We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“21st Century Butlins For Fatties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“21st Century Butlins For Fatties”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were moved to this hotel from our hotel up the road after arriving from the airport. They had a wedding and had double booked, they said, but we would be upgraded upon our return. A taxi arrived with 'Billy' our very cockney driver. Beer gut and fag in gob. "Why you moving to the Seabank then guv?" he asked. I told him. "Well take my word for it mate, you won't want to come back," he said. "It's a resort. 5 restaurants, eat all you like, drink all you like all inclusive. You get a wristband. A dream come true, I'm telling ya. Amazing!"

The foyer was big and glitzy. Couples on honeymoon, thongs showing over skin tight miniskirts, towering high-heels, more gold medallions than you could shake a stick at. Whole tribes of enormously obese families with a fleet of wheely luggage, shouting "yes we'll 'ave summa this!!" I felt diminutive. We checked in and were fitted with our wristbands then went to check the room. Pretty much like an Ibis hotel. Premier Inn decor would be more up market than this, despite the deluxe bathroom. We showered and went down to the pools, where we found line upon line of amassed English blubber. A man one the pool was throwing his girlfriend in the air and bouncing her of his enormous stomach. Her bikini soon came off causing great hilarity.

Food was served that evening in a kind of canteen. Lots of it but it tasted of nothing. Drinks at the bar were unbranded alcohol. People were necking it as fast as they could. The cabaret was comically abysmal.

Next morning we were down early in the foyer ready to go to our correct hotel (which was great). I hoped we'd get Billy the same taxi driver so I could tell him how much I didn't want to stay there. This place would be great for some people. I must say the staff were perfectly pleasant and it was clean. Breakfast was fairly good. Also well located for the (small) beach. But as a matter of personal preference I would pay NOT to stay here. My teenage daughter told us off for being snobbish when we grumbled but by the time we left even she agreed.

Room Tip: It's a party atmosphere so if you're not up for noise into the early hours try askng for a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Donsafe,

thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the Seabank is not your kind of resort. Whilst we appreciate your opinion, we do find comments quite unfair towards many of our clients who come here to have a good time. Our product attracts people from all walks of life and of different nationalities which makes the resort vibrant and interesting. We clearly understand that you may prefer another type of product and in fact you have originally booked a very quiet hotel in the village core which is a totally different concept to what we offer.

When it comes to all-inclusive resorts, we are very proud to have been voted as one of the best in Europe on Trip Advisor. This in itself is a very important seal of approval of the quality and value we offer. We will, however, never stop making improvements to keep on offering the best possible experience to our esteemed clients.

Best regards,
Hubert Debono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,486
    1,642
    477
    118
    53
See reviews for
2,338
2,300
142
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,929)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the seabank resort for 2 weeks in June, we had a fantastic time.
All the staff where very polite and helpful at reception and in the restaurants. Bar staff where great and friendly too. The manger and reception staff was always willing to help.
The entertainment day and night was great, something for everyone to join in with especially kley and Sara they were so friendly and make you all get involved they defiantly standed out to us and make a great team!.
Our room was nice and clean with a great view across the pool and to the side of a church which was lovely at night when all lit up, what was nice they had an adult only pool if you wanted a little quieter.
The food in all the restaurants was great quality, lots of choices, you couldn't go hungry there something for everyone. Would defiantly recommend booking the Brazilian and the Asian restaurants we kept rebooking they where are favourite.
The spa was a lovely with time to chill out with the sauna and steam room in the quiet area, we also had treatments.
I would highly recommend this hotel for all ages and families it caters for all, we had such an amazing time and will be returning at the seabank for another holiday in the future.
Stewart Taylor

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

First time in Malta, first time all inclusive. Holiday more than exceeded our expectations. We had a deluxe terrace room 5214. Travelled with Chevron holidays, based in Malta which was a good choice as they provided personal airport transfers instead of the 'bus tour' experience with larger Agents which takes forever dropping off at the many hotels. Enough has been said about the high standard of the food in all 6 restaurants, the cleanliness of the hotel and the professionalism of all the staff and I agree with all the previous positive comments. There are noisy times around the main pool, but I feel sorry for the person who would be offended by the sound of children enjoying themselves. All you need to do is pick up your things and move to the adults only area!

Our room had a wonderful panoramic sea view and got the sun all day. It had a very comfortable king size bed, sofa bed, two leather chairs and a small table. I was pleased to find that it also had a fridge, safe, ironing board and iron, hairdryer, dressing gowns, slippers, coffee making replenished daily, large flat screen TV, ceiling fan option for keeping the room cool (we used only this at night), 20 fixed hangers and shampoo and shower gel dispensers. Knowing this beforehand would have saved me some extra kg in my suitcase! There was also complimentary water bottles in the fridge with free refill in the public areas. We also received complimentary hydrobath from the spa which was a new experience for us.

The hotel is on the beach front enabling a lovely evening stroll to the many little bars and cafes, or to watch and talk to the evening fishermen on the edge of the pier. There is live music in the hotel in the evening and also out in the bars and we enjoyed a night looking out over the bay listening to the jazz at the Maya Lounge just across the road.

The hotel entertainment staff do a really good job and their evening shows are a good mix, considering the number of nationalities they have to keep happy, they do very well and they are a very happy pleasant group.

The only down was the beer, which, if you are a fizzy Carling lover you will have no problems with but we were looking forward to sampling the local beer and were disappointed not to have this as part of the package. However, 2 glasses of Cisk per person were served in the Italian restaurant so we could at least get a better standard of beer there. The rose wine was lovely. There was a good choice of cocktails.

We travelled the full length of Malta and Gozo on a 7 day bus passes for E6.50. Excellent value for money. Good comfortable buses mostly coaches. We visited Gozo for an extra E4.50 ferry ticket. You don't need to book tours, unless you particularly want to, the bus service is excellent and the bus stop is just outside the hotel.

We had a lovely time, two weeks was just enough, and would certainly recommend both this hotel and Malta to anyone looking for a holiday where you know exactly how much it is going to cost and there are absolutely no hidden extras.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Krumblelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torfaen pontypool
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

this was our secound visit to the sea bank this will be short ,once again this hotel does tick all the boxes ,i have booked for later in the year ,love the place the people and malta in general .
cant wait to go back .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

we have just returned from 2 weeks at the seabank in june and we had a great time the hotel was fab great rooms we had a deluxe sea veiw room with a large balcony with sun beds on, over looking the beach, the king size bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in on any holiday in a very nice large room with a great shower and plenty of hot water no matter what time of day the room was kept spotless with clean towels every day and sheets changed every other day, the food was excellent plenty of choice and if you had a lay in and missed breakfast in main dining room the pool restaurant would then serve breakfast till 12 noon great staff always with a smile and it was nice having a adults only pool to relax around ,we hired a car for a few days and had free use of the hotels underground car park which was great and kept the car out of the sun, the beach which is right outside the hotel was great nice soft sand and very safe for children the only downside for us was after your meal in the evening there was not much to do outside the hotel no shops to have a browse around the centre of mellieha was up a steep hill and i mean steep and all the shops there close around 7pm to 8pm but could not fault the hotel thanks to all the staff for a great 2 weeks.

Room Tip: we had room 5206 fantastic over looking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robby567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Last Sunday we were invited to a baptism party at the Coral Restaurant and it was a nice family gathering. We have parked in a safe place (at the parking below the hotel) and as we went up to the restaurant a nice lady welcomed us at the reception and as we entered the the Head waiter and the staff also welcomed us and accompanied to our table. The atmosphere was nice and the food was excellent. It's the best place one can go. We are looking forward to our next visit !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJA19732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Perfect ,suberb hotel first rate food and service we arrived late at night food and drinks waiting ,not like some hotels I have visited, easy check in excellent room with beach views no complaints would recommend this hotel to anyone simply the best

Room Tip: get a room at the front lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,921 reviews
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Property: db Seabank Resort + Spa
Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing