decorative trims around the bathroom door frame peeling away from the "no-nails" bonding. Again, at first galance the restaurant area was impressive but, as always, the devil is in the detail. There was a very good selection of food but , as salad is our favourite, we were disappointed to find the evening meal lettuce brown at the edges and looking as if it was recycled from lunch. On another day, not one fresh tomato was available. Another annoying feature was that external renovations were being carried out with workmen cutting patio slabs and areas of the swimming pool/recreation area cordoned off. Although the weather was not conducive to chilling by the pool, the work being carried would certainly have impinged on this. We had no notification of such works when booking. Lastly, some sort of fiesta was going on and on the weekend the hotel was inundated with local children and their parents/grandparents. This meant we had restricted restaurant seating areas and the feeling of eating in the middle of picaddily circus - not the quiet getaway we wanted. On balance, nothing was horribly wrong but an accumulation of smaller gripes took the shine off the holiday. The Maltese people are friendly and helpful but we feel that this hotel has let it`s crown slip and, in hindsight, we would have booked a cheaper all inclusive hotel where we paid a premium here due to the previous superior tripadviser reviews.

Room Tip: If you book a sea view you will get traffic noise from the dual carriageway outside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,928 reviews
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,234 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Property: db Seabank Resort + Spa
Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing