We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

just returned from seabank after one week holiday with our grandchildren we would like to thank all the staff at the seabank. Special thanks to Zara our maid and Salome in the breakfast and lunch buffet who cooked the fish to perfection. Stefan who is a lovely interesting young man from bosnia Also Michael the buffet greeter who never stops working is a hidden gem, Well done to you all MANY THANKS

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankandBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria D, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear FrankandBoss,

On behalf of all the Seabank team, I would like to thank you for your five star review. We are glad you enjoyed your one week family stay in our hotel and that you appreciated the food. All our staff will certainly be grateful about your praise especially the ones you have kindly named.

Whilst looking forward to welcoming you back, feel free to contact us beforehand with any requests you may have.

Always Welcome,

Victoria Debono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,293
    1,524
    427
    104
    50
See reviews for
2,135
2,165
138
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,820)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at the Seabank all-inclusive resort in July. This was the second time we've stayed at the Seabank and we had a fantastic time - resort is superb. A great choice of restaurants catering for all tastes. Staff are very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. There are also staff permanently in the reception area who can help you with trips if you want to be more adventurous, and there's also a shuttle service available which takes you to various locations around the island.
Very clean and spacious rooms - we had neighbouring rooms with the kids staying next door. Had a great view over the pool and sun terraces. Pools are great - main one is for families and kids, and there's a quieter pool and sun area for adults only just behind, which is a great idea. We had no problems getting a sun lounger, even later in the day as there are so many of them.
The hotel is directly opposite the beach, so if you have kids who enjoy building sandcastles and swimming in the sea, it's a perfect setting.
There's a kids club for children run by the Animation team, who are very enthusiastic and are great fun. Some of the team run activities during the day for adults, such as archery, aqua-aerobics, shooting and various other stuff. They also run a kids disco in the evening, followed by evening entertainment for the adults, usually a show involving singing and dancing, which is pretty good.
And finally, there's a spa in the hotel if you want to be pampered, and a well-stocked shop on the lower floor. We'd definitely recommend this hotel and will be going back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I hope this helps....
I have read some great reviews for this hotel so went there for 10 glorious days in the sunshine, after the first 3 days the cracks started to appear, please read on.

If you own a Manchester United football towel then this is the place for you and your family, if not then please choose somewhere else or regret it.

First of all there are two types of staff, the ones who have a summer job and don't care and the ones that work in resort year after year and give great service. The rooms are cleaned by the latter type of staff and are immaculate with good attention to detail, as in previous reviews the carpet in the corridors are unclean but it really is not a problem as the carpet dampens the noise of the kids running down the corridors at near on midnight screaming there heads off (every night). Corridor tip...the hotel should on the exit on every floor have a sign saying you are now entering a quiet zone?

Now you might think that I should have known this with it being a family resort and I did but for some reason I thought this hotel had 280 ish rooms but later found out that it had 580, my fault I should have read up a bit more, now back to the hotel.....The food was plentiful and good it is a shame that I saw so many mothers/wives cleaning the tables before they sat down with their families as the staff as I mentioned before just used a dirty cloth and swept all of the crumbs on the floor which helped the fly and wasp fraternity grow, this was just not in the main large buffet restauraunt but was cleaning practice in every restauraunt and bar.
All of the restaurants i.e. brazillian, Itallian, Asian etc are all buffet style and your seating is for an hour only so get it down and quick, there is also no ambience at all.

Now to the outside, I went to see the manager about the filthy pools, he did explain to me that they had a high volume of clients and they never showered before they got in the pool, the pool being the largest on the whole island, first of all there is a small sign saying shower before swimming and nobody really does to be honest and really they should cater for the high volume in excess of 2000 people using the pool, it is absolutely manic, the adult pool is a good place to get some piece and quiet if needed but only over 16's which they did well and policed with security.
A tip to the pool manager, get the terrace cleaned as this will stop the flies and wasps, I walked past an old bit of pizza and dirty cups that had been there for a couple of days, the bad thing is it was in full view so so did your staff and obviously carried on walking.

On the whole you get what you paid for, this site would be great if they paid more attention to cleanleness, this is what is missing, it is an average 4 star with all of the amenties but with little operational direction and possibly leadership, they do hand out questionaires continuously but wonder if they use the feedback.

I would not go back to this hotel as I could have done the same on a Spanish island all inc and got the same value but at a cheaper cost

But on a last note I love Malta and the people there and will be going back maybe this time to the Riveria

Room Tip: All rooms have air con and double glazing so if you want it quiet close the balcony doors but pool v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Darren123Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one week in March after finding a great last minute deal with First choice. Lovely hotel, clean modern room, friendly staff and the food was fantastic as we're the cocktails! Loved the Italian a la carte restaurant. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank scopetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria D, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Scopetrekker,

Firstly, allow us to thank you for posting this beautiful review. We are very happy to hear that you had a great time while at Seabank and that you enjoyed our facilities and restaurants.

All your comments have been shared with our staff, who really appreciated your praise.

Thank you for confirming that you will be visiting us again. We look forward to seeing you in the nearer future.

Always welcome,

Victoria Debono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I wasn't going to write a review - mainly because I'm too lazy but having just read a review that was clearly written by someone surrounded by half empty glasses I thought I should add some balance about the hotel and Mellieha beach.

This was our first time at the Seabank but our fourth stay at Mellieha. As a family we loved the hotel. Our room on the 6th floor was overlooking the bay and road. I've read a review which describes the road as a motorway- this is certainly not the case and we had no problems with any noise. The road has a pedestrian crossing straight outside the hotel to get to the beach and there was never a problem crossing. We are a family of five consisting of two teenagers and a five year old. Getting entertainment to keep everyone happy is no mean task and whilst it wasn't always the best it was certainly entertaining. I've read comments about the Miss Seabank competition being described as tacky- well it may have been tacky but an awful lot of people enjoyed it and at the end the stage was packed with kids and adults all dancing. It should also be remembered that the animation team on stage were the same people entertaining during the day with poolside games, magic tricks, archery, volleyball etc. Well done to them especially Klay.

I agree that it was a shame the hotel continued to allow day visitors and hopefully this is something the hotel will re-consider at busy periods. Having said that we always had sun beds and the pool was great fun. There was also a second large pool in an area which was restricted to adults only so anyone fed up with being splashed by balls etc had the choice to go to the quiet area.

With regard to the catering the food was excellent with so much choice it was difficult to know what to have. During our second week we did notice we sometimes had to ask for cutlery but the staff were always very quick to fetch us what we required. The drinks were good and not watered down as at some all inclusive hotels.

The beach is great for swimming and for younger children. It is a gentle slope so you do have to go out further than many beaches but that's a benefit with small children- it also means the water seems warmer. Being in a bay (clue in the name) the waves are small unless the wind is really blowing. If it is blowing in the bay I was told by one of the boatmen that the waves out of the bay will be far more severe and that was why there was couple of days the normal cruises didn't take place.

All in all this was a great holiday and we will definitely look at a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria D, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear rob h,

Firstly I would like to thank you for making the effort to write such a positive review.

We are happy to read that you and your family had a “great holiday” at our resort. Thank you for praising our helpful staff as well as our animation team. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your room and the food variety of our restaurants.

Thank you for confirming that there are always available sunbeds around the pool and that you have found the adults pool area to be quiet and tranquil.

The game shows organised by our animation team once a week have been introduced due to guest requests and as you said, the feedback we get is outstanding.

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor, it is much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Always Welcome,

Victoria Debono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a lovely holiday at seabank.
Our room had oceanview and was very neat, spacious and luxurious.
The food was good although their weren't a lot of vegeterian/healthy options. There is, however, the opportunity to eat and drink al day round. No need to be hungry!
The ocean is very clear and you can swim amongst the fishes.
The swimmingpools are seperated. There is a quiet pool and a playpool.
At the quiet pool there is always room and the tranquility is respected.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull.
We do not understand why their are people who are not satisfied with this hotel.

Room Tip: A room with oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have 5 days left of our 2 week stay at the Seabank. We feel that one week is more than enough! We are very bored and can't wait to go home! Plus points are spacious, clean rooms and friendly staff. The reception area is also clean. However, all public area toilets are extremely dirty. The main restaurant feels like a busy shopping centre - fight your way through to get your food and drinks and count yourself lucky if you're not knocked down! It would help if they got rid of the row of tables by the drink machines as this would give more room. Staff are friendly but not very efficient at clearing away dirty plates or cleaning dirty, sticky tables.

The main pool is large and shallow. 1.2 m at its deepest so great for children. If you go in high season like us be prepared to get up at 6.30am to reserve your sun beds or you won't get any. The tables by the beds are always sticky as these are never cleaned. The hotel allows balls in the pool - great if it's a beach ball. However, I am fed up with being hit in the head by a heavy football several times a day. It's impossible to relax because of the fear of being hit and footballs hurt! The other problem is the day guests - lots of locals buying day passes which means that the hotel which has 1,500 guests and is already stretched to capacity is even more jam packed. Think sardines and you will picture the Seabank! The indoor pool is freezing and the jacuzzi is filthy. It's controls are hanging off also.

The hotel has speciality restaurants. We enjoyed the Oriental which had some atmosphere. The Italian food was covered in flies. The others had absolutely no atmosphere at all. We were sick of the food after 5 days. Although there is plenty of choice it is the same at every meal. The dessert choice is very poor. Always the same mouse cakes. Each one tastes the same. There is certainly a lot of choice here but only 1% of it has any flavour! However, breakfasts are good.

Lots of nationalities here which we like. English are largest group but also German, Dutch, French and Slovakian.

The entertainment team are very friendly and hard working. Personally we thought the standard was very poor. Lots of downmarket entertainment like Miss Seabank and Mr & Mrs plus lots of miming to songs. It would have been nice to see some traditional Maltese dancing. The Seabank has the worst entertainment we have ever come across in a 4 star hotel.

We have had ants in our room (we are on the 6th floor) and the same two flies for almost two weeks now even though we keep leaving the patio doors open hoping they will fly away! I would say that flies and wasps are a real problem here, especially by the pool and the outside dining area in the main restaurant.

Kids Club staff lovely with lots going on. Unfortunately our boys didn't want to take part because it was all girls bar two younger boys. Clearly not the hotel's fault!

We have a pool view room. Great until tonight. There is a wedding going on and they are playing extremely loud music by the pool. I've complained twice now to Reception and they said that the wedding (for approx 30 guests) takes priority over their 1,500 hotel guests. My ill child who is trying to sleep is not impressed and neither am I!

The beach across the road is very disappointing. The water only goes up to the top of my legs, not one single wave and barely a grain of sand not covered by a body! Totally packed. We are very disappointed because we booked this hotel because of the water sports. Every time we have tried to take a boat out we have been told that it's too windy. It took three attempts asking Reception how we go about taking the boats out. No one seemed to know.

The hotel is 4km away from Gozo. Take the ferry over. It's well worth a visit. We also went to Valletta and the Blue Grotto caves. Both great! We are now looking for other things to do as we are bored with sitting by the pool and the beach is so disappointing.

All in all the Seabank is an average family hotel. Nothing special. Having read the other reviews we expected more and are disappointed. I would recommend that you don't come in high season and that you only stay for one week. We wouldn't come back here and are looking forward to going home. My back is looking forward to a hard mattress as the beds at the Seabank are far too soft for me!

Room Tip: Pool or sea view. Worth paying extra or you will have a view of the outside toilets or motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 1234160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Property: db Seabank Resort + Spa
Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing