We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel quiet location for night life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel quiet location for night life”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel is excellent if you want a quiet relaxing holiday with friendly staff and good standard of accommodation. The pools are adequate and clean but can get crowded at times through the day. The pool bar at ground level has a good choice of drinks and always a warm welcome from Manuella and Claudio who man the bar most days. Manuella cannot do enough for all the guests around the pool she will go round and ask “do you need anything?” then bring it to you without any problem, and is a real asset to the hotel on a customer service level. This is the first time we have ever seen this dedication to a job any where we have stayed! Dado is also an excellent bar tender and can be found in the lobby bar on some evenings, the roof bar and also the restaurants on other evenings again a real asset to the hotel. The reception bar has entertainers on through the week mainly playing their own interpretations on classic popular music tracks, very relaxing and entertaining. The cost of drinks are reasonable and to measure as at home so don’t expect the old free poured measures of old. Rooms are clean and towels changed every day. Excellent comfortable beds are provided with quilt and sheets. The air conditioning we felt is not up to standard and sometimes the room could be very uncomfortable at night but saying this; the temperature was 47 degrees outside through the day and averaged 29-33 degrees at night on our stay. Hotel reception staff was more than helpful and very pleasant to deal with. I had two problems on arrival both these issues were put right the same day without any issue. Overall we felt this hotel was of good standard and would recommend as a good place to stay. Local eating was excellent and a good choice of places to pick from. The hill top restaurant was we felt the best quality but closely followed by Ta’ Randi, Escargots, la rumba just to name a few. Bus service was also excellent if a bit crowded but very reasonable in cost. 2.20 Euros for a one way ticket, 6.00 Euro for a day saver or 12.00 Euro for a weekly pass. Valletta was 1 hour away via air conditioned bus but this can get packed and you may end up standing be prepared.
Pay a visit to the air raid shelters not 200 meters from the hotel also the church and the sanctuary of of our lady of the grotto exactly opposite the door of the air raid shelters across the road. Quiet location but well within reach of all the islands attractions well recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    851
    388
    147
    88
See reviews for
463
1,256
98
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We like Mellieha, the Village and Bay, we have stayed at the Maritim four times now, I do agree that some rooms and parts of the hotel are in need of a re style, I think some rooms have been done, The roof top pool is tired, needs some work to bring it up to what you would expect, waterfall was not working in june also some water jets did not operate, the roof bar was closed some days so a trip to the ground to order food or drink(they did deliver) one day cleaners started to wash all the floor tiles in the middle of the day ? (do it at 6am), some areas do suffer from a damp odour and Lifts can be a frustration, However the food is always good and value for money, good size dining area so we have always walked in ,found a table and no waiting at the serving /buffet area, never had a problem with staff, We asked to be moved due to our room having an enclosed balcony, this was done with no problem, our rooms have always been clean and serviced, old TV's have to go! We prefer to look on to the road/village some may find this too noisy, the garden side rooms are peaceful and look on to the pool. We do return because all things considered we do like the Hotel.

Room Tip: If you like to people watch and you are ok with traffic noise,(this is a main route through to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I'll start with the good parts.

A good selection of pools, with the garden pool being the best of all.
They have a few restaurants which do very good food at very good prices.
They have the 120 sports bar across the road, from here you can also order food to come over from the hotels restaurants.
The garden area is very nice.
The bathroom had a pretty nice design and good shower unit.


What was literally ruining my holiday is their awful a/c system. It's centrally controlled so you are not going to get it any colder. It doesn't cool the room much at all, seen a ton of similar complaints here. If you are staying here in 34+ temperatures and are used to UK weather, you may struggle to sleep. I turned my holiday around by going up the road and paying ~26euro for a good fan.

The TV in the room was very very old and let out a high pitched electrical noise so was unusable.
The minibar (which had 4 cans of lager and 4 small bottles of water in) didn't actually work (wanted to cool some of my own wanted in there, no luck).
The bed and pillows were quite uncomfortable.
The hotel itself seems a bit old and in need of some refurbishment, the corridors are murky and emit some damp smells.
The lifts can sometimes take forever to get you anywhere, and often have a mind of their own.



The room was a Comfort room, and was clean.

Room Tip: Seems like you need to get something better than a comfort room to like this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel_zzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We returned here for first time in 3 years.The refurbished spa is now excellent,however the bars and rooms are looking very tired and jaded.Food quality still good,but what a shame nearly all the staff who had been there many years have all given way to new uninterested staff.Even Gordon the beverage manager who new everybody has been replaced by surly,unapproachable,
looking robots.
It was though very pleasing to see Joe,and Don,still carrying the flag for there bars.They make you feel welcome,and both do excellent jobs in what looks like very trying times.
We will be back but hopefully after a lick of paint,and the removal of the robots.
One last tip,you must allow Don,in the cocktail lounge to make you a cocktail,he is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Lovely hotel, spacious,clean room with lovely view over the village and the sea. Only problem the mini bar fridge didn't work, so our bottle water was always warm. We went for B/B in the hotel but ate in the restaurant a few nights as the food was excellent.The breakfast buffet was lovely and always a great selection, the staff in the restaurants were very friendly however a few of the reception staff could do with some training. Having the pool on the roof was a great place to go and relax,eat and drink enjoying the lovely views of the sea.The bus service is ideal for doing your own touring as the bus stop is just outside the hotel. There is plenty to do in Malta and lots of restaurants with a wide range of dishes.Would definitely go back to this hotel as we loved the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We spent a week at this hotel recently. Hotel is lovely, breakfast is great as is the view of the garden if you are prepared to sit on a very high concrete wall to see it !!!! This was the room given to us on the 6th floor and when we asked to be moved we were informed that the hotel was full, which it clearly was not. We were told to check again at 11am the following morning but again to no avail. When I spoke to the manager and pointed out to him that we had paid extra for a balcony with a garden view he was so dismissive and said we did in fact have a balcony overlooking the garden - yes - if you were prepared to sit on top of the concrete wall.This went on for 3 days which was a large part of our stay and were eventually given a very nice room on the fifth floor with a balcony with a view overlooking the garden which is what we had originally paid for. The attitude of the manager is mirrored in some of the reception staff. There is a young male night receptionist working there part time as he is a student and the manager should take note of how this young man deals with the public, he would learn quite a lot.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneMaureen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here twice over the past few years and really enjoyed both stays. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a peaceful village location. Food is really good. We chose a garden side room and had the pleasure of a pool view. Will be stayinf here again in the near future
.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
0.1 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Property: Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Address: 94 Triq Gorg Borg Olivier, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa, a supreme 4 star hotel, perched on a perfect spot overlooking the terraced hillsides, from which one can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views and unwind for a few days in luxury.Here at the Maritim we provide the best services for the best price in Malta. That’s our guarantee.The Maritim is nestled in the small picturesque town of Mellieha and is a sumptuous retreat for the business traveller, or a luxurious indulgence if you want to spoil yourself or a loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Lastminute, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Antonine Hotel And Spa
Maritim Antonine Hotel Mellieha
Maritim Antonine Resort
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing