We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Had a lovely holiday in Mellieha stayed in the Maritim Antonin it is a very quiet resort, if you want entertainment at night then this is not the place for you.We stayed there for two weeks found it a
very nice hotel ,food etc excellent.The trip to Goza was very nice and we went all over the island on local transport which was very reasonable, would definately go back to Malta.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    839
    382
    144
    88
See reviews for
458
1,234
97
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Maritim for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and clean and the hotel has several restaurants, a bar, pools and spa. The location is good and not too far from the beach. The only disappointment was breakfast. Despite a large variety of foods, none of it was great. Other than that the staff were helpful and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smidahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Even though some of my co-contributors on this site had mentioned that the rooftop pool was child-free, I can assure you it is not. This is however greatly compensated by the fact that the view of the Mellieha church and sea is excellent. Rooms are very nice, gym is great.

But, the hotel also has some faults. The morning coffee machine is in need of urgent replacement, the wifi does not deserve to be called wifi (maybe attempt-at-connection or something like that…. in any case, frustratingly untrustworthy if you’re trying to check emails) and someone should explain to the bar employees to serve similar sizes of ice-tea every day.
Not that the prices are too high, but one day I’m paying 1.60 and get half a can of ice-tea in a plastic cup, next day same price, get full can of ice-tea and plastic cup with ice. You get the picture I’m sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDeVylder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The hotel: The rooms are lovely, very clean and fresh towels and sheets every day, fully air conditioned and cool. The staff can not do enough to help you and are very efficient. We booked to stay for our honeymoon and they laid petals over our bed and in the bathroom with candles, we had a complimentary bowl of fruit and bottle of wine and a candle lit dinner in the restaurant.
Food in malta is predominatly pasta and pizza. Both of which the hotel does to an excellent standard.
We ate one night on the rooftop restaurant where there was the option of ordering Thai food which we did - i wouldn't recommend it. The starters especially were not nice. Stick to the pizza and pasta.
The hotel facilities are very good. In particular the rooftop pool and bar and the mirage cocktail bar. There is a barman named Viktor who makes the most amazing cocktails and is incredibly friendly and professional. (Thank you Viktor)!
Breakfast is great, there are soooo many choices, they can make you fresh omelettes, there are cooked breakfasts, fresh fruit, loads of yogurts, cereals breads etc etc plenty to choose from!

The location is just perfect. There are lots of bars and restaurants on the same street enough, but not too many to make it touristy. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and the bus is just 1.50 all day, you can easily get around malta on the bus and the ferry port for gozo is 10 mins on the bus too!
We arranged one of the Captain Morgan tours to the blue lagoon through our rep - i seriously wouldn't recommend doing this in high season. The lagoon is seriously over crowded with no where to even sit down! there were wasps everywhere too due to the litter. Hire a private charter this would be the best way to see it. The boat was also full of selfish Italians, sunbathing on the deck so everyone else was crammed in around them.

All in all. it was an INCREDIBLE place to stay, fantastic location, fantastic hotel we would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: City view rooms don't give much privacy if you want to sit on the balcony but do allow a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 7 days in total, had a perfectly fine room, 309, all seemed to be working fine, had a little trouble with the safe - but was resolved right away.

Found breakfast good - but caned fruit was a let down and the fact they had no fresh orange/ other juices. I don't think that should be the case.

I did go to an evening meal in the breakfast hall - Italian night - awful - avoid! Food was at best a school dinner. For sure not a restaurant!

Roof top pool service was not great, tried to over charge for water and two ice creams, when questioned stated that it was an error, I hope it was!

Over all good hotel, and ok service. I would stay again

Thks

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a cold welcome... We had been climbing and we're dusty and the attitude of superiority was evident ... We were given a downgrade we didn't realise we were getting..tired we decided to just get on with it and use the room given, my son had a bath and the plug release was caked with gunk and mould and would not work.. rang reception "someone coming ..bye" that was at 19:00hrs last night .....I'm still in this hotel and it's 08:47 and the bath water remains with the slime and gunk ... I have photos ..A small kind kicker is that the TV remote doesn't work... just awful .. We usually stay at raddison blu .. that's where I'll be going next time ... the location is great though... ... could have lived with a broken plug and remote had it not been for the stroppy attitude of the women when she asked me to pay..I think she was expecting me to be shocked .. The gunk (been there a while) .. The service generally ... writing this on the move as we aren't spoiling any more time on this horrible hotel

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My Husband and I spent in this hotel our honeymoon. We got upgraded with our room choice and we got several complementaries, like candle light dinner a beautiful silver necklace.
Although we loved this hotel, we believe that this is a place you either love or hate. It is definitely unique.

We personally, do not like loud and overcrowded hotels and Maritim is a very quite, romantic and personal place, which was the very best option for us. Th staff is kind and polite. The room is clean and comfortable. The food was delicious and the pools are also perfect.

The hotel is in the city centre, has a beautiful view from the top and is a 15 minutes walk away from the seaside. We were lucky because during our stay on both weekends there was a fest which took us by surprise.
The bus connections from here are pretty good too.

We would recommend this place to any families or couples who would like to relax and enjoy Malta in calm environment.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms were very quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, General Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
First of all, Thank you for staying with us at the MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Do let us know if you need assistance with future bookings at MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa.

Kind Regards,
Peter Rieks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
0.1 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,133 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,763 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Property: Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Address: 94 Triq Gorg Borg Olivier, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa, a supreme 4 star hotel, perched on a perfect spot overlooking the terraced hillsides, from which one can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views and unwind for a few days in luxury.Here at the Maritim we provide the best services for the best price in Malta. That’s our guarantee.The Maritim is nestled in the small picturesque town of Mellieha and is a sumptuous retreat for the business traveller, or a luxurious indulgence if you want to spoil yourself or a loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Antonine Hotel And Spa
Maritim Antonine Hotel Mellieha
Maritim Antonine Resort
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing