We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very good from what I remember! Travelled here to swim with dolphins! Amazing n safe!! Food was great and location was good, amazing green gardens and nice pool! No problems, good massage too.stayed for 5 days

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank shahprk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, General Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

First of all Thank You for staying with us at the MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will soon find the opportunity to return to our Hotel.

Best Regards,
Peter Rieks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 2,403 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were due to spend four nights last week at the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa but upon our arrival at the Hotel my partner and I were handed a letter which stated that due to computer error the hotel had overbooked it’s room which meant that we would not have a room until the next day in the hotel that we had book. In this letter we were told that the Maritim had booked us into another hotel for the night, this hotel that we had been booked into was round the corner from the Maritim and they provided us with transport to and from the hotel as part of our compensation. As a way of giving us some more compensation the hotel upgraded us to half-board from of original booking of just bed and breakfast. Upon arrival back at the hotel the following day were we asked to sign a disclaimer saying that as the hotel had upgraded us we were not to go after anymore compensation from the hotel for this computer error. Due to this computer error my partner and I wasted a day and a half of our five day holiday, messing around with hotel transfers and waiting in another hotel to be checked in because the room was not ready. We picked an early flight to Malta and a late flight home so that we could make the most of our five days in Malta however, due to this error we were left waiting about on the day of our arrival and the following morning between check out of the backup hotel and being collected to go back to the Maritim and check in there. As we had wasted so much time of our holiday we did not question what we were being asked to sign as we wanted to put this problem behind us and get on with our holiday, like we wanted to when we arrived on the Monday.

Other than this error with the computer bookings system and a few minor issues and complaints about the hotel our overall stay at the hotel was good. The hotel was clean and well presented, my partner and I stayed in the main part of the hotel and I would recommend getting a garden/sea view room as the rooms seem to be much quieter as they are away from the main road and the hustle and bustle created by buses and people. We had a balcony which was adequate size for the two of us, the bath room was a good size, there was plenty of storage for our belongings and there was plenty of room to move around the bed. The bar in the hotel was very nice, it was quite when my partner and I went for cocktails before dinner, the bartender was very attentive and helpful when advising about drinks and recommendations. We ended up not having the half-board dinner due to confusions from the staff as to which restaurant it was that the half-board evening meal was served in, we went to the restaurant that we were told to get dinner in, we double checked with the waitress before we were seated that the restaurant we were in was where we were to receive our half-board meal only to find out upon checking out that there had been confusion and where we went to eat was not the restaurant and we ended up paying for our evening meal. Both of the pools were very nice however, we only used the rooftop pool as it was quieter at the times when we wanted to use it. The room that we stayed in was clean, we had a problem with the safe which was resolved quickly by reception and security. Some of the reception staff were not as friendly and welcoming as they should be for a four star hotel, the female receptionist on the whole were nicer than the male receptionists but there were exceptions to this. My final comment would be about the Wifi provided by the hotel, the connection was slow and not worth using. The Wifi is an open network meaning that anyone can use it which slows it down. The hotel should password protect their internet and only provide customers to the hotel with the code to it, it would improve the signal for hotel guests.

Room Tip: Choose a garden/sea view room as it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CatR92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel. Stayed in a suite on the 5th floor with family. Worried after reading reviews but don't be ...! Staff very helpful and friendly! Great hotel and location! Great use of facilities...gym, sauna, steam and choice of 3 swimming pools! Thanks for the great stay and also to a friendly lady called Rhea who recommended great places to visit... Thanks again! Would return there again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lallyr2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, General Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa on Tripadvisor and for your favourable comments about our Staff, location and facilities of our Hotel. We will share your comments about our Staff with them.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future to our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Peter Rieks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We came here for a short holiday and we like this place very much.

We liked the location and the beautiful view, the rooftop pool and the garden pool with the bar, the evening bar and the room (was nothing special though felt cosy and comfortable).

We did not enjoy breakfast though it was included in room rate: terrible selection, felt like 2 star breakfast buffet. We even had to pay for the fresh orange juice and getting quality coffee, as the one offered was poor quality. Wifi was extremely slow as it was open and everyone even ppl who were not hotel guests could use it.

Recommend: nice restos around the hotel

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Olori1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, General Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa on Tripadvisor and for your nice comments about the location of our Hotel and facilities.
I regret to note that you were not entirely satisified with the Breakfast Buffet (2 types of Cheese and 2 types of Spread Cheese, 4 different types of Cold Cuts, 3 different types of Fresh Fruit, Fresh Fruit Salad, 3 different types of Tinned Fruit, 6 Yoghurt Flavours, 4 different types of Cereals, 4 types of Jam , Honey, Marmalade and Diet Marmalade, Chocolate Spread, Live cooking Omelettes , Scrambled Eggs, Boiled Eggs, Bacon, Sausages, Baked Beans, Tomatoes, Fried Onions, a selection of different types of Bread including White and Brown toasted Bread, Plain and Chocolate Croissants, Hot and Cold Cakes).
We are sorry our Breakfast Buffet was not to your likings, of course this is a matter of taste and we try our utmost to offer a variety of dishes to satisfy all palates. Still I will share your review including also your comment about the Wifi, with my colleagues on the Management Team in view of improving our products and services that we offer.
We do hope you accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future to give you the service you are expecting.

Kind Regards,
Peter Rieks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

What can I say. My friends first day in Malta and we decided to take up the non resident option of a Day By The Pool

After a long journey we arrived at the hotel to be greeted by friendly efficient staff who sorted out out day

We then went to the rooftop pool where we were promptly looked after by a gentleman where nothing was too much trouble and chose our spots


We then looked at our lunch choices and picked those from an abundance of choices

All in all a very good day and we would definitely do this again as it was very reasonable

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank saloustar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, General Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Many Thanks for choosing to spend your day at Baybliss Roof Top Pool at MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa, and for taking the time to put a review on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to note that you really enjoyed your day with us and that you will return to our Hotel in the future.

Best Regards,
Peter Rieks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Arrived in the middle of the night to be given 2 rooms 305 & 306. To access these rooms you had to underground through a damp and musty tunnel before getting another lift. Rooms were awful, 305 espicially no room at all to even move around the bed, no hanging space for clothes and the glass bathroom door opened onto main room so no privacy. Bathroom door did not lock and had a 2 inch gap all the way around the door so pointless having the door really. Balconys so small could not seat 2 people on them, view from both rooms was that of a brick wall and a derelict building with pidgeons flying in and out of it. Complained to reception who said hotel full and no other rooms available. After standing my ground the hotel came up with 2 new rooms which were in the same location with the same view so not acceptable. At 10.30 we were then offered 2 other rooms in the main building, we could not access both rooms as there were people checking out of them but were showed one and it was far superior to that of 305 & 306. After waiting in the hotel reception we were given the keys to one of the new rooms so we could get our cases moved and were told both new rooms would be ready first. Still waiting at 2 pm one of the rooms was not accessible as the hotel were changing matresses and that the bed needed to be changed. After complaining to the manager was the room made up and cleaned. We finally managed to get access to both rooms at 3 pm. Almost a whole day of our holiday wasted being messed around by the hotel. Restaurant ok for breakfast but was given complimentary meals one night for the inconvenience caused by the hotel. We decided to have the meal on the spanish themed night. Wholly disappointed that the menu looked so nice but the food did not live up to its description. Pool side cafe trys to offer you curdled milk with your coffee that has been left in the sun to go off. Only one bar in hotel which is the cocktail bar, does not open until 6.30 pm. On a busy night service is slow as only one server.The hotel promotes free wifi but can hardly get a signal even when sitting in reception, no chance of getting it in your room. The web site describes a well stocked mini bar in your room. This consisted of a warm fridge with 2 bottles of water and 2 cans of beer. I would certainly not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not book a village view, rooms are far better in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scuba80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights in the room 610 (supposively an upgrade from our initial booking)
The room was small but ok with a good balcony. But the problem came from Internet... no access at all from the room, the TV was losing signal every 2 seconds and the safe was not working at all (we discovered that the next day since we tried to open it and the code didn't work so we actually managed to open it because there was a huge hole in the safe). We called the reception they changed the safe the next day. We called for internet, the manager was not available so he sent IT the 3rd day but without any change. We didn't have network for the whole stay. For a 4* hotel this is pretty bad. The third day, when coming back from our day trip, we discovered a note from the maid saying that she broke my perfume (a 70 euros bottle). So we called again the reception and the manager gave us vouchers to eat in the hotel restaurants. We ate in the Arches restaurant, good but overpriced I would better recommend to go to Bouquet Garni for that price located 100 meters from there. We also ate at the Thai restaurant on the roof, and the food was terrible!!! We ordered a shrimp salad (priced 11 euros) and it was actually composed with lettuce and 3 shrimps without seasoning. Seriously? And the rest was not better. So we were wondering if it was because of the voucher that we got so poorly served. Anyway the rest was not better. So I will not recommend the restaurant on the roof at all except if you want to waste money. The room 610 was extremely noisy, just under the airco building system we could hear the loud sounds from the machine working during the night. The cleaning was bad, the towels in the bathrooms were not replaced with new ones and the bed was badly made. And the breakfast... well... if you are used to 4*, you'll be disappointed. There are no fresh juices or fresh fruits (except for the melon). There are no viennoiseries but stale croissants. The bread was not fresh neither and the coffee machines were working once on 3 times. So no, we will not go back there. And avoid room 610.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nini689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, General Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

First of all, Thank you for staying with us at the MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa, and for taking the time write a review on Tripadvisor.
We regret your personal dissatisfaction, and you can be sure I have spoken to all the respective Head of Departments regarding your comments mentioned, and I am personally taking care of the matter.
We do hope you will accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future to our hotel to give you the service you are expecting and to give you a room upgrade.

Kind regards,
Peter Rieks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,396 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,002 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Address: 94 Triq Gorg Borg Olivier, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £28 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa, a supreme 4 star hotel, perched on a perfect spot overlooking the terraced hillsides, from which one can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views and unwind for a few days in luxury.Here at the Maritim we provide the best services for the best price in Malta. That’s our guarantee.The Maritim is nestled in the small picturesque town of Mellieha and is a sumptuous retreat for the business traveller, or a luxurious indulgence if you want to spoil yourself or a loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Antonine Hotel And Spa
Maritim Antonine Hotel Mellieha
Maritim Antonine Resort
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing