We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Apartment, Fabulous Malta”
other travellers have booked this property
Mellieha Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mellieha Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Mellieha Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Mellieha, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Travel785...
1 review
“Fabulous Apartment, Fabulous Malta”
Reviewed 21 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

While most beaches we found were rocky, there are lots of swimming pool style steps to help getting in and out of the water. The closest to the apartment is about 300 metres away. Sliders or beach shoes are essential, but the water is warm and fantastic shades of blue.
The closest bus stop called Luna is 200m and from here you can catch direct buses to the Gozo and Comino ferries, golden bay, Bugibba, Valletta and the airport, (We bought 7 day explore tickets at the airport and caught the X1 bus to Luna.) and with one change to Rabatt and Mdina, which fans of Game of Thrones will recognise.
There are shops, bars and restaurants in the near vicinity, and more about 10mins walk in the main part of Mellieha. But it is up hill.
The apartment has spacious rooms, is nicely decorated and had all we needed. We did eat in twice, but the restaurants were cheap enough to eat out the rest of the time. While the air conditioning in the bedrooms was good, the apartment’s three balconies were a great way to cool down during the day, and had stunning view of the bay and surrounding country. We didn’t find any downsides to the apartment or it’s location but some might find the hill or the three flights of stairs challenging.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoë M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Geeat value for money and comfortable!”
Reviewed 28 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is in a great location - literally a 5 minute walk to the beach. It was very comfortable and homely, however the decor and appliances are a little bit dated. Having said that, there is everything you need. The owner’s parents greeted us when we arrived with a welcome hamper which was a lovely touch. I would definitely recommend this apartment to families and couples alike. Thank you! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2018
Thank you Zoe. It was great having you as a guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karin j
1 review
“Prima appartement”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a very fine time in this appartment! Everything you need during your stay is available. There were also beachtowels! The owner was there when we arrived, though it was at a late time. Very helpfull also and always accesseble by whatsapp.
The appartment has a beautifull vieuw on mellieha bay, which is a very nice and cosy beach.
It is in the north of malta, 5 minutes drive to the ferry to gozo, which is also beautifull.
A really recommendable appartment!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2018
Karin, thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Light and bright with fantastic views”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely holiday in Malta staying at Rose Court. Everything we needed was available and the man couldn't help more. The decor is a little old fashioned but very clean and homely. The only things i would recommend is a new shower head and new sheets as they were a bit scratchy (although i did get some sunburn so may have been extra sensitive). We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and could watch the sun set and star-gaze. There is a little supermarket around the corner, a late night off-licence slightly further and a large supermarket a 5min drive away. The beach is a maximum of 10 mins walk and bars and restaurants are there on the coast. The location is perfect and the apartment offers all the necessary home comforts for a lovely holiday. Will definitely come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn B
Mallow, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious and homely”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This apartment was spacious and perfect for our needs. It was within easy reach of seafront. Enjoyed our stay..

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanFonda
-
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The place was exactly as advertised, surprisingly spacious, very clean (though unfortunately not entirely bug-free), and with very simple furniture. In my opinion, the beds in the twin bedroom are only suited for children, though others with less vulnerable backs may not agree. All appliances were in good working order, including the hot water supply. Our family of 3 (2 adults and a toddler) stayed there in October, while it was still ca. 30C outside and we did appreciate the fans. I would think that the place probably gets uncomfortably hot during the summer. The manager was very nice and responsive, no problems there. It has been mentioned before that the area doesn't look very appealing at first sight but seems safe and is very conveniently located. I do not recommend the little grocery store just round the corner though; lots of the things we bought there were rotten.
The one thing the owner should really, really do is buy a shower curtain. It was almost impossible to have a shower without flooding the bathroom, which was a shame especially because the rest of the apartment was so clean. Personally, I would not necessarily stay there again and rather spend more money on a place that has air conditioning and a washing machine but if you're looking for something cheap and simple, this place is perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starflowe...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Living like a local”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The flat is spacious, on the second floor with no elevator access - so disabled people and people with young children may be challenged walking up the stairs. Additionally it's a bit of a walk up a hill from the beach which again could be a challenge for those with disabilities/young children. The area is mostly residential and the locals are friendly. Also, mobile vans selling fruit, veg and bread come a few times per week.
The flat is equipped with all necessities, no need to bring tea-towels for drying dishes, etc. However, I am glad I bought my own beach towel because those that were supplied weren't that absorbent and had a picture of some obscure pop band on them which I wouldn't be seen with in public!
The flat would benefit from Air Con as it can get very hot, although by the end of the stay I was acclimatised to the heat, but it was September...
Also, the shower desperately needs a shower curtain; this would be a cheap thing to fix and would stop the bathroom floor from getting wet.
Darker curtains or blinds in the bedroom would be good as the street light at night and the sunlight in the morning streams through the blinds.
The main double bed is very comfortable but the beds in the second room were not so comfortable - they'd be better for children who won't sink in the mattress.
The sofa and chair set is a bit old and not very supportive.
However the WIFI is excellent. I cannot comment on the TV because it wasn't turned on once. It has a full size fridge freezer which allows plenty of drinks to be stocked ensuring a cold drink of water or alcohol unlike most hotel/apartment rooms which have small fridge/freezers.
We had some problems with the gas oven which were fixed promptly and the owners were very friendly. In fact the whole process of booking, paying, and departing was smooth and hassle free.

The location is excellent because it's only 10 minutes walk to the beach and five minutes from the supermarket and the bus stop. In the evening it was nice to walk to the beach with a can or two of cider.

There are three balconies. It's nice to sit on the main balcony for breakfast and in the evening. The main balcony has a good view to the sea and the Red Tower, also looking left and up the hill it's easy to see the main town area and the main church in Mellieha. It's possible to hear the church bells when really quiet but they're not overpowering. The area is generally quiet, no loud main roads, or loud neighbours, although there is some building works going on up the road so it was possible to hear the digger at 8 am if the bathroom window was open.

If the place had Air Con, a shower curtain, and dark blinds/curtains then it would definitely be a four star going on five star.
However, it is cheap and cheerful and good for a week's stay.
I'd stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was excellent
Liked least: No shower curtain, no aircon, blinds need to be darker.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate any constructive criticism and since your review: 1. we have installed a shower curtain in the bathroom, 2. we have added another single bed in the second bedroom and changed all mattresses (definitely more confortable than the older ones), 3. we have new beach towels without "pictures of obscure pop bands" :) Tnx again for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing