We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gutted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gutted”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Would have very much liked to have stayed here as had friends meeting us out there, the hotel let us down and informed us 2 weeks prior to flying that they had over booked the hotel so we could not stay there, we were flying out to view hotel before my best friends wedding next year, safe to say the party of 30 are choosing another hotel. This was booked from January and told us mid JULY. Is this poor management ?

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Newlyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Newlyrobinson,

As you can imagine, nothing makes us more sad than having to refuse bookings or even worse, re-locate anyone who had booked with us to another hotel. We are therefore really sorry that we had to turn down your booking and rest assured that this would not have been done if it could have been avoided in any other way.

We work very closely with our partner tour operators and suppliers on a daily basis to avoid or minimise these occurrences from happening but unfortunately, overbookings may happen in any busy hotel during the peak season. We certainly understand if you feel that we have let you down but if we can be of any assistance during this or future trips to Malta, feel free to get in touch. We hope that the alternative hotel provided lived up to your expectations and that you had a great time in Malta nonetheless.

Best regards,

Hubert Debono
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,285
    1,521
    427
    104
    49
See reviews for
2,127
2,162
138
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,818)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have just returned from a 10 night holiday at the Seabank Resort and Spa. Absolutely fantastic. We were there to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and had upgraded to a seaview room with sunbeds on the terrace and had requested a high floor room which we got. Wow!!!! We got the sun on the balcony from 7 am in the morning until 4 pm in the afternoon (room 6224 above reception). From the moment we arrived, reception staff were welcoming and helpful. We arrived late at night but managed to squeeze a drink in at the lobby bar. We then went up to our room and were greeted with a bottle of wine and fruit as a gift from the hotel. Our friend had also arranged through the hotel for a bottle of bubbly to be waiting for us, in an ice bucket, the staff had also taken the time to type up a card from her. The food in the hotel is excellent, we have been to several all inclusives and this is up there with the best of them. Don't be fooled by late continental breakfast, you can get bacon, eggs, sausage, toast as well as continental breakfast! We went to two of the speciality restaurants, which were excellent with excellent service. The all inclusive drinks were fantastic, cocktails made up for you, not the kind already made up in plastic bottles. The only thing I wasn't keen on was chilled red wine as I don't like mines chilled but the rose wine was delicious, also, I found out halfway through the holiday that you can get sparkling wine at the bar, white or rose which again was delicious. We don't want so single out any particular bar staff or restaurant staff as they were all so friendly and helpful it wouldn't be fair. We didn't go to the entertainment much as, although they do a fantastic job and are very talented (no miming here), we were happy to sit in the bar and people watch. We would like to give a wee mention to the handy man (sorry, don't know his name, he was English). My husband takes his bike on holiday and goes cycling and the handy man always stopped to speak to him and ask how far he had been on his bike and just generally chatted, he was so friendly and genuinely interested. We had a broken wardrobe door, reported it and by the time we got back to our room it had been repaired. Also a special thank you to the cleaners who do a fantastic job and are always smiling.

We went on a boat trip with Yeah Cruises right opposite the hotel and snorkled in the blue lagoon which was amazing. We also booked an open top bus trip which is "hop on, hop off" and had a fantastic day stopping at the war museum, Valetta, Blue Grotto and Sliema. The beach is right across the road and very child safe. It is a 15 minute walk up the hill to Melliah which we did several times but there is also a bus stop right outside the hotel. Lots of lovely bars and restaurants in Melliah. There is also a restaurant overlooking the water which does lovely food and cocktails (turn right outside the hotel and cross the road). It is overlooking the harbour.

An additional bonus for anyone with a late checkout, they don't remove your all inclusive band when you check out and provide a safe room for luggage and you can use the SPA for a shower. The most important question? Would we return? Most definitely!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ScotlandRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We started our trip by meeting 5 family members who had arrived a few days before us. We booked a land view room and after a short wait at reception to get the room cards we actually had an amazing sea view room right above the reception, which we did not expect but this was a brilliant start to a brilliant holiday!
The room was spotless and the beds are huge and very comfy! We passed a few members of staff on the way to our room who all welcomed us to the hotel. There is a hair drier and a kettle with milk, sugar, tea bags and coffee, plus bottles of water in the fridge on arrival which is brilliant if you arrive after the hotel shop has closed, there are fresh water machines all over the hotel so keep your bottles so you can refill free of charge.
We ate in all of the themed restaurants except the Brazilian, they too were fantastic, I would especially recommend the Italian and Asian restaurants, everything was brilliant with a lot of choice. There were 11 of us all together and no matter how busy the hotel was the staff always managed to arrange a table for us to be seated together. The coral restaurant (main) was also fantastic with lots to choose from there were 11 in our group and none of us had any trouble.
Around the hotel itself it is very quiet as there are only a few bars up the hill and a few restaurants, maybe the area is lacking in a karaoke bar or something as the bars and shows at the hotel were good but after a few nights you want to get out and about, as the queue for the buses are always horrendous you do not always want to travel via bus up to Silema or Hill top but obviously this is not the fault of the hotel. For 1.50 you can get from the hotel to viletta and back (we traveled here for the Sunday market only to find that they do not do this anymore and the markets now travel around).
The beach is literally over the road from the hotel so you do not have to walk for miles. Popeye village is also not far on bus/coach.
We spent most of our time around the adult pool as there are no children in our group and it was so peaceful, although i think they could benefit from some quiet background music.
Overall this was a brilliant holiday and i will 100% be returning in the future, hopefully when there is more to do outside the hotel.
We would also like to advise management of the brilliant work that Frankie and Douchen do in the bars as they never stop, running around collecting glassed emptying ashtrays etc. and they always have time for a laugh.
Thank you for a brilliant holiday and we hope to see you soon!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good as we stayed as a large group and all opted for different view rooms but we all h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at the Seabank from 08/07 - 15/07 as a first proper holiday with my boyfriend (we are 20 and 24).
We arrived at gone midnight and were given our room key nice and quickly.

ROOM - Room 2442. This was a family room so huge and spacious for just the two of us. Terrace 'balcony' with no view other than a stone wall (not sea or pool view), we didn't mind this as it good for keeping the balcony shady and nice to sit out in the evening and it was quiet. Beds fairly comfy. Aircon worked wonderfully. Shower nice and powerful. Hairdryer good. We liked the little reading lights by the bed too! Cleaned very well daily. We loved the fact bottled water was provided at the start of our stay and also the coffee making facilities. There was never any noise.

FOOD - Coral restaurant is the main buffet restaurant. We felt this was really good with a huge variety of food, although sometimes a wee bit cold. We enjoyed the night with all the world foods the most. Breakfast was amazing and SO much to choose from. We went to the Brazilian restaurant, 100% worth a visit the pork is out of this world! Give the Italian a miss, it was boring and bland in my opinion. Pool restaurant is good for a bite to eat in the middle of the afternoon. Would've liked to see some curry and rice at least one night and less bolognase sauce!

DRINKS - Huge list of cocktails included in the all inclusive! All very good, especially tequila sunrise. I'm not a wine expert but white wine was pretty good for me. Soft drinks and wine is all self service. Fruit juices and tea and coffee in the restaurants. Sitting outside in the bar with a cocktail watching the sun go down over the bay was perfect.

ENTERTAINMENT - We gave the evening entertainment a miss as we found this too cringe to watch, but we do respect how much effort the animation team put in every day. The aquagym class looked fun! We watched the World Cup in the dome which was really fun and a great atmosphere.

POOL/BEACH - Pool was really nice, cold but refreshing after a longue in the hot Maltese sun. There is an adults only pool if you can't stand screaming kids but we didn't mind this as we are big kids ourselves. One day we went to the pool at 2pm and there was still loads of sunbeds (ones in the shade too!) which was great. We ate some food from the pool restaurant outside which was nice too and took the trays back ourselves as people come round to collect empty glasses and not always the food trays, some guests left theirs outside for the wasps to come.. We didn't go to the beach properly but we had a paddle late afternoon and the water was really warm!

PLACES TO VISIT - We went somewhere different everyday as the bus cost just 6.5 euros for a weekly pass, although be prepared to stand in the most awkward positions as these get rammed at around 3pm-7pm everyday. Visit the Hypogeum in Paola for a bit of ancient history, it is amazing (you need to book about two months in advance). Gozo ferry was about 5 euros, we did the open top tour bus and stopped off at the Azure Window, which was beautiful (for all you Game of Thrones fans too!) and my favourite part of the whole week. Get a boat trip to Blue Lagoon! There is a boat company I can't remember the name but downstairs in the hotel there is a lady so you can book. This was 12 euros for about a 5hour trip and the boat stopped a few times so you could jump off! Blue lagoon as you would expect is rammed most of the time, so be prepared to perch your belongings off the edge of the wateredge and jump in!! Mdina was beautiful and a must visit. Mellieha itself isn't a huge place but there is a pretty church, a few gift shops and restaurants if you want something to do in close proximity of the hotel.

GRIPES ABOUT SEABANK -
1 - I was aware of the apparent manic sundays the hotel has with locals coming to use the hotel, so we went to Valetta for the day to avoid this. Back at the hotel at dinner time, the comments I'd previously read about this were true. There were screaming children running around the big food servers chasing eachother and chairs pulled up around tables, making it difficult to walk past. I knew these were people using the hotel for the day as they had different wristbands to all inclusive guests. This I have to say was not a relaxing experience for us, two people who wanted to eat dinner in relative peace, and we couldn't wait to get out of there. All the other children seemed reasonably well behaved sat at the table the other nights.
2 - At lunch one day I had just come back with a plate full of food, but forgot cutlery. I went to get this and came back to find my plate to have been taken by the waitress and put in the bin. Kind of annoying and very wasteful. It seems as if it's almost a race for the restaurant staff to get your plate, often when I still have a mouthful of food. So watch your plates future guests!
3 - Found the shop staff on the shopping level somewhat rude. Saying a friendly and cheerful hello to them only to get "5 euro" back is not very polite.

Otherwise we found our stay very enjoyable and we got everything we wanted out of our holiday. We would definitely come back one day! I would recommend this to friends too and people our age, don't be put off by the "family hotel" vibe the reviews might give, yes it is a family hotel but it is also perfect for a relaxing couples holiday with a bit of exploring the maltese islands!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ellis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Malta and a birthday present for my wife. It was also my first fully "packaged" holiday having always been a fully committed independent traveller.
All my apprehensions were fully dispatched by the Seabank hotel and Spa. It was comfortable spacious perfectly located for a good holiday in the sun and by the sea. The all inclusive deal was well worth it as it meant a good degree of freedom to explore the fascinating archipelago. The food was good considering the fact of needing to cater for the masses, don't expect Cordon Bleu but it is good, honest and plentiful as are the cocktails for those of us who have seen the wrong side of 18.
All in all we will be back again and would wholeheartedly recommend this resort.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from 2 weeks here and what an amazing holiday we have had!!!!

Everything was so smooth from checking in to checking out, all of the staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful.

The rooms were spacious and always cleaned to a good standard, we had a pool view and some reviews state it can be loud on an evening with the entertainment but that is not the case at all.. There is no need for balcony doors to be open as the air con and fan works wonderfully well.

The resort it's self is great, the pool and other activities were brill. The animation team worked so hard and always had a smile of their face, they really made our holiday! The shows on an evening were fun and although some were slightly cheesy they always worked so hard and put on a show. They were all talented but Stephanie - what amazing dancer!

The kids club was also amazing they always had things going on for the kids and before coming I was sceptical about leaving my daughter in others care abroad as we hadn't done this before but they are all so professional and make you feel so relaxed, my daughter loved going for tea with the kids club and loved the arts and crafts every morning. All the staff were great but a special mention to Belinda who was absolutely great, she worked so hard and was wonderful with all the kids, a very talented woman.

The food - wow! Absolutely amazing, having only stayed all inclusive once before coming to seabank I wasn't expecting much, but I was so impressed!! We enjoyed every single meal and even though we stayed there 2 weeks we never got bored - we ate in the Brazilian Italian and oriental and all were superb!!!! The fact you can literally eat from 7-10pm every day was great as you didn't have to plan your day around food. The drinks were also great, good long cocktail list and the bar staff would make you what ever you liked. If you want your drinks stronger just ask, they were always happy to help and so friendly.

The location was great. The beach was just across the road and it was lovely, we got the bus to the aquarium and also into paceville I think it's called? Both times the bus were on time for 1.50 euro for a day ticket the island is your oyster! We also went to the blue lagoon which was over crowded and very expensive at 14 euros for 2 small little chairs and an umbrella, however I am glad we went as the views were breathtaking. It's worth a visit but don't expect to stay there long as you will probably get sick of the crowds.

We haven't stayed in Malta before but I have totally fallen in love with the island... Seabank you made our holiday one to remember forever, thank you and WE WILL BE BACK!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Smarieh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What can I say, quite a relaxing and enjoyable experience. It was our first time at the Seabank Hotel and I was impressed, even with the little things:
- All cleaners smile and acknowledge you
- The Spa team was very friendly and Charlotte even sang Happy Birthday to me :)
- Waiters are very attentive and even brought us a bowl with water and lemon when they saw us eating shrimps
- Very large rooms with modern styles
- Food delicious
- Relaxing and fun pool area

Well I definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,515 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Property: db Seabank Resort + Spa
Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing