We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Well done Seabank we had a fab time for are friends wedding, could not fault it. The hotel, rooms, bars, resturants ( especially Brazillian ) we're A1 could not fault.

It angers me Travinlyk guest hat to slate 'The smokers and Tattooers' !! Why as Everybody there is on holiday from kids to grandkids, I think you should off booked a private island out in the ocean so that you could off been on your own and maybe enjoyed yourself !!!

When us Brits are on holiday we like to enjoy are self , sorry for that !!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank Scottieclan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,285
    1,521
    427
    104
    49
See reviews for
2,127
2,162
138
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,818)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Totally agree with Victoria, we are staying at this hotel at the moment and they are letting standards slip. Glasses around the pool and young kiddies running about. We sat in one of the restaurants today and 3 people came in with no shirt on and nobody said a word. It makes you feel sick. We watched people stuffing plates full of cream cakes and going back for more while washing it down with GLASSES of ros'e wine on a sunbed by the pool. Staff are excellent especially bar and in house, food is very good and I can't believe people eat like that normally. Don't get me started on smoking, I would love to sit outside in the evening and have a drink but you will smell like a kipper. This hotel has a lot of potential but things like this is letting it down.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank beryl051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We found the resort bright, clean and perfectly positioned for our needs away from the bustling, noisy parts like Bugibba and Qawra (which we'll never set foot in again). Way too many Brits being Brits. Awful.

Seabank was kindly offered to us as an alternative by the Qawra San Antonio hotel manager which we exited after the second night into a planned 10 night stay. At SeaBank we landed on our feet and we'll stay there again when we visit Malta.

There are a couple of things which bring it down to a 3 star from an easily achievable 5:

1. Why can't non-smokers have an area outside for themselves away from smokers? Smokers can smoke outside but shouldn't take up ALL the outside; surely non-smokers are entitled to fresh air which the smokers have no regard for anyway and pollute it with their smells and smoke as soon as they get into it.
This was brought to the attention of management and they set aside an area with no ashtrays but lacking a "Non Smoking" sign.
Smokers being smokers, just took the area over, flicked the ash all over the tiled floor and stubbed their cigs on the floor as well. Disgusting.

Same with the al fresco dining. Space should be made for non-smokers with a dedicated entire area separately for the smokers and the smart guests. As there are several al fresco areas this shouldn't be too hard to manage with one total area dedicated to smokers and others for non smokers. Smokers don’t care too much for fresh air else they wouldn’t smoke; so out door areas are wasted on them.
Why not give them an indoor smoking room where they can wallow in each other’s smoke and breathe it all the time?

2. The rudeness of British and French diners entering the dining room in men's sleeveless shirts and shorts (so they can show their atrocious tattoos) was palpable.
I mean does anyone wish to see tufts of men's underarm hair sticking out from sleeveless shirts while eating meals? Yuk!
Sleeveless shirts should be totally forbidden in dining areas and bars. Shorts should only be allowed during breakfast and maybe lunch. This lack of dress code brings down and cheapens the whole resort.

3. In dining areas there should be an area for "Adults Only" away from off putting messy noisy kids.

4. The entertainment dome is taken over by kids until 9:30 pm. We would have liked to have a dance in an adult environment say around 9 pm. But we gave up and went elsewhere.
Kids should be out of the dome by no later than 9pm.

5. The wristband idea is terrible. Guests have to wear this non removable coloured wristband during their stay designating the level of what’s included in their tariff. There should be a better way to control who gets what electronically using the room key.


The all inclusive idea:

The food was always plentiful and quite nice most times. We found the "half board plus" (breakfast and dinner) quite enough as we were never there during lunchtime and two meals a day are more than enough for us. Wine was included with dinner but we had to pay for the odd cocktail. The cocktails were quite generous, nice and very reasonably priced.

(The “all inclusive” idea with unlimited buffet tends to attract a certain class of obese persons who hilariously cover their skin with horrible tattoos in a futile effort to camouflage their obesity.)


Service:

Top class. No complaints. Happy staff who'd do anything you ask enthusiastically and always with a genuine smile.

Public bus service is just literally across the road, is exceptionally good, frequent and reasonably priced and it'll take you anywhere.
As this stop serves different bus routes, try to see who's there ahead of you when you get there and observe queuing courtesy which isn't easy and can cause unnecessary friction.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra euros and get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travinlyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Travinlyk,

thank you for posting a review bout your experience at the Seabank and for confirming that this will be the hotel of your choice next time you visit Malta. Our staff will also be very happy to read your special mention.

A large resort like ours attracts people from all walks of life and with a multitude of different characters and attitudes. We find that this mix of clients is what creates a vibrant resort experience. For those people seeking a quiet space, we have already designated specific adults only areas such as the adults only pool deck, adults only bar and now launched an adults only BBQ night. I am sure that we will find more ways of imposing more rules for keeping everyone happy and hopefully without having to segregate the resort into too many specific rigid sections. We believe the resort is large enough for everyone to find his or her own ideal space.

Unfortunately I cannot promise you that we will do away with the wristbands any time soon. These are being used in resorts all over the world as a simple and yet effective way of identifying who is a hotel resident and who is not.

We do find that certain comments made about other clients portray a very biased view of what an ideal guest should be like. Whilst we appreciate that there must be rules in place to ensure some guests do not create a nuisance for others, we still believe that everyone should be treated with respect.

Whilst looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, we hope that next time round you will feel that we (and our guests) deserve a better rating.

Always welcome,

Hubert Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

To see previous reviews pick out the small flaws is questionable. For what you pay at this resort, you can't ask for anything more. Attentive staff, fresh and varied food, clean rooms & massive pool area.If you don't want to eat fried food, don't. If you don't want to sit in a smokey environment, don't. There is plenty to see in the local area. If you want anything better, which I'm sure there is. You will have to dig deeper into you pockets. For what we paid, you couldn't ask for anything more. Well done seabank! Will come again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fasteddie137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel, could not fault it. We had booked a superior sea view room which was excellent, very spacious and clean (room 4102). There was fruit and wine on arrival as well as bath robes and slippers. The balcony was the largest we have ever had with 2 loungers, table and 2 chairs and evening sun.... bliss. I was a little concerned by other reveiwers comments on road noise...dont worry its minimal and once patio doors are closed you can not hear a thing.
The food is fantastic, we ate in the main restaurant as well as the Brazilian once and twice in the Oriental. Drinks were good and the rose wine excellent (this is the first time i have been able to say that of any all inclusive). We did have to queue but only for a few minutes, the bar staff were very efficent in both the main bar and pool bar.
We had a massage in the spa which was lovely and very good value for money, had we been there for longer than a week i'm sure we would have had another treatment.
To finish all I can say is we thoughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.....we would return for a future holiday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lublin, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My one week holiday in Malta was just perfect. The hotel is lovely, rooms fitted in marine style, contain all necessary facilities (eg. safebox, hair dryer, electric kettle, electric plugs fitted for non-UK guests). The design of the rooms, lobby and restaurants is detailed and thoughtfull. The food was really tasty in the Coral and Laguna restaurants, we did not try the a la carte restaurants though. The location is perfect, beautiful beach just on the other side of the street. The pool is pleasant and very convenient for disabled or small children since it is shallow and looks like a lagoon. Big hug for the animation team and especially Kley :) I sincerely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea view are magnificent but may be quite noisy since they overlook the main road in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarzyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria D, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Katarzyna K

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are glad you enjoyed Mellieha and your stay at db Seabank.All our staff will certainly appreciate your praise especially the ones you have kindly named. In regards to dining, we are so glad to read that we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Always Welcome,

Victoria Debono
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexhill
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I spent 9 days at the Seabanks Resort and could
not fault it. The rooms were lovely with a nautical theme and
designed to a very practical standard, i.e. ceiling fan could
be turned on and off from bedside control.
The food was delicious and ample with a variety of
seafood, meat and also hearty vegetarian options.
Plenty to keep young children active and involved throughout
the day and the evenings entertainment by the Animation team
was very professional. The pool area had ample sun loungers
and a pool for adults if you wanted to quietly relax without getting
involved in the poolside activities. As this was our first visit
to the Island we were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed
the beautiful views from the hotel across the Bay whereby
you could catch a bus to visit other towns easily each day.

Room Tip: If you are elderly, request to be near to lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russell n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,515 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Property: db Seabank Resort + Spa
Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing