We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Relaxing Haven close to Ameneties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Thornton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Haven close to Ameneties”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

After a family bereavement we postponed holiday by 8 days no problem to hotel they were outstanding in sympathy for our difficult situation & the sea view upgrade was welcomed THANK YOU. Receptionists were kind & genuinely helpful & friendly.
Hotel is situated right in centre of Mellieha with 3 pools & gym access to 120s bar & La Ponte Bistro (owned by hotel) good you could walk into both without leaving hotel ! The La Ponte was usually full with locals also which is always a good sign. Prices were reasonable with good wine & dessert choices with extremely friendly waiters. Walked to beach easily in about 15mins bus will get you there in 3 mins for only 54Cents! regular service & quite an exciting ride too! would go again sun every day brilliant - thank you to all staff unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    853
    388
    147
    88
See reviews for
465
1,258
98
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Our room was comfortable and the facitlities in the hotel were good. The cocktail bar was a nice place to start the evening and the pools and pool bars were nice with plenty of room for everyone!
We didn't have time to use the Spa, but had a look around on our last day and really wish we had made time to book in!
Breakfast was great! They serve until 10.30am and even when we sneaked in at the last moment, they were still cooking fresh eggs and filling up any gaps in the buffet. Lovely!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Room
Have just returned from a 7 night stay at Maritim (B&B). This is a brilliant hotel with plenty of facilities.
The room (405) was clean and spacious
The balcony was on the smaller side
Room amenities are limited – shower cap, hand soap and shower in a dispenser.
Flat screen plasma TV
Safe – easy to work free of charge
Minibar - chargeable
You are only given a single card for the room.
Air-conditioning worked perfectly.

Hotel
The hotel is situated across two side of the street, but do not worry as both sides are connected via an internal highly lit and safe tunnel. Honestly you would not even realise that there are two separate building to the hotel.
There is a spa which includes, gym, sauna, steam, relaxation room and massage facilities.
There are three pools – indoor, outdoor and a rooftop one. There are plenty of sunbeds available so you will not find yourself getting up in the middle of the night to reserve one.
There are two restaurants and a cocktail bar – breakfast is in the Le Jardins restaurant, excellent hot and cold breakfast with plenty of varity.
The Pizzeria outside is ok, but personally would recommend to eat else where as there are other restaurants nearby.

Other
There are some nice restaurants near by, would recommend to eat at Randi and L’amigo.
Buy bottled water from the local supermarket rather than hotel – pay about 2.50 Euro for 6 x 2l bottles.

The Beach is about 1km downhill walk, there are local buses outside the hotel which take you there, alternatively the hotel organises a bus which leaves at 9.30 and brings you back around 4. Cost to hire 2 x sunbed + 1 parasol at the beach is around 10 Euros. The beach was a bit packed but that did not spoil the experience, the water is crystal clear.

Marimtim is situated in Mellieha village, if you want to be closer to the beach stay in Riu Seabank/Luna Complex.
Stay in Mellieha if you are seeking a relaxed beach holiday – other parts of Malta are more city styled with rocky beaches.

Would also recommend visiting the firework festival along with Combino and Blue Lagoon. There is plenty to do in Malta.

Overall I would recommend both the hotel and Mellieha and will most defiantly be revisiting Malta.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday2010186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We were travelling with our daughter. Rooms spacious with the usal facilities - flat screen TV, kettle, minibar, desk. No radio alarm clock. At first we were given a room in the annex, overlooking the street and close to the hotel's 121 bar. If you have children or go to bed early, be warned this bar has live music until 11pm three nights a week - loud and not very good. We got moved two floors higher, which did the trick. Staff are mostly incredibly helpful and friendly, but we came across some who were not.

The buffet in Les Jardins restaurant is really excellent value - it's available at 13.50 Euro to those on half board, which is a lot less than the "upgrade" charge our tour operator wanted upfront to go full board. Plentiful supply of very well cooked, tasty food, only the desserts disappointed (rather repetitive). Half a bottle of wine with your meal is about 5 Euros. The buffet breakfasts had staggering choice too. You can get a feel for the menus on the hotel website.

The pools are good for children, but probably not well suited if they can't swim. There are three pools open to all guests - roof, garden and indoors (I belive there's another in the spa). They were clean and not crowded at the beginning end end of the day - which is a good time to go.

The annex and main building are on opposite sides of the main road through the town, connected by a tunnel, or a dash across the road. In addition the Les Jardins, there's Il Ponte restaurant. This has a new menu and judging by what we saw people eating, there's more of an emphasis on burgers than the pizzas that were it's main stay when we were last here two years ago. The 121 bar has a sporting motif and screens showing either music videos or football matches when there's not live music. There's also a lounge bar with piano. There is a "games room", but I can't imagine anyone using it, one damaged pool table is all it really offers. The gardens are nice for an after-dinner stroll.

You need to catch a bus or drive to get anywhere. Allow an hour to get to Valletta on a 45 bus. The terminal for the Gozo ferry (and Comino ferry) is only a few minutes away in the other direction.

Mellieha is a generally quiet town. Mellieha bay is very close (but I wouldn't recommend walking in the midday sun!). this is shallow and should be good for children. The bay was not very clean though - a scum of suntan cream on the water and cigarette-ends in the sand. The hotel pools are a better bet.

This isn't a hotel for a party animal, but for families and those who want to explore Malta, it takes some beating.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkZafira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Very disappointing stay overall. The hotel is a short 10min walk down the hill to Mellihah beach and overall is in a good (if somewhat desolate) location. The town is just a small strip of shops and a couple of local bars but most of the restaurants et al reside at the hotels. If staying in Mellihah I would suggest walking up around near the church to find some local bars, or wandering up the main street hill to some of the local restaurants to sample real Maltese food and people. This hotel itself crams in a few too many people into the small space of the hotel grounds and particularly the two outdoor pools cant cope with the crowds. The pizza at the restaurant hotel is great, but that is the only positive we can say about the hotel. The rooms are dirty, outside doors dont close properly, air conditioning didn’t work properly. We were haggled to buy a time-share by sleazy salesmen affiliated with the hotel, which I struggle to believe why a hotel would sacrifice its brand name to allow this. We wouldnt ever go back here nor recommend the hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nvintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, General Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Dear Sir,
First of all‚ Thank you for staying with us at the MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to give us your comments.
Our aim is to maintain and to improve the standard and quality of our services, were comments and suggestions are therefore of utter importance to us if ever we fail to give full satisfaction to our guests, giving us the chance to take immediate action.
Thank you for bringing your remarks to my attention, thus giving me the chance to take immediate action without delay. I deeply regret that you did not got the service you was expecting and we should give and we normally give to all our guests and hope you will accept my sincere apologies.
We are very sorry that you have not contacted us immediately regarding your dissatisfaction during your stay and to help you regarding some remarks you have mentioned.
We do hope you will accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused, to you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future to our hotel to give you the service you are expecting.
Kind regards
Peter Rieks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

The Maritim Antonine is a nice hotel and for the price, it really is a bargain. Walking back into the hotel foyer each day was refreshing as it is welcoming and cool. The layout of the hotel takes a bit of working out as it is within 2 buildings and several sub levels.

The breakfast buffet is well stocked and they try hard to please all tastes with a selection of hot and cold foods, better than most European hotels we have stayed in. Breakfast runs until 10:30, which is great for a lazy, unrushed start to the day. The evening buffet on Friday and Saturday night was served indoors while we were there but through the week it was laid out on the terrace outside. The food was varied and they have a theme each night through the week such as BBQ, Italian, Maltese and Asian nights. The half board option really is worth it as you will find it hard to beat the value for such good food. Eating outside in the evening is a pleasure with nicely laid tables and attentive staff, many of which are young people and it is a credit to them that they display a quiet and polite efficiency. Wine is priced reasonably for a 4* hotel with some good choices available from as little as 7 euros. All that said...... remember it is buffet style so as long as you're not expecting outstanding gastro fare, you won't be disappointed. Additionally, we arrived late evening so would have missed dinner........ we contacted reception in advance and they arranged 2 cold platters in our room, which was a nice touch.

A lot of rooms are overlooking the road and as mentioned in previous reviews, some people find this a bit noisey. We didn't hear anyone complain about it during our stay and we met numerous repeat visitors, so it's a case of expectations and I understand the balcony doors are well soundproofed when closed. If you are worried, pay the extra and get one with a garden view, and although a little traffic noise can still be heard from them, it is not unbearable. Our room was clean, spacious and pleasant. A few niggles such as the lack of drawer space....virtually none apart from 2 small ones at the bottom of one of the 2 wardrobes. The wardrobes were sufficient but even bedside tables with drawers would have been better, to store small items rather than leaving them out on top of the dresser. A suitcase stand would also have been useful, particularly with the lack of drawers. TV reception wasn't great and only a couple of repetitive English speaking channels...... I know most people don't go on holiday to watch TV but it's surprising how much you miss even a few good channels. I wonder how much it would cost the hotel to subscribe to a better satellite or cable package? Our air con worked okay and with 3 settings for the fan, it can be left on low at night without too much noise. Mini bar stuff was really reasonably priced compared to UK. A plus was the free safe, not often seen in hotels these days, so a nice gesture and more 4* hotels should offer this.

Pools (1 indoor, 1 on the terrace and 1 rooftop) are nice, we always found sunbeds available on the roof pool were we tended to go after a long hot day sightseeing....can't comment on how busy they get during the day. Car parking was impossible in the hotel car park, it seemed to be full all the time and was cordoned off. The road opposite the hotel has limited free parking (an hour or 2 duing the day) so you can unload there and we always got a free spot on the road at the side or rear of the hotel.

You can use your room card to make purchases for wine at dinner, in the main hotel bar and at the 120 sports bar across the street (or through the tunnel). Prices again are reasonable and our bill at the end of our stay was pleasantly ........ on the lower than expected end of the scale!

A few reviewers have mentioned the time share sales and yes it was there but we didn't find it intrusive. We got a phone call on our first day in the room welcoming us to the hotel and offering us a free bottle of wine....... I knew what it was about straight away. Nevertheless, my wife (never one to miss a freebie) went to the reception area to get it. The young lady who called gave her some leaflets, a very brief outline and the wine. No pressure at all and we declined the hotel tour. That was it, no ongoing pressure whatsoever........ maybe we were lucky and got the most pleasant and polite sales person but I suppose in any case, a polite but firm no is usually all that is required.

All in all, a nice hotel.....a few niggles here and there, but hey ho....who has ever found absolute perfection especially at such good rates? I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again. Just do your homework and make sure the location etc is okay for you.

Thank you to all the staff for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hussars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Maritim during the first week of June.

We were looking forwrard to this as it was our first wedding anniversary, and were expecting a relaxing holiday.

Therefore, we were somewhat appalled that we got a room overlooking the main road through the village, and directly above the sports bar. This meant that we got hardly any sleep whilst we were there as the bar didn't shut until 3am, and although the traffic was less busy around midnight, it got busy again by 5am.

We requested a change of room, but the staff at the hotel were totally un-helpful, as was the Thomas Cook rep, and just dismissed our complaint. However, one day a room did become available, but we were asked to pay around 100 euros between us to upgrade....we decided to stay where we were as it was just for 3 more nights! It really was disappointing, and no consideration was taken by anyone as to the fact we were there for our anniversary. I do feel for anyone else who gets a room in the same location as we did - especially as the Airtours brochure gave no hint as to what to expect

What also lets it down are staff selling time-shares. It really is easy to fall for, and my advice would be don't get sucked in by someone who says that they are going to show you the hotel, because it is just nonsense, as you end up talking to a sales person...not really what you want when you are on holiday.

These two issues aside from the room, the food at the hotel was nice, it is very clean, and facilities like the indoor swimming pool, you couldn't really fault although there was no explanation as to why the jacuzzi wasn't working.

It was our first trip to Malta, and the island together with Gozo is lovely. It's a shame that this hotel did not live up to our expectations, and needless to say we will not be visiting Maritim Antonine again.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndrewDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, General Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Dear Mr. Dunn,

First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the necessary time to give us your comments, because our objective is to maintain and improve the standard and quality of our services; comments and suggestions of our guests are therefore of utter importance to us if ever we fail to give full satisfaction to our guests.
Thank you for bringing your remarks to my attention, thus giving me the chance to take immediate action without delay. I deeply regret that you did not got the service you was expecting and we should give and we normally give to all our guests and hope you will accept my sincere apologies.
Regarding your room type, you got exactly the type you booked, a Comfort Town View Room. On the 3.06.10 we offered you a quiet room to the garden side with a supplement of Euro 11.50 per person per day, because that is a higher room category. Regarding your aniversary, we have given you a candle light dinner with a choice of starters and main courses.

I do hope you will accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused, to you and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future to our hotel to give you the service you are expecting and to give you an room upgrade.

Kind regards
Peter Rieks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
0.1 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Property: Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Address: 94 Triq Gorg Borg Olivier, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa, a supreme 4 star hotel, perched on a perfect spot overlooking the terraced hillsides, from which one can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views and unwind for a few days in luxury.Here at the Maritim we provide the best services for the best price in Malta. That’s our guarantee.The Maritim is nestled in the small picturesque town of Mellieha and is a sumptuous retreat for the business traveller, or a luxurious indulgence if you want to spoil yourself or a loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Antonine Hotel And Spa
Maritim Antonine Hotel Mellieha
Maritim Antonine Resort
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing