We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice family hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is very family friendly with the beach on its doorstep. The good points were very spacious rooms which have recently been refurbished. There are a choice of restaurants inside the hotel but you need to book at least 2 days in advance and they get full quickly.
There are lots of activities taking place around the pool area which is good for children.
On the negative side, the air conditioning in one of the rooms did not work, it took 2 days and 4 phone calls to get this fixed so we were not able to sleep well the first couple of nights. this was not due to the hotel's 'eco system' as we had 3 our rooms on the same floor which were working fine.
When the engineer finally fixed it they left a mess in the room.
The hotel is in a quiet area, it is a 45 min bus ride from St Julians and around 20 mins bus from Bugibba if you are looking to go somewhere in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess_V87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,293
    1,524
    427
    104
    50
See reviews for
2,135
2,165
138
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,820)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Have just returned from an excellent 2nd visit to this resort. After having such a good holiday last year we decided to return to celebrate parents 30th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we could not fault the standard of service; the reception staff checked us in early with minimum of fuss and one of our rooms was ready for us at 11:30am. We booked land view rooms, but were given sea view rooms.

We booked at all the restaurants without any problems and didn’t have to wait for any bookings. Standard of food in most of the restaurants is excellent, in fact there was too much choice making it difficult to decide what to eat. I have to be careful with certain foods but I did not have any problems with finding something to eat. In the Brazilian restaurant the English chef Matthew even went out of his way to get me a separate dessert as I have an allergy. The only disappointing restaurant is the Italian as the children’s play area is situated at the entrance and has a very “canteen” feel to it. However although the food choice is limited it was of a good quality and the staff decorated a table with balloons for my parent’s anniversary meal. We felt that this restaurant would do better opening for lunch rather than the evening.

A special thanks must go to the sous chef who prepared a beautiful cake for my parents; the night reception staff for organising a surprise bottle of wine and cakes for my parents’ room and to the Executive chef Stephen Gatt who personally prepared a cheese platter and an excellent bottle of wine that he had sent to our room on the last evening of our stay. He is very dedicated and proud of his job and can be seen all around the hotel checking on the restaurants. And he is always smiling.

While some of the animation team were not as good as last year they all were very enthusiastic in what they did, especially Irving in drumming up participants for the archery and rifle shooting which my brother and dad greatly enjoyed. He also enjoyed speaking to the guests and made us feel welcome for the first time we met him. My brother enjoyed the beach volleyball and the water polo.

There is an adult section of the pool, which is nice and quiet due to the outstanding efforts of the security guard who ensures that children stay out the area.

The cleaning staff work really hard in the background to keep everything clean and the chambermaids do a wonderful job, our rooms were always made up every day with clean towels, beds immaculately made up - they even fold your nightwear and place it under or on top of the pillows!

The spa is very good with very friendly staff, the treatment packages on offer are of excellent value and I would thoroughly recommend the full body hot stone massage.

All in all another fantastic holiday at the Seabank, thanks to the dedication of all the staff, and we will be returning soon. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We really had a fabulous weekend break at the Seabank Resort. It was very relaxing and staff are so friendly !! Food is excellent and there is a wide variety at the various restaurants within the resort itself, and this includes a good selection of food for children of any age. Without doubt, this is an excellently managed resort. Special thanks to Executive Chef Stephen Gatt and Front Office Manager Marion Spiteri for making our stay a very special one. Thank you - We will definitely return !!

Room Tip: We had a fantastic seaview room. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nicely located overlooking the bay. Rooms very clean. The staff are friendly and take pride in their service. Above all the quality of the catering is second to none - special thanks to Claudio Fenech (Food & Beverage Operations Manager) and Stephen Gatt (Executive Chef). We are looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Had a brilliant family holiday here! Food was amazing especially the el rodizio restaurant.The rooms were clean and spacious. The entertainment was a little repetitive, just dancing except on the welcome evening and last night the put on special shows, which are good.

Belinda In the kids entertainment was a genuinely friendly caring lady who was passionate in her job. She makes the kids club exceptional and exciting for the little guests, with all of her energy!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shalina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This really is a very good hotel in our opinion with many positives but also a few niggles. We last stayed here in Oct 2013 and enjoyed it so much booked again within a week of returning home, says it all. Stayed 14-28 Jul so we have just got home today. Again we found the room superb, or should I say rooms. One for our boys that led into our own separate room. Both rooms very large, spacious and very clean and each with its own balcony. Good sized bathroom and we got a sea view without requesting one, a real bonus. The road really isn't a problem. We had a very warm welcome and felt the staff really appreciated our returning for a 2nd stay. The first week was bliss but from about 21st/22nd things started to get a little manic. It is high season and we were expecting this but the hotel just seemed to get busier and busier and it felt at times that they could only just cope with the volume of visitors. We couldn't therefore understand why large groups of locals were still being allowed in when things seemed so busy. We have nothing against the locals of course and this is one of the reasons we have returned to Malta so many times as the people are lovely but it just seemed a little strange to keep adding to the volume of people. Their family groups are huge!! We also didn't like the large group of male locals that came into the hotel the last Saturday we were there. Lots of hotels avoid large group bookings and with their antics in the main pool it all started to feel a little club 18-30. Not what we expected in a family resort. I would love the manager to respond to some of the reviews about the volume of locals coming into the resort as it seems to put too much pressure on the facilities and seems to get mentioned time and time again in reviews. Also the 2nd week of our stay things started to slip a little in terms of food/drinks/cutlery/pots being replaced. The first week was faultless but as it got busier the staff seemed unable to cope at times. Again there were just too many people and the pots being put back out were often dirty and you had to sort through them to find a clean ones. Butter/ice cream/drinks dispensers etc kept running out and we had to keep reporting this!! surely someone should be checking this.
Also the animation team compared to last October were just awful with the odd exception. Belinda is a legend and works so hard in kids club. All of the others were a Mexican team apparently and totally lacked the ability to interact like the characters we met last year. The Seabank dance which our kids loved last year is gone and the animators seemed to struggle to get people to join in with some activities. Belinda was trying to reintroduce the dance but when she wasn't around it just didn't happen, when it did it was magic and bought the pool area alive. Belinda was relying on students to help with kids club who can only work limited hours per day so she really was stretched to the limit. Not fair on her as she is wonderful and deserves a very special mention. My boys loved her but on her days off the kids club was lacking in our opinion, the vibrance and energy just wasn't there without Belinda. The evening entertainment was abysmal and it is obvious some of the dancers have never danced before and was a talking point among guests for all the wrong reasons! We don't need it but in terms of an accurate review I feel this comment should be included. Plus the programme repeats after the first week so if you are there for more than one week then you get to see it all over again and most of it hadn't change from last October!! Poor for a 4 star hotel and should at least be on a 2 weekly rotation. The addition of Mr and Mrs Seabank left us bewildered and was the only change. Tacky!!! Come on Seabank you are too good to have such dire entertainment. Bring back Dominiqua, Alvaro, Adela and Alex to name a few of the thoroughly professional animators you had last year, they knew how to entertain and interact with the guests. Additional animators were drafted in part way through our second week but only seemed to last two days, we never saw them again!
In all a wonderful resort, excellent food and the drinks are very good. Superb pools, rooms, food and staff and we would visit again. We would however only do a 10 night stay at this time of year as it is so busy and towards the end of 2 weeks you really are craving a little less chaos.The beach across the road is glorious and very child friendly but research your area. This is a quiet family resort with a lovely beach so if you want the horrors of discos and nightclubs this isn't the place for you.
The hotel manager is a really great chap and is so hands on, often seen seating guests in the restaurant, picking up rubbish from around the pool etc. He has a great team in the main and we feel his presence was a real positive. The addition of the pool attendants/security guard around the pool was great but they weren't there all the time. When they were they could not do enough for you and kept things in check, the large English chap was amazing (sorry didn't get his name) and literally ran to help people if he saw them struggling with parasols etc. Nothing too much trouble.
Our only final gripe - smoking - this hotel needs to think about its non smoking guest as smoking is more or less everywhere except inside. Some seem to have no consideration whatsoever and it doesn't matter whether you are by the pool or trying to have drink on the patio then the noxious fumes are constantly blown at you. We lost count of the number of times we had to move to avoid smoke. More needs to be done to consider us non smokers in outside areas as we want to enjoy the outside spaces too, some locals were even smoking in the pool, unbelievable.
Go and enjoy this place, you won't be disappointed with most things we are sure but our tip would be to travel in the quieter months if you can so you can savour this place as it deserves.
And if you need a good day trip try English Rose cruises located at the jetty opposite the hotel. Sandro and Anthony do fabulous trips to the blue lagoon and harbour cruises on a Sunday (a good day to avoid the hotel) they are lovely, friendly people and their prices for both the trips and refreshments on board the boat take some beating.

Room Tip: don't be put off by the road and opt for a sea view - noise is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 700Margot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presov, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

very very very nice holiday! we enjoyed everything and everything was perfect!
we loved our room, always clean, new towels, with very nice view of pool and countryside by the hotel
restaurants were perfect, we enjoyed various types of meals, but we would appreciate that men have to follow the dress code for the dinners, long trousers and proper shoes.
pool was perfect, water was enough warm, there were plenty of sunbeds even if we come at 12 am. we have always found empty sunbeds. in some parts there was absolutely horrible smell of septic tank.
staff was always very kind and helpful
animation was AMAAAAAAAAAAAAZING! I have joined aquagym, beach volleyball, crazy game and dance lessons. they were really great, usually conducted by Mexicans (who are the best dancers, because they are Latins) and they thought us various types of Latin dances and zumba. evening shows were really professional! we have always enjoyed them. big applause for STEPHANIE who is the best dancer of FLAMENCO that I have ever seen! and bigger applause for KLEYBERT who was the hottest and the best dancer ever! Klára, Urša and Linda were very nice girls, Rafael was the best boss!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janka210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Property: db Seabank Resort + Spa
Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing