We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I plus our 15 year old son stayed at the Seabank from July 26th-August 9th and were honestly overwhelmed by both the hotel and it's staff. The hotel is approx a 30-40 minute drive from the airport. On the way there we used the Cosmos transfer: NEVER AGAIN! We were left sitting on the coach in the heat of the midday sun for 40 minutes waiting for 2 families who never turned up. After that the journey took a further hour plus as our hotel was the last drop of about 10 others. Needless to say on our way home we booked a private taxi which was a joy. It did cost a further 25 euros (flat rate and hotel staff told us NOT to tip) but took 30 mins door-to-door whilst the Cosmos transfer was 30 minutes late arriving at the hotel and didn't arrive at the airport for a further 90mins!
Check-in was relatively straightforward although again Cosmos had not told us our check-in time was not until 2am. As we had been up since 1am this was not exactly ideal and it would gave been nice to have known. As it was we had to wait until 2:30pm at which time we got quite irritated as our room still wasn't ready and we were eventually given an alternative room.
However this was soon forgiven as the rest of our stay was an absolute joy. Our room was the exact quiet one that we had requested. It was light, airy with excellent air-conditioning and more clothes storage space than I have ever had before. The bathroom was large with an amazing shower and spotlessly clean. The housekeepers are exceptional. Our room was spotlessly cleaned every day, clean towels daily and, even though we were on the top floor, always ready by lunchtime. Moreover the cleaning staff went out of their way to greet us whenever they saw us. Easily the best housekeeping staff we have ever encountered.
Food is excellent. We ate largely in the buffet restaurant where you could also eat outside overlooking Mellieha harbour at every meal. The breakfasts in particular were amazing with every food imaginable on offer. We also ate at the Brazilian restaurant twice which was also very good. Again staff are exceptional in the restaurants. Plates and glasses are cleared almost as soon as you have finished. At busier times there was never a wait for a table with staff always on hand to find a suitable table for you.
Pool is lovely. Warm and again incredibly clean. There is a separate quiet pool for over 16's only. Our only criticism is the depth of the pool which only goes to 4ft. Sun-beds and parasols are plentiful and again staff are on hand to move these if you need them to. Lots of reserving of sun-beds went on as usual but we often saw people coming down to the pool mid-morning and being able to find beds and parasols at that time. There is a poolside bar serving cocktails including non-alcoholic ones, soft drinks, wine and spirits which never seemed hugely busy (3 people in front of me was the most I ever encountered) and again staff regularly came and collected glasses.
We were also asked several times by staff how we found the hotel. And if we had any suggestions or complaints which was a really nice touch. Although we ourselves had no issues I noticed when other guests did a written note was immediately made.
There is also lots going on at the hotel from a kids club, to a spa, boules, darts, aqua aerobics, shooting and nightly shows. The entertainment team work exceptionally hard. They also make the time to approach guests individually to enquire as to how their stay is going but are never intrusive and there is certainly no pressure to participate if you choose not to.
Malta itself is stunningly beautiful. We would absolutely recommend taking the time to see the rest of the island. Mdina (The Silent City) in particular is not to be missed. The buildings and architecture are beyond beautiful. The Maltese people themselves were overwhelmingly friendly and incredibly relaxed and welcoming. It is also an added bonus that virtually everyone speaks some English.
All-in-all ours was an incredible experience. The hotel, it's staff and facilities are easily worth, in my opinion, a 5* rating. The weather at a constant 29-30 degrees with a constant light breeze only added to our enjoyment. We would not hesitate to return to return to Malta and especially to this hotel. However we would not use Cosmos again. The rep was non existent apart from the welcome meeting which was quite frankly completely hopeless and the transfers laughable. Instead we would plan our own trip but definitely back to The Seabank for another stay in paradise. Thank you Seabank.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room which we got. Room 6446. No view of the pool or harbour but as far as we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank thomas78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,910 - 3,916 of 6,307 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Have just returned from this great hotel with the most lovely staff who are helpful and happy to help. The food was fresh and tasty from breakfast to dinner. Plenty of sun beds even though it was busiest time of year no problems at bar they made sure nobody jumped the queue and were quick to serve. Plenty of cocktails alcoholic and non alcoholic.
In rooms that are spotless is a fridge,TV,safe, coffee and tea making facilities, and air conditioning.
As a family of four adults and three older children there was not one complaint, will we go back sure will,

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had two weeks in June at this lovely hotel. Our room was very spacious with two 3ft beds put together making a huge double bed. There was a partition, then a further two single beds. Both "rooms" had flat screen TVs. We enjoyed all our meals and tried all the restaurants, the only one that we didn't particularly like was Italian, which seemed a bit disorganised. The Pools were all lovely with plenty beds always available. We felt the entertainment team all worked very hard and tried to include everyone in anything that went on without being pushy. A big thanks to all the staff throughout this hotel as each and every one made you feel very welcome, a huge credit to their hotel.
Will be back next summer.

Room Tip: Hotel is right on the beach and bus stop also right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have recently returned from a ten night stay at this hotel and were very impressed with food, drinks, cleanliness and fabulous staff. Would highly recommend for families of all ages. We are in our 40's, my parents are in their 60's and my sons are 10 and 16. We all had a great time and would love to go back in the future. Am missing the eve cocktails the most!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from 18 days at the Seabank. We were a family of 2 Adults and one child and had a Junior suite, with King Size plus single bed and a Sofa Chair / Extra bed. Ours didn't have sliding doors but was a very generous space, two balconies and a table indoors to play cards etc. at.

The staff were all fantastic - Irving and the animation folk worked their socks off to give something for everyone (we really liked stretch and Aqua). The cleaners also did a great job with a full hotel and lots of children, keeping everything spotless. The restaurant staff were really friendly helpful and welcoming, and the food was brilliant with a great variety.

The pools and general facilities were well maintained (although inevitably the outdoor pool suffered from sun lotion cloudiness), and amazingly, given the hotel was full, there was never a time when we couldn't get a lounger, or a seat at a table indoors our outdoors as we liked. The hotel and local shops were convenient and provided for any extra knick knacks required. There is also a complex (at Mellieha Holiday Centre) just up the road with a Launderette if you don't want to pay hotel rates.

The room and beds were comfortable, with good air con and really well noise insulated - not once did we hear other guests.

Overall a fab hotel and we want to go back ASAP.

Room Tip: Pool View / Junior Suite are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Porcinified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Seabank in Malta. Myself along with my wife and children (1 and 5 years) we chose this holiday on the positive reviews on this website. The adverts also for the Seabank on youtube make it look a nice quiet relaxing place to be, how wrong was I! The hotel itself is fairly clean, the recent refit is already looking tatty though. The staff work hard and are mostly pleasant....until we met our room cleaner. We always wished her good morning (or afternoon - whenever she turned up) which was usually greeted with a grunt without looking. She huffed and puffed a majority of the time and things came to a head when she moaned to my wife that we should be helping with the cleaning. She pointed out that there was a small amount of sand in her dustpan...and I mean small and told us that we should be helping her! Our room was kept as clean as possible for the duration of the holiday, she couldn't be bothered to even sweep the floor some mornings. I checked under the bed before we left and it was disgusting, none of our rubbish either. There are no cleaning items in the room provided so we couldn't even sweep the floor if we wanted. One morning she was knocking to clean the room at 8am, unless you're quicker than Usain Bolt over 10 metres, she's letting herself in!
The hotel itself was very busy, I read reviews regarding day visitors. We were told upon arrival by reception that the hotel was fully booked to capacity so would be busy which being in the main weeks we expected. However, there is no justification to allow day visitors in making it hell in the main pool from flying objects (including humans) and near impossible to get a sunbed. I read that Seabank monitor this....the only thing they're monitoring is profit. We paid a lot of money to stay at this hotel and booked way in advance...only for people to wonder in off the street and take the beds up.
The food is ok, but sadly my wife and children all ended up with diarroeah on more than one occasion, my 5 year old is still poorly now. The main restaurant is more like a cattle market with people pushing in rather than waiting. The food was ok some nights, a bit of a lottery. The wine was disgusting.
Weddings.....loud and go on until late with not a care for hotel residents
Air Con in the rooms.....apparently
If it wasn't for Malta, this holiday could of been a disaster. The Seabank is ok but being wrecked by greed. The staff (apart from our cleaner) are polite and helpful.
The entertainment is ok...unless your children are under 5 and get tired around 8pm, then you've had it.
4 stars is a little too much to be honest

Room Tip: Top floor on the end to reduce noise of people coming back to their rooms late
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank RedditchMexicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear RedditchMexicana,
thank you for posting a review about your recent holiday experience at the Seabank. We are glad you have enjoyed the island and that you have found our staff to be pleasant and helpful. I must admit that your comments about your cleaner have left us all baffled and deeply concerned since we normally get nothing but praise about our dedicated room attendants. Whilst hoping that this was nothing more than a misunderstanding, it would be very important for us to get to know which room number you had so as to be able to investigate these claims.
August is indeed a busy month and while it is true that we allow a limited amount of people in for the day, this is a very small number and always in line with the amount of sunbeds available. Most hotels in Malta offer this service to the local community who struggle to find bathing areas on the island during these months because of the heavy influx of tourists.
We are sorry to hear that your wife and children fell ill during your stay. Please let us know if this was reported or if a doctor was called. We keep a record of all doctors' visits and with over a thousand guests in the resort daily, no food related issues or sicknesses have been reported to date.
We do cater for weddings. These are mostly for very small in-house parties. We are very strict about loud music and this is not allowed beyond 23:00 hrs.
I look forward to receiving further details about your room so I will personally look into the matters mentioned and take any necessary actions to improve.

Always welcome!
Hubert Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

ok. the hotel is really good - plenty of choice at meal times, really good separate restaurants - i.e oriental, italian,, brazilian etc - 6 on site in total, great pool area, more than enough free sunloungers, separate well policed over 16's only pool area for empty nesters, more than enough staff always cleaning tables, and public areas in the hotel, really good kids club, plenty of organised daytime activities - if you want them, all inclusive is excellent, grounds well kept BUT
our main complaint was the unbelievably bad night time adults entertainment.
this happened every night in "The Dome" - as is suggests a huge circular room with a large stage, ample light show and sound system. the kids club use it every night for their little shows until 9.30pm - with the nightly adult shows starting afterwards. well, here's a list of the so called entertainment for a rammed full - peak season, multi national 4 star hotel. 1st night - local guitar vocalist. 2nd night "The history of malta - the musical". 3rd night - Hits from Broadway, 4th night - the perfect couple (Mr & Mrs). By this time we'd lost the will to live and retired to our room before 10pm most nights to watch the movie channel on tv. why oh why can't they just clear the dome of all the tables and chairs and just use it for what i suspect it was originally designed for - DANCING - where language isn't a barrier and the adults at least get to enjoy themselves.
that's our only critisism of the seabank, great hotel, shame about the night time entertainment.
would we return to the Seabank - probably not - but only as there are other parts of the world to explore.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soangry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
1.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £89 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing