We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honest review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lovely hotel catering for families and couples. Families have the busy family pool while adults have their own pool and bar for peace and quiet.
Lots of activities if you want to join in, all very well organised. There was kids water park, indoor pool, jacuzzi, kids indoor ball pit play area, great gym and a spa!
Rooms fantastic and clean, very spacious.
Food great varied and the only place I've ever been abroad to serve real bacon! Managed to book all a la cartes no problem none are waiter service though! Just more specialised food choice. Main restaurant was equally nice but sometimes its nice to be sat in a more relaxed environment to eat. The drink was great too, many branded beverages, red wine was chilled though, we found rose nice. Could have done with extra bar staff at the bars that's my only criticism as there were often queues.
Plenty to eat and drink all day, usual culprits new to all inclusive could be found piling plates with every item of food on offer, did make us laugh though.
Weddings we saw were lovely, however not sure I'd like walking through crowded poolside midday in a wedding dress!
Holiday makers all lovely no rowdy ones when we went. Lovely mix of nationalities although Brits were majority. For something more European go down the waterside or beach, beautiful clear waters and lovely sand, watch for jellies though!
Overall something for everyone of every age, clean and well organised.
Bad points only bar staff that could be improved. Other bad points were not controllable (wasps and jelly fish)
Feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: Get beach facing or side facing, the pool facing rooms get noise of disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank suzyjleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,796 - 3,802 of 6,153 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Having just returned from Seabank at the weekend after a 2 week stay with my wife and 2 children we would say we had a great time. We had a family room which is a larger room with a dividing sliding door to separate into 2 bedrooms which we needed as our 2 kids are only 6 & 7 this meant we could stay up later without whispering until they went to sleep! Both bedrooms had a TV ceiling fan and air con. An ample sized safe which we could fit in all our valuables with ease, which included all the usuals, passports wallets, keys etc. but also 2 cameras, a camcorder, 4 tablet computers and my wife's jewellery. The bathroom was fitted in a very contemporary style, with 2 shower heads in the bath, one on a flexi hose which was good for showering the kids. Although we had an inland view we didn't hear the road noise as others had apparently suffered, just shut the double glazed doors and the heavy weight blackout curtain as well as the regular curtain. The lagoon pool was great at one end it starts as a shallow walk in until it reaches 1.2m which is the deepest it goes, so great for kids. I would like to pick up a couple of points from other reviewers the pool is cleaned daily, as an early riser I witnessed it first hand as I was out there enjoying a little peaceful time. Although the water was a little cloudy as Malta doesn't have fresh water it is probably sea water. Yes between 6 & 7:30 some of the poolside front row beds get reserved, so to say you have to be up that early to get a sunbed is exaggerated, to ensure a front row, maybe? But as there are 5 rows and over 650 beds it's not too much of a problem.
Of the 6 restaurants 5 you have to book in advance which are themed, Asian, Brazillian, Italian etc. our experience in the Italian was below what we expected with poor service, waiting ages for drinks and our table not being cleared of plates and glasses! The main restaurant, the "Coral" had plenty of choice at every meal time always several meat and fish dishes on offer vegetable dishes always a kids choice, nuggets, fish fingers, etc and always a couple of pastas with choice of sauces, as well as as a feature cook station dish this station doubled up as the omelette station at breakfast which were cooked to order in front of you. Breakfasts were my favourite as there was cooked "full English", cereals, fruits, yogurts, bread, toast, pastries and on alternate days pancakes. There was also a healthy counter which included diabetic products, our daughter can be quite particular and the chefs couldn't have been more helpful preparing something of her choosing! While there was a choice of red, white and Rose wine on tap in the restaurant it would have been nice to have a choice of more than just carlsberg! All the public areas were clean and bright, one reviewer said the public toilets were dirty, I nor my wife found that. The sports and animation team were enthusiastic and they were always running sports and activities during the day, they also were the evening entertainment in "the dome" which were song and dance routines, the comedy night was our favourite, maybe a hotel of this standard might get in professional act at least once a week? All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and displayed the hospitality Malta is famous for with almost every member of staff you came across wishing you a good morning or even a hello. A special mention to Sonia in the Coral restaurant who had lots of time for the kids as well as Stephen the executive chef and Klara and Linda from the sports and animation who the kids loved. We were regularly asked for feedback and constructive criticism I assume for the Management to continuously improve the hotel. The indoor pool was chilly and there was a very good sized soft play area within the La Vista restaurant but you could use it out of restaurant times a little respite from the scorching midday sunshine for our little ones. The restaurants had a dress code and it was policed discretely and well which kept up a civilised standard, no bare midriffs or tops at lunch and no beach or sports wear at dinner.
A few minor niggles but to be expected in such a busy resort catering for over 1000 guests at a time, you can't please all of the people all of the time!
Overall we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to return in the future.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just back from a marvellous 12 days at the all inclusive Seabank Resort. The hotel room (standard) that we stayed in was superb. Very spacious, exceptionally clean, comfy beds and included fridge and free wi-fi. (No iron though) We requested a pool view but to be honest any of the rooms would have suited as we didn't spend that much time on the balcony. The air conditioning was effective but slightly noisy. The hotel amenities are excellent. Two pools, one for families and a less noisy pool for over 16's only. There is a Gym, spa's and a shop.I was told the hotel accomodates 2,100 people but there never seemed to be a problem getting sunbeds (even thought there were 9 of us staying). The staff were exceptionally friendly and looked after us very well...thanks Carlston and Frankie. The food in the main restaurant was varied, tasty and well presented. If I was to nitpick I would say it should be slightly warmer but overall it was fantastic. The other restaurants in the complex, the Mexican, Asian and Italian where we ate were all superb but you need to book them several days in advance. The bar extendeted it's opening hours to midnight (23.00 last year) which was welcomed and again with so many people staying you didn't need to queue too long for a drink. The only downside to the hotel bar was at midnight the airconditioning was switched off. We were told it was on a timer and coundn't be switched back on. The heat wasn't long building up and made for an uncomfortable last half hour for many people who were finishing drinks. There are several small supermarkets for essentials and a few nice beachfront bars within a five minute walk if you fancy a change of scene. Overall I would highly recommend the resort and will no doubt be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank DamienS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks, and it was great. We are 2 grown ups, and 2 kids, 7 + 5 years old. Great buffet, with different food each day. The swimming area is great, and very child friendly. Only 100 mtr to the beach. Great rooms, that are cleaned each day. My wife took the spa, and she liked that very much. If we go back to Malta, this is the hotel we will stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Nils1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Seabank. What a nice place, nice atmosphere, lovely food (and a choice of restaurants), and great staff..
Had a great time, would recommend to anyone.
Ps. The deluxe rooms overlook the bay and have large balconies.. And rooms have British three pin plugs!
Pps .. Special mention to Alina in the lobby bar, an absolute star !

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sandy4303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just come back from a 10 day stay at the Seabank. Not sure what all the reviews are raving about as personally I thought this hotel was distinctly average. We had a good time and really enjoyed ourselves as we don't tend to let small things bother us and ruin our holiday.

The room was clean and tidy, we paid for a sea view and got one which was well worth the money. Our cleaner was fantastic and the room always looked great after she'd been in especially after we sometimes seemed to have the whole beach back with us!

The food was the same as most all inclusives we have been to, some days better than others. We found finding a clean plate and cutlery was a bit of a challenge most days aswell as finding a coffee machine that was fully functional. We ate at all the restaurants except the brazilian.

The pool always looked like it could do with a good clean but we just tried not to think too hard about it! Down at the pool you have the usual crowd of people reserving sunbeds and then not using them all day. Agree with other travellers though that this is expected when you go to a hotel such as this:(

Hotel towels can be got for a 10E deposit - there seemed to be a lot of towel stealing going on, getting to the point that you did not want to leave your towels unattended going in to the pool! Again the hotel has no control over the type of people who go to this hotel...

We would not return to the Seabank but I think that's because it's really not our thing - too big and noisy with no way of escaping the 'show' at night.

Free wi fii was brilliant though aswell as the safe being free.

Overall great holiday, I'd recommend hiring a car and getting out and about as there are some lovely spots on this island.

Hope this helps people to make an informed decision about this hotel. Sometimes great trip advisor reviews are not everything to go on.....

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor looking out on the bay. It was great but the road is quite noisy. Nev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jules340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We are here at the moment for 10 days. Only been here a couple of days but so far I can say that some people's very negative reviews are in my opinion a bit over the top. Ok so there are some areas that could be improved upon but this is a 4 star and not 5. What I have experienced so far in summary is no great facilities, great service, good food, good kids activities, very good strong drinks, fabulous room (junior suite) we got wrong room to start and that was a very good standard room. The hotel is very busy but it does have over 500 rooms and it's August so for me was expected. Even so we have so far had very quick efficient service from the waiters in all areas clearing plates etc. The only real negative so far is that the outdoor bar closes at 11pm bit early for me personally and the night entertainment has been very poor so far. Overall great hotel in a great location so unless your very particular or used to 5 star luxury I'm sure you will love it. I will update this review during and after the holiday.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,065 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,919 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £82 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing